Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Desert Dreaming–Stunning Luxury Home W/ Many Special Touches

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Space 371 m²
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bedrooms, 4.5 bathrooms, Sleeps 8-10

This beautiful 4,000 sq ft custom luxury home is located on 2+ acres in the Verde Foothills of Northeast Scottsdale, ½ mile from Tonto National Forest. The serene setting is breathtaking and perfect for incredible biking, hiking and horseback riding trails. Enjoy a peaceful, private setting with incredible views and still maintain a close proximity to shopping and some of the best golfing Scottsdale has to offer.

Be inspired upon entering the spacious GREAT ROOM with natural stone fireplace and an impressive 14’ ceiling of western red cedar. Huge beams connect to the GOURMET KITCHEN, which boasts stainless steel appliances, wine cooler, a breakfast nook with views, and adjacent powder room.

Entertain in the FORMAL DINING ROOM opening onto 732 square foot enclosed entry courtyard with brilliant natural stone walls, wrought iron and rustic fired adobe pavers.

The LUXURY MASTER SUITE has a stone fireplace, Jacuzzi tub, natural stone shower and huge 190 square foot custom closet. Two additional bedrooms each with custom closet, bathroom and covered patio.

Bonus attached casita with private entry, kitchenette, bathroom and a covered patio provides additional space for guests or home office.

Automated 90 degree windows surrounding indoor-outdoor bar opens from the GAME ROOM onto 2,500 square foot of amazing outdoor living area. Complemented by negative edge heated custom pool & spa, fire features, built in gas BBQ, kiva fireplace and flagstone paving throughout allowing you to enjoy the beautiful Arizona weather year-round. Rooftop tiled deck offers dramatic 360 degree views.

Granite and travertine floors throughout, central vacuum, sound system, security system, large 3 car garage, RV space with full hookup, fully landscaped. Please note that this home is located just off of paved roads, 1.5 mile on an unpaved road.

Long-Term leases (those exceeding 3 months) are also available. Please inquire.

More Details

Owner
Jen Humphreys
Member since: 2010
Speaks english
Response time
Within a day
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
17 October, 2017

Map

Nearest Airport
38 Miles
Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX)
Nearest Barpub
8 Miles
Rare Earth
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Trilogy at Verde River
Nearest Train
65 Miles
Maricopa, AZ Amtrak (MRC)
Nearest Motorway
17 Miles
101 Loop
Nearest Restaurant
9 Miles
Rosati's Pizza
Nearest Ski
160 Miles
Arizona Snowbowl, Flagstaff, AZ
Nearest Beach
250 Miles
Rocky Point, Mexico
Car: necessary

1hr NE of Phoenix airport 0.5 mile from Tonto National Forest

Other Activities: Horseshoes, Boating, Wildlife Viewing, Rock Climbing

Golf: Close to some of the best golfing in Scottsdale. We are less than 10 miles from Troon North Golf Club and approx 20 miles from Kierland Golf Club

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Rio Verde Foothills, Arizona

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 371 m²
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Alarm System
  • soap
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Ducted Cooling
  • Ducted Heating
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Rumpus Room
  • Secure Parking
  • Security System
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Vacuum System
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower enclosure , jacuzzi
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower enclosure
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower enclosure
    Bathroom 5 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 extra lg. double bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 large double bed
  • Also a double inflatable mattress
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Game Room
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • patio
Suitability:
  • long term rentals available
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
  • jacuzzi
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
Notes:
wine cooler, granite and travertine floors throughout, central vacuum, security system, RV space with full hookup

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(56 traveller reviews)

92% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
Desert Dreaming–Stunning Luxury Home W/ Many Special Touches
average rating of 4.875 based on 56 reviews
5

Wonderful desert getaway with phenominal 180 views

  • 5 of 5

It's a great secluded getaway while we saw a few vehicles it was extremely private and just what we imagined it would be - a fabulous desert luxury home at the foot of Tonto National Forest. The house has everything you could imagine - an expert chefs kitchen delight with all the fixings, a master closet that is a woman's dream and fireplace in all the right places - master bedroom, poolside and in the living room. While we were able to see the sunsets from the roof top, the main attraction is the most beautiful sunrises that we were able to watch every morning with our coffee with 180 degree views of the mountains. If you are an early bird, this place is a MUST to enjoy the peaceful morning setting. We took lots of long walks in and around the Tonto National Park which made it really hard to venture out much more than that. Carl, Chad and Jen were amazing hosts and were quick to respond to any of our needs and provided a full detailed walkthrough of their amazing house upon arrival.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review Tanja. We're very happy you enjoyed your stay at our property and made the most of your early mornings. It was lovely to have you and we hope you keep us in mind for your next trip to the Scottsdale area. Keep in touch, Jen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cologne, Germany
5

Beautiful desert home

  • 5 of 5

Just returned from this beautiful desert home my wife and I are sure: this is one of the best houses we ever had. Everything is so tastefully arranged that you feel immediately that you are in a 5 star resort. Most of the time we stayed outside, from the sunrise at the observation deck with the first coffee to barbecues in the evening with these beautiful fire features. We would recommend to arrange first arrivals during daytime since the last 2,5 miles are unpaived and unlit. But the directions you get with the introduction mail is sufficient enough to find this remote place. The entire location is ideal to recharge your batteries and as well a good start to explore Arizona. We would recommend in any case the interesting desert botanical garden in Phoenix, the ApachiTrail and Sedona with the redrocks. The last are two nice easy daytrips. Scottsdale Oldtown is good for some nice restaurants and shopping. In the vicinity „AJ“ Supermarket is sufficient for all the needs during a comfortable stay in that home. As a special treet (for us the last evening to overcome the sadness that we have to return to cold Germany) reserve a veranda table at the „Talavera“ Restaurant in the Four Seasons Resort only 15 minutes away from the home. Fine food and a nice wine selection enjoyed during the special lighting at sundown. These nice warm lighting during sunset we enjoyed as well at the home will accompanie us in our memory. And the entire home fits perfectly to these earth colours and warmth. There was absolutely nothing we could complain of. With a small issue with a water pump we had we got immediate help and the introduction of the house features by Chad was very nice and friendly. Thank you very much for sharing this gem with us. We had a great time in and around it and only can highly recommend it to people looking for a peaceful, quiet and luxurious place to enjoy the desert.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review! We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay at our home and made the most of the house and the surrounding area while you were here. You were lovely guests and we hope to have you back one day.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

I love this house.

  • 5 of 5

We rented this house for the weekend for a baby shower and ladies weekend. It turned out amazing. The drive in was a bit far but well worth it. The views are increadible. The pool was wonderful. The light switches were all labeled which helped (there are allot of them)to create a beautiful ambiance. the house was clean. The kitchen was perfect for cooking for a big party. The beds were comfy. We had enough parking for all of us. Thinking of bringing the family out for a weekend retreat. Completely relaxing and comfortable. I would highly recommend this vrbo if you want to get away or have a girls or guys weekend out in the stix. Its wonderful.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 19, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Flagstaff, Arizona USA
5

Better than pictures

  • 5 of 5

Peaceful. Better than pictured.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 29, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Driven out by malicious neighbour halfway through our stay

  • 1 of 5

By far our worst rental experience and our first ever negative review. We were forced to leave halfway through our 5 week booking due to deliberate, malicious harassment from the owner’s brother who lives next door. We have been refused any refund.

Having visited the property last year, we knew there was a farm next door and were prepared for normal farm machinery noises, and even the flies. However on arrival we found a well-used trailer home had appeared recently on the plot next door, owned by Carl’s brother. It was placed next to the boundary very close to the pool/terrace sitting area. After intermittent use during our first week, the a/c unit of the trailer was on constantly all day and we were subjected to the loud whirring noise from it when we sat by the pool. This was extremely intrusive, and made it impossible to enjoy the 'peaceful private setting' the website promises. We told Carl we were unhappy about this, and he agreed this was a problem. Eventually he arranged for the trailer to be removed to the far side of his brother’s plot.

If that had been the end of it, we would have been able to enjoy the the remainder of our stay. However Carl’s brother was clearly very angry about the trailer move, and obviously decided to make life as unpleasant for us as he could. He placed a mobile generating unit on the trailer site close to the boundary and ran it for hours. The generator was not attached to anything, and was clearly intended solely to generate noise, which was intolerable on the terrace. We phoned Carl, but he seemed unable to offer any help. His brother restarted the generator the same night at 10pm and left it running until 4am. Even with earplugs on in bed it was still impossible to sleep.

Apart from the noise, we were very concerned about being a target for anything else the brother might choose to do. As visitors from the UK, we felt intimidated and vulnerable. This obviously made it impossible to remain in the house and we left the next day.

Jen later agreed that the actions of the neighbor (her uncle) were ‘totally uncalled for’ and said we should have called the police. However Jen and Carl insist that they are unable to control his actions, and have blamed us for causing it all by being ‘unreasonable’ and complaining in the first place!!! Their stance has been that none of this is their fault and since we ‘chose’ to leave, they have refused our requests for a refund for the unused part of our booking.

  • Review Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at our property-this is our first negative review since we started renting our home in 2010. Unfortunately we have a different perspective of the situation. As you mention, you visited our property prior to your booking noting the small farm next door, prepared for normal farm machinery noises. We are therefore surprised that an air conditioner exceeded your noise expectations. Had we been made aware upfront that you had a high requirement for silence we would have advised that we would not be able to guarantee an environment that was devoid of any neighborhood noise. Since you are from the UK maybe you are not used to the sounds of an aircon unit, but in Arizona it is a very common, and necessary requirement for personal comfort. The neighbor's trailer is a well appointed area for staff to take work breaks out of the heat. The neighbor’s aircon unit is not a loud unit, nor was it running at night or able to be heard from the house, it wasn't any louder than the 3 air conditioning units that were running continuously at our house for your comfort. So your demand for the neighbor to move his trailer negatively affected his business operation and was indeed unreasonable. We did not agree with you that the aircon unit was a problem but we always do our best to look after our guests, as can be noted by the many positive reviews on our listing. So Carl paid to have the neighbor’s trailer moved which cost over $850 and 2 full days of his time to accommodate you. Apparently, your demand for the neighbor to move his trailer did aggravate him, but we are not responsible for, nor do we support his actions of running a generator at night. However, the reason we were not able to provide you with a refund is that you did not inform us there was an issue and allow us to resolve it. Instead you chose to pack up and leave the property. Carl lives ½ hr away so there was no way for him to know that there was a disturbance of any kind that night because you didn't call him. If you would have called him he would have come over straight away and sorted out the issue. But in this instance you did not inform him until the next day after you had already vacated the property before the end of your booking. We deeply regret that this has occurred and your stay was impacted by this unfortunate situation, and we are sorry that we were unable to work together to resolve the problem before you chose to leave.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1
5

Great House in a nice quiet area!

  • 5 of 5

Thanks Carl and Jen for all of your attention to detail in booking, confirming and the warm welcome during our stay. The pictures don't do justice for this house. Everything was very clean and exactly as expected. We had one minor problem with one piece of pool equipment and Carl was quick to troubleshoot and help. Thanks Again

  • Review Submitted: Jan 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday house in Rio Verde Foothills, Arizona

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
1Oct-18Nov 2017
1 Oct 2017 - 17 Nov 2017
4 night minimum stay
A$605
A$4,140
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add A$25 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving
18 Nov 2017 - 25 Nov 2017
7 night minimum stay
A$4,714
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add A$25 per night, per additional guest
 
Nov - Dec 2017
26 Nov 2017 - 15 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
A$637
A$4,459
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add A$25 per night, per additional guest
 
Xmas / New Years 2017
16 Dec 2017 - 6 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
A$5,733
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add A$25 per night, per additional guest
 
Jan-Mar 2018
7 Jan 2018 - 7 Apr 2018
7 night minimum stay
A$5,351
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add A$25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
A$637
A$4,332
A$15,925
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add A$25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit A$637
Cleaning A$382.2 + Tax
Tax Rate 8.0%

Rates may vary for short stays
$20 pp/night charge applies to each guest over 8max

Additional fees:
$300 cleaning fee
$500 refundable security deposit

Credit Card payment accepted but incurs additional handling fee.

50% Deposit to reserve dates. Balance due 60 days prior to arrival, 60 day cancellation policy

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable