check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Pat or Gabe

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks english

Ski Discounts!; Prime Location for VT/MA/NY; Farm-to-Table Dining In or Out

11 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type barn
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this Pownal holiday barn

Spacious Open Floor Plan: Gourmet Kitchen, MBR, Bath, DR, LR, TV Rm, Laundry

One- and two-day rentals left "orphaned" can be booked by contacting owner.

PLEASE INFORM OWNER if you have not read through this entire listing and the house manual ("Rules and Recommendations") containing important safety information.

This is a unique property unlike any you've ever seen. Entrance is though a brick courtyard up a spiral staircase (alternate ground floor entry is available - please inquire in advance) to a huge balcony with hot tub, gas grill, and dining table for six; all covered by a seasonably-available awning to keep you dry during those summer downpours.

This renovated 1938 dairy barn with its 1963 addition is a Vermont icon with 'rooms' cleverly defined throughout the spacious 2100 sq. ft. The kitchen, dining room, media room and bunk house are located in the original structure, and the living room, master bedroom, bathroom and laundry are in the 1963 addition with a huge barn door separating the two without impeding communication.

The large kitchen was designed with a family of chefs in mind and flows into the Media Room, perfect for informal gatherings. Kitchen is fully stocked with all necessities for the usual culinary activities, and has a dishwasher, gas stove, refrigerator, free-standing freezer, microwave and a variety of smaller appliances.

The kitchen flows into the media room with a flat screen TV and queen-sized sofa bed we enhance with a memory-foam topper. Please request use of this bed in advance.

Around the corner is the dining room with normal seating for 6, expandable to 8. The gas grill is just a few steps away so you can still BBQ when its too cold to eat outdoors. A Vermont slate buffet invites you to plan serve-yourself meals, and the truly comfortable dining room armchairs encourage relaxing, after-dinner conversation.

Next comes the bunk house with accommodations for four youngsters or teens. Adjustable Aerosnooz mattresses allow each sleeper to adjust the amount of firmness desired. There is also a game table for those who remember how to play games without batteries, and a couple of bean bag chairs for reading, texting or playing those games that do require batteries.

Through the barn door is the accommodating living room with a gas log stove, big comfy furniture and soaring cathedral ceiling. If you're trying to break the TV habit there's a library with something for every taste, G-rated that is. The amazing feature of this wing is the seven floor-to-ceiling stained glass windows installed over 50 years ago. One has even been made into an emergency exit to bring the building up to 21st century safety-standards.

Behind a partition created by a row of 9' high closets is the master bedroom with king bed and additional closets. A quiet work space in the bedroom is an ideal respite for a type A personality who can't leave it all at the office.

The bathroom doubles as a laundry with large capacity, low-flo/low-energy machines. The shower is ample for two people, but tub enthusiasts will have to hit the deck and use the hot tub.

Outdoors you can enjoy the large lawn area big enough for tournament croquet, swim in the seasonal 30' lap pool, or borrow our bikes (only if requested at time of reservation) for a stress-reducing ride around one of the nearby scenic loops.

Stereo, cable TV, DVD and WIFI.

Six miles to Williamstown, MA and 6 miles to Bennington, VT; both with scores of recreational, entertainment, culinary, and cultural venues.

Dogs are permitted under certain circumstances -- please inquire -- at a rate of $15 per dog per day and an increase of $200 in the security deposit. (NOTE: HomeAway is not set up to handle this portion of the transaction.)

There is a caretaker on the premises to take care of all your immediate needs.

This was our own personal living space so you can be assured the renovation was designed for privacy and to optimize peace and quiet.

The courtyard leads to your balcony entrance although there is a ground floor entrance for bringing in luggage.

Generally the hot tub is not used in the summer even when people indicate they want to, and we drain it for cleaning. If you wish to use it, however, we are happy to oblige if you make your request in advance.

We require peace and quiet from our guests and forbid gatherings and partying.

Note to renters: 99% of our guests love staying here and return and recommend us to their friends. Fewer than 1% have a problem with the rough hune barn boards, the windows not designed to open, an occasional mouse "leave-behind", the proximity to a road (hey, where else would you put your barn), and any number of observations about a barn converted into a residence that maintains a barn-like flavor. So if these things bother you please do not rent from us! We depend on good reviews and a good rental season to cover the costs of owning this rural treasure.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Pat or Gabe (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks english

About Pat or Gabe

What can I say? We are creatives who love the beauty and serenity of this place. We spent our adult lives in Fairfield County CT with a 5-year sabbatical in Seattle, and looked for a location that would not only fulfill our space requirements but meet our emotional needs as well. We shared this environment with Rooney McDuff a spirited, way-too-loving golden retriever. We've always loved one-of-a-kind places, and this definitely fit the bill. Then two years ago a one-of-a-kind granddaughter came along and back to Connecticut we trotted.

Pat or Gabe purchased this barn in 2006

Why Pat or Gabe chose Vermont

Well, this is more than a vacation rental; it's an entire lifestyle. Pownal Valley is probably one of the most beautiful in all of Vermont. Rolling limestone mountains might not make for double black diamond ski runs but they do make for fabulous vistas. Our views are without challenge anywhere throughout New England. Our complex is convenient to Route 7 but our guests ALL say the property feels totally private and peaceful.

We moved here full-time in January of 2007. In a portion of our barn complex we operated a commercial photo studio and a craft gallery and later added a homemade ice cream service window. Recent events have caused us to move back to Connecticut where we can be helpful to our family and pursue some other interests. In the meantime you can enjoy our beautiful Vermont property when we're not here.

What makes this barn unique

This is all about peace and relaxation; and not a partying place by any stretch. For our rental guests: Private balcony for grilling and dining, full-length lap pool for a leisurely swim or a good workout, hot tub for a satisfying de-stressing. AND a large flat, safe yard for kids and dogs to play!

Oh, did I mention there are about a million things to do around here? Our central location allows you to explore attractions in three states, too numerous to mention here. Just let us know your iinterests and we'll do our best to steer you in the right direction.

Reviews

4.9
based on 11 traveller reviews

Ski Discounts!; Prime Location for VT/MA/NY; Farm-to-Table Dining In or Out
average rating of 4.909091 based on 11 reviews
5

Amazing!!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I and 2 dogs stayed in Vermont for 1 week and we ended our last 3 days by staying in this beautiful location. I kept it a surprise from my wife because I knew she would love this place.... and she did. She loved the spaciousness of the place. The wood floors, the gi-normous kitchen, the high ceilings and the general comfort of the place.

We coordinated with the caretaker of the property, Lisa, regarding our arrival. Upon arrival she met us and gave us a tour of the place, showed us the switches and features of the place.....the only initial tricky thing I would say is getting to the garage because of all the doors. After finding the correct sequence the first time your fine;)

The first night of our stay we realized the hot water wasn't very hot. At first we weren't sure whether this was normal since it was our first night. Lisa was very easily contacted and she informed Mr. Palmer of the concern. The next morning I had the opportunity to talk to Mr.Palmer and he said it would be looked into and taken care of. He was good on his word because upon return from our day's activities we were pleasantly surprised to have hotter water.

The pictures in the Ads are nice but really don't do it justice. Not until you are standing there do you appreciate the enormity, beauty, serenity and spaciousness of the place. Thank you Mr. Palmer and Ms. Kane for allowing us to stay in your beautiful home.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I couldn't have written a better review myself. Thank you so very much. I'm intrigued that you kept this rental from your wife as a surprise. We recently had a couple visit because staying in a converted barn is on their retirement bucket list! Using the garage entrance is for luggage loading and unloading only. We do not encourage guests to use it for more than that (unless handicapped) as it leaves the entire complex open to intruders. Those with a compelling reason for using the garage entrance should discuss it with our caretaker and receive the proper instructions and keys for keeping the building buttoned up.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect place to vacation with kids

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay here! The house was beautiful- beautiful stained glass windows, a neat layout and a great bedroom with bunk beds that my son loved! I had been a little too worried that the bedroom with bunk beds described as being in the original barn was going to be too far separated from us, but it wasn't at all. The hot tub was fantastic too!

The owners, Pat and Gabe, were really attentive and helpful, providing information on things to do in the area. Lisa, the property manager, was fantastic as well and went out of her way to show us the ins and outs of the house upon our arrival.

We'll definitely be back!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have to absolutely thank you and your family for being such ideal guests. We had just recovered from a family who's stay can only be described as a train wreck; two undisciplined dogs, two undisciplined children; two undisciplined parents. You have given us renewed hope that there are still people out there who respect and appreciate someone's home. We are actually thinking about writing up a Kiddie Dos and Don'ts to accompany our Doggie Dos and Don'ts. Thank you for not needing it! You are welcome back any time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Chalet

  • 5 of 5

We spent Monday through Friday and enjoyed each day. The views are beautiful. The house is stunning and very modern. Amazing kitchen, pool and hot tub. Would return again.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A unique home with modern and rustic influences.

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay. The house is clean and comfortable. You can tell that the owners paid attention to detail in designing this home. The master suite library is a quiet space where I enjoyed reading some short stories. Having the pool and hot tub to ourselves was nice, and the kids enjoyed it. The cover to the hot tub was broke, which was a bit of a pain when getting in and out, but that was being replaced when we left. There's a country mouse(who loves butter apparently) so put ALL your food away at night. Lisa the caretaker is very nice and responsive when needed. It's a great location close to Williamstown, Ma and Bennington, Vermont. We hope to be back next year.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have an animal nuisance control service on monthly retainer for the live capture and removal of mice. Apparently there is one critter that outsmarts all attempts to relocate her. We did find evidence of food scraps here and there like crumbs on the counter and something red and sticky on the dining room rug so perhaps a little more cleanup care will help.We had two cats when we lived there and that did the trick although they also brought home baby rabbits and chipmunks!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

The perfect winter getaway

  • 5 of 5

We rented the main portion of this property for two months over this past winter. We are a family of five with younger children. Despite a very mild (at least in terms of snow) winter, this property amounted to a winter sanctuary for us. At nights, our kids did homework in various areas. We indulged wine or books in another. Throughout, our german shepherd invariably napped on the heated bathroom floor. It is an extremely peaceful location. The pictures do not reflect how big this rental actually is. It was very clean and all of the amenities were as described and in working order. Any minor issues were quickly addressed by the owners and/or their property manager. If you are willing to go off mountain in the winter and reside in Connecticut or New York, this property is less than an hour to at least 5 ski resorts and represents a relatively painless Friday/Sunday night commute from or to home. At least a half dozen quality restaurants can be found within a 20 minute drive, if not less. We visited and enjoyed Kevin's Sports Pub (Bennington), PUBLIC eat & drink (No. Adams) and Coyote Flaco (Williamstown) on more than one occasion. I would pass on Cozy Corner (Williamstown). We highly recommend the property. P.S. The hot tub was used daily and offers great views!!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I just want to say how happy Gabe and I were at the respect and care you gave our delicate, cherished home. A lengthy stay by a family with children and pet was a bit of a worry, and I can say you didn't so much as leave a footprint. You are welcome anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Western New York State
5

It doesn't get better than this with kids!

  • 5 of 5

we didn't pay hundreds of dollars a night and we still experienced an unique stay! If you ever wanted to convert a dairy barn into your home live here vicariously for a week. Still there's air conditioning and high end appliances, and a pool! PAt sent us to the neighbor's farm where my kids (and we) were so overwhelmed. We are definitely going back.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review. We've had more kids this summer than ever before. I heard you were "overwhelmed" by a pack of guinea hens! We're still snickering over that one. Too bad you didn't have your cell phone to commemorate the attack.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Albany
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Williamstown MA
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Taconic Golf Club or Mt Anthoney CC
Nearest Train
40 Miles
Albany Rennselaer (Amtrac)
Nearest Motorway
45 Miles
Mass Pike or Interstate 91
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
Mezze, Coyote Flanco, Thai Garden, Spice Root, etc
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Jiminey Peak
Nearest Beach
12 Miles
Lake Paran, N. Bennington
Car: necessary

This corner where MA, NY and VT come together is filled with every kind of activity imaginable - museums; cultural events including music, dance and theater performances; agritourism and farmer's markets; festivals and fairs of all kinds; sports including hiking at all ability levels, Alpine skiing, Nordic skiing, golf, snowmobiling, horseback riding, boating, swimming; shopping including being equidistant between TWO outlet malls and a huge antique and craft complex, fabulous restaurants, tours of wine-, cheese-, beer- and ice cream-making facilities, historic attractions, etc., etc., etc. We are partial to hiking and have yet to experience all the trails, or take our dog to all the swimming holes in this part of the state.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday barn in Pownal, Vermont

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Christmas
23 Dec 2016 - 27 Dec 2016
4 night minimum stay
A$322
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add A$20 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer/Fall
26 May 2017 - 29 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
A$255
From
A$322
Fri,Sat,Sun
A$1,784
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add A$20 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
A$221
From
A$288
Fri,Sat,Sun
A$1,550
A$5,367
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add A$20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection A$79
Registration Fee A$181 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

For approved dog or dogs please add $15 per dog per night. Holidays and holiday eves falling on a weeknight are billed at the weekend rate. Registration fee covers standard cleaning only. Extraordinary cleaning, if needed, will be an additional charge of $100 or the actual cost, whichever is greater. The down payment for a cancelled reservation will be refunded to the extent a replacement guest books the dates cancelled.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday barn rental in Pownal

Property Type:
  • barn
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower enclosure , Laundry located in bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 extra lg. double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 4 single bed , Bunk beds are not suitable for overly large adults
    Bedroom 3 - 1 large double bed , Queen sleeper with memory foam topper. Request in advance.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski pass optional
  • ski
  • swimming
  • tennis