Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Spectacular Lake Front Home Sleeps 13, Close to Nyc & West Pt.

Sleeps13
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type chateau / country house

Overview

About the property

Chateau / Country House, 6 Bedrooms + Den, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 11-13)

Watching the sun raise or set on this Mediterranean style veranda will make you feel as if you were sitting in Southern France or Northern Italy. You overlook this gorgeous lake with all its tranquility and incredible range of animals including eagles, blue herons, beavers and swans just to name a few. You have full privacy at the pool, unwind laying in the hammock with a good book or glass of wine. Take out the kayak and enjoy the closeness to the water while exploring the environment. Cook your own dinner in a large gourmet kitchen overlooking the lake or BBQ. You may also visit one of the elegant restaurants right by the Hudson River, which is 10 minutes away.

At night, you may wish to play a round of table tennis in your own table tennis room.

In the winter, you can either ice skate on the lake or you head up north to Hunter or Wyndham mountain for skiing or snow boarding. When you come back home, you enjoy hot cocoa by the cozy wood fireplace in the grand living room while one of you plays the baby grand e-piano.

Keywords: Mediterranean lake-front living offering boats, bikes, BBQ, inside ping-pong table & fitness equipment. Minutes to hiking, horse farms, Hudson River, Storm King Art Center, West Point, shopping at Woodbury Commons, and one hour to major skiing areas. 2 minutes from train station going to NYC & NJ and 5 minutes to Stewart Airport. Boats, bikes, Close to fine dining & entertainment overlooking Hudson River.

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2011
Speaks english, german
Response time
Within 2 days
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
21 November, 2017

About The Owner

I am a Doctor of Naturopathy with a private practice in Germany. I am the co-founder of the Binder Institute for Personalized Medicine and the CEO of Ondamed GmbH and Ondamed Inc. My husband is the inventor of a therapeutic medical device, which we manufacture and distribute worldwide with our companies in Europe and New York. We have 6 children together, 3 grand-children, 2 little dogs, 2 cats and a bunny. My husband and I travel the world to educate physicians of a better and more personalized way to help their patients.

The Owner purchased this chateau / country house in 2003

Why The Owner chose Beaverdam Lake-Salisbury Mills

Our family used to live here before we decided to move our prime residency to Europe. We love this place because it is so peaceful here and the house offers much space to promote creativity. This truly is a little piece of heaven! Due to our extensive travel, it was an ideal place to raise our children while being close to major airports and New York City.

What makes this chateau / country house unique

You walk out of the house and stand right in front of the dock leading to the lake. You have an enormous choice of outdoor activities including fishing, boating, skiing, hiking, biking, air sailing, rafting, and horseback riding, . The area is 'artsy' and offers plenty of antique stores nearby. You can enjoy great restaurants only minutes away in Cornwall or on the waterfront of the Hudson Valley.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Silvia,

Thank you for everything that you did to make our stay so perfect. We got take-out food from Leo's and we were happy with our meals. Your home is so beautiful and the lake was mesmerizing! I can't put into words how perfect this was - my husband was extremely happy to have his children and grandchildren with him to celebrate his birthday. There were many matches of ping-pong with my son and & I and he still manages to be the champ! My daughter and I went for a paddle boat ride today and that too was relaxing and peaceful. My husband and I went for a walk with our grandson and I took some many great pictures of our stay. Again thank you and I hope you and your family get to enjoy many more happy times in Cornwall.

Sincerely,

Arlene

PS my daughter-in-law is from Germany and enjoyed some of the German books at your home.
Oct 2011
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chateau / country house rental in Beaverdam Lake-Salisbury Mills, New York

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 5:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 16 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower enclosure , jacuzzi , 2 sinks, Master Suite Bathroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , bath with shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , bath with shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , bath with shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet
  • 4.5
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Master - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 single bed
    Bedroom 6 - 1 large double bed , 1 cot
    Den - 2 single bed
  • The bedroom set-up is as follows: 2nd floor: • 2 queen-size bedroom suites with their own full private bathrooms • 1 queen-size bed bedroom • 1 twin-size bedroom • Full size bathroom for these 2 bedrooms • A playpen is provided in the master bedroom suite Ground floor: 2 queen-size bedrooms sharing a full size bathroom - these bedrooms are adjoined with a sliding glass door. A privacy bamboo standing wall is provided. The larger queen-size bedroom has sliding doors to our patio/lake from where you can walk a few steps to the main entrance to access the bathroom. Here you will also find the ping-pong table room, play/exercise room with a stationary computer. We also have 2 twin size oak wood beds set up in this room which is semi-private.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • video player
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Boat ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • 4 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • boating
  • horse riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • ski
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
For indoor fun we offer an e-Baby Grand Piano, Organ, drum set, kids' pool and tabletop soccer table. For your outdoor fun we provide you with a hammock, outdoor furniture and pool sunbeds, kayak, paddle boat, canoe, life jackets, fishing rods, bikes and helmets.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(49 traveller reviews)

87% Complete
8% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Spectacular Lake Front Home Sleeps 13, Close to Nyc & West Pt.
average rating of 4.7959185 based on 50 reviews
4

Beautiful views and October was a perfect season!

  • 4 of 5

First impression of the home was amazing! There was however, an abundant amount of spiders and spider webs inside and outside. I understand it's a lake house and a lot of that is beyond your control, but you can tell this neighborhood is upscale, and I just wish a quick pressure wash or spider spray before a guests arrival would have been nice touch....

Some of the beds were very uncomfortable, especially the master bedroom. The stove burner on the far right is damaged. It looks like it's turned off but gas is still leaking.

The clothing dryer had broke during or stay which was a huge inconvenience. Overall the house was great for the occasion and we did get a lot of compliments on the location and layout of the home. It just wasn't an overall 5 star stay.

  • Review Submitted: 26/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. I have copied my staff to look into the issues with the stove and dryer. I apologize for the inconvenience with these two issues. I am surprised to hear of my bed being uncomfortable. This is very strange since the mattress is expensive and made from natural materials only. Would you send me more information on this issue please? Spiders are active daily and I am not interested in toxic applications as I respect a healthy non-toxic environment. Thank you for staying at our home. Be well, Silvia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous Stay At This Lakefront Home!

  • 5 of 5

Everything was wonderful from the home's location to the beautiful lake it sits on. The home itself is very well kept and clean! The house is spacious and the kitchen is very large to accommodate several cooks. The patio (deck area) overlooking the lake was a great spot for dining outdoors! There are several restaurants and things to do in the area. We really enjoyed our stay here and wouldn't hesitate to return in the future!

  • Review Submitted: 04/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Salisbury, NC
5

We just had a wonderful vacation. It was 4 couples we had a GREAT time.

  • 5 of 5

This property was perfect for us. Plenty of room to gather together for meals and playing boards games. At the same time plenty of room to spread out for quite time to read. The views from the deck are AMAZING. It's a MUST STAY property. We never had to call the property manager.

  • Review Submitted: 30/09/2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

It is a very nice house. Just needs some updating.

  • 4 of 5

Loved the house. It just needs updating and entertainment options in the Bedrooms. None of the rooms have televisions. The basement doesn't have a TV either.

  • Review Submitted: 20/09/2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A stunningly beautiful lakeside home.

  • 5 of 5

This home was right on a beautiful lake, in a very peaceful spot. My mother, who is wheelchair-bound, came up from New York City and was greatly moved by the natural beauty of the place, and was refreshed by the peace and quiet of the location - she spent hours simply enjoying the ambiance on the sun deck. My brother is an avid bird watcher and had a splendid time as he identified all kinds of birds in the nearby trees and on the lake. My son loved splashing around in the lovely pool behind the house, and my cousin simply lounged by the pool working on her tan. My wife cooked up a storm for the 12 people who were comfortably billeted - the kitchen was well designed and had almost everything we needed for preparing family feasts. Everyone enjoyed themselves and did their own thing - there was space enough for folks to peel away and relax - and everyone left with their spiritual batteries recharged from such a lovely and relaxing spot. This was the nicest vacation I have had in years. Nothing but happy memories!!

  • Review Submitted: 14/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a beautiful summary of your vacation experience, Denis! Thank you so much. Be well, my very best, Silvia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Unresponsive Owner

  • 1 of 5

That we know the names and can comment on the activities of the caretaker (Bill), pool guy (Danny) and cleaning service (Kristine), sums up the beginning of this experience. Apparently the previous user(s) incurred significant havoc on the venue, and there was insufficient turnaround time to get the house into presentable condition. While they (the above mentioned team) went above and beyond, it does not erase the fact that we did not have complete use of many of the amenities until late Tuesday (arrived Saturday). My wife and I spent six hours between us on Saturday eve getting the kitchen in order, the pool was not available to us for the first 4 days, the washer was out of service for 6 days, and the lake was closed for several days while an algaecide was applied (i.e. the lakeside house with a pool provided neither). While we understand and appreciate that unanticipated events may occur, we were very disappointed by the response of the owner (Sylvia), who basically told us ‘sorry’, with no additional follow-up or adjustments for our inconvenience.

I will say that once the house was returned to order, it was a very good experience for my family. It had a ‘homey’ feel, and we all had personal space (My daughter, her husband and my grandson; other daughter and her husband, and my youngest daughter), yet there was plenty of space when we gathered for meals, hung out on the covered porch, fire pit or pool. We made full use of the kayak, canoe and paddle boat, and everyone had a successful fishing experience! The pool deck was expansive and relaxing.

  • Review Submitted: 31/07/2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: In summary: Marc and Theresa accepted a refund, yet they broke my washer and are giving false information regarding our lake access, cleanliness and my non responsiveness. These guests are not welcome back to our home. My team spent much time with them yet nothing was good enough. In detail my response to their email back in June: Thank you for the information on your plan to post your review. Again, I apologize for your inconvenience and disappointment. As you stated, the guests before you had left our home in bad condition. Of course I was involved to get things done for you, but behind the scenes. Still, upon emailing you my sincere apologies I immediately engaged my team. This was the reason why Kristine, Emily, and Bill as well as the pool man and the repair guy for the washer responded right away. Bill was on vacation or otherwise he would have stopped by the house personally right away. With all this said, yes, the pool was not available for the first 4 days since it had to be drained and refilled. The only responsible thing to do for our guests. Yes, our lake gets treated several times per year. The lake should not be accessed for 24 hours following the treatment, but not 6 days. I have lived on Beaver Dam Lake for 20 years, so I know what I am saying. The Beaver Dam Lake Community flyers posted state exactly this: no swimming for 24 hours. Now to the washer: Yes, the previous guests damaged our washing machine, we called the repair guy on Monday and it was fixed on Friday. The second time the washer broke, it was due to you; a coin which was in your laundry got stuck in the washer and it stopped working. So, we had to call the repair man again and he fixed the washer by removing the coin. I am prepared to offer you a $500 refund for your inconvenience. Certainly, I am glad to hear you enjoyed our home after all was in good order. I rent homes myself and often have to clean the house before feeling comfortable. I am particular when it comes to cleanliness, but I have never received any refunds and honestly, would not ask that of the owners. I hope you accept my offer. It is up to you if you wish to post your review. I will use the above reply to post mine as explanation. Respectfully Yours, Silvia Binder
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Stewart International (SWF)
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Washingtonville
Nearest Ferry
7 Miles
Newburgh
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Cornwall
Nearest Train
0.5 Miles
Cornwall-Salisbury Mills
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
84/87
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Laughran's Washingtonville
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Mt. Peter
Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Beaver Dam

Close to West Point, the Culinary Institute of America, Mohonk Mountain House, Minnewaska State Park, Woodbury Commons. Close to vineyards, the NY Renaissance Fair, Bannerman's Island, Bear Mountain, Storm King Mountain and Mount Beacon.

2 minutes to train station taking you to Secausus, 5 minutes to Stewart Airport and 20 minutes to Beacon taking you to Grand Central Station.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday chateau / country house in Beaverdam Lake-Salisbury Mills, New York

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
AU$927
AU$5,163
AU$13,238
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fees AU$529.52

One-night bookings are possible for $900 plus cleaning fees
Daily rates with 2 nights min. stay are $700 plus cleaning fees
One-week rates are $3,300 plus cleaning fees
One-month rates are $10,000 plus cleaning fees
Small events (up to 50 people) are welcome at an additional charge of $1,500

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • No refunds for cancellations made after payment is made
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable