Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Pristine Family Vacation

Bedrooms 2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

A visit to Carminden Cottage is the perfect family getaway to get back to basics. This cottage is named after our daughters Carmin, Denise and Mindy. Featuring Quiet nights and fun filled days!

This beautiful, smoke-free, cedarwood home is located in the heart of the Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia.

Minutes away from two ski resorts, Canaan Valley and Timberline, and minutes away from the Four Seasons Resort, which host the famous Dolly Sods hiking trail.

There is also a lake, river, fishing, bike rental, and golf nearby. In addition, there is a shared swimming pool that is now open for the summer. If there is a shopper in the family there are also craft and specialty shops only minutes away from Carminden Cottage that for your enjoyment includes air conditioning.

Spend your Nights dining in the cottage around the fireplace. If you are in the mood to go out for dinner there is a multitude of dining options.

This location also features some of the areas best restaurants. Ranging from juicy steak and chicken to succulent seafood and mouth watering desserts.

For the busy family a trip to Canaan Valley is a refreshing opportunity to tune into each other as well as tune into nature. Whether you spend your winter days skiing, or your summer days hiking, fishing, swimming and bike riding. You are sure to leave rested, refreshed, and ready to return to the hustle and bustle of your normal life.

Our family is excited to offer you and your family the opportunity to experience the soothing,slow pace life that we have enjoyed over the years.

As our kids have grown-up, they always remember the magical visits to their home away from home at Carminden Cottage. We hope the experience is just as rewarding and we hope that you will take a piece of the "magical spirit" of Carminden Cottage home with you.

Keywords: Log Cabin

More Details

Member since: 2004
Speaks english
Response time
Within a few hours
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
7 August, 2018

Guestbook comments from the owner

We recently placed our property on VRBO because we wanted to lower the cost of family vacations for families with children. As our three daughters continue to grow we always valued the wonderful time we spent at Carminden Cottage without spending a lot of money. The kids would help make a healthy breakfast every morning before we were off fishing, biking, swimming, or sightseeing. After long,hot, tiring days we would come home fix dinner,make some delicious brownies, maybe watch a movie and play in the Hottub on the back porch. On special days the kids would invite friends over for dinner who they met while swimming.

We would go to dinner at least twice during our 10 day stay. Big Johns was the kids favorite. They would order pizza. Go on the back steps and feed the fish, or play games. The wife and I would get a minute to catch our breath and talk about how relaxing the time had been.The other dinner outing was at the Golden Anchor. This is absolutely my favorite seafood restaurant. All the workers remember the kids, and the owner visits every table. If you are seriously interested please call. We are new at this and want to build our business. If price is an issue, make us an offer. We know if we get you to visit will return, again and again! It's the magic of Canaan Valley. Call today and get your reservations..
May 2004
  • 1 of 1


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin rental in Davis

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Full bathroom in master bedroom with Jetted hot tub! Full bathroom upstairs.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • video player
  • Video Games
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub
  • jacuzzi ...
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horse riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • ski
  • snowboarding
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis
Property recently renovated, remodeled, new floors, furniture, new kitchen cabinets, tile floors installed, wall smart TV, painted.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(103 traveller reviews)

87% Complete
5% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
Pristine Family Vacation
average rating of 4.757282 based on 104 reviews
Wilmington, Delaware

Wonderful Long Weekend Stay

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed in this cabin for four days, along with our dogs Woody and Riley. We loved the cabin and the quiet nights, and found that four days was not nearly enough time to explore the area. We hiked at Seneca Rocks and at the South Branch of the Potomac, and also visited Blackwater Falls and saw a bit of the Dolly Sod. Our favorite place to eat was the Blackwater Brewing Company in Davis - pretty good food and excellent beer! Floyd was wonderful in making sure we had the information we needed. And, the HomeAway listing was exactly on target. Thanks - we really enjoyed the visit, and hope to return! - Janet

  • Review Submitted: 30/04/2007
  • Date of Stay: March 2007
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 4

Quiet, cosy stay

  • 4 of 5

Property was very nice, quiet, and had adequate kitchen utensils/equipment. Interior is nearly all pine planks and beams. Decent beds and bathrooms. Not a big place by any stretch but had enough sleeping and living areas (including loft upstairs) to handle a family. Hot tub wasn't working but Floyd reimbursed us for the inconvenience and has stated that the tub has been fixed. Nice location to access the Canaan Valley and Monongahela Forest activities. Everything was clean including linens and towels when we arrived. Would stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: 18/08/2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

In the heart of everything....sweet cabin

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was perfectly wonderful. The neighborhood was quiet and the amenities were great! We had 5 people and there was plenty of room, nice oversized bathrooms, washer and dryer was fabulous since we got pretty dirty exploring the area. We found a great fishing pond behind Big Johns restaurant, and they are building a kayak launch area in Davis, so it had everything we wanted.

Only problem was the hot tub was not heating well, but we did notify the owner, so hopefully it will be repaired. A bigger grill would have been great, but the food still cooked up delishiously on the 2 small ones.

We recommend this cabin and the price was very reasonable. Floyd was quick to respond to my questions, and that was much appreciated.

  • Review Submitted: 14/08/2018
  • Date of Stay: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much Joni, for this great review. We value and appreciate wonderful guest like you and your family! We were notified about three weeks ago that the hot tub was not heating sufficiently. We contacted Waterworks, the local hot tub repair business. They informed us that it would be about two weeks before they were able to make a house call. This is their busiest time of the year! Good news! The hot tub was fixed yesterday. We had the heating element replaced. It was rather expensive, however, it is well worth it for our amazing visitors! :) We will purchase a new larger grille! We value and appreciae our visitors informaing us of things we can do to improve their vacation expereince at Carminden Cottage! We ook forward to your next visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

"Sleeps 8" but Only Showers 2

  • 1 of 5

No Internet, no WiFi.

The upstairs shower didn't work.

The water heater accommodated only two 10-minute showers before conking out.

The loose-handled cookware tipped and spilled liquid all over the stove.

There's no driveway or gravel, so you can't help but park in the muddy front yard.

The front and back doors stick so badly, you keep checking the locks to see why they won't open.

My daughter endured sleeping on a sagging twin bed for the duration, and then the owner kept $100 from our deposit and blamed us for "breaking the bed." It was a sad end to an uncomfortable stay. The only part we enjoyed was when we were outside. We'll be back to visit beautiful West Virginia, but we'll stay somewhere else.

  • Review Submitted: 05/04/2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Amanda, Thank you and your family for staying at our lovely vacation home! We appreciate your family's decision to visit. We are sorry for your inconvenience. As we discussed, we have the best and most professional cleaning and maintainence staff in the Valley. As evidence by the well over 100 ***** star ratings we have received. from previous guests who have stayed on our property. Our staff inspect the cabin hours before guests arrive, and within a day or two when they checkout. I was sent a picture by the cleaning staff of the bed frame, that was broken in several places. It appeared that kids had been jumping from one bed to the next. Amanda, no one ever likes to claw back security deposit funds from guests, especially nice families like yours. But, as a parent and from working around kids all my professiomal life, it is enevitable that they will from time to time get into mischief! It is just the nature of kids. The only unfortunate thing is when they are our kids! This is the first time in over 15 years we have had to deduct any money from a family because of property damage. We are very sorry we had to do this. I know it has upset your family and we may have lost your future business. We feel it is important to stick with our policy. It is there to protect our investment, provide the quality of furniture, and houshold products that will make families stay much like home. We will look into your other concerns and see if threy can be addressed. Thank you again for your stay! We wish you all the best! Floyd Jones Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very convenient location and a nice host

  • 5 of 5

We loved our three-day stay in the cottage (which is situated right between Canaan Valley and Timberline Resorts), and near the town of Davis. The hot tub was nice after skiing, and the house was clean and functional, with a nice fireplace and plenty of room for our family of 5.

We would plan to come back on our next trip to WV.

  • Review Submitted: 29/01/2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Thanks for sharing your home with us.

  • 5 of 5

Perfect in every way!

  • Review Submitted: 18/01/2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1


Shared Swimming Pool


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday cabin in Davis

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Summer 2018
1 May 2018 - 24 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
Fall Foliage
25 Sep 2018 - 20 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
Mid November to Mid December
21 Nov 2018 - 18 Dec 2018
2 night minimum stay
19 Dec 2018 - 28 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
New Years
29 Dec 2018 - 3 Jan 2019
3 night minimum stay
4 Jan 2019 - 14 Mar 2019
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee AU$102.13
Refundable Damage Deposit AU$340.42

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if cancelled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner