Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Apt 2Mi To DC & 15 Min To Georgetown

Bedrooms 1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 - 4 nights

About the property

Spacious, Sunny 1 Br Walk- In Apartment With Everything

The apartment has private entrance and is the whole first floor of our house. A 10 block/10 minute walk to metro bus stop taking you to Friendship Heights Metro Train Station. Free parking in front of house and all day right by metro bus stop as residential neighborhood. It is a very sunny above ground apt with large bright windows. It has easy access to C&O Canal and Potomac River for hiking/kayaking and is across street from Glen Echo Park. It's in a charming, tree-filled neighborhood, close-in to some of Washington DC's most charming neighborhoods and the surrounding tourist attractions. The apartment has two queen beds with high quality Ralph Lauren and Pottery Barn Linens, fireplace, a third bed is twin pull-out couch with real posturepedic mattress in living room next to cable TV, a full kitchen with stove, microwave, dishwasher, full size clothes washer/dryer, standard cable tv channels, high speed internet, large bathroom with separate sink area, large walk in closet, and comfy, charming furniture. Free street parking in front of apartment and also in front of Wash DC Metrobus or MD Ride On Bus stops which are ten walking blocks from apt and take you to metro train station from which to get to tourist areas in Wash DC. For further information on public transit please visit Washington Metro Area Transit Authority's (WMATA) website. Go to 'Trip Planner' to find the travel options between your desired destination and our house address.

Ideal And Idyllic Location: We are also 15 minutes by car from Georgetown where you take uber/taxi or can park your car for day for around $12 and catch the tourist hop on hop off trolley car at Old Stone House stop on M Street to all Smithsonian Museums and Monuments and over 20 other tourist stops. Check internet for several trolley companies that operate route & check for two day ticket prices at discount if purchased ahead of time. Trolley is very easy, convenient, fun for sightseeing families with kids. Apartment is kept very clean by our outstanding cleaning lady.

More Details

Property Manager
Denise Von Gersdorff
Member since: 2014
Speaks english, french, spanish, portuguese
Response time
Within 2 days
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
26 February, 2017

About Denise Von Gersdorff

I am a mom and former World Bank officer. My husband works for the Government and we live upstairs with our two girls, and are usually around in case you need anything but wont disturb you otherwise. Private entrance to your apt and private washing and drying laundry machines not shared with our family.

Why Denise Von Gersdorff chose Maryland - Washington DC

This area is one of the most charming areas close to Washington. We have lived in neighborhoods near the Potomac River for many years, where some of the most charming neighborhoods of DC are located. This house is two minutes drive from the DC line, so very easy to get into town in the morning!

What makes this apartment unique

This is a wonderfully appointed spot in a leafy and quiet neighborhood very close to Washington DC and all the sights. It's just outside historic Glen Echo, and a short walk to the Potomac River, C&O canal and other outdoor attractions. Full Kitchen with stove, microwave, toaster and coffee press and also private laundry with full size clothes washing and drying machines. Private entance to apartment. Above ground first floor of house so very sunny and bright.


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

Apt 2Mi To DC & 15 Min To Georgetown
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 6 reviews
Saxapahaw, NC

Pros and Cons

  • 2 of 5

The location of this apartment is enticingly appealing, but the condition of the refrigerator and the bedroom mattresses (added to many smaller problems), makes this apartment for us, frustrating and unacceptable. My husband and I are over 65 and have rented about 12 VRBO properties in the US and Europe over the past 10 years as well as having stayed in other VRBO properties owned by friends and family. All of our rentals were less expensive and had amenities in much better condition than this apartment. Based on our experience, we think our list reflects reasonable basic condition expectations.

Pros: Location was perfect for our purposes. In a heavily wooded neighborhood a few hundred yards above the Potomac River, it felt safe and was surprisingly quiet (other than airliners on their regular flight path to Reagan International Airport in D.C.) Satisfyingly dark when the lights were off. Nice pieces of art on the walls. Mostly pleasant furniture in good condition. Very clean and bright. Cons: There was rust on the outside of the refrigerator and on the lowest temp setting, food froze in the refrigerator. The mattress and box springs on the bed frame sagged in the middle. The mattress set on the floor gave more support but was not as comfortable at the 20+ year old mattress and box springs (also on the floor) that we sleep on at home. Kitchen has very little counter space. Dirty dishes were in the dishwasher when we arrived with no dishwasher detergent that we could find. We only found sugar, salt and pepper, about 8 teabags and Dawn dish liquid available as staples. Knobs were broken and removed from the range hood. There were badly scratched teflon coated fry/saute pans (as well as several usable stainless steel sauce pans). Had to ask the owners for a can opener and we re-aligned a bent corkscrew with pliers to make it usable. There is a broken coffee table in the living room as well as a visually unpleasant single bed; not the advertised "pull-out couch" nor the "sleep sofa/futon". The provided bath towels were heavily frayed, unraveling and stringy on the edges. We located 2 other towels in the linen closet; one with holes and one with dirty black marks. There is a broken towel rack in the bathroom and a tub with a shower, however for a bath, the drain would not close.

Parking is not always available "in front of the apartment". Although it was "free", we usually had to park down the street and one time on a connecting street.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. We would have done our best to fix any of the issues you refer to immediately had we been told during your stay. Vrbo is charging new fees to tenants however our winter rates of $110 night have not increased and we believe they are very fair for this area. Thank you for your praise for the cleaning crew as that is important and the reason we have to charge $150. We have purchased new mattresses, towels and cookware which is not teflon coated for guests like you who do not like teflon. The pull out couch is the green couch in the living room so we believe you may not have noticed it. The matress in the pull out couch is a Sealy posturepedic. Parking immediately in front is unadvisable due to a fire hydrant but there is parking by house next door and others right next to apt. Regardless we are very sorry that the apartment did not please and wish you all the best.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

The place was like it was advertised.

  • 4 of 5

We all enjoyed our stay at Denise and Trig's place. They were very friendly and helpful. The location was great, it was easy to get to the metro station to get where we wanted to go. Would go back.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Awesome Experience

  • 5 of 5

The location was perfect for our family having 2 sons close to DC. Additionally, downtown DC was easy to get to in spite of the traffic. Bethesda had great amenities also including access to the bike trail which is a great trip to DC. We were able to entertain our family of six many of the days we spent there. For being a small 1-bedroom apartment, the rooms including the kitchen were spacious. This is our new favorite spot in the DC area!

  • Review Submitted: Dec 14, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Gloria. We were very happy to have such a lovely family stay with us and can recommend you to other hosts without reservation. Please come again. Warm regards, Denise and Trigg
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Perfect location for us. All the amentities you can think of.

  • 5 of 5

Like others, we rented for 2 weeks last Spring and 2 weeks this October as the location is close to family -- close so we can take the grandkids to school. Ideal for family visiting DC area. Wonderful place to stay -out of the traffic and noise of the City, yet so close to the Nation's capital and all the sightseeing areas.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 15, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you you were great guests and we can recommend you without reservation to other hosts. Warm regards, Denise and Trigg
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Perfect for us

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I rented for three weeks in May and had a lovely time being close to our family. So close that our daughter could just bicycle over with the kids and I got to take my granddaughter to school on numerous occasions. It was like living close to the kids without being around all the time. The accommodations worked very well. Room for family to come over for dinners, pizza ordered in, and even able to walk over. Easy to get to supermarket and loved walking to Glen Echo Park. The owners were lovely and easy to work with if anything was needed. We are coming back.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 3, 2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your positive review and we look forward to having you stay next time you visit your grandkids! Best regards, Denise and Trigg
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great Apartment in Bethesda

  • 5 of 5

This was a wonderful place to stay. Roomy for a family with full kitchen and laundry. I stayed 4 nights and it worked perfectly for us....especially the Christmas cookies provided by the hosts. The DC area is notorious for traffic....this is in quiet neighborhood yet only about 8 miles from the White House. The apartment was spotless!!! This is a very important requirement for me. I would never recommend a place that is not perfectly clean.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 3, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Linda for your great review! We definitely keep the apt spotless as that is basic requirement for us. You were a lovely guest and so where your kids! We highly recommend Linda and her family to other vrbo hosts and hope she will make a return visit with us! Best regards, Trigg and Denise
Did you find this review helpful?
13 0


Nearest Airport
25 Miles
dulles airport
Car: recommended

This is located off McArthur Boulevard, a picturesque and easy route into Washington DC and all its attractions such as Smithsonian Museums and Washington Monuments.


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday apartment in Bethesda, Maryland

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Summer Vacation
1 Jun 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
4 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add A$26 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee A$195
Tax Rate 7.0%

Additional charge of $20 per night for additional person in apartment after 4 people which is included in standard price. A 7% temporary occupancy tax will be charged in accordance with Md state tax laws (in Washington DC proper it is 14.5% so double and staying with us you are on border with DC so only few minutes away). Please bring a valid identification document when you arrive. Like any temporary residence place we keep a xerox copy of your ID card or passport with us to identify each guest who stayed with us. We are required to do so for everyone. Thank you for your help!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment rental in Bethesda, Maryland

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 large double bed , 1 sofa bed/futon , Twin pull out in living room comfy posturepedic mattress
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Lawn / Garden
  • long term rentals available
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • swimming