Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

8 Miles From Cedar Point, One Block From Private Beach

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 100 m²
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom, 1.5 Bath, Sleeps 8

Our property has a master bedroom with a half bath attached and a queen size bed, bedroom 2 with a twin over full bunk bed is perfect for the kids, and bedroom 3 with another queen. The living room has a queen pull out sofa and a twin daybed is in the back room of the house. We think you'll be comfortable in our newly renovated home and make many happy family vacation memories in our 1100 sf bungalow. There are towels, linens, pack and play, dishes for 10, fully stocked kitchen, washer and dryer, 52 inch tv with satellite and internet access.


Owner
Owner/Manager
Member since: 2015
Speaks english, hindi, telegu, kannada, tamil
Response time
Within 12 hours
Response rate
90%
Calendar last updated:
8 June, 2017

About Owner/Manager

The Michael's live in Grove City, OH, but Danielle, the wife, grew up near Huron and has always loved the North Coast in the Summer. We find ourselves returning regularly to visit family and enjoy the lake, so decided to buy a piece of this lovely lake front for ourselves. This house has been a labor of love for us and we put many touches into it that we appreciate. We use the Lake House and our three littles (I was 8 month's pregnant with #3 in this picture) love staying here. We have already made many happy memories...we hope your family and friends have the same experience, along with peace and rest (that so often eludes us on vacations!)

Owner/Manager purchased this cottage in 2014

Why Owner/Manager chose Ohio

Its beautiful, unique, and close to everything you need.

What makes this cottage unique

While you are visiting, make sure and check out our unique 1950's bomb shelter in the backyard. A very interesting story came with the home and shelter about the previous owners....It's a must see! Did you also know that Huron was voted one of the coolest small towns in the US by Budget Traveler for 2015. Check out for yourself why!

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage rental in Huron

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 100 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View ...
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath (no shower) , shower enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double bed , 1 single bed
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
Notes:
We would be happy to recommend local services, restaurants, experiences, if you are looking for something in particular. Just ask!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(15 traveller reviews)

8 Miles From Cedar Point, One Block From Private Beach
average rating of 4.266667 based on 15 reviews
5

Beautiful house

  • 5 of 5

Really nice hosts. If we had any trouble, they were right there to help us. Nice large "great room" too.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Place to Visit!

  • 5 of 5

Decorated in a fun shabby chic style this place was roomy, well maintained, and perfectly situated close to the water and parks. The family and I enjoyed our stay. The surrounding neighborhood was quiet, the people lovely, and we were right next to parks and the lakefront. Our hosts were accommodating and made us feel welcome. We would come back and stay again, and recommend it to families traveling in the area.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cute little place, well maintained by the owner.

  • 4 of 5

Overall experience was very positive.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Avondale AZ
5

Beautiful surroundings, relaxing and quiet!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you Danielle for having you home in Huron Ohio on Lake Erie open for rent and for being so accommodating on the check out time that helped immensely when it was time to pack it up. It was perfect for myself, my daughters, and their children. Ten of us in all and everyone was comfortable. It was a relaxing time on the lake, playing, visiting with family, and reconnecting. It is an older house and it was perfect for us - I love old architecture. With beautiful surroundings to take leisurely walks and the quiet sounds of nature and plenty of room for the children to play. Overall a beautiful vacation. Thank you, Jody

  • Review Submitted: Aug 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Very disappointing

  • 1 of 5

Arrived later than planned, had booked for one week, stayed one night. We (4 adults, 2 children, 1 infant) drove up to Michael House and felt the outside of the home was overgrown, tired looking. Still had hope for inside as Homeaway photos looked bright and sunny, clean and inviting. This was not the case. Walked into mildew smelling, living room with no A/C. Ceiling fans were present. Although the Homeaway photos did NOT show window unit A/C's (leading us to believe there would be Central Air), there were 4 rooms with beds and only window units in 3 of them. Duct tape around them. A bed was in a room off the kitchen, without A/C, although the dishwasher was also in this room. There were no A/C units in the main living spaces such as Living, Dining and kitchen areas. The bathroom shower was old and bowed, most likely from moisture and had a window inside the shower that was taped all around. We knew the children could not stay in this house. Laundry in basement (we did not see this for ourselves) as going down the steps was difficult.

The Willow Grove Beach is not the best for children as there were rocks and shells mixed into the very small sandy area. At this point, I did not walk to Rye Beach as we had decided we could not stay in this home.

This is a true description of the Michael House. I contacted the owner and asked for any type of refund, however, I was told that was not possible.

This was my first experience with booking a Homeaway Property. It will be difficult to trust this site moving forward as there should be some way of checking photos placed by owners.

Sandy C.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so sorry to hear about your experience. I certainly do not try to misrepresent anything about our property. I try to clearly list all of the amenities. We love our "tired little place" and I think other travelers do too. I think maybe your issue was the fact that you showed up late (four days into your reservation) for whatever, in our peak season, and wanted a refund because you didn't use your time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Canton, Ohio, USA
3

Lake Erie House Stay

  • 3 of 5

We attended a conference in Sandusky over several days of a weekend. This house provided that comfortable bed we each needed. The kids really enjoyed each having their own bed. The location was very convenient to the venue where our activities were. The refrigerator was full sized, which helped as we brought our food for the weekend. When we arrived the floors were swept, the beds were made and the toilets were clean. It definitely served its purpose for us.

  • Review Submitted: May 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Cleveland Hopkins
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Sandusky, OH

Cedar point amusement park is located exactly 8 scenic coastal miles from our property to the entrance of the park. Sheldon marsh and old women's creek, popular attractions for birders, is also within a couple of miles. Sandusky is one exit away, with all of the restaurants, stores, and super centers a family on vacation would need. There are several very good local winery's that you need to visit while here, including paper moon and quarry hill. Take time to walk around the old boat basin in huron or see a summer play at the huron playhouse. A wonderful get away to plan around your cedar point vacation.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday cottage in Huron

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
1 Jun 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
3 night minimum stay
A$288
A$1,605
 
 
Fall
6 Sep 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$201
A$1,204
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
A$147
A$870
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee A$133.78
Property Damage Protection A$78.93

We are always open to booking two night stays if there is a gap between visits that is two days. Please just ask.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

Other Holiday Properties