Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Ski/Lake Chalet mins to Sunday Rvr, N. Pond 1min away, 2 Kitchens, HotTub,GameRm

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 204 m²
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrm/2.5 Bath, 2 Full Kitchens, Hot Tub,Game Room,Wii,Ski Lockers,Wifi,Kayaks

Family-friendly Chalet-Style cabin minutes away from world class skiing and across the street from beautiful North Pond with lake access just a short walk away. Kayaks available for rent during summer months! On three acres next to Wildlife Preserve. Updated recently with upgrades including luxurious Egyptian cotton sheets, thick memory foam mattress toppers, and plush down alternative comforters. Hot Tub with Pavilion recently installed next to new stone firepit!

Excited to now offer a licensed massage therapist available by appointment. Ask for details!

You will feel right at home as you snuggle up by the brand new cast iron stove on cool nights. Large families will appreciate our two full kitchens and the two warm and spacious master bedrooms with queen beds and memory foam mattress toppers. Upstairs you will find twin bunk beds, a queen and a full bed along with a half bath. Downstairs features a full size bed, as well as bunk beds for the little ones. Baby gate and doors to limit access of little ones to each level of the house.

The balcony features a propane grill with views of the Wildlife Preserve and the new stone fire pit with benches perfect for S'Mores and campfire stories. A downstairs game room features darts, foosball, DVD player and flat screen TV, board games and a Wii gaming system, including Wii Fit. The basement entrance features a mudroom with washer, dryer, and 3 storage lockers perfect for skis and boots after a day filled with groomers and that amazing Sunday River Powder or kayak paddles after a warm summer day. After a fun day of adventure, enjoy the Wi-Fi and 3 flat screen TVs with cable and Epix movie channel as you wind down and plan your next day's fun!

With North Pond just minutes away, you will love exploring the surrounding waters in our two kayaks available for rent, so don't forget your fishing poles! Buck's Ledge and Lapham Ledge hiking trails minutes away, as well. Grab a granola bar, and set off on an adventure with the whole family!

More Details

Owner
Aqeel and Michelle Salim
Member since: 2015
Speaks english
Response time
Within an hour
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
20 September, 2017

About Aqeel and Michelle Salim

We first fell in love with the Sunday River area of Maine in 2011 during a family ski trip. When we had a chance to come back the following year in late summer for some hiking and were amazed at how much Maine had to offer. This year we decided that Western Maine would be a wonderful place to bring our young son so that he would have a chance to experience the amazing array of outdoor activities that the area we had to offer. We hope you will enjoy our cabin as much as we do!

Aqeel and Michelle Salim purchased this chalet in 2015

Why Aqeel and Michelle Salim chose Western Maine

This Chalet offered the best of both worlds. Being less than 20 minutes away from Sunday River ensured that world class skiing was always close by. And by being so close to the water we would have a chance to kayak and fish as much as we wanted. We feel extremely lucky to have found this home.

What makes this chalet unique

Being so close to North Pond, our guests can walk out of the home and be on the water in mere minutes. There are also amazing hiking trails waiting to be explored. During winter months, a short car ride and you are at the base of the best ski resort on the east coast, Sunday River. After a day filled with fun, the fire pit and hot tub outside welcome you to sit, relax, and plan the next days adventures.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We loved the house, we had so much fun. The house had everything we could possibly need. Loved being together and creating lasting memories, friendships. Lost of laughs!
Feb 2017
  • 1 of 18

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet rental in Woodstock, Maine

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 204 m²
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , bath with shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed , Master Suite
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed , Second Master Suite
    Bedroom 3 - 1 large double bed , 1 double bed , 2 single bed , Twin Bunk Beds
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double bed , 2 single bed , Twin Bunk Beds
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • festivals
  • forests
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • ski
  • swimming
Notes:
Excited to now offer a licensed massage therapist available by appointment. Ask for details!

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(54 traveller reviews)

94% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
Ski/Lake Chalet mins to Sunday Rvr, N. Pond 1min away, 2 Kitchens, HotTub,GameRm
average rating of 4.888889 based on 72 reviews
5

Great place!!

  • 5 of 5

I rented this place for my family trip with the kids and we had an amazing time. Aqeel was very kind and professional and answered all of my questions. He gave me a list of fun things to do in the area and always answered my calls or e mails immediately. The place is cozy and very clean. We bought wood from rich the next door neighbor and he was such a friendly guy and was always available for us when we called him. I give this place five stars and I appreciate the hospitality we were shown by Aqeel and his wife Michelle. Thank you for allowing my family to make fun memories!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kristin, it was a pleasure having you all stay with us. Rich said he had a great time interacting with your group and that he'd love to have you come kayaking with him again. It was great speaking with you, it sounds like you all had a wonderful time. We can't wait to host you all again. Until next time, thank you! Aqeel and Michelle
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome stay, last minute rescue!

  • 5 of 5

We are so thankful that we were able to stay at Aqeel and Michelles wonderful cabin. Our previous reservations fell through last minute and Aqeel was able to have us comfortably settled in within a few hours of us calling him. He called after we arrived to check in and make sure we had found everything we needed, he also suggested a few dinner options since we hadnt had time to get groceries. The lobster mac n cheese at Rooster’s was amazing! The hot tub was clean and hot and a wonderful way to relax after our hectic first day. We took the kayaks out despite the cool weather and had a blast, although we didn’t catch any fish. We enjoyed our stay a lot and are hoping to come back again for an extended stay this next time. Thank you again for saving our trip!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Tiffany, We were so glad we were able to help you and your group with your vacation plans! It sounds like everyone had a great time with good food and kayaking (despite not catching a fish)! We hope you all will stay again soon (perhaps for the beautiful fall foliage in October or skiing/snowboarding--we should have snow on Mt Abram and at Sunday River by mid-November!)! Aqeel and Michelle
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful fully stocked "cabin". Very clean.

  • 5 of 5

I had a great time. Great spot for all your outdoor needs.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying with us Rob, it was great having you and your friends out. We're glad you had a great time exploring the area and enjoyed the stocked kitchen. Hopefully you took advantage of the waffle maker! We are looking forward to having you back out again soon. Aqeel and Michelle
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location with all the comforts of home.

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful hospitality providing a scenic, peaceful environment, with all the luxuries of the connected tech world. Thanks!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 25, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Pam, it was wonderful having you and Donovan stay with us. Thank you for allowing us to share the home with you--it was great getting to speak to you and help you plan some of your outings. I'm also glad that you enjoyed Netflix on your computer during your stay! We also have spent a few nights binge-watching our favorite shows by the fire. We are looking forward to having you both back out in the future. Until next time, thanks again! Aqeel and Michelle
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect spot for our introduction to Maine!

  • 5 of 5

Having never visited Maine, we were looking for something that would be in the middle of attractions that we wanted to see. This rental was exactly what we needed. 4 bedrooms on 3 floors gave us a lot of room to "get away" from each other. Aqeel contacted us before we got there to make sure all was OK. Check in was on time and everything was in order. There were no surprises, which is exactly how we wanted it. The hot tub was clean and hot. We didn't end up using the grill or the firepit. The deck was nice. We spent a lot of time on it in the evenings. We heard our first loon there, which was great. There is so much to do within a half hour from the rental. Step Falls, Maine Minerals, whale rock, etc... We could have stayed another week and not ran out of things to do. Aqeel contacted us after check out too, to make sure all was good. Overall it was a great stay. I highly recommend it staying at this chalet

  • Review Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Michael, thanks so much for allowing us to host you and your group! Summer is always a great time at the cabin and it sounds like you all made the most of the outdoors during your stay. We were glad you were able to make it out to some the highlights we recommended. We would love to have you back out again in the near future. Aqeel and Michelle
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Over promised, under delivered: False advertising.

  • 1 of 5

Our stay was Jul 20-24, 2017 and it was HOT (High 80s). VRBO advertises this home as air conditioned via window AC units. There was no AC window units installed when we arrived. They were only installed on the evening of our second night after complaining to the owners twice upon our arrival. Although this house is advertised as having AC window units during the hot spring and summer months, the owners told us (after we arrived) that they don't install ACs until late August; --- and they would only install them in 2 of the 4 bedroom windows. So you shouldn't expect to get any sleep if your in the rooms without AC; that is unless you bring a fan for the window and enjoy listening to Route 26 traffic. The house is located directly on Rout 26 (Heavy Truck Traffic) and not the secluded Chalet on the lake that's advertised. In fact, you should expect to blaze a trail thru tall tick infested weeds, or drag your Kayaks along Route 26 to waters edge, ---- unless you have a truck. Don't expect the owners to offer any compensation for these short comings, renter beware.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kevin, thank you for the feedback from your stay. We pride ourselves on both customer satisfaction and communication, which is why we checked in with your group upon your arrival and again 4 hours later to ensure that you had found everything you needed. You did not notify us that you were uncomfortable with the temperatures upon your arrival when we called you, nor did we anticipate that, as local weather reports for the day forecast a high of 82 degrees and a low of 60 degrees. If you had done so, we would have been glad to have our property manager install all 3 window units that afternoon. As you did not communicate this to us, we were not able to install them until the next day (at 2PM). We provide all of our guests with a list of cabin rules to ensure that groups have a safe and enjoyable stay. We explicitly state that guests are not to open windows in which there is an AC unit installed. It is unfortunate that your group decided not to follow these rules, which lead to 1 of our 3 units being dropped out of a window. We also request that guests contact us immediately if there are any concerns during the stay. We were not once contacted by your group after the day of your arrival and therefore were not aware that a window unit had been dropped or of any other concerns you state above. The first person to notify us that a unit had been dropped was our housekeeper when she arrived after your group had departed. At that point, we had to contact you for explanation as to what happened during your stay. Our cabin rules also inform guests that they are not to walk through the wilderness preserve which is located between the cabin and the lake, as it is a nesting ground for cranes and other wetland birds. A map of the area around the 3 acres that the cabin sits on, as well as instructions of where lake access is located, was provided to you prior to your arrival. We assure you and future guests that we will continue to improve our product and strive to provide a quality experience to all groups who stay with us. Aqeel and Michelle
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
63 Miles
Portland International
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Sunday River
Nearest Ski
13 Miles
Sunday River
Car: necessary

15 minutes from Sunday River, 5 minutes from Mount Abrams, across the street from North Pond.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday chalet in Woodstock, Maine

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall/Leaf Season
10 Sep 2017 - 19 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
A$220
From
A$283
Fri,Sat
A$1,507
 
 
Peak Ski Season
17 Dec 2017 - 2 Apr 2018
3 night minimum stay
A$345
From
A$496
Fri,Sat
A$2,794
 
 
SALE: Late Ski/Early Spring
3 Apr 2018 - 31 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
A$188
From
A$220
Fri,Sat
A$1,256
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
A$245
From
A$345
Fri,Sat
A$1,821
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee A$251.14
Damage Insurance A$74.09
Damage Deposit A$251.14

Memorial Day, 4th of July, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Eve/Day and New Year's Eve/Day will be charged at the weekend rate.

We do not book/schedule arrivals or departures on Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Eve/Day, or New Year's Eve/Day, as our employees need time with their families.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

Other Holiday Properties