Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

APRIL SPECIAL $125!Rustic Luxury Lake Home on Sebec Lake! Waterfront, free WIFI!

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 1,872 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom, 2 1/2 Bathroom waterfront home with modern amenities.

Welcome to our luxurious and rustic, lakefront property situated on Sebec lake. One of Maine's most pristine and prettiest lakes. The three bedroom, 2 ½ bath home is finished with custom details throughout including brand new stone fireplace, outdoor kitchen, and outdoor fire pit area. Completely furnished with all the amenities you need to be as comfortable as possible during your stay, including washer and dryer, linens and towels, and a full kitchen, equipped with all the necessary cooking appliances for whipping up your favorite meals.

Other special details throughout the house include radiant heat, deck fire pit, indoor/outdoor bluetooth speaker, free wireless internet, DirectTV and phone. Finished basement with a walkout to the lake. Dock available for use with a floating island and kayaks. Public boat launch is less than ½ mile away. Fish all year long including great ice fishing in the winter!

Check us out on Facebook (just copy and paste this link):

www.facebook.com/sebeclakehouse

Boat rentals--party barge, fishing boats, waterskis and wakeboards are all available at Tim Merrril & Co http://www.boatsebeclake.com/links.html across the lake in DoverFoxcroft. Water temperature reaches almost 80F degrees in the summer months, so great for water activities. The water is unbelievably clean and clear. Daytime temps in the summer months range from 75-90F, with the evenings 50-70.

Other Activities: There are 4 nine hole golf courses within a 25 mile radius. Eighteen hole courses, some very nice about an hour away. There is great fly fishing and whitewater rafting on the Penobscot river 1 1/2 hours away. Shopping and restaurants are in Dover Foxcroft 1/2 hour away. Great hiking can be found at Boarstone Mountain, Baxter State Park, and Gulf Hagus. Peaks-Kenny State Park is part of Sebec Lake. Also within a half hour are tennis courts and horseback riding. Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor make for a nice day trip from the lake house about 2 hours away.

More on Sebec Lake: http://www.lakelubbers.com/sebec-lake-983/

Located in central Maine's Piscataquis River Valley, Sebec Lake is surrounded by a land of recreational opportunity. Whether you come to relax in New England's rural countryside or accept the challenge of the Appalachian Trail, Sebec Lake has it all. Boating, fishing, hiking, hunting, canoeing, scenic drives and wildlife viewing are among the many activities found in the Maine Highlands region that surrounds Sebec Lake.

A scenic 45-mile drive northwest of Bangor takes you to the rolling hills and wooded shoreline of Lake Sebec. The 11-mile long lake is formed on the Sebec River by the Sebec Dam. Twice a year Sebec Lake's water level is lowered from its average depth of 42 feet to encourage the salmon spawning.

More than 800 properties are tucked among the trees surrounding Sebec Lake. Whether you select a lakeside or countryside vacation rental, the lake will provide the perfect home away from home. Here you can wake to fresh mountain air, plan your daytime excursions, and relax to the calling of loons at the end of a perfect day. Visitor needs are served by the quaint communities of Dover-Foxcroft, Bowerbank, Milo, Willimantic and Sebec.

Peaks-Kenny State Park is near the community of Dover-Foxcroft. Here you will find 813 acres offering campsites, picnic areas, restrooms, showers, a bathhouse and beach. Several public parks and ramps can be found along Sebec Lake's shoreline, concentrated in the communities of Dover-Foxcroft, Sebec and the village of Sebec Lake. The Milo Public Boat Landing provides access to Sebec Lake from the Sebec River.

Maine's Inland Fisheries and Wildlife Department places Sebec Lake in Region E (Moosehead Region). They state that the pristine waters of Sebec Lake are one of the original homes of landlocked salmon in Maine. Stocked lake trout can also be found along with smallmouth bass and white perch.

The dramatic view that spans Sebec Lake's horizon includes Mount Katahdin. At 5,267 feet, it is Maine's highest mountain and the end of the Appalachian Trail. To the north of Sebec Lake is Borestone Mountain. Here you can hike the trails of the 1,640-acre Borestone Mountain Audubon Sanctuary or visit their interpretive nature center. Located within the shadows of the mountains are Moosehead Lake, Maine's largest lake, and Baxter State Park, where you can enjoy hiking, climbing and camping.

Whether you choose to canoe, kayak, bike, hike or drive into Sebec Lake's countryside, the scenery is spectacular. Not to be missed are the nineteenth-century Katahdin Iron Works State Historic Site and two National Natural Landmarks. The first is Gulf Hagas, a 3.5-mile long gorge that is part of the Appalachian Trail. In contrast to the rugged bedrock of the gorge, "The Hermitage" holds 35 acres of Maine's oldest white pines and is protected by the Nature Conservancy.

Summer is not the only busy season at Sebec Lake. When "leaf peepers" arrive to view the spectacular color around Lake Sebec, thoughts turn to camping, hiking and the chance to hunt. Among the wildlife to be found in the forests or game preserves are black bear, moose, deer, elk and game birds. During the winter, Sebec Lake residents can expect to see temperatures approach zero with area snowfalls averaging 85 inches annually. This is the season for ice fishing, snowmobiles, skis, snowshoes and dogsleds. No matter the season or choice of recreation, a stay at Sebec Lake will place you central to it all.

More Details

Owner
Rafal Subernat
Member since: 2015
Speaks english, polish
Response time
Within an hour
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
21 April, 2018

About Rafal Subernat

Jenn and Raf are Maine lovers who enjoy spending time at this serene and peaceful property. Bringing their twins to the lake house is one of the most relaxing times and they cherish the memories made at this beautiful spot. Jenn is originally from Maine and spent most of her life in the Bangor area. Raf fell in love with Maine many years ago and calls this property a "piece of heaven".

Rafal Subernat purchased this house in 2012

Why Rafal Subernat chose Bowerbank

Lake house has all of the modern amenities, but also charming rustic feel to it. It has a beautiful stone fireplace, hot tub, and is luxuriously appointed. Waterfront location allows for amazing views and spotting of wildlife. Listening to loons and peepers at night is very relaxing while sitting by the fire at night time.

What makes this house unique

Quiet, private, beautiful sunrises and sunsets, wildlife, amazing views to name a few...

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Bowerbank

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1872 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower , Main floor full bathroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower enclosure , Downstairs full bathroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , Loft 1/2 bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed , On the main floor with queen size bed, night stands, closet.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed , 1 sofa bed/futon , Loft bedroom with queen size bed,sleep sofa,1/2 bath, TV,fan
    Bedroom 3 - 1 large double bed , Downstairs bedroom with queen bed, full bath, closet, fan.
  • Total 3 queen beds, 1 sleeper sofa. Sleeps 8 in beds. 4 couches available for any guest beyond 8. (Max 10 guests).
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
All year round home! Amazing summers, beautiful fall and even great ice fishing in the winter!

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(67 traveller reviews)

95% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
APRIL SPECIAL $125!Rustic Luxury Lake Home on Sebec Lake! Waterfront, free WIFI!
average rating of 4.9104476 based on 67 reviews
5

Beautiful house in an outstanding location

  • 5 of 5

Could not be happier with the stay this past week with plenty of room in this beautiful lake house. Ample space for 3 trucks and trailers for the sleds and was able to ride right down onto the lake and to the trails. Highly recommended on both the house and hospitality. Thank you Raf and Jen for a great winter stay as we could not ask for more and will certainly be returning, maybe for the summer this time. Much appreciated all around and look forward to our next stay and this amazing house.

  • Review Submitted: 19/03/2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay and we are looking forward to having you back at the Sebec Lake House in the future! Thank you, Raf and Jenn
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Winter Vaca

  • 4 of 5

My family thoroughly enjoyed starting at the lake house. Raf was very pleasant to work with, and always quick to respond to any inquiries. The property was well maintained and comfortably slept our party. The abundance of wildlife throughout the day was also quite enjoyable.

  • Review Submitted: 06/03/2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. Thank you, Raf and Jenn
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A great place to stay.

  • 5 of 5

Very quiet with deer crossing between the house and lake. The house had everything we needed, I look forward to going back again.

  • Review Submitted: 10/02/2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back in the future! Thank you, Raf and Jenn
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful property!

  • 5 of 5

Place was as advertised! We had a great time, saw lots of deer right in the front yard. Raf and Jenn were great hosts and very helpful with questions.

  • Review Submitted: 26/01/2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a great time. Raf and Jenn
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Make sure you take pictures of the house as you enter and exit

  • 1 of 5

Long story short. Had a great first year. The second year, I was asked to pay for the "new scratches" on the table and walls, after we played board games the whole stay. Was accused of breaking a faucet and moving a bed. And was asked to pay for the screen door that was broken when we stayed there the first year. Ended up paying an extra cleaning fee for a mess that did not exist.

The home looks very lovely, but when you get into it, you discover it feigns the bourgeois lifestyle they are aiming for and is actually occupied with several cheap pieces of furniture and some old couches.

TL;DR Take MANY pictures of the house before and after your stay.

  • Review Submitted: 10/01/2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Below is guest’s review from 12/2016 at which point the guest loved our home! This year, however, this guest has caused few damages and left the house in dirty condition. Despite that, we did not charge the guest for any damages...he only got charged a small portion of an extra cleaning fee from the cleaning company that we hire. This was clearly stated in the contract and signed by the guest...unfortunately the guest is now upset and took it out on our review because he has not been invited back. We have excellent reviews including one from him last year. “Nicholas S. Dec 29, 2016 Absolutely Magically Two Nights Around The Holidays! If you are still looking for another place to stay, stop. You've found it. It's a gorgeous home, with a gorgeous view of the lake (which for us was frozen). It's remote. Ton's of space for cars, very easy to find off the road, has literally everything you need short of food and drinks. Stop questioning, stop looking, you've found home. Review: A really quite beautiful cabin on the lakeside of rural Maine. We brought with us eight people and it slept us all comfortably with room to spare. The house was beautiful in every way, it was extremely clean and well maintained and came with all you would need to have a short stay there. (Towels toilet paper dishes etc.) The view from the deck was nothing short of breathtaking as the family of deer crossed the frozen like in the light morning snow. My friends and I went at the end of December, so we didn't get the summer experience but we enjoyed our stay so much we will likely be back in the summer. We can see this being a repeat vacation location for us. 10/10 Date of Stay Dec 25, 2016”
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Virginia Beach
5

October Vacation

  • 5 of 5

There isn't much more I can say about how fantastic Camp Subernat was that hasn't been mentioned many times in previous reviews. We were 3 couples who have traveled together before and it's a great luxury that everyone has their own bedroom and bathrooms. Really makes life much easier. All of the rooms in the house were very comfortable and well appointed. The house is much bigger than it appears in the photos....lot's of room. Couple of nights the guys were watching football upstairs and the gals took their wine and went down into the large spacious rec room and chatted for hours. We had fires every night....the firepit on the deck was used each night and we made one bonfire down in the yard which was a lot of fun. All the firewood was supplied...if you would had to have paid for the amount we burned it would have been expensive so this is a great benefit to this cabin. The view on the lake was beautiful.....early October and Maine was in full color, we lucked out. About 20 minutes from town and groceries...no big deal. All the houses in this part of Lake Sebec are beautiful....nothing run down or old. Good drives into Moosehead Lake/Bangor/Katahdin Iron Works/etc. Don't miss the B-52 memorial in Moosehead; sad, creepy and different all in one! HIGHLY recommend this cabin.

  • Review Submitted: 23/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay so much! Raf and Jenn
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Beach
Peaks-Kenny State Park on Sebec Lake
Car: recommended

Boat Rentals on Sebec Lake:

http://www.boatsebeclake.com/links.html

Lake House Facebook Page:

https://www.facebook.com/Sebeclakehouse

Photos

Rates & Availability

Contact Owner

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee AU$195.57
Additional Guest Fee AU$13.04
Damage Deposit AU$325.95

Property Damage: Refundable Damage Deposit of $250.
Check in is at 4pm or after and check out is by 11am. There's a late fee of $50 for checking out after 11am.

Rental fee: 50% due at booking and 50% due at least 30 days before occupancy.

Cancellations: 100% refundable until 30 days before occupancy. No refunds within 30 days of occupancy.



Must be at least 21 years old to rent.

VRBO/HOMEAWAY Just implemented a SERVICE FEE for all rental. This has nothing to do with the owners this is a fee that they charge. This is the info they provided about service fee

What is the service fee?

The service fee is a fee charged to the traveler and is calculated on a sliding scale of 4% to 10% of the total booking. The charge applies to the cost of the rental and will not exceed $499. The service fee helps cover the cost of running the HomeAway websites, including features such as 24/7 customer support and marketing efforts to ensure a quality experience on our sites for both travelers and owners.

Travelers pay the service fee by credit card or eCheck through the checkout flow or payment request, no matter how they pay the owner. The service fee is charged to the card once the booking has been accepted.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if cancelled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if cancelled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable