check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Kim Horyn

Member since: 2015
Speaks english

Enjoy the Fun of a Lakefront GetAway, While Only Minutes from Local Attractions!

11 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


Photos and Description of this Holland holiday house

3 bedroom, 2 bathroom home directly on fully recreational Hamilton Reservoir

Nestled in the small community of Holland, MA, the Gateway to Western MA and only minutes from the Connecticut border and Routes 84 and 90, this cozy little house is the perfect get-away for family fun right off our dock: fishing, swimming, kayaking and paddle boating. Sleeps 5 comfortably (queen, full and bunk beds), and there is a full futon couch in the screened-in sun room, which by the way, includes a dining area and surround view of the lake. Also features a mother-in-law apartment with a tv room, kitchenette and full bath/laundry room. We purchased the house in December, 2014, and upgrades include adding the 2nd full bath, washer/dryer, new furnishings, bedding, towels and tableware, plus lots of cosmetic improvements. Our lake house is "new and improved" for the upcoming season!

Nearby Holland Market is perfect for last-minute purchases, and Diane's Villanova and The Traveler Restaurant offer delicious food in family-friendly restaurants. Sturbridge is minutes away for rainy day fun or a change of pace: Old Sturbridge Village, a living museum which re-creates life in rural New England during the 1790s through 1830s; fine dining and family dining, shopping, cinemas, antiquing and more.

More Details
  • long term rentals available
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Kim Horyn (Owner)
Member since: 2015
Speaks english

Why Kim Horyn chose Holland

We are from an ocean community in MA, and while we knew we wanted a home on the water, we decided hurricanes, erosion and maintenance were deterrents to buying on the ocean. We began to spend time away on lakes in New York, Vermont and New Hampshire and finally decided we did not want to travel hours to our get-away, so we started looking closer to home. During this journey, we learned a great deal about the importance of being on a healthy lake, and we were enamored with Holland Reservoir -- even in the off-season. We love the fact that the lake is fully recreational, year-round. We especially enjoy the Sturbridge, Brimfield area, and most of all, we enjoy being out of the mainstream, yet 10 minutes to fine dining, cinemas, shopping and Old Sturbridge Village for that rainy day. Oh, did I mention that my husband loves to fish?

What makes this house unique

We enjoy sitting in our 3-season sun room overlooking the lake, as well as the beautiful view from our kitchen and living room. The outdoor, two-tiered patio was a huge draw for us, since this spot is all about outdoor living. The large picnic table is under the sun room, which allows for dining outside in the shade, and the small table for four on the patio is perfectly situated right on the water -- complete with swivel chairs, so you won't miss any of the activity!


based on 11 traveller reviews

Enjoy the Fun of a Lakefront GetAway, While Only Minutes from Local Attractions!
average rating of 4.5454545 based on 11 reviews

Perfect location, clean reservoir with great fishing. Used the kayaks and peddle boat daily

  • 4 of 5

This a great lake house with everything you need. So nice to have linens, towels, paper goods and all the dining items available . The lake was just the right size and free of weeds off the dock allowing for swimming. Only minor negative, beds could have been a bit newer and firmer. All in all a great vCation spot . Thanks

  • Review Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was so surprised to read this. The mattresses on the bunk beds and the downstairs bed are brand new! No one has complained about the Queen bed before. Maybe we can add a topper or something to make it more comfortable. I am glad everything else went well for you. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lakefront cottage on Hamilton Reservior

  • 5 of 5

We had an excellent time at very peaceful cottage right on the waterfront.

Great location, short drive to shops and restaurants.

Highly reccomended

  • Review Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A Wonderful, Peaceful Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from a wonderful week at this lake house on Hamilton Reservoir. The property is well maintained and is located toward the peaceful southern end of Hamilton Reservoir, and provides great views of the lake from the patio, the dock, and the sun room at the back of the house.

Everything promised in the property description is provided, and is clean and in good working order. The owners clearly take pride in their home. Prior to arrival, we had several communications with Kim, the owner, and she answered every question, promptly, and made this rental such an easy and pleasurable experience. The lake is clean, the area is beautiful, Old Sturbridge Village, a must see, is nearby, and we would love to return for another visit in the future.

Robert Kraus

  • Review Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cozy Getaway

  • 5 of 5

What a gem! Our family of five had a wonderful experience at this cozy cottage on Hamilton Reservoir! It was everything we were looking for. Not only was this place extremely clean, the owners provided everything that made our stay more enjoyable. From kayaks, rafts, and water toys, to fishing poles and tackle, to games for kids and families to play! A welcome notebook was provided that included all important information for renters.....from wifi passwords to local restaurants and points of interest! Everything was labeled in the house too, no confusion where to find extra linens, blankets, and towels. The screened in porch was a place of choice to drink coffee in the morning overlooking the lake. Beautiful and peaceful. We enjoyed eating down by the water watching the active boaters. We could easily tie our ski boat up to the dock! Our family can't wait for an opportunity to rent this lakehouse getaway again!!!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A Hidden Gem!

  • 5 of 5

After 3 tries at booking a rental on the water in Holland, MA we finally got it right. Kim's property is beautiful in every way. The property has a beautiful view from many vantage points--with our favorite spot sitting on the deck lakeside reading, playing games, enjoying water activities and watching the waterfront activities go by. Even the cook had a waterfront view as he stood at the grill overseeing our meals! We stayed as a family of 5 adults quite comfortably. As mentioned in a previous review, the mattress on the bunk bed for our grown son was not comfortable so he doubled the top and bottom bunk pads for the rest of the stay. Kim has already responded previously that real mattresses will soon be on the bunks and that will be an appreciated upgrade. Combined with the things that we brought, there was nothing missing or needed once we unpacked--the house was well equipped and included WIFI and TV. We ate on the screened porch, the lower picnic table/deck and the table at waterside--all were perfect spots. The only nuisance was the many spiderwebs that ended up in our hair as we leaned forward to take in the view. We finally solved the problem by brushing the porch windows and the lower deck with a duster brush. Next time we'll brush them away sooner! Our son-in-law had no trouble launching and docking the boat--a neighbor was kind enough to share the "resident"launching spot with us. Groceries, Movies, Shopping was only 15 minutes away and a delightful Restaurant where you could eat and leave with 3 free books was less than 5. The house is situated in a closely spaced neighborhood so peace and quiet prevail and needs to be respected. We enjoyed this setting--away from noise and parties. Kim, the owner was extremely responsive each time I wrote her and willing to help in any way. Honestly, we'd highly recommend renting this house from this owner without reservation. In fact, we plan to do so ourselves again next year!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review! So sorry about the spider webs! No matter how many times we clean the windows and deck area, they appear again, unfortunately. We will ask our cleaning woman to make sure she gives the porch windows a once-over after each guest, and we'll leave a feather duster in a convenient place in both places.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Summer on the lake

  • 4 of 5

It is summer fun on the lake, great spot our family and friends loved this place. Kim and Rob were very receptive to our needs. Unfortunately the lg grill was not functioning, the umbrella worked just couldn't put it down, and the bunk beds need new mattresses. I'm sure all of those issues will be addressed, they respect their property and welcome feedback. Looking forward to next year!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Grateful for the feedback. The large grill now has a new regulator and is working; we've ordered a new umbrella (we were unaware that the prior renter broke; and the mattresses came with the bunk beds; however, we are ordering new bunk bed mattresses!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary

You can enjoy tying up to our dock or jumping (no diving) in the lake from our pier.

For that rainy day, Sturbridge is minutes away with cinemas, fine dining, family dining, shopping, antiquing and visiting Old Sturbridge Village, the largest living museum in New England, which re-creates life in rural New England during the 1790s through 1830s.

Crystal Caves Family Entertainment (miniature golf, batting cages and snacks) is 20 minutes away in Auburn, MA and Six Flags New England is less than one hour away in Agawam, MA.


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday house in Holland, Massachusetts

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
1 Oct 2016 - 31 Oct 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
1 Nov 2016 - 30 Nov 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
1 Apr 2017 - 30 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
1 May 2017 - 31 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
1 Jun 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
1 Jul 2017 - 31 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit A$658
Cleaning Fee A$99

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
No pets, please.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Holland, Massachusetts

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower enclosure , combined with laundry room
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 single bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double bed
  • Books
  • Games
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • long term rentals available
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • paddle boating
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
The house is directly on the lake in the small, quiet community of Holland; Sturbridge is 10 minutes away and has plenty to do.