Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Santa Gertrudis Lane Historic Casita

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type bungalow

Overview

About the property

Bungalow, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

The large one bedroom Casita is located on Santa Gertrudis Lane in Tumacacori. The location is absolutely perfect for those who enjoy nature, hiking, birdwatching, gallery hopping, horseback riding and experiencing the historic West. This area of Southern Arizona is just teeming with history. Our property was the location of a stage coach stop between Nogales and Tucson.

The Tumacacori Mission borders two sides of our 8 acre property giving our visitors a peaceful retreat and opportunities to easily explore the mission, the De Anza Trail Santa Cruz River and Tubac. Tubac is a pleasant 4 mile hike or bike ride away. Tubac is known as the place where 'Art and History Meet' There you will be able to visit over 100 galleries, restaurants and stores. Tubac also has a state park and museum where you can explore more of the history of our area.

The Casita has a full kitchen, bath, living room and bedroom. There is an unheated pool on the property which is perfect for cooling off and rejuvenating after a day of exploring.

Pets are welcome. We also have facilities for boarding horses.

All of our Casita's have been recently renovated. We offer our guests accommodations that not only fills their need for a place to stay but also is a soothing experience where they can renew their spirit.

Keywords: casita, 1 bedroom, bungalow, apartment, historic, horse boarding, birdwatching, hiking, galleries, golf

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2012
Speaks english
Response time
Within a few days
Response rate
80%
Calendar last updated:
12 August, 2017

About The Owner

My husband and I fell in love with this property located just outside of Tubac and off of the Santa Cruz River. We were bewitched by the history of the property and were compelled to renovate the buildings. We have put unique touches in each of our offerings to soothe our guests and renew their spirit. We are woodworkers and our studio is on the premises. We create functional art with local mesquite wood.

The Owner purchased this bungalow in 1993

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday bungalow rental in Tumacacori

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • pets considered
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horse riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking

Reviews

4/5 -
(4 traveller reviews)

50% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
Santa Gertrudis Lane Historic Casita
average rating of 4.0 based on 4 reviews
4

Nice Getaway

  • 4 of 5

Great place for the family. Swimming and relaxing. Loved the animals.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 26, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm happy that you were pleased with your stay. Hope to see you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pueblo West, Colorado
5

Charming and full of character.

  • 5 of 5

If you're looking for a five star predictable, boring place to stay...don't look here. This casita was centrally located and enabled us to explore some of the history and the surroundings. Such a break from the nonsense that goes on in the Phoenix area. 3 miles from Tubac (it will take you days to visit all the first class art galleries). Walk the Anza trail which is just yards from your casita. Don't miss the museum at the Presidio (awesome) The Tumacacori musem is also exceptional. If history and art aren't your thing (can't imagine) then go to the Desert Diamond Casino 20 minutes away or golf one of the eleven courses in the area. Birding is huge there and every morning we met birders on the Anza trail. We enjoyed getting to know our neighbors and watching some of the woodworking that goes on at the property. Also Bisby is a great day trip. Oh, and have dinner and a Margarita at the famous WISDOM cafe within walking distance. Be sure and get there at opening because it fills up within 15 minutes. Christine and her son Ron are gracious and helped to make this a fun experience. We miss Annie (their dog). My dogs couldn't wait to play with her everyday. P.S.There is a big pool there but it was to cold so we didn't use it.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hawaii
5

Comfortable retreat

  • 5 of 5

I had a great time last week in this rental. We found ourselves in Southern Arizona while traveling from new Mexico to California. We had our aging dog with us and were having a difficult time finding lodging that would accept all 3 of us. This property was perfect. The owners even left a dog dish with 3 dog bones wrapped up with a bowl. We could not have been more pleased. The pool was gorgeous, well maintained and perfect to cool off after a morning of hiking. Because of the monsoons (torrential downpours) each late afternoon this area of AZ is lush and green.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 6, 2012
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Idaho
2

A bit disappointing

  • 2 of 5

While I love S. Arizona and had hoped for a quiet, peaceful place for my husband and I to spend nearly a month, it was anything but quiet. The workshop on the premise was about 50 feet from our bungalow. It is an "open air" workshop and the sanding etc. of mesquite wood was very loud - mostly from 8:00 - 5:00 M-F. That was a deal beaker for us. Also, the kitchen was sparsely equipped and there was no microwave which I believe was in the photo. On the plus side, we really enjoyed getting to know our neighbors and the workers at the wood shop.

.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 12, 2012
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Carol & Scott , I am truly sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your stay. On the VRBO website it does say that we have a wood shop. It is our policy to not begin any machinery until 9am and our work day ends at 4pm. This is usually the time our guests are out and about enjoying the many activities of Santa Cruz County. There is no microwave in the pictures of the Casita that you rented. We do however have a microwave in our other unit. I did ask numerous times if I could do anything for you or if you needed anything, and you never indicated that you had any needs. I actually have a microwave still in the box for anyone to use. We chose not to put it in the Casita because of limited space. We are always willing to go above and beyond for our guests. I am sure if given the opportunity we would have made sure your stay was all you desired. Something that we did to welcome you that is not listed on our site was to provide you with a chilled bottle of wine, a bowl of fresh fruit and treats for your dog. This is just an example of our desire to deliver exceptional service. You were really lovely guests and I wish we could have made your stay more pleasant.
Did you find this review helpful?
12 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee A$63.05
Pet Fee A$31.53
Damage Insurance A$74.4

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.