Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon

Luxury Meets History Plus Best Location Downtown Savannah/SVR#24

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

About the property

Historic 4 Bedroom, 2.5 Bath In Ideal Downtown Location

The best of Savannah is just steps from your door when you stay at the Live Oaks House. Offering the finest in Savannah vacation-rental accommodations, the Live Oaks House on historic Warren Square is exceptional. Set in the heart of Savannah’s fabulous Landmark District, the house is one the city's oldest (built 1806-1809), constructed when Thomas Jefferson was President. Experience the Live Oaks House 1800’s architecture and original historic details, while indulging in all the contemporary comforts: updated modern baths, large-screen TVs with cable, a gourmet kitchen and free Wi-Fi.

Located on park-like Warren Square, Live Oaks House is only steps from Broughton, Bay and River Streets, in the very heart of downtown. You are only a three-minute walk from the beautifully restored 20s-era Lucas Theater. Walk around the corner, and you’re at B. Matthews, one of Savannah's most popular brunch spots (make reservations in advance!). Leopold’s ice cream parlor -- regarded by the Toronto Sun as one of the world's top 10 – is so close you can stroll back to Live Oaks House before you finish your cone!

You'll feel right at home at Live Oaks House. Our comfortable 4-bedroom, 2 ½-bath home offers both sanctuary and scintillation for eight guests. Two master suites and a private entrance to the garden level offers convenience not found in many rentals. Beautiful brass and iron beds, with dreamily comfortable mattresses and linens, are a welcome refuge at the end of the day.

Live Oaks House is tastefully furnished, while remaining a comfortable retreat. The interior features antiques, original pine floors accented with beautiful area rugs, and gorgeous natural light, enhancing the artwork throughout. With the main (parlor level) floor featuring an open floor plan and soaring ceilings, each space feels unrestricted, yet cozy.

Open the front door to reveal the beautiful turned staircase. Step into the living room and choose a favorite chair as you recap the day's activities or plan for tomorrow. Watch a movie on the 55” UHD Smart TV with DVD/Blu-ray player. The parlor level is perfect for entertaining the family and/or a group of friends. The living room opens to a spacious dining room; a bar separates the dining room from the gourmet kitchen. Enjoy preparing a meal from the full-size refrigerator with automatic icemaker; induction cooktop and electric stove; dishwasher, microwave, and KitchenAid Artisan stand mixer; blender; toaster; coffeemaker with hot water dispenser; along with full cookware, bakeware, kitchen tools, plates, flatware and beautiful glassware. At the end of the bar, you'll find two under-counter refrigerators to be stocked as you like.

Taking the stairs to the second floor, the spacious master bedroom welcomes you with luxury. With its 12-foot ceiling, decadently comfortable king-size brass-and-iron bed, top-notch linens and striking duvet, the master bedroom ensures your complete delight and relaxation. For those wishing to read or indulge in a late-night movie, there's a sitting area and a 55” UHD Smart TV with DVD/Blu-ray player. The room is beautifully appointed with a decorative fireplace. The adjacent bath features a lovely vanity sitting area, lighted makeup mirror, and a combination bath and shower with Delta In2ition stationary and hand-held showers.

The lower level, or garden level, master bedroom has a private entrance, as well as a staircase to the parlor level. The king-size iron bed is made up with a supremely comfortable down-alternative comforter, 55” UHD Smart TV with DVD/Blu-ray player and on-suite bath. At the end of the day, you will appreciate the jetted tub with overhead shower, fitted with Delta In2ition stationary and hand-held shower heads.

Also on the garden level, an adorable junior bedroom is furnished with two white-enameled iron twin beds, fitted with cozy hypoallergenic down-alternative comforters/duvets, plush pillows and dreamy mattresses for splendid getaway comfort.

To top it all off, the 3rd floor bedroom rewards you with a treetop view of Warren Square and the side yard. The room’s vaulted ceiling surrounds a lovely Parisian-style queen-size iron sleigh bed, with its cozy mattress, lightweight down-alternative comforter and sateen sheets. Many visitors have called it their favorite room in the house. (Note: the stairs to the 3rd floor are narrow and twist tightly, as you'll find in so many houses of this era. Even though they are carpeted, please use them only if you're sure-footed, use the handrails, and watch your step going up and down.)

Pack with confidence! The Live Oaks House has a large laundry room with an extra-capacity Whirlpool washer and dryer, featuring steam technology. There's an ironing board and iron (which you might not need to use!). Pack light and wash as needed. Beach towels are available should you wish to take the short drive to Tybee Island beach.

Of course, you can enjoy the outdoors without leaving Live Oaks House. Step from the kitchen to the back deck, where Adirondack chairs invite you to relax over morning coffee or cocktails at 5. Down the stairs, your private brick courtyard is lush with foliage. Three cafe tables with chairs create a charming and intimate environment for dining or socializing with friends.

Savannah is a walking town. Technically, you could skip the rental car completely if you will not be driving outside downtown. A Chatham Area Transit (CAT) 100 Airport Express bus can inexpensively shuttle you from the Airport to the downtown transportation hub, where you can transfer to an 11 bus that stops just a few short blocks away from Live Oaks House. The CAT bus can take you to many locations throughout the city, including Forsyth Park, one of Savannah's premier weekend gathering places.

If you do rent a car, or drive your own to Savannah, paid street parking is available around Warren Square and down the block. There is also a covered garage a minute's walk from our front door. You can park your car and walk (or ride the free DOT bus) all over historic downtown and the Landmark and Victorian Districts, but still have your car at the ready for the short drive to the beaches of Tybee Island or a visit to historic Bonaventure cemetery, a renowned setting from John Berendt's non-fiction novel Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil.

We hope you'll join us for a three-night minimum stay, or a full week to maximize your Savannah experience. With its incredible architecture, renowned restaurant scene, ideal people-watching opportunities and entertaining events throughout the year, Savannah and the Live Oaks House will charm you with lasting memories that will have you planning the itinerary for your next visit, even as you make your way home.

Live Oaks House -- At home in the heart of Savannah.

More Details

Property Manager
Kelly
Member since: 2012
Speaks english
Response time
Within a day
Response rate
90%
Calendar last updated:
27 March, 2017

About Kelly

Jess and Marc are from Long Island, New York. They share a love of Savannah and its outstanding architecture, natural beauty and terrific food. They are excited to offer the Live Oaks House to vacationers for an extraordinary Savannah home-away-from-home experience, and hope you'll fall in love with the Hostess City, just as they have.

Kelly purchased this house in 2014

Why Kelly chose Savannah

Location and luxury. Live Oaks House is an amazing property, designed for entertaining and comfort and filled with all manner of luxury in an incomparably convenient downtown location. You'll be hard-pressed to find a better place to stay in Savannah, with the best of Broughton, Bay and River Streets just steps from your door. And while you won't want to spend your entire vacation in bed, our luxurious beds, linens and mattresses might tempt you to sleep an extra hour or two.

What makes this house unique

• An unquestionably superior location just steps from some of Savannah's finest restaurants, including The Olde Pink House, B. Matthews and Pacci at The Brice, to name a few

• A gorgeous park-front setting on lush Warren Square, one of Savannah's oldest

• One of the Historic District's oldest and most well-preserved homes

• A heart-of-downtown location, yet on a remarkably quiet block

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Historic District - North, Georgia

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
Location Type:
  • City Centre ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Second Floor Bathroom - toilet , bath with shower , This classic bathroom has an adjoining vanity room.
    Powder Room - toilet , Victorian-inspired half-bath on the Parlour Level.
    Garden Level Bathroom - toilet , bath with shower , jacuzzi , Tub is fitted w/ Delta In2ition shower heads.
  • The second-floor full bathroom easily accommodates two people at a time. One person can dress or do their hair in the lovely vanity sitting area that features ample mirrors including a lighted makeup mirror. Separated by a full frosted-glass door, another person can indulge in a long soak or a quick clean up in the combination bath and shower with Delta In2ition stationary and hand-held showers heads. A powder room on the Parlor Level is conveniently and discreetly located in the hallway. Guests on the Garden Level will love the jetted tub with overhead shower, fitted with Delta In2ition stationary and hand-held shower heads. Again, this spacious full bath serves both the master suite and the charming bedroom with two twin beds.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Luxury Master Suite /2nd Floor - 1 extra lg. double bed , Sumptuous master suite encompasses the entire 2nd floor.
    The Twin Room/Garden Level - 2 single bed , A cozy room, with vintage chic decor and courtyard access.
    The Paris Room/3rd Flr - 1 large double bed , A unique vaulted room w/ tree-top views & wrought iron bed.
    Spacious Bedroom Suite/Garden Level - 1 extra lg. double bed , The garden level w/2 bedrooms, full bath & sitting area.
  • Our comfortable 4-bedroom, 2 ½-bath home offers both sanctuary and scintillation for 8 guests in beautiful brass and iron beds, with dreamily comfortable mattresses and linens. A sofa-bed in the living room gives you the flexibility to sleep up to 10 guests, if desired. Two master bedroom suites and the garden level's private outside entrance offer a level of convenience not found in many rentals.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(34 traveller reviews)

Luxury Meets History Plus Best Location Downtown Savannah/SVR#24
average rating of 4.8235292 based on 34 reviews
Whitehouse Station, NJ
5

Ladies weekend

  • 5 of 5

We all thoroughly enjoyed our weekend in Savannah and this house was perfect. We were able to walk everywhere. The house was beautiful and filled all our needs. If I had to reach for anything negative to say, it would only be a warning about the steep stairs to the top floor room. This house fit our situation perfectly and we can't wait to return again !

  • Review Submitted: Mar 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome weekend in Savannah!

  • 5 of 5

We spent an amazing long weekend in Savannah for my sister's bachelorette. The house is centrally located and within walking distance of just about anywhere you want to go in the historic district. The house is great - we had beds for all 7 of us, and the living and dining rooms are spacious enough for everyone to hang out. Definitely would recommend and would stay here again! Two minor things to note - the house is centrally located so it can be a bit noisy at night, so just keep that in mind. Also the house gets amazing sunlight which can be bright in the am.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice property in a great location!

  • 4 of 5

This is a very nice property with plenty of space in a great location. There's lots of food, shops, and nightlife within walking distance including River St. The layout of the house is a bit quirky as is sometimes the case with renovated historic homes, but it's nicely appointed. The most important thing to note is that the rooms on the bottom floor share a bathroom that is located in the main bedroom, so whoever is staying in the adjacent room with the twin beds have to go into the main bedroom to use the restroom. Not a big deal for parents and kids, but less ideal for the situation we had with the bottom floor being shared by employees attending a conference.

The only real complaint for me were the pillows on the bed in the Master bedroom. They were super firm and puffy (very uncomfortable for me), and combined with the wrought iron style headboard that allows the pillow to slip into the gap between the bed and the wall, getting a good night's sleep was difficult. I ended up jamming the big pillow in the gap and using a throw pillow!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you liked Savannah and the Live Oaks House space. That said . . . Yes, old houses can be a tad quirky by modern standards. But that's one reason folks prefer them over a standardized hotel room. Our garden level is spacious and thus far the offset full bathroom has accommodated folks staying on that floor without complaint. (These guests also enjoy their own private entrance/exit into the courtyard.) On the pillows: Looks like we experienced the Goldilocks syndrome. We are sorry that you were not able to find a pillow that was "just right." While we have a variety of pillows at the house, we are adding several "squishy" pillows for those guests who require one. (Some people with favorite pillows bring them on trips, which is an option.) We wish you had called our property manager, who could have presented you with a different pillow based on your description. Be assured that next time you come, there will be several super-soft pillows in Live Oaks House. Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to see you back in Savannah -- and at Live Oaks House -- very soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location and amenities

  • 5 of 5

We've stayed at a few other places and I think this one had the best location for walkability. We traveled with my senior parents and they were able to walk the few blocks to the river area and a few blocks to the market area. We caught a carriage ride, the teens rented the city bikes, shopped and ate all close by. The house was pleasant and impeccable. We cooked most nights and had everything we needed from the kitchen. The steps to the very top floor wasn't suited for older adults but was fine for everyone else. Parking was fine since it was the Xmas holiday then bought a parking permit (the office was a few blocks away) for the last few days and had no problems finding a spot. Plus the garage was right across the street if needed. And be sure to check out Abe's bar on the corner. Great little spot!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

Loved this house! We were 8 girls on a birthday trip ( late November), plenty of beds, towels, bathroom and kitchen supplies! Outdoor space was a good size and very private. Great location and accommodations. We were able to walk to everything. Would definitely recommend to other larger parties. Would definitely stay here again!

DO be careful with parking and street cleaning. Meters run from 8AM - 5PM M-F. Parking is free on the weekends. But, they clean some streets on the weekends. We got in on a Saturday and didn't realize street cleaning was Sunday AM - both cars got $25 tickets. Monday we bought two one day parking passes for $8 each. No other problems - we left on Tuesday AM.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Live Oak House

  • 5 of 5

Great location, clean and plenty of room for 6 adults! We parked our car the day of arrival and walked everywhere the entire 3 days!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
B Matthews or Abes on Lincoln
Nearest Ferry
0.25 Miles
Savannah River ferry
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Nearest Train
3 Miles
Amtrak Station
Nearest Motorway
11 Miles
95
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
B Matthews
Nearest Beach
10 Miles
Tybee Island
Car: not necessary

Savannah is rich in History. It was spared during the Civil War by Sherman and was a "gift" to President Lincoln because of its unique beauty. The city is vibrant, yet historic with many options of places to see and activities to do. The Visitors' Center hosts many tour options and suggestions, as well as maps and lots of great information on activities suitable for a single person, couple or the whole family to do. Please access our Hospitality information, where we have compiled our favorite restaurants and "must sees".

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday house in Historic District - North, Georgia

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
A$522
From
A$588
Fri,Sat,Sun
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection A$129
Cleaning A$261 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.0%

This is a no pets and no smoking property.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Other Holiday Properties