check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Summer Lake Cabin on Splendid, Private Gull Lake Lot

Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 4 nights


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
4 nights

About the property

5 bedrooms, 1 full bath, 2 half/baths, sleeps 11

This Cabin property fronts on the nicest part of well-known Gull Lake. Great swimming beach, good fishing right from the dock or only seconds by boat to abundant lake fishing, boat hoist with sufficient depth for most boats. One story, large summer cabin with an adjacent guest dwelling. Updated cabin has a great perspective overlooking the lake among attractive deciduous and majestic pine trees.. Eagles, pilleated woodpeckers, hummingbirds, and many other varieties are consistently on the premises. Neighbors of long-standing border each side of the property in the protected residential community of Lake Shore, and the 250' wide lot ensures a lot of privacy both as to residence as well as to the beach. Property access and appearance updated in the Spring of 2011. New kitchen installed in the fall of 2011. New casement bedroom windows installed in the fall of 2012 as well as new living room furniture and redecoration. Enhanced electrical system installed in the 2013-2014 off-season. Reconstructed large lake-side screened-in porch fall of 2014.

Stair-case down to beach: The cabin sits about 50 comfortable stair steps with hand-rails on both sides above the beach. This results in abundant cool summer breezes through-out the French Door laden cottage. Large screened-in porch on lake front provides ideal social and eating area; but in the event of adverse weather, there is also a good sized dining area on the back side.

Kitchen : Kitchen is small but efficient, and fully-equipped. Also connected to dining room on back side of cabin by serving window. Bring teenager or willing spouse to do dishes the old-fashioned way!

Bed Rooms: We try to furnish everything you need in the way of bedding and linens. Some people like to bring their own large-size beach towels. In all, there are 5 bedrooms with 3 double beds and 6 single beds Fire place in living room is very functional; there are also two out-side fire pits, one on the beach.

More Details

Mr. Rod Amlie
Member since: 2011
Speaks english
Response time
Within a day
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
22 July, 2016

About Mr. Rod Amlie

Rod Amlie and his parents bought the place in 1971, and it was their summer treasured get-away for over 35 years. Rod and his wife and one son Tom and 3 grandchildren are still on the lake. No place quite like Gull Lake in the opinion of these Iowegians!

Mr. Rod Amlie purchased this cabin in 1971


Very Good! 4/5 -
(11 traveller reviews)

Summer Lake Cabin on Splendid, Private Gull Lake Lot
average rating of 4.0 based on 11 reviews

Great Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

I have to say that our family of 6 a well as our family dog Roxy, really enjoyed our late season retreat to this vintage gull lake cottage. We all enjoyed the 200+ feet of beach frontage and dock for our boat. It's rustic but clean and well maintained.

We had a minor issue arise with the grill and the owner quickly responded and instructed us on the proper operation. We liked that he was accessible, but not hovering.

I would imagine that the highest compliment is that we will be booking again for 2016.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I well-remember that family. They told me at the end of the week that they were able to save about 1/3 of the rental cost by being able to bring their well-behaved boxer. Lots of action around our place for those kind of pets!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Minneapolis, MN

Great location on a great lake

  • 3 of 5

Location on Gull Lake is excellent- Lots of accessibility to all lake activities. Boat Lift and Dock were nice- spent the majority of our time by the lake. Cabin is definitely rustic as advertised- not for someone looking for a luxurious get-away. It was a large lot and perfect for a large group with pets. There was a family of eagles living in the trees above the cabin- very fun! I would caution that this may not be a cabin for someone with respiratory issues as the mold/mildew may be a concern. You may want to do a little extra cleaning depending on what your expectations are. Beds and bedding were older and could use some improvement.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 8, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This family was a fine group of adults and obviously well-acquainted with Gull Lake and the whole area. They are probably used to staying in more expensive places. I'd say there has been more pollen and irritants in the air this past June than usual, which filters in through the large screened-in porch on the lake side, under many beautiful trees. Not enough, however, to affect most people. I didn't hear any criticism during their stay about mold or mildew, and still haven't detected that problem in further inspecting the premises. All of the towels and bed linens used during each stay are carefully machine-washed at our home at the south end of the lake, and further aggregated for the next party. That seems to leave the blankets, bed spreads, pillows, and the beds, which could be up-graded and we will work on that. The huge storm of July 12 did some damage, but has mostly been repaired in a few days, and probably the cabin will appear brighter without so many trees hovering on the back side. The lake side was not affected whatsoever. Rod Amlie, owner/manager
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Maplewood, MN

As Advertised!!!

  • 5 of 5

My two teens, their two friends and I had the time of our lives at this cabin. The cabin was exactly as the owner advertised. The cabin is a family cottage out of a Norman Rockwell painting...if you just look below the surface, you will see amazing history, beauty in the aged architecture, and flat out awesome times. By the end of the week, all 5 of us had worked into a stress free routine and hated that it was time to go home.

This is not a pristine property with Ethan Allen decor, but then that isn't what I was looking for. I was looking for an old fashion cabin where people have come and enjoyed simple ways, and that is exactly what we found. No, you don't want to eat off the floor but the spacious and aged dining room was fabulous and we enjoyed several family meals there. When we didn't eat in the dining room, we were around the fire roasting hot dogs and making s'mores on slightly off kilter lawn chairs...and loved every minute of it. I could have called the owner and received new lawn chairs (he was very generous and clear that all we needed to do was call). This owner did not over sell the property, he represents it as it is. It is simple and rustic and wonderful.

If I had any complaint, it would be disrespectful boaters on Gull Lake...not much the owner can do about that.

My kids have made it clear they want a return trip. I believe we have established a new family tradition on Gull Lake at one of the last old time cabins around the shore.

My daughter's comments: The cabin was amazing! I had no complaints whatsoever. I had the best time! The yard was beautiful and the beach is indescribable! I can't wait to come back! In response to previous reviews, although we didn't use the extra cabin the owner did tell us that there was only cold water in that cabin, so we didn't expect for to have hot water...and we were right. :) Thank you, Owner! I can't wait to come back!

  • Review Submitted: Dec 23, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Really wanted 2 like it..but..needs major overhaul

  • 1 of 5

I really wanted to like this place. I really, really did. I don't mind rustic. This went a little beyond rustic. I had to clean the bathroom. The "5th" bedroom in a separate small cabin was dirty and only had cold water. The sink in the kitchen leaked, there were only 2 coffee mugs, boxes from the cleaning had been left behind. In our bedroom was a 1970s calendar - not for charm sake - I think it had been left there. There are foundational issues. Chairs for outdoor use were broken. There is so much junk on the shore line - again, I think just left there. So disappointed. We made it work and it will go down as a memory. The lake is beautiful, the loons - unforgettable. We made the best of it and decided to have fun and be glad to be together - because in the end that's what holidays are about. I wouldn't be surprised if the owner will get on and have some reason for why this review is overstated and unfair. Disappointing. If you like camping - a tent would be cleaner. Again - I wanted to like this place. I believe that it is a family heirloom that could be so charming. I would definitely not recommend!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Annually, there seems to be a party who wants a $4,000. per week place for $1,400. Most of her complaints could have been readily resolved with One telephone call or E mail, which never was made. Like the lack of coffee "Mugs", there were still 10 coffee cups including the two "mugs" in the cupboard. So I have added a couple more. The "offensive" calendar is a 1979 leather relic retained because of the very unique caricature of a cowboy roping a calf in a feedlot, one of my late father's favorites. It is even remotely located in his former bedroom. There were broken outside beach chairs at the end of the week (not the beginning). Was this due to Ma & Pa or to the 4 student members that came along? And the whole place was left in total dishevelment as we found it and hastened our cleaning crew to get ready for the next party. Because of lack of notification while there, it did take another week for the next party before we were able to make the plumbing repair. Communication needs to be a two-way proposition.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 5

Large Family

  • 5 of 5

This home was perfect for us. We found the home rustic and charming. Yes there are things that are older but all functional! The beach was perfect for kids never had trouble like the other review. We spent most of our time outside on the beach or boat. Rod was very helpful and friendly. If you bring dogs be careful letting them out at night a skunk got ours and we ha an electric fence on him with a short distance. I felt like this was home for 11 days. I put a little elbow grease in and cleaned the bunk house opened the windows and shined the hardwood floors and it looked amazing and I didn't want to leave!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 4, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great lake, nice property, helpful owners

  • 5 of 5

This was my second year staying here. The owner has put in some nice updates since my prior visit: updated kitchen, some of the windows were replaced, and a privacy fence was put in (not that it was needed -- the lot is quite large). There was some new furniture that we liked as well. We had 8 family members (10 including our pups) with us and we fit comfortably. It's not a 5-star hotel or anything but it was clean, large, had great fishing and had lots of open area for the kids to play. Owner was there within hours when we called to say that we needed more wood. It was really quite a perfect fit for us being that it's big enough and pet-friendly. We all had a great time hanging out at the nice beach during the day and then sitting around a bonfire at night. We'll be back next year.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 8, 2012
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Gull Lake
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Bar Harbor
Nearest Ferry
2 Miles
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
The Legacy, Maddens, Craguns and Grandview Lodge
Nearest Train
30 Miles
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Bar Harbor
Nearest Ski
2 Miles
Nearest Beach
20 Metres
On Property
Car: recommended

This location is in the heart of Minnesota's prime lake recreation area, The Brainerd Lakes. This is a 250' frontage property on the main shore of Gull Lake, which is renowned for its size, depth, and water quality. While the property has a weed-free, sand beach with gradual depth out into the water, it is also well-located for access to fine restaurants, watering holes, golf courses, trails, as well as shopping activities and entertainment for the entire group. The lake property is on an improved road only 5 miles off from divided highways connecting to all major metro areas in the Midwest such as Twin Cities, Madison-Milwaukee, Des Moines & Omaha, Chicago and St. Louis, Fargo and SiouxFalls.


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday cabin in Lake Shore, Minnesota

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning A$0

See schedule below
for 2016; Weekly rates prior to June 14 -$1,200.; Rates through Sept. 3, $1,540. balance of Sept./Oct. $1,200 per week. All closed down by Oct. 12. For multiple weeks, deduct 10% from additional time in excess of first week.
Weekly rates range from $1,200. to $1,540 per week depending on time of year. Property is suitable for habitation only in the late spring to the early autumn. Inquire further for specials on pricing!

1/2 upfront to secure reservation.
Balance in cash due upon arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
This calendar is not current. Please contact the owner or property manager for availability information.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin rental in Lake Shore

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1750 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • soap
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • mini-fridge
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower enclosure
    Bathroom 4 -
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double bed , 1 single bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 single bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 single bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double bed , 2 single bed
  • Books
  • books - kids
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Television
  • deck chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch Furniture
  • Raft
  • conservatory
  • Walkway to Water
  • Yard
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
  • long term rentals available
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski pass optional
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing