check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Kathleen Gillis

Member since: 2015
Call Owner
Speaks english

Cottage in the Pines 3 min to downtown Prescott DECEMBER DISCOUNTED RATES!

15 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this Prescott holiday house

This cozy and elegant home within walking distance from the courthouse square has all the amenities for a luxurious getaway. Indoor and outdoor comfort boasting a furnished deck overlooking private landscaped yard with mountain views and privacy of more than a half acre of land. Don't miss out on this lovely three bedroom Prescott home located in the historic district nestled in the tall ponderosa pines for a true woodland vacation experience.

The home, located in a quiet neighborhood, is just a few minutes walk from the downtown Prescott area! There are two outdoor barbecues, one built of stone for charcoal and one free standing propane gas. The large deck off the back of the living room offers both shade and sun for outdoor gatherings and outdoor dining.

In addition to the deck the are 2 large flagstone patios: the side patio outside the kitchen includes the outdoor cooking area of the property and antique glass wrought iron table for dining. The other flagstone patio is off the front of the home has a seating/dining area for four with views to the north and Granite Mountain. There is a covered car port for parking adjacent to the kitchen entrance and a large parking are on the lower portion of the property.

The interior is elegantly decorated with three bedrooms, and two bathrooms. The kitchen is functional and newly remodeled with all the dishes needed for everyday cooking or for a gathering. The home is two stories and the master with a queen bed and HD TV, a second bedroom with a trundle bed that opens to two twin beds, and a full bath with shower are located on the main floor. The kitchen, dining area for six, living room with fireplace and HD-TV, access to the outdoor deck with seating and dining area, are also on the main floor.

On the lower level there is a second queen bedroom with HD TV, bath with shower, private seating area with a fold out couch sleeping one, and office furniture to set-up a computer. There is a private entry with a large parking area on the lower floor for easy access.

On the lower end of the property there is a quaint bunkhouse which sleeps two for extra guests or play area/bunk-beds for older kids. Electricity is available on request. The large yard offers plenty of space for children to safely play and enjoy the outdoors.

Don't miss out on the perfect location in a beautiful cottage nestled among the pines trees for your next visit to Prescott!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • long term rentals available
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Kathleen Gillis (Owner)
Member since: 2015
Call Owner
Speaks english

Reviews

4.6
based on 15 traveller reviews

Cottage in the Pines 3 min to downtown Prescott DECEMBER DISCOUNTED RATES!
average rating of 4.6 based on 15 reviews
5

Perfect Girls Getaway

  • 5 of 5

This was my first VRBO experience, and it did not disappoint! This property provided the exact experience I was looking for! I rented this house for a weekend to celebrate a friends bachelorette getaway, for a total of 7 girls. The house sleeps 6 in beds, but we made do. Upon arrival, Kathleen met me there, and gave me a tour of the property, which is adorable from the outside and beautiful on the inside. She provided great customer service, easy to get a hold of. Perfect balance of property owner, and host. She doesn't live too far from the property, so would have been available at any time if we needed her to be.

The Prescott area is so great, and this location made it so easy to explore - 2 minute drive to downtown/whiskey row ($4 cab ride). Grocery store was a 5 minute drive, and Walmart was less than 10 minutes. We also spent an afternoon at the Granite Creek Vineyard, which was 40 minutes away, but totally worth it. The property was so comfortable that when we weren't out on our adventures, you could lounge inside, or on one of the two gorgeous decks outside. We even had a deer visit our yard in the afternoon and relax while we sat on the deck.

I wish we could have stayed longer, I would recommend this place to families and small groups! It is a 2-level house, where the main level is on top. The stairs to get down to the lower level (3rd bedroom + Bathroom) were pretty steep, just took time to get used to. Everything else was as advertised! Just loved this trip!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Cave Creek
5

Cozy, fantastic, beautiful. We will be back!

  • 5 of 5

We planned a last minute trip to Prescott and decided to use VRBO. We were lucky enough to come across this property and able to book at the last minute. Kathleen was in touch with me right away and very pleasant to work with. She greeted us at the property and was very friendly and ready to show us around. The house was clean and welcoming. It was just as described in the listing. It was close to town yet far enough away to enjoy peace and quiet. We had a wonderful time and will be back to enjoy Prescott again.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
1

The property was lovely, however, dealing with the owner after the fact was not good.

  • 1 of 5

We enjoyed the property immensely. We were allowed to bring our dogs, which why is we chose this property. Everything was great. We had to leave a week early due to business at home, and after notifying the owner of our early checkout, a few days later I received a text message as follows: "thank u so much for leaving the house so clean. Way more than we ask for and very thoughtful. We have requested the release of your deposit." Now, a full week later, I received a notice from VRBO that $0.00 was refunded due to dog urine on tile that now has to be replaced. There was no dog urine left anywhere in the house, because the dogs didn't have any accidents in the house. Even if there had been dog urine on tile, I fail to understand how it could ruin tile? I am very disappointed that my damage deposit was handled this way. I would not trust these people again. I have no way of knowing who came in before or after we did, with pets that may have done something that I am being blamed for.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As a HomeAway property owner, our top priority is to provide an exceptional vacation experience to each guest. To avoid misunderstandings with guests, we provide a Booking Confirmation, Rental Agreement and House Rules. We have not prior to this guest had to request HomeAway hold a damage deposit until we could assess the damage and the most cost effective method to remediate. The Booking Confirmation stated that this guest requested one dog, however she arrived with two! Her signed Rental Agreement states that "under no circumstances shall a pet be left unattended in the home." This is not only courteous to neighbors, but prevents accidental damage to the home and protects both the home owner and the guests from damage claims..According to statements from neighbors on both sides of the property, this guest left the dogs locked in the home for several hours daily when she left to attend to horses she boarded in the area. Following her departure, and prior to other guests arriving, the severe stain damage to the natural slate rock kitchen floor was discovered. A professional floor restorer was hired, diagnosed and treated the stains for urine, but was unable to remove them. He charged me $100.00 to sanitize the floor and HomeAway charged me a service fee a $14.95 to deposit this guests damage deposit of $500 to my account. I returned $385.00 to this guest. I hired a flooring contractor to estimate the cost to replace the floor. The cost to me is $3,000. I do not believe that the damage was intentional, however had this guest simply honored her signed Rental Agreement this unfortunate situation likely would not have occurred.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
4

We loved this house

  • 4 of 5

The house is a real charmer, full of character and surrounded by beautiful grounds. The back deck is super inviting and the neighborhood is lovely. The house is conveniently located to get wherever we wanted to go in Prescott, including walking distance to downtown square. We loved our brief two-night stay here.

The only problem -- and it was a significant one, while it lasted -- was that the property manager failed to send us check-in/access instructions until it was almost too late, despite our repeated attempts to contact her. Reaching her was very difficult, leaving our travel plans up in the air; we thought we were going to have to cancel the trip, ask for our money back, etc. Finally, on the afternoon before the morning we were to drive to Prescott, we did finally hear back from her. She was very apologetic and provided all the info we needed to access the property. She, and the home's owner (whom we met upon check-in) are super nice, so it pains me to have to deduct the one star, but I can't ignore how hard it was to obtain those access instructions (nor our resulting anxiety in the days before our trip).

  • Review Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Gorgeous property in Prescott!

  • 5 of 5

We were SO impressed with this rental! Wonderful, comfortable beds, all the amenities, and the property itself feels a world away from everything. Sitting out on the deck surrounded by the huge trees was my favorite. Highly recommend this property to anyone!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Charming and comfortable!

  • 5 of 5

The cottage is spacious, beautifully decorated, clean, well-maintained and well-equipped with everything we needed for a wonderful stay in Prescott. Western Art Fair was nice to walk around in town. We were here for a lovely country wedding at the Van Dickson Ranch and visiting relatives. Owners provided great customer service. Would definitely recommend this property to others.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Prescott Municipal Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Whiskey Row
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Antelope Hills
Nearest Train
40 Miles
Grand Canyon Scenic Railroad, Camp Verde
Nearest Motorway
30 Miles
Historic Highway 66, Seligman, AZ
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
El Gato Azul or Park Plaza Deli, Goodwin Street
Nearest Ski
2 Miles
Snowbowl ski resort, Flagstaff
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Lynx Lake,
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday house in Prescott, Arizona

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Christmas weekend
22 Dec 2016 - 26 Dec 2016
4 night minimum stay
A$302
 
 
New Year Weekend
30 Dec 2016 - 2 Jan 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$302
 
 
Winter 2016
3 Jan 2017 - 30 Apr 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$262
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
A$302
A$2,016
A$4,032
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add A$34 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit A$672
Cleaning Fee A$134
Pet Fee A$101
Tax Rate 5.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Prescott

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • City Centre ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower , master bath located on main level for bedroom 1and 3
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed , Master, located on main floor, adjacent to bath, HD-TV
    Bedroom 3 - 2 single bed , located main floor, studio beds for one or two
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed , lower level, HD-TV, bath, private access,
    Bedroom 4 - 2 single bed , Outdoor cabin: not available in winter, sleeps 2,: bunkbeds
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • long term rentals available
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • swimming
  • tennis