Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Lake Blackwell, 2 Bedroom Retreat with Hot Tub & Deck. Best suited for four

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 620 sq ft
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Apartment, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4 adults maximum) best suited for adults.

Lake Blackwell...where you can create memories to last a lifetime!

Our vacation rental on Blackwell Lake will offer you spectacular second story views any time of the year! Landscaped steps and beautiful flower gardens lead you to our two bedroom bungalow, which is located 10 miles west of Alexandria. It's quaint, cozy and offers all of the comforts of home. The master bedroom has a queen bed, 6ft. closet and a restful decor. The second bedroom is small with a comfortable fold out bed. The kitchen and living room are open to each other and offer a homey feel.

Out the front door is a private deck with an umbrella table and gas grill. A 4 person hot tub rests on a lower deck for you to relax in anytime of the day or night.

Down the hill at the beach you may swim, sail, kayak and canoe or just float! Fishing off the docks or boat is a wonderful way to fritter away the day. A late night dip in the lake followed by a campfire, s’mores and star gazing is a great way to call it a night.

During the winter months, feel free to bring your ice fishing equipment, snow shoes and cross country skis. Please leave your snowmobiles at home since we offer a quiet retreat and our neighbors are non snowmobilers. This is billed as a quaint, quiet retreat.

Keywords: lake, woods, quaint, sailing, swimming, kayaking, fire ring, hot tub, canoeing, fishing, country, quiet, cross country ski trails, ice fishing, private deck, downhill skiing nearby, newly redecorated, electric fireplace, biking, lakeside deck, wireless internet, second story cottage, bungalow, apartment, gardens, beach, swimming raft, near village, near organic strawberry farm, Runestone Park the birth place of America

More Details

Owner
Glenaris and Barry Arvold
Member since: 2012
Speaks english
Response time
Within a few hours
Response rate
90%
Calendar last updated:
11 July, 2018

About Glenaris and Barry Arvold

Barry and I have been married 43 years. We built our rustic home and raised our 4 great children here. Now, we have 9 grandchildren who are our pride and joy.

We are a family that loves to travel and experience different cultures. We've been blessed to visit China, Peru, New Zealand, Mexico & more, but our favorite place on earth is HOME!

Glenaris and Barry Arvold purchased this bungalow in 1982

Why Glenaris and Barry Arvold chose Farwell

We are 10 min. off of I-94, 120 miles from the Twin Cities and 100 miles from Fargo, ND.

Alexandria is in the heart of lake country and as our area motto says, 'Easy to get to, hard to leave!'

What makes this bungalow unique

Our peaceful little lake will offer hours of fun. We have boats of all kinds for you to use during your stay at no extra charge. The tipi in the woods is sure to enchant. Bird watching, deer sightings, wild turkey parades and the distant howel of a lone coyote or the hoot of an owl are not uncommon occurances. Our favorite outdoor sounds involve the laughter of our resident loons.

We are near Andes Tower Hills ski resort, Kennsington Ruinstone Park, Golf courses, Antique and Boutique shopping in Alexandria and in season, you can pick your own organic strawberries less than a half mile away!

Alexandria offers small town entertainment such as bike trails, bowling, mini golf, go carts, many restaurants, movie, summer stock and community theatre. You'll have check out Big Ole and the Runestone Museum and our Maritime Museum to catch up on some local history. Did you know that Alexandria is the birthplace of America?!

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday bungalow rental in Farwell

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 620 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 bathroom with shower only.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Bed (1), (1) pack and play for a small child, Sleep Sofa (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horse riding
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • ski
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
Notes:
fishing boat, sunfish sail boats, canoe, kayaks, fire ring, gardens, swimming raft, lakeside deck, small beach, wooded area, newly redecorated, electric fireplace, the county road separates from the beach area, large fire ring, sailing lessons available, ice fishing, cross country ski trails and snow shoeing out the front door.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(24 traveller reviews)

83% Complete
8% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Lake Blackwell, 2 Bedroom Retreat with Hot Tub & Deck. Best suited for four
average rating of 4.7083335 based on 24 reviews
5

Nice quiet getaway!

  • 5 of 5

This was perfect for my husband and I. Nice view, cozy with a well furnished kitchen. Very nice owners. Would recommend to a friend!

  • Review Submitted: 15/01/2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to your return! Kind regards, Glen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Relaxing but disappointing

  • 3 of 5

Over all we enjoyed our stay. It was relaxing and the lake was great. The bungalow was quaint and quiet (except for the very noisy bed). Really liked the kayaking and nearby Alex was welcoming. Found a great little cafe "The Coffee Pot Cafe" that had very good food at a reasonable price. The owners, Glen and Barry were very friendly and when problems arose they were helpful. All that being said, we did have some issues. The Hot tub, which was one of the perks that lead us to choose this property was not in good working order. It kept popping the circuit breakers and had to be reset every time we wanted to use it. Unfortunately that meant the water was not hot so we only used it twice in our weeks stay. The lakeside dock area is nice but needs some TLC. Several loose and warped boards with nails sticking up to catch on your feet. Also, it needs a good cleaning. The dock was not just slippery when wet but slimy. My husband took a fall while trying to rescue one of the kayaks that had come loose. The kayak storage needs work. there was quite a bit of rain and wind that caused the kayaks to drift loose from under the dock several times. There is a really nice bench that goes around the upper deck, BUT no railing for safety. By reading other reviews, it sounds like the owners are absent a good share of the time as was the case during our stay. When planning your stay be sure the kayaks and/or canoes will be available for your use as they sometimes use them for their personal use. They left the day after our arrival and took the canoe, not really a problem as we used the kayaks. They mention limited TV channels, well that is an exaggeration. There are 3 channels but none of them come in regularly, couldn't even watch the evening news. If internet is important to you ( like in the evenings or if the weather isn't cooperating) don't count on it. It is very slow and cuts our frequently. We would definitely return to the area but not necessarily to this property.

  • Review Submitted: 01/07/2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry you had less than an excellent experience. We have had a busier travel year than usual, but we try to be as responsive as possible when trouble arises and we aren't on the property. We don't charge for the use of our boats and the hot tub is a perk also above most lodging offerings. Unfortunately, things sometimes break down at unexpected times. Hot tub is fixed. TV can sometimes improved by adjusting the antenna. Weather issues do occur and in rural areas TV and Internet feel the effects, especially when winds are strong enough to take down trees, which was the case during your stay. Thanks for your input and we will make needed improvements. Kind regards, Barry and Glen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Just okay

  • 2 of 5

I planned a surprise trip here for my husband for our 5 year anniversary and to celebrate him finishing his degree. It was the first time we’ve been able to get away since our honeymoon since we have a medically fragile 4 year old who’s always in the hospital and a 2 year old that make it impossible to get a way. It took a lot of coordinating to be able to come 7hours away but it seemed worth it to get away alone and spend a lot of time on the lake with the kayaks and boats that came with the rental. Unfortunately, we were very disappointed! We were almost to the bungalow before receiving any instructions on how to get in which was stressful. When we arrived there weren’t any instructions on where the kayaks and boats were stored, how to get a demonstration of building a fire in the tipi (which was required before starting one), or how to operate the hot tub which seemed to be broken. We were able to easily get ahold of the owners who were very nice and gave us instructions on how to fix the hot tub and offered to send a technician on Monday if we couldn’t get it ourselves (which we did) and gave us the instructions for the tipi campfire. However, we were informed that the kayaks and boats advertised with the rental would not be available until after Memorial Day. We were so disappointed as that was the main selling point of this rental for us. We tried to find somewhere nearby that rented them out but most of them were booked through our vacation because everyone was out on the lakes. We still had a nice time being being alone without the kids; we sat on the dock, went on walks, had a bonfire, played some games, and sat in the hot tub but if that’s all we wanted, we could’ve stayed closer to home and saved a lot of driving time and money. I’d also like to add that the shower didn’t have much pressure at all so showering took forever! Overall, the owners and their grandson (who was staying in the main house) were nice but the bungalow without the kayaks and boats was not worth it to us and had we known we wouldn’t have access to them, we would have stayed elsewhere.

  • Review Submitted: 16/05/2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry that you were dissapointed with your stay. Unfortunately, the ice recently went out on the lake and its very typical that boats, docks, swimming rafts are not in the water in Minnesota until after Memorial weekend because of the unsafe water temperatures. Its unfortunate that the breaker switch flipped off on the hot tub. Im glad you were able to switch it on and enjoy many of the other early spring activities such as bonfires, walks in a peaceful rural environment around the lake and all that Alexandria has to offer tourists. Kind regards, I wish we had been present on the property to offer more assistance. Barry and Glenaris Arvold
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Honeymoon

  • 5 of 5

Amazing! Perfect honeymoon get away for me and my husband!

  • Review Submitted: 01/05/2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh, Im so glad you enjoyed it! I wish we could have met you. Maybe next time we wont be out of town!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great home away from home!

  • 5 of 5

We had such an awesome time at this cute little get away. The bungalow is so cute and comfy. We felt so at home. The view is beautiful and right by the lake which made it really easy for us to go ice fish and snow shoe! The location is perfect for a romantic weekend away. The hot tub was a great addition to an already amazing place. Glen was such a sweetheart and her grandson Josh was so great at welcoming us. Nice family, great vacation. Planning on coming back next year!!

  • Review Submitted: 26/02/2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review! We appreciate guests like you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cute cozy get away

  • 5 of 5

We were looking for a nice stay away from the city and found just that! This place has beautiful views of the lake and the hot tub was always steaming hot. Took all of our cares away for a few days.

  • Review Submitted: 11/02/2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
10 Miles
Plenty to choose from
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
8 courses including Tom Lehmans childhood course
Nearest Restaurant
10 Miles
casual to up scale, eat out with ease
Nearest Ski
4.5 Miles
Andes Tower Hill
Nearest Point of Interest
Strawberry Farm
Nearest Point of Interest
General Store
Nearest Point of Interest
Andes Tower Hills
Nearest Point of Interest
Alexandria

Beautiful State Park and County park nearby.

Kensington Runestone Museum; Lakes Boat Museum - the nicest in the Midwest! Carlos Creek Winery - tastings, tours, music; Free music concerts weekly during summer. Summer-stock theater. NASCAR race track

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday bungalow in Farwell

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer 2018
25 May 2018 - 15 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
AU$1,094
 
 
Off peak
16 Sep 2018 - 24 May 2019
3 night minimum stay
AU$136
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
AU$952
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit AU$407.79

May through September are our peak rental season months. We open the Bungalow to the public two weeks out of every month throughout the Summer season for $650.00 per week.
Our off season is October thru April. Weekly rentals are $350.00 per week

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if cancelled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable