check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Jon Carlson

Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks english, spanish

Historic Beach House, Feel Like You Are Part Of Gone With The Wind

4 Reviews
Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 7 nights


Photos and Description of this Northeast Virginia Beach holiday chateau / country house

1930 Beach House On The Secondary Sand Dune, Hear The Waves From Sleeping Porch

This beach house feels like you are in a tree as branches of local liv oaks can be seen from all windows and porches. The house has sounds of ghosts, big bands of the 30's, high on the secondary dune, short walk to the beach, with a street light to stop traffic. Five bedrooms plus a sleeping porch 25 feet off the ground, decks, numerous sitting areas, gazebo, terraced yard, lower has open 50 by 30 feet grass lawn for, all types of games, corn hole to badminton to soccer, to croquet to playing catch with footballs, baseball or lacrosse. This is the first year for this house(we have others center of resort) bedrooms are being decorated and designed, bathrooms and kitchen also. More pictures will be added soon. The romantic Vogue bedroom, yes Vogue magazine started in the 30's, just a room for girls and ladies. The "Bunkhouse" bedroom has two twin bunk beds your children with next full bathroom with shower As you enter the house the foyer speaks of politics and criminals both looking for their pay off.

Off to your left from the foyer you enter" living room of Old Virginia" sit down, relax, talk about the hundreds of ducks and geese that were shot today and you had to stop only because your shoulders were numb.

Look out from the sleeping porch and at the correct angle you may just see Lou Gehrig " New York Yankees,man of steel" fishing and failing to bring in a small white marlin for "some unknown reason."

After your day at the beach, after your roasted duck breast and and back fin cakes, bring your cigars and Ron Zacapa to the Cuban (outside gazebo) Relax share a glass and a smoke with Mr. Bogart or Mr. Hemingway, as the fan cools the midnight hour.

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • long term rentals available
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Jon Carlson (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks english, spanish

About Jon Carlson

Airline pilot flying Airbus 330 over the Atlanic

Jon Carlson purchased this chateau / country house in 1985

Why Jon Carlson chose Virginia Beach

Only two left on the North end of Virginia Beach

What makes this chateau / country house unique

One bedroom is the bunk house two bunk beds(sleeps four) and full bathroom with shower. Located main floor next to kitchen. Sand cart to take the "stuff" to the beach. Outdoor shower connected to gazebo. Always a nice breeze due to the venture effect on the secondary dune (pilot talk). Gas and charcoal grills.


based on 4 traveller reviews

Historic Beach House, Feel Like You Are Part Of Gone With The Wind
average rating of 3.0 based on 4 reviews

Very relaxing & nice location

  • 5 of 5

We had two families of four (total of 8) comfortably in the house and there were empty beds. As described, it is one of the original homes of the area which gives you a great view off the front pouch in the morning of the sunrise. The house is perfectly located a few houses west of Atlantic, so we had no ‘foot traffic’ of folks trying to get to the beach, which equals no unwanted noise or yelling early in the morning of the daily beach visitors. Also, the walk to the beach/ocean was painless and quick; super convenient because there is a cross walk located at the same street as the house – It’s makes this house/area a no-brainer (at least for us). As for the beach, 59th street was awesome because it was not crowded at all; it never got more than two towels/family deep.

As for the interior of the house itself and what it had to offer; we cooked either on the stove or the grill daily with no issues. The refrigerator had plenty of room for our food and as long as we closed the door properly, everything remained cold; and as for the freezer, it kept the ice cream cold and beer mugs frosty. The living room, basement, and other living space gives everyone more than enough space to spread out and have their own space if they wanted to escape within the house. We did have the same issue with the leak coming from the ceiling, however the owner responded/communicated very quickly and took steps to resolve the issue. The owner also came out once to mow the lawn, but was very respectful and gave us 24-hours’ notice. As for some of the other ratings about the house, they honestly over reacted to ‘life happens’ and obviously haven’t been on Earth long enough to deal with life.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review. As with a house 85 years, there will be adjustments( new frig) , many extras to handle any problems.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Liberty, NC, USA

Relaxing vacation in a comfortable home

  • 5 of 5

This house provided a comfortable home for our extended family (group of 8) during our beach vacation. The kitchen was well-equipped with pots, pans, cutlery, plates, glasses, etc. The stove worked and was used often. Large rooms provided space for us to all gather together or in smaller groups. The owner was present one day to mow the grass and to give us some welcome gifts which we enjoyed consuming. A handyman worked on repairs a few days. He was personable and not at all intrusive. The walk to the beach is easy and the stoplight helps with the crossing of busy Atlantic Avenue to access the big beach! Two of our favorite restaurants were easily accessible using Shore Drive. We had a terrific time and would consider returning the next time we all get together.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: To have a vacation in a historic beach, is truly a treasure. The history this house holds is unmeasureable. From the second deck, at one time during the second world war you could possibly see the black out uboats sitting off the coast? But, they were there. Come stay with us, live history. Thank you for the nice review. I continue to update and improve my house, to make your vacation great. Jon
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wilkesberry, PA

nice house with some issues and an unrealistic owner

  • 1 of 5

Ceiling was coming down due to leaky shower above it. We were asked not to use it for 2 days. We were told the plumber would arrive Monday and never showed until the following day. Fridge doesn't work well and had to keep most of our food in a cooler. There is a fridge in the basement but it was more convenient to use coolers. Front two burners on stove didn't work. If you stay here be sure the house is spotless when you leave. We thought it was very clean when we left but then got bill for a "trashed house" Home owner seems too attached.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have had my housekeeper for over 5 years, she told me the house was trashed. I believe her. I charged for extra cleaning, they said they would write a bad review. I had been by earlier in the week the guests were happy. Someone pulled the burners out of their connection, 2 sec fix. Two frigs in house. Now there are three. Had a leak, fix the leak. Two full baths were still available, plus 1/2 and outside shower. I am always sorry my guests were not happy. Please tell me it will be corrected.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Less than thrilled

  • 1 of 5

The refrigerator was dirty and didn't keep anything cold, we HAD to use coolers. The "master bedroom" did not provide and space for us to put away our clothing as the owners belongings were still in all the dressers/closets. We found former tenants belongings in drawers in other bedrooms. The ceiling in the living room was falling down bc of pipes that needed to be fixed in the master bath. 13 people were down a shower for approx 3 days due to this. We had to wait around and forfeit 2 days of our vacation... One day to wait for a plumber that never came and the next day until he arrived. The front two burners on the stove did not work properly. The elevator was out of service. The ceiling fan on the upstairs balcony was broken. They lacked pots and pans for cooking.

Keep scrolling. You don't want to stay here!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review, I have been the weekly rental business for 10 years. This property is my personal house. Communication with the owner is the most important if you have a problem. The plumbing problem was addressed immediately, but was delayed because of other emergency jobs by the plumber. There was still three showers available with one down. Guest only had to call the plumber for the time he would be there. Master bedroom has 8ft amorie three large drawers and large hanging closet, completely empty Two refrigerators, but when you leave the door open! Elevator is only for elderly and handicap. Stove and large outside gas grill. You must wash your dishes, pots, and pans. The house in the words of my housekeeper of 6 years "trashed" First time ever I had to charge someone for extra cleaning. What a mistake allowing these three familes to use MY house. Please call me if you have concerns about this guest.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Princess Anne Country Club
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Nearest Beach
250 Metres
Atlantic Ocean


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday chateau / country house in Northeast Virginia Beach, Virginia

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
3 Sep 2016 - 16 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
17 Jun 2017 - 18 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
Late Summer
19 Aug 2017 - 8 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning A$329
Pet Fee A$131
Tax Rate 15.0%

Fourth of July $500 extra, Credit Card for Security Deposit

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chateau / country house rental in Northeast Virginia Beach, Virginia

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator ...
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower enclosure , off bunk house
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , bath with shower
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 5 - 4 single bed , Bunk House
    North - 2 large double bed , Fireplace/Office/Flat screen
    West - 1 extra lg. double bed , 1 large double bed , TV
    East - 1 extra lg. double bed , Flat screen
    South - 1 large double bed , Fireplace/Flat screen
  • 5 bedrooms
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Events Allowed
  • long term rentals available
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • churches
  • festivals
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing