check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Patrick Smiley/ Kimberly Wable

Member since: 2015
Speaks english

The Mountain Getaway

4 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin

Overview

Photos and Description of this Mill Run holiday cabin

Come enjoy your summer or any season with a wide selection of outdoor activities

Enjoy yourself in our Mountain Getaway for the weekend. Many local attractions. If you choose to enjoy natures outdoors or just relax by a campfire, this is the place to be. Very secluded and quiet by the surrounding woods. You will enjoy the family friendly atmosphere. Near many state game lands. Come enjoy yourself and getaway with us. Inquire for more information. Also If you are interested in us providing you with firewood there is a extra fee we charge by the bundle. Also if you are interested in us providing you with bed linens there is a extra fee let us know before your stay. This is also located near Ohiopyle Park and is close to Hiking, Biking, Fishing, White water rafting, Skiing & snowmoble trails (winter only), near state game lands, resorts and attractions such as Frank Lloyd wrights masterpieces Falling water, Kentucky Knob and Duncan House also Falling waters. For more information and current activties that are going on when seasons change vist www.Laurelhighlands.org/things-to-do/events/

For Cross Country skiing information vist

www.laurelridgestatepark.com

More Details
Suitability:
  • long term rentals available
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Patrick Smiley/ Kimberly Wable (Property Manager)
Member since: 2015
Speaks english

Why Patrick Smiley/ Kimberly Wable chose Pennsylvania

This property has been in my family for many years. It is Newly remodeled. Come and enjoy!

What makes this cabin unique

Located near Ohiopyle Hiking, Biking, Fishing, White water rafting, Skiing and snowmobile trails (winter time only) also near state game lands. Resorts and many attractions like Frank Lloyd wrights masterpeices Falling Water, Kentucky Knob and Ducan house. For more local information vist www.laurelhighlands.org

Reviews

4.3
based on 4 traveller reviews

The Mountain Getaway
average rating of 4.25 based on 4 reviews
Wexford, PA
5

Cindi

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the cabin for a fall getaway weekend. 2 adult couples. The location was perfect. Just what we were looking for. It was very close to the bike trail at Ohiopyle, which was our main activity. Also very convenient to Cucumber Falls and other trails and sights in Ohiopyle. Extremely close to Fallingwater - a must see. Also a convenient distance from Christian Klay winery and Ridge Runner Distillery. The cabin was very cute and cozy. We enjoyed the fire pit in the yard while enjoying drinks, s'mores and classic rock music. Everything we needed was provided. We did choose to bring our own sheets and towels. Only constructive criticism we have is that it would be helpful if you install mirrors in the bedrooms. It was tough for 4 people to get ready at the same time with the only mirror being in the bathroom. Other than that - it was perfect. We would definitely rent the cabin again.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pittsburgh area
4

Pleasant but somewhat austere.

  • 4 of 5

We spent a week at the cabin while hiking and biking in the area. The location is on a quiet road near Falling Water and Bear Run Nature Reserve and an easy 15-minute drive to the town of Ohiopyle. The renovated cabin looks nicer inside than the pictures show. The knotty pine paneling smelled nicely piney. The giant log furniture was fun. The central air conditioning worked really well and was great on hot afternoons, and the master bedroom also had a ceiling fan. We used the DVD player to watch movies we brought with us—the TV isn't large but was sufficient. The back deck gets afternoon sun and is a great place to stargaze. There is a sloping lawn behind for kids/pets to run around. The road is close but isn't busy, especially on weekdays. There is a similar cabin owned by the same people close by, and a large group could rent both at the same time.

The cabin is wheelchair accessible, with large doorways and a ramp from the parking area to the front porch and back deck. The shower is larger than other prefab ones, and has a hand-held sprayer.

If you bring your own linens, bring blankets in addition to sheets, towels, and kitchen towels. There are some pillows. The beds are platform beds, which I find more supportive, and the mattresses and pillows have covers. The top bunk of the bunk beds is accessible for children only, but there are a futon bed and a sofa bed in the living room area. The futon bed looks really comfortable for sleeping, but not for sitting. The living room area is smallish but there is a large dining table. There is a complete kitchen with gas stove/oven, fridge/freezer and dishwasher, plus pans and utensils. The only food there is salt and pepper, so you need to bring things like cooking oil and spices if you want to cook at all. The grocery store is an hour away over back roads in Somerset.

We enjoyed our stay overall, but a few touches would make the place homier: reading lamps in the bedrooms, more comfortable seating in the living area or a reading chair there or in the large (bunk) bedroom, two more plastic chairs for the deck, more towel bars in the bathroom, coat hooks by the front door, and more mugs and tablespoons. Also, an information packet about the area, including locations of gas stations and grocery stores, and instructions to use the DVD would be helpful.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice cabin

  • 3 of 5

We just recently stayed here for a quick last minute trip. The cabin itself is in nice condition. Beds and pillows are not comfortable so bring your own pillows. Make sure to bring towels (bath towels, hand towels for kitchen and bathroom) because there are none provided. We brought our own sheets because it was expensive to have them provided. They do provide a very small stack of firewood so we opted to pay extra for more. It was two wheel barrels full which only got us through the 1/2 the second night (we spent most of the evening outside by the fire). My husband went to a home owner down the road and received 4 large bag fulls (almost double) for half the price. There are plenty of places to get firewood there so don't spend the extra money for this. My biggest complaint was that on the day of our arrival we arrived at the cabin in the pouring rain to find that the code we were given did not work. Cell phones do not work at the cabin so we had to drive down the road a few miles to get service. I tried calling 3 different numbers but got voicemail on all of them. I tried texting and emailing as well. After awhile we eventually went down to try again and my husband decided to try the cabin next door and the code worked. He had given us the wrong address to match the code we had. We unpacked and got settle in for the evening. This was around 4-5 pm. I had started calling around 3pm. He arrived at the cabin at 9 pm to see if we got in ok. He said he called but my phone didn't work to receive the calls. Then he came on our 3rd day in the cabin and asked when we would be checking out for the day when we had the cabin booked for another night. We have two dogs. He said the pet fee was a Flat fee and not a fee per dog. One of the other guests ended up bringing his dog last minute and when the owner came to check if we got in the cabin 6 HR LATER he was upset about the extra dog. However, nowhere in the info on VRBO or the info he sent me does it have a limit on the number of dogs that I could see. I offered to pay extra but he declined. So please note that it is a 2 dog MAX.

Overall it is a nice cabin that is fairly close to Ohiopyle for rafting. The accommodations are limited as far as the kitchen as well but we made due just fine. Our interaction with the owner was not as nice and was somewhat upsetting on that first day. Probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry to hear that your experience was not wonderful, We try our best to make our home an enjoyable peaceful place for everyone to stay at. The code mix up was a true mistake we had so many bookings that week for the other two that we made a true mistake and gave the wrong code. We tried our best to make it there to fix it and make sure you got in the cabin as soon as we could. We do not provide towels and bed sheets we have that listed on here that it is a $50.00 fee. The pets are $50.00 for two Max because we have a cleaning crew that we have to pay we want the cabin to be spotless for every stay. The firewood is listed that it cost extra $6.00 a bundle we have to take time to prepare all these things for you if you choose to want them that is why we cannot provide these for free. The kitchen though we try our hardest to make sure there is all the basics you will need to cook or make something to eat the cabin had all basic kitchen utensils. We make sure we provide toilet paper, paper towels garbage bags and cook wear. Anything extra we have to take time and prepare for you and bring it for you we have that listed on here. We are not close to the cabin so any concerns or questions or extra items that a guest wants we need to know ahead of time we make sure everyone that books a stay we contact them a day or two before their stay with the access information and to answer any questions they may have. The mix up was a true mistake we apologize for we had a lot going on that week.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was very new and clean, and the owner was very friendly. We had a great trip.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
8 Miles
Confluence
Nearest Golf
18 Miles
Seven Springs
Nearest Ski
18 Miles
Seven Springs
Car: necessary

Mountain Getaway is located in the beautiful Laurel Highlands. Many attractions and places to see if you choose. Our newly renovated cabin is secluded by quiet woods. Fully Furnished non smoking area. We offer bed linens and firewood at a additional fee. We do not provide sheets and comforters, unless you purchase bed linens. Also pets are welcome - only TWO pets allowed with an additional fee of $50.00. Pets are not allowed on furniture and beds due to allergies of future guests. The cabin is located near Ohiopyle and Frank Lloyd Wrights masterpieces Falling water, Kentucky Knob and Duncan house. For more local information www.Laurelhighlands.org . ALSO CHECK OUT EVENTS GOING ON! http://www.laurelhighlands.org/things-to-do/events/

Also vist www.laurelridgestatepark.com for hiking and

cross country skiing information.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday cabin in Mill Run, Pennsylvania

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
A$278
A$1,236
A$1,888
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee A$67
Refundable Damage Deposit A$403
Property Damage Protection A$79

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin rental in Mill Run

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Mountain View
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Living Room ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower enclosure , handicapped accessible
  • Stand up shower, medicine cabinet, sink and two mirrors.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double bed , 1 sofa bed/futon
    Bedroom 1 - 1 double bed , Bunk Bed
  • The Beds there is one bunk bed with double on the bottom and double on the top. Also a double bed in the master bedroom. We also have a futon and a pullout sofa. If you have any questions let us know.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • long term rentals available
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • ski lift pass
  • ski pass optional
  • ski
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
Come treat yourself to a wonderful mountain get away! For things to do, take a look at the events calendar. http://www.laurelhighlands.org/things-to-do/events/.