Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Charming Adobe Casita On Old Santa Fe Trail

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 590 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

One Bedroom Casita plus comfy sofa- sleeper

Charming downtown location, walking distance to Plaza and to Canyon Road, private off-street parking, diamond finish plastered walls, hardwood & tile floors, large bedroom with queen bed, bright and sunlit living room with wood-burning stove, washer/dryer, WiFi high-speed internet access, nearby gourmet grocers, galleries, coffeehouses, and fabulous dining.

La Casita TuTu is just blocks from the historic Santa Fe Plaza (an easy 10 minute walk) and within walking distance to Canyon Road, art galleries, world class restaurants, shopping, and more.

This charming condo features hardwood floors throughout and Saltillo tile in the kitchen and bathroom. The kitchen is equipped with all cookware, utensils, dinnerware, glassware, etc. The living room features large windows and lots of sunlight, as well as a wood-burning stove. The bedroom is off-street and quiet and has a queen bed with memory foam mattress. Wi-Fi high-speed internet access is available throughout the condo.

there is a full-sized washer & dryer, as well as plenty of towels, bedding and linens for your comfort.

This unit has it's own designated off-street parking spot. Also, a two burner gas grill outside on the deck.

A nearby grocery/liquor store and coffee shop are all within walking distance as well.

This condo is in compliance with the City of Santa Fe's short term rental ordinance (Permit # 15-00133994)

wi

More Details

Owner
Debbie and Freddie Schwartz
Member since: 2012
Speaks english, spanish
Response time
Within 12 hours
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
24 June, 2018

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo rental in Historic Eastside, New Mexico

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 590 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • City Centre ...
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower
  • Full tub and shower. Lots of towels and linen.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
  • Bedroom has a queen bed with memory mattress. Comfortable sofa/sleeper for two in living room. Air-Condition.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • long term rentals available
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • ski
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(26 traveller reviews)

73% Complete
19% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Charming Adobe Casita On Old Santa Fe Trail
average rating of 4.576923 based on 26 reviews
5

Fabulous location and cozy space; very well stocked.

  • 5 of 5

Casita Tu Tu is a lovely upstairs rental. I loved the location with all conveniences within walking distance of 2-3 blocks; grocery store, restaurants, the Plaza and shopping.

The casita is furnished with all the amenities and plenty of room for myself and company .

The bed is amazing, so, so comfortable, and a very large pull out couch for guests.

Debbie and Freddie were available and such gracious renters. They made my experience in Santa Fe an exceptional one!!

  • Review Submitted: 09/04/2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Leesburg, FL
3

Loved Santa Fe but was a bit disappointed in the casita

  • 3 of 5

While the casita was very clean and located in an ideal spot relative to the square in Santa Fe, we felt a few things were lacking:

1. We were not told in our arrival instructions that the casita was one of 8 residences on the property. We were not given the unit number of our rental and this took a bit of investigating on our part during a busy holiday weekend to find our unit.

2. We were not informed of the limited parking. We were one of two couples who occupied the casita and we had to knock on the neighbor's door to ask where we were expected/allowed to park. Again, during the holiday weekend with street parking at a premium, it would have been nice to have had this information prior to our arrival.

3. The linens that were available for the fold-out sofa bed were insufficient - no extra blankets.

4. The bathtub drain was not working properly and drained painfully slow.

5. We were very disappointed that there was not an 8-cup coffee pot. I know this seems trivial but when 4 adults are waiting for morning coffee, the 4-cup mini brewer was simply inadequate.

6. We were unable to connect to the wireless sufficiently and when doing so the internet connection was unavailable.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our time in Santa Fe. However, as we have utilized VRBO on numerous occasions, this experience was not up to the standard we have experienced in the past.

  • Review Submitted: 31/12/2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Andy, We want to let you know how sorry we are that your stay was not up-to-par. We usually remember to send the number of our casita and the parking instructions to each guest! We were out of the country visiting our son during your stay, and that was a terrible mistake on our part, to forget to send that vital info to you! We had just purchased a new queen sofa sleeper three months ago and did not realize that the sheets from the previous sleeper were for a full sofa, not a queen! We purchased new sheets and have added several new blankets to our casita. After hearing from you about the size of the coffee pot, we have replaced the 2 cup coffee pot for an 8cup Cuisinart coffee pot. It probably sounds like we are trying to get out of the issues you described, but that is not the case! We care about our guests. You are paying to stay in our wonderful casita and we want you to want to return! Please accept our apologies, Andy, and know that your comments did not go unnoticed. With Warm Regards, Debbie & Fred Schwartz
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Colorado Springs
5

Great stay in Santa Fe

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend in Santa Fe. We were originally booked at a property on Air BNB. At 7pm the night before we were departing we received notification that the host house cancelled our booking. Needless to say at the last minute this was a very big deal. There was absolutely nothing decent available. Got on VRBO and found this property owned by Fred and Debbie. Although it wasn't an instant book I put a request in hoping to hear back quickly. Within the hour I received confirmation that we were confirmed. I very much appreciated their quick response. This property looked pretty much as pictured. It is located a 10-12 minute walk from both the Plaza and Canyon Rd and all that those locations have to offer. It is very cozy and comfy in the Southwest style, which is super appropriate. The kitchen is a bit small, but was absolutely no problem for us as a party of 2. For a small kitchen it is very well stocked. The couch in the living room is very comfortable for sitting and relaxing and was happy with the mattress in the bedroom. I'm giving the property 5 stars, as I would go back and we are very happy with it, but I wanted to give you a few tips. There is a nice little wood burning stove in LR. If you are driving in you might want to consider bringing some wood with you. It is pretty small, so it can't be long logs. This unit is located on a fairly busy street. There is some street noise. Walls and windows are good, but you can hear some traffic noise, so if you are sensitive to that just putting it out there. This is also an upstairs unit that is accessed by a narrow spiral staircase. The step sizes are not evenly spaced so please use caution when going up and down. We were there in fall so not an issue. Winter might be slippery if there is snow or ice. Maybe the unit clears stairs, not sure about that. Last tip... in the BR there are 4 windows located high on the wall. There are no window covering so it is super bright in the morning. Fortunately my husband had some sleep blinders that I could use, as I like to sleep in, so you may want to bring some with you. If anyone will be sleeping in the LR there are some nice woven blinds, but again a lot of light gets through, so you will have the same issue. Just a few tips to make your stay perfect. Enjoy.

  • Review Submitted: 11/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Want to stay here again

  • 5 of 5

Up winding stairs, off a busy street, this comfortable perch is beautifully situated. Grocer 2 blocks down, liquor store 2 block up, the Plaza 5-6 blocks straight down, the free shuttle to Museum Hill & Canyon Rd. 3 blocks away. I spent over a month here by myself enjoying the Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival and all the wonderful arts & crafts without once needing a car. The apartment itself was the ideal home base: delicious bed, handy, workable kitchen, good bathroom, comfortable couch, and Wifi that never let you down. After 7 years of travel to Santa Fe, this is the first place I would consider renting again. Thank you, Debbie and Freddie. Hope we can do this again.

  • Review Submitted: 01/09/2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

UNFORTUNATE CHOICE mainly due to POOR MAINTENANCE and NEGLECT.

  • 1 of 5

1. I smelled GAS upon arrival - indeed repairman told me it was "bubbling" out the back of the gas stove! Was fixed - even though I slept there like that the first night.

2. Wet towels in washing machine & I tried to dry them - dryer not working?!! Apparently, owner tried to fix day before my arrival - but NEGLECTED to leave me a message about the problem! Was fixed.

3. Listing said it had AIR CONDITIONING - Note I arrived June 15 for 30 days - there was NO A/C anywhere. Complained about that & a VERY SMALL A/C Unit arrived and owner installed in Bedroom window. At least this made sleep somewhat possible. However, the Living/Dining area was in the 90's +. Excuse for NO 'a/c' was he took it out for the Winter?! This was JUNE!

4. A girlfriend came to stay for 3 days & she would use the SOFABED to sleep. Because it was so light and had no weight it took 2 of us to OPEN. In the morning it was IMPOSSIBLE to close and put back into the Sofa format in order for us to sit and watch TV in the evening. We saw it was damaged and the fabric torn. Reported to the owner who offered to come over each morning with a crowbar/wrench or the like, to get bed back. He insisted we were not to try ourselves.

5. Many days had spiders in bathtub. Needs a pest control visit.

6. A few of the posted pictures are not current. Missing furniture in bedroom & the existing chest of 3 drawers was stuffed full with Winter bedcovers! Asked owner to remove as I was there for 30 days and needed to put clothes away. All the plants are either MISSING or DEAD. The OUTSIDE area was filthy, full of cobwebs & trapped leaves and dirt. Took pictures.

7. I still smelled something inside and request a CARBON MONOXIDE detector which was promptly delivered.

8. One of the worst & most dangerous complaints (right up there with the gas leak) was the outside "SPIRAL STAIRCASE" - different height steps.

When finally downstairs outside you could smell gas again - NOTE this was not necessarily from this particular unit.

On a positive note the cleaning Maid did a good job.

  • Review Submitted: 26/07/2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
West Olive
4

Perfect location for exploring Santa Fe!

  • 4 of 5

This cozy casita became our home-away-from-home for a month, and we loved it! We called it our little hobbit house. It was clean, very comfortable, and well-stocked. We could walk everywhere--the Plaza, Canyon Road, the Railyard and market, and even Museum Hill. We enjoyed the fireplace on cold nights and the little outside deck for noon lunches. The market, just a block away, was perfect for all of our grocery needs--excellent selection, as well as deli lunches. We will definitely return on another trip to the area.

  • Review Submitted: 04/04/2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Santa Fe
Nearest Golf
7.9 Miles
Santa Fe Country Club
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Interstate Hwy - 25
Nearest Ski
16 Miles
Ski Santa Fe
Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Contact Owner

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee AU$127.67

Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Years, Indian Market, Balloon Fest $170/night Plus tax and cleaning fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if cancelled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Available
Unavailable