Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Family Friendly Private View Home Near Moran State Park

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Our 3 bedroom, 2 1/2 bath, house (described by realtors when we bought it as 'Hilltop Haven') is located on the largest, hilliest, and we think the most beautiful of the San Juan Islands, Orcas Island. It is located at an elevation of 500 feet on the western side of Rosario Hill, has great westerly water and island views, and a perfect deck to watch spectacular sunsets from. The house is located on 4 acres in a private, quiet and wooded neighborhood. While neighbors are close by, you do not see other houses from our home, but you are likely to see plenty of wildlife!

We are located just 10 minutes drive from the quaint town of Eastsound where you will find all the amenities you will need including groceries, shopping, art galleries, restaurants, cafes, library, bank, skate park, tennis, playgrounds airport, etc. We are just a 2 minute drive (or 10 min walk) from Moran State Park, the 3rd largest state park in Washington, where you will find miles of hiking, boating, swimming, fishing and camping, as well as Mt. Constitution, from where you will find unbeatable views of the surrounding islands.

The home is located just a 20 minute drive from the ferry landing, so you can easily hop on an inter-island ferry and explore the other islands to your hearts content. Use our home as a base to explore all the fun the islands bring - sailing, kayaking, whale watching, visiting farms, exploring other towns, etc.

Our home was built in 1992 and has a Pacific Northwest style. Downstairs you will find an open floor format with a well equipped kitchen, dining room that seats 8 adults, living room with fireplace and TV, sunroom with seating, library with plenty of books and music as well as toys and games for the kids, and a half bath. Upstairs you will find a master bedroom with full bath and walk in closet, two additional bedrooms, and a second full bath and laundry room. The house sleeps a maximum of 8 adults and 1 toddler. Two of the bedrooms have queen beds, one has a double bed and a toddler bed and there are two twin fold out beds in the downstairs library.

We have wireless internet, music throughout the home, telvision with DVD that has access to streaming from the internet if you bring your laptop, but no cable.

Outside the home has 3 decks, one of which is large and has spectacular sunsets looking over East Sound, Turtleback mountain and the Canadian Gulf Islands. A second deck is off the kitchen and has an outdoor grill. The third deck is off the master bedroom. There is plenty of room for the kids to play outside and we have swings, hammock, and even a little tipi for the kids to play in.

More Details

Owner
Jan Neutz
Member since: 2012
Speaks english
Response time
Within a few hours
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
1 September, 2018

About Jan Neutz

My name is Jan and I have two wonderful little girls, Hana (16) and Camille (13). We live in Seattle and travel to our home on Orcas Island as much as possible, all year long. It is a very special place to us. We love to hike, boat and swim on Orcas Island, we love our town, and we love to explore all that the islands have to offer. We have a dog named Max who loves the island too!

Jan Neutz purchased this house in 1999

Why Jan Neutz chose Eastsound

When I first came to visit the San Juan islands in the early 1990's, I was struck by the beauty of Orcas Island and just kept coming back. I knew that eventually I wanted to own a piece of this island and in 1999 that dream came true when our family purchased this wonderful home. We love the combination of recreational activities that we can do here - on the ocean as well as at the Moran State Park and we enjoy all that the picturesque town of Eastsound brings - all the amenities as well as well a strong sense of community. We also love exploring the other San Juan islands when we get the chance.

What makes this house unique

When we saw this home in 1999 we instantly fell in love with it.

The Pacific NW open design, custom architecture, and all the wood in the house felt very warm and unique. We loved the large deck and amazing westerly sunset views of Turtleback Mountain and the Islands. We loved the easy floor plan. We loved the private, quiet feeling of the neighborhood and that there would be a place for kids to play. We loved the location - both the proximity to the park and all the recreational activities that would bring for us, and the short drive to town.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a wonderful 3-generation vacation in this terrific house. It is beautiful and very well appointed, with lots of features to comfort body and spirit. There are great views all around, and it feels like the owner has been thoughtful about what could be desired in a vacation rental. Further, there are personal touches all over that make the environment human and homey. Ella (3) liked the"hello Kitty" dishes, Toby (6) loved the tipi, we all loved the well supplied kitchen (yes, there was even an oyster knife), and the proximity to the state park and lake.
Aug 2012
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Eastsound

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Please take your shoes off in the house.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2.5
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (2) Two queen beds in upstairs bedrooms., Double Beds (1) One double bed in upstairs bedroom, Child Beds (1) One toddler bed in the room with the double bed.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • video player
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • jacuzzi ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(26 traveller reviews)

84% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
Family Friendly Private View Home Near Moran State Park
average rating of 4.6153846 based on 27 reviews
5

Truly a haven in the forest & a perfect location near the state park!

  • 5 of 5

Lovely airy home with great views from every room! The 5 of us we're most comfortable and we were delighted with the spacious well equipped kitchen! Although we didn't have children with us, the playroom/library was full of toys and games & we did avail ourselves of the puzzles and many CD's for the sound system.

The cozy sunroom was a sweet place for quietly being immersed in nature as we observed the small island deer!

All in all a perfect Island experience!

  • Review Submitted: 10/06/2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Not that clean. The owner was irresponsible.

  • 1 of 5

The owner forgot to send us the direction and code to have access the door key to get in and we were behind the door for two hours. We were lucky that finally could find the owners's phone number by chance somewhere around the house to contact her to get the code. The house is kind of old and not as clean as it should be and the spider webs could be seen on the wall corners inside the house. Most of the cookware were rusted and some of the herbs were expired. The cleaning lady showed up one day earlier and we had to let her go back, these are so unprofessional. We cleaned the house as it was requested in the checklist at the last day and finally owner charged us $200 claiming that we did not clean the house as it is supposed to be done. And there was also claimed that we damaged the wall and torn the rug, torn the rug??? with what?? maybe with knife and scissor ?? we did not do those; those were really unfair, we did all the necessary cleanups and took care of the house. This owner needs to be more professional in this business to keep their customers. Some of my friend are coming from Europe and asked me about the place, I never recommended this place to them and asked them to look for somewhere else in the island.

  • Review Submitted: 09/09/2018
  • Date of Stay: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest is just writing this kind of review because he is so angry that we took $200 of the damage deposit. We would never do this unless it is totally warranted! This guest totally trashed our house. We have been renting this house for years with the same cleaner and she told me she has never seen a house that was so dirty and trashed before. This guest reserved for 6 adults yet there were 12 people who signed the guest list, plus all the kids they brought. There were 3 garbage bags of dirty diapers left behind. There were melted/stepped on crayolas left all over the house, there was damage to a wall (a large gouge that needs to be repaired), the totally decimated a rag rug we had in the kids play room, they left un-flushed poop in the toilets, dirty dishes in the kitchen, moved furniture around the house and did not return it, ring marks on the coffee table where we had coasters, did not follow the check out rules even though they checked of the list, etc. etc. My cleaner had to spend many additional hours cleaning this house. I recommend never renting to this guest unless you want a big problem on your hands. Please check our other reviews to get the real story.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We had such a wonderful time at this house!

  • 5 of 5

The proximity to Moran State Park and Eastsound was awesome. We loved how quiet it was at the house and the sunsets can’t be beat.

  • Review Submitted: 29/08/2018
  • Date of Stay: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfortable, well-appointed rental - great location with amazing views!

  • 5 of 5

Hilltop Haven was spacious, well-stocked and comfortable. The host was accessible and friendly. The woodsy location near Moran State Park was outstanding, and the views from the rooms and particularly the deck were fabulous. We recommend this rental.

  • Review Submitted: 19/07/2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Gracious accommodations.

  • 5 of 5

The house is beautiful and centrally located. It's spacious, holding 7 of us easily, including a two year old who was delighted with the books and toys. There are games and activities for all ages. It's a really inviting space in which to stay during good weather or bad. The siting of the house offers distant water views and lovely territorial views . I would definitely consider renting it again.

  • Review Submitted: 20/09/2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Amazing location and space. Perfect for families.

  • 5 of 5

I could not recommend this property more. It is in a perfect location for adventures in Moran and Olga -- and also super convenient to Eastsound for restaurants and amenities. The layout of the house is outstanding -- with a fantastic oversized view deck and ample common space downstairs and three bedrooms up. We loved being in the woods and didn't miss a single sunset from the deck during our stay. Thank you for sharing your wonderful home.

  • Review Submitted: 29/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Our home is located about 10 minutes drive from the quaint town of Eastsound, where you will find shopping, art galleries, restaurants, cafes, cinema, Saturday open market, library, skate park, tennis, playground, airport, etc. Everything a small destination town brings. Our home is on the perimeter of the 5,252 acre Moran State Park, the 3rd largest park in Washington State. Here you will find 30 miles of beautiful hiking trails, 5 lakes for swimming, boating and fishing, camping, and the 2409 ft. Mount Constitution, from where the panoramic views of the surrounding islands are unbeatable. You can walk from our home to the park in 10 mins. or drive in just a couple of minutes. Boat (kayak, sailing, motor) and bike rentals can be found both at the lake and in town. The house is located just 20 minutes from the ferry terminal where you can board and inter-island ferry to explore the other San Juan Islands - sailing, kayaking, whale watching, visiting farms and more, all at your doorstep!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Contact Owner

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee AU$241.1
Refundable Damage Deposit AU$688.85

Rates are subject to change unless comfirmed.
Base rate is for maximum of 6, each additional person is $25/night.
Full refund if cancellation is within 60 days of stay, otherwise no refund.
Service Fee of 2.9% is charged when using credit card.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if cancelled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable

Other Holiday Properties