Cozy Private Apartment close to many walkable restaurants/bars and live music.
About Marilyn Courchesne
I am a native San Antonian and have lived here most of my life but have lived in NYC, Boston, Colorado, Austin, and Houston, Tx. I'm a gypsy at heart but have settled in San Antonio and living in the same house I grew up in as a child. I enjoy traveling whenever I have the chance and have traveled to Thailand, Mexico, India, and Costa Rica. Presently I own my own Spa in my neighborhood and do massage and facials. Also, of course I have my Home Away business as well.
Marilyn Courchesne purchased this Apartment in 2001
Why Marilyn Courchesne chose Tobin Hill
I inherited my home from my parents and happens to be the house I grew up as a child since I was 5 years old. I love my neighborhood , its restaurants, great access to downtown and highways, museums and parks. Its the type of neighborhood that people actually communicate early Sunday mornings outside over a cup of coffee and catch up with what is going on in the community and or local events. To me it has the feeling of a real neighborhood! In my spare time I enjoy walking at Brackenridge park and attending local concerts and events in my area.
What makes this Apartment unique
My home is unique in the that no two homes on my street are alike. Homes were built in the 1920's and has the charm of a vibrant neighborhood.
100% refund if cancelled at least 30 days before arrival date. 50% refund if cancelled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Everything about this property was great!
Thank you Brooke for your nice review. You are welcome back anytime.
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure meeting you.
Not what expected
I think that first and foremost the listing should be clear that this is a room at the back of a house that the owner lives in. It was very clean inside, but absolutely no amenities. We were not able to check in early, which was disappointing because other HomeAway owners have been accommodating. But, the keys came with rules and I am sure that is why we had to wait. My husband and I left 2 days early and went to a hotel because we like to sit outside and relax. The owner has plenty of room to put a little table and a couple of chairs out in the yard, maybe a string of lights. Also, there is a window air conditioner cooling the whole place that she wanted us to turn up when we left each day. I am not a fan of coming back after a day spent in the heat to have to wait to cool off. We did love the neighborhood and enjoyed to be able to walk to coffee, dinner and even for a drink. It was a great price and many people would probably be happy with the room if amenities are not what they are after.
I am sorry to hear you were not pleased with the property regarding the 500 ft apartment attached to my home. It’s considered a apartment not a room since has a private entrance and own bathroom.
As far as “absolutely no amenities” this is inaccurate. My amenities include free WiFi, cable, Netflix, Alexia, iron and ironing board, choice of soft or firm pillows, free coffee, tea, alkaline water, microwave, refrigerator, hot plate, cutlery, plates and coffee mugs. Shampoo, conditioner, body wash etc.
I do my best to provide my guests with basic amenities so I suppose you might be referring to no outdoor table and chairs. I’m really not sure. I do appreciate your feedback on this and my listing does not state that I have this on my amenities list. I may consider your suggestion in the future.
On the early check in time I could not provide you with an early check in time due to my same day guest left a little late. I still had to have apartment cleaned before your 4:00 pm check in time. On the HomeAway thread you said you would tool around town and it seemed you were okay with your regular check in time. I did offer if the apartment was ready before your regular check in I would certainly have you check in earlier.
It surprised me that you left 2 days early to go to a hotel since you had not notified me of any problem. All you said was you left early. I would have appreciated some notification so I would have tried to make things right regarding a partial refund.
Sometimes I find it’s just not a match and truly am sorry if I have caused you any inconvenience. Thank you, Marilyn
Very pleasant property in a lovely neighbourhood.
Marilyn met us with a warm welcome and gave us useful information about what was in the area and good places to eat. There was a big pile of leaflets and menus to help you choose. The rooms were very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Marilyn had thought of all the little things to make our stay very enjoyable. It was home from home for us which meant we could come back from a day out and relax and enjoy Marilyns' wonderful accommodation.
Thank you Jo and Mike for staying with me. It was a pleasure meeting you two and hope you enjoyed San Antonio. Please come back anytime.
Mrs. Marilyn and her property rock! The location was beautiful and there was so much convenience. Mrs. Marilyn really thought of everything to make your visit the best possible. Thanks again hope to come back soon!
Thank you for the lovely review. Please come back anytime.
Great space, great location
We loved staying here. Super close to a lot of good stuff. Cheap uber rides wherever we wanted to go. We rented a car but didn't need it!
Thank you for the nice review and you are welcome back anytime.