Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Cozy Cabin in the Woods of NW Montana, Peaceful & Relaxing!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

The perfect cabin for a quiet getaway! Gaze at the stars under a clear Big Sky night! Enjoy wildlife right outside your front door and wake up in the morning to a peaceful mountain view. This cabin is located on our 32 acre property. It backs to logging land with a path that leads to it just off the cabin. You have access to miles of trails for mountain biking, hiking, cross country skiing and snowshoeing.

Under construction is our Star Gazing area to be completed Spring 2018. This will allow you to view the Big Sky that Montana is known for with out the city lights to hinder the night sky. You will not believe the brilliance of the stars and planets.

While the cabin is located on our property, rest assured that you will have complete privacy to enjoy the beauty that surrounds us. There is a queen size bed on the main floor, a queen bed in the loft which is accessed by a ladder and a full size futon on the main floor.

We are located within 40 minutes of Glacier National Park, 45 min from Whitefish, Big Mountain, Bigfork, the Jewel Basin or Flathead Lake and we have countless trails within walking distance or a short drive. The options are endless for what you can do from this location. This is also a perfect base for hunting big game in Montana ( you must obtain your own license). There is fishing in Smith Lake which is 10 min away, or you can drive to Flathead Lake and take a day trip out on one of the many charter boats. White water rafting is another activity that is fantastic on the Flathead River!

We can help you plan any of the activities that you would like to enjoy. Please let us know what you're looking for and we're happy to help make your stay more enjoyable.

HORSE BOARDING is available through our neighbor less than 1 mile away

More Details

Owner
Doug or Mimi O'Neill
Member since: 2012
Speaks english
Response time
Within an hour
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
16 July, 2018

About Doug or Mimi O'Neill

We are Mimi and Doug O'Neill recent residents to Montana from Maine. Mimi is originally from Charleston, SC and Doug is from Evanston, Illinois. We met in Charleston 24 years ago and have been married for 14 years and both have children from previous marriages. Our immediate family consists of 2 Golden Retrievers Bella and Bear . Prior to moving here we visited Montana many times and chose the Flathead Valley as our home. We welcome you to visit our home and stay in our cabin and enjoy the serenity and beauty of Montana. Feel free to hike and enjoy our 32 acres and the surrounding forest that encompasses our property.

Doug or Mimi O'Neill purchased this cabin in 2012

Why Doug or Mimi O'Neill chose Kila

As you enjoy your morning coffee on the cabin deck or a cold beverage at night rest assured the deer will be abundant along with the solitude that we have to offer. There will be no highway noise and no lights to hinder your view of the sky at night (Big Sky Montana) just the sounds of wildlife near you.

What makes this cabin unique

We are 15 to 20 minutes to Kalispell and 40 minutes to Glacier National Park. Flathead Lake and Big Fork are about 25 minutes away with other lakes nearby to enjoy-either fishing, boating or swimming.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Doug and Mimi what a beautiful place you have. Thanks for allowing us to stay for a few days. MIMI THE BREAKFAST WAS DELICIOUS. It was truly delightful to spend my 40th birthday here.



TAKEN VERBATUM FROM GUEST BOOK
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 16

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin rental in Kila

Property Type:
  • cabin
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bathroom w/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (2) There is a queen bed on the main floor and a queen bed in the loft which is accessible by a ladder, in addition there is a full size futon on the main floor, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • ski
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Homemade full breakfast is provided as an option to include homemade pastries, seasonal fruit, homemade butter, jams and hot breakfast casserole--different menu everyday Adult $12.50 children under 10 $10.00 Lunches available: Bag lunch, Romantic picnic for 2, Hiking Power Lunch. 24 Hours Notice required. Pricing available.orange juice is included with breakfast;freshly squeezed OJ is an additional $3.00 per person!

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(25 traveller reviews)

88% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Cozy Cabin in the Woods of NW Montana, Peaceful & Relaxing!
average rating of 4.76 based on 41 reviews
5

Wow what a treat!!!!

  • 5 of 5

This was an incredible getaway on our honeymoon! We can’t wait to go back. Mimi is a marvelous cook and both her and Doug were awesome hosts, they are very friendly and kind and were able to offer information about the surrounding area and Glacier National Park. We enjoyed our stay very much, the cabin was clean and spacious and the porch was a great place to sit in the mornings and just enjoy relaxing! We would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a fun and relaxing retreat and we look forward to returning!

  • Review Submitted: 11/06/2018
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the fabulous review..please come back and stay with us again..remember the mountains are calling Doug and Mimi
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful property, wonderful hosts

  • 5 of 5

Great, quiet cabin and wonderful, hospitable hosts. It was amazing to be this close to town (~20 minutes) and feel like we were way out in the wilderness. Doug & Mimi couldn't have been nicer. You should book your stay now!

  • Review Submitted: 03/07/2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We want to thank y'all as well because you were the greatest guests! We truly enjoyed meeting y'all and your two adorable girls! You are welcome to come back anytime and we really hope you do!!! We wish that all of our gusers were just like t'all!! Thanks again...hope to see you again someday! Mimi and Doug
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Love the quietness of it all

  • 5 of 5

Super cute and very very clean little cabin in the woods. Owners where very nice and really enjoyed the amazing weekend. Doug and Mimi were super helpful on finding places to explore. I would definitely recommend this cute cabin in the woods.

  • Review Submitted: 28/05/2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much..please come back and visit anytime Mimi and Doug
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxing, serene and off the beaten path.

  • 5 of 5

The cabin is very cozy and delightful. If you are searching for solitude this is the place. Deer every day on the property during our stay. The owners Doug and Mimi were great hosts and Mimis' breakfasts were delicious. The only thing that I didn't care for was not being able to park at the cabin. Parking was at their home which isn't that far but at times was inconvenient.

  • Review Submitted: 11/09/2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for the kind words. Putting in a road to the cabin would not be cost effective and also would take away the ambiance of the cabin experience. I'm glad you had the chance to come to Montana and stay with us Doug and Mimi
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Not worth dealing with rude owner...

  • 2 of 5

Initially the owners were pleasant to deal with and agreed to let me stay only 1 night even though home away was setup to pay for 2 nights at a time. They agreed they would refund me the 1 night lodging fee. I had to cancel last minute so I knew I would be paying for the 1 night. I requested that the exorbitant cleaning fee be at least partially refunded since I didn't even enter the premises. The owner response was extremely rude and they tacked on an additional fee for a breakfast I didn't eat. I'm lucky I got any money back from these people. Their cabin may be nice, but I would recommend to stay away because of how they treat their customers. I will say that Doug seemed reasonable, but Mimi was someone I would never want to deal with again.

  • Review Submitted: 05/09/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: it is unfortunate that i have to write this rebuttal regarding Nathan...our policy is a 2 night minimum stay and he requested us to waive that policy and stay only 1 night.Because he was in the service , i asked my husband if we could allow this and we both agreed. i offered to reimburse him for the 1 night stay in cash for his convenience and he agreed. The night of his arrival he called and cancelled at 7:30 and inquired about his refund...i informed him i had the cash. he was to come by the next day to pick it up...he didnt! He had ordered breakfast for 2 and the food was bought and prepared and only needed to be baked in morning. throughout our entire correspondence, he asked for various charges to be waived...cleaning fee, breakfast charges, etc. I informed him that it was not our policy to waive charges and that the cleaning fee was part of the rental and it didnt matter how many days you stayed.Our cleaning fee is also NOT exorbitant...it is the lowest in our area! Also, it is not LUCK that gave him back his refund, it was that i had given him "my word" and I followed through unlike him! I bent over backwards from the beginning to allow him and his family to stay with us,overriding our 2 night policy. It is unfortunate with people like Nathan, I dont believe anything i did would have made him happy!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Washington, DC
5

Wonderful stay at this adorable cabin!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at Mimi's adorable cabin on her property. While it is small and cozy, it has everything you need for your stay. The kitchen was well-equipped with a toaster oven, microwave, full size refrigerator, and all the cooking utensils you would need. We got by without a stove/oven and were able to use the grill for some of our meals. The beds were very comfortable and we were pleasantly surprised to find an additional air mattress that comfortably slept two people at the house in addition to the futon that was listed. While we didn't get a chance to partake in all of the additional amenities that Mimi provides, we had a great time at her home. She was extremely hospitable and kind to our group even in the midst of a hectic time for her family. We would definitely stay here again if we're back in Montana!

  • Review Submitted: 30/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Glacier International Airport
Nearest Golf
14 Miles
Kalispell
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
Kila Pub
Nearest Ski
25 Miles
Whitefish
Nearest Beach
15 Miles
Big Fork

We are 14 miles from Kalispell in a quiet secluded area in the mountains. Wildlife to include deer, elk, etc. Other activities are 14 miles away in Kalispell to include dining, shopping and Glacier National Park 40 minutes away.Trails on the property will invite you to hike and see nature at her best. Farmers market, rodeo, craft and Christmas shows are available.

You can explore during the day and come back to serenity and wildlife viewing. A fire pit is available to cook or just sit and enjoy.

HORSE BOARDING is available through our neighbor less than 1 mile away

Photos

Rates & Availability

Contact Owner

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee AU$107.82
Additional Guest Fee AU$13.48 per person per night

We accept Visa, Master Charge, Discover cash and checks(travelers and personal)
Please note there is a $10 additional charge per individual per night over 4 people. There will be a $80.00 cleaning fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if cancelled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable