Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

3000 sq ft home - Picacho Hills Country Club

Bedrooms 3
Space 3,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

3 bdrms* on 1/2 desert landscaped acre in Country Club community

This is a vacation rental. It does double duty as my primary residence. I occupy the adjoining, separate, casita, VRBO Listing #1191114, for the duration of Guest's occupancy. Certain personal items remain in closets and drawers.

You enter this home and are greeted by huge fossils from Morocco and a sculpture of a petite Japanese lady giving you an 'Ohaio'(Good day) greeting. You turn to the right into the Great Room and adjacent Dining Room, with their own unique sculptures and paintings. Huge Night Blooming Cereus cactus and tropical ginger shade the floor to ceiling from the desert sun. Continue your journey into the kitchen, equipped for someone who LIKES to cook (OR NOT). The surrounding windows look out onto your gigantic patio with its views of the grounds and neighborhood. You complete your primary circular journey by entering the gigantic living room with its soaring ceilings and stone fireplace. You can imagine yourself holding forth on the issues of the day with a glass of wine while supper is being prepared. A roaring fire is adding warmth to the convivial glow.

And the journey is only half over. Pass through the living room to right. You will see the great library, stocked with books, records and CD's spanning a collection life of nearly 50 years.

The bedrooms and computer room are just down the hall...

The laundry room is just to the left. The computer room is straight ahead. It is equipped with a Dell desktop computer with 2GB of RAM and scads of memory. It also has a wireless router, a scanner, and a color laser printer if you simply cannot leave business behind. Movies? You ask? Netflix is available (at no charge) for instant online viewing. And to continue the motif you noted upon entry to the house, the computer room desk is a 6 foot long black marble table filled with fossils The table originated in Morocco. The guest bedroom is just to the right with its own bath. And the Master Bedroom? Goodness! It is fully 28' X 21' with its own entrance to the patio. The bath? Ah. The Master Bath! A fully glassed and tiled shower, 3' X 9', handicapped accessible, with the adjoining lav area including his and hers basin areas.

This is truly a vacation home you will talk about for years to come.

*The 3rd bedroom is used as an office. Please specify if you need sleeping accommodations for the 3rd bedroom. But your third bed is not forgotten. We erect a queen bed with a 10' memory foam mattress in the library. Same privacy, just 12 additional feet to the bathroom. You can peruse my Calvin cartoon book collection and laugh yourself to sleep, or you can go through the really incredible collection of 'coffee table' books ccovering logging in the late 19th and early 20th century to 500 Million Years of Art in glorious sea shells.

More Details

Donald Kotowski
Member since: 2012
Speaks english
Response time
Within an hour
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
16 July, 2018

About Donald Kotowski

I grew up in Pennsylvania and was a great fan of Western movies. I knew I had to live in the Southwest one day. My wife and I purchased this home in 2011. We were drawn to it because it in the Southwest, has seclusion, is in a country club community and yet is close to town and the University I attended 55 years ago.

Donald Kotowski purchased this house in 2011

Why Donald Kotowski chose Picacho Hills

As previously noted, I love the Southwest, most specifically the desert. Additionally, the Incredible Organ Mountains call out to me daily to hike with my three Old English Sheep Dog a Golden doodle and a Munsterlander/English Setter mix.

What makes this house unique

Seclusion, room for me and for my 'boys' (dogs) on one half acre with mature desert landscaping, access to the desert and wonderful hiking, yet close to the city, shopping, and health care facilities.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Picacho Hills, New Mexico

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • The Master Bath is especially suited to those folks with disabilities.It is glass enclosed without a door. This arrangement allows easy wheelchair access. There is a bench at one end to allow the disabled person to sit down.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 large double bed , This bedroom is set up in the library.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 extra lg. double bed , Master suite
  • King size beds (2) Master bedroom has an 18th century burl walnut bedstead with a memory foam mattress to comfortably snooze the night away, or in which to nap after that hard game of golf in the afternoon at the famed Picacho Hills Country Club golf course. (Membership or participating membership required.) The 2nd bedroom has a recent vintage, queen bed
  • Books ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Television
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • churches
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rock climbing
Your membership in a country club elsewhere will be honored here at Picacho Hills. I am not a golfer, but I am told that the golf course at Picacho Hills Country Club has few peers. Maid service is provided once each week so that you may enjoy your stay here without the fuss of caring for 'yet another house.'


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(34 traveller reviews)

61% Complete
11% Complete
11% Complete
2% Complete
11% Complete
3000 sq ft home - Picacho Hills Country Club
average rating of 4.0882354 based on 34 reviews

Great place to stay if on vacation

  • 5 of 5

Loved this place .was very friendly. We enjoyed every bit of our stay.

  • Review Submitted: 14/06/2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Waldoboro, ME

Nice Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5

The property is located in a quiet neighborhood. It was clean and very well decorated. We loved the patio for having drinks, conversation and dining. The internet was good. TV was local antenna and ROKU.

  • Review Submitted: 28/03/2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful Location

  • 3 of 5

Thank you for sharing your very unique home with us. We had a most memorable vacation.

We totally love the Las Cruces area.

  • Review Submitted: 22/03/2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

My wife loved the Kitchen and all the great dishes that where in the home.

  • 5 of 5

Stay was enjoyable and Donald the homeowner was very pleasant to deal with. Was very helpful in telling us about the area and things to do. We would stay there again next time we visit Las Cruces.

  • Review Submitted: 26/02/2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

We feel that this property was not accurately described in the listing on VRBO. We rented this it for 2 months–January 1 - February 28, 2018. We only made it through 2 nights for a number of reasons: 1.) Lack of Privacy–we learned after our arrival that we would be sharing the property with the owner, his son and his 3 dogs who were living in the converted attached garage. We would also be sharing the laundry room which meant that we had no lock-out privacy from the owner. The owner could and did enter the house on both days we were in residence – this is unacceptable. The backyard was also a shared space. When we opened the door to let our dogs in or out, one or more of the owners dogs would come into the house. (Since our complaint, the owner has amended his property description to indicate that he is living in the converted garage.) 2.) Lack of Cleanliness–the house is in need of deep cleaning. The walls are stained and dirty, the carpet in the bedrooms, bathrooms and hall are wrinkled and in need of cleaning/replacing. The appliances are very old and as are the sinks in the kitchen and bathrooms. There is dust that hasn’t been touched in quite a while on many of the owner’s collectibles and other items throughout the house. 3.) Lack of storage space–we expected to have some storage space in the kitchen/bathrooms but the kitchen/bathroom cabinets and drawers were full of their personal things. 4.) Lack of comfortable or clean seating–There were 3 dirty/smelly recliners in the home–1 in the master bedroom, 1 in great room and 1 in the entryway. The arms and upholstery on each is soiled. In the great room there is an old settee set but no real seating for 2-4 adults. The TV is in the entryway (it was not working) the only seating available to use while watching TV is one of the dirty recliners mentioned earlier. 5.) Secured backyard – the owner assured us that our 2 Labrador Retrievers would be safe in the backyard. But the backyard opens into the front yard and when the front yard gate is opened to drive in or out, the dogs can easily walk out into the street in front of the house. Overall, we were very disappointed in this property as well as seriously inconvenienced. We had been planning on this stay since we rented the property online last August – now we have ended up NOT having a seasonal rental to stay in for the winter.

  • Review Submitted: 23/01/2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hell hath no fury like a guest who discovers that words have meaning: "No refunds" That statement is prominently stated in the VRBO listing and on the reservation invoice. Guest vacated #434187 two days after arrival without notification to any person. Guest then asked for a refund by email. Owner refused the refund request and referred her to the notification on the description on the VRBO listing and on her payment receipt: "No refunds." She was distressed. She vowed retribution. Her letters to VRBO (3) and this review are, I am confident, the opening salvo in her effort Each of her letters list different complaints. Owner does not know the real reason guest vacated. The following are the facts as known to him: Guest reserved January and February 2018 in August 2017. The house was removed from the active rental list and was removed from the availability roster. No other reservation request could be entertained by owner from August, 2017. Guest was scheduled to arrive Jan 1. Guest did not arrive until Jan 6. Guest met the owner upon aarrival and was given an orientation tour. Owner then removed himself to the adjoining casita, VRBO Listing #1191114. Please refer to photos of Listing #1191114. Guests never talked to or interacted with owner in any way after that meeting. Owner received an email Jan 8, two days later, that guest had vacated. She requested a refund. Guest contacted VRBO and made 15 negative assertions, 8 of which, upon examination of the listing information and photographs on the listing, are provably false. If 8 of the 15 assertions are false, the remaining 7 are suspect. I do not know why guest chose to vacate. I do know the reasons stated in her review cannot be true. The 20+ photographs on the VRBO listing and the information provided about Listing #434187 are definitive. They cannot be false. There is not and never has been a "garage" on the property. There has been and is a casita on the property. Please see VRBO Listing 1191114. It is used by the owner when #434187 is rented. The 1/2 acre property is surrounded by a rock wall. The height varies between four and six feet. Entry and egress is through a movable, 24" gate. The gate is always closed except when any person needs to enter or exit. Conclusion: Guest vacated and expected a refund. The refund was refused. Her negative, demonstrably false review is her retribution.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wish we had known...

  • 1 of 5

This was our first experience with VRBO, and unfortunately it was not the best. The owner is a very nice gentleman, however, the house was not what we expected. We rented the property, not only for a place to stay during our son's graduation, but also as a place to host the graduation reception. We expected to arrive to a clean environment, and even though the owner insisted that he spent hours cleaning it before we arrived, we found the property to be less than clean. We had to wash the sheets, which had dirt on them, and clean the bathrooms and the kitchen for it to be sanitary enough for us to stay there and host an event. The amount of money that we paid for the property should have been sufficient enough for the owner to pay for cleaning before our arrival. The time spent bringing the property up to par took away from our family time and added extra stress and cost to our weekend. We will not be returning.

  • Review Submitted: 11/12/2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The first thing that is done by the owner after a guest exits is to strip the beds and launder ALL the linens. Without exception. The owner does not sleep in a bed. He sleeps in a chair due to health issues. The beds could not have been unclean. They were unused. Ditto the bathrooms. Additionally, the owner typically resides in the adjoining casita, so the house is frequently unoccupied by him between guest arrivals and departures. I was astonished that Guest stripped the beds upon arrival. I am sorry the accommodation did not meet their standards. The accommodation has met the standards of my guests for the past five years as demonstrated by most of the previous reviews. "You only get one chance to make a good first impression." Sometimes you fail. In your eyes, perhaps I did, but it was not for want of trying on my part. Thank you for your comments. I wish you and your group a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. May your new graduate have great success in his journey through life.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
38 Miles
El Paso International
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Ump 88 (owned by a MLB umpire)
Nearest Ferry
1600 Miles
Tacoma, Washington
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Picacho Hills Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Ump 88, or Picacho Hills Country Club
Nearest Ski
70 Miles
Silver City
Nearest Beach
68 Miles
Elephant Butte Lake
Car: necessary

Las Cruces is located in the Chihuahua Desert and is surrounded by the incredible rocky peaks of the Organ Mountains, the San Andreas Mountains, and some of the most beautiful desert landscape in the US. The hiking possibilities are endless as are the activities for the young at heart and at least moderately fit. New Mexico State University has many activities which are community oriented throughout the year.


Rates & Availability

Contact Owner

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee AU$134.81
Property Damage Insurance AU$79.54

Owner's Cancellation Policy

No refunds for cancellations made after payment is made