Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Fall in love with The Barn and everything Northern Arizona-- AZ wine country

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,080 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Contemporary Rustic With Mountain Views; Beat the heat in pool w/ mtn view

Description and House Rules Below:

The Barn is a wonderfully contemporary rustic barn-style home. It is on a cul-de-sac, a very private 2.5 acres, and is a perfect place for golfers, balloonists, birders, bikers, hikers, tourists, and more.

Enjoy a combined rustic and urban experience in pristine air --town population 10,000. Swimming pool, garden area, firepit, circle driveway, convenience (maybe 5 minutes to local markets and shops).

Minutes from five different wineries as well as Sedona, Jerome, Dead Horse Park, Tuzigoot Ruins, Sycamore Canyon, Oak Creek, Verde River, Montezuma’s Castle, Camp Verde, The Clarkdale-Perkinsville train run, and the Cliff Castle Casino. Three hours from the Grand Canyon as well as Sky Harbor Airport.

The Barn is one mile from the charming Old Town district, but you won't have to leave the property in order to relax and watch the wildlife such as javelina, quail, coyote, roadrunners, and hear and see horses and peacocks. Swim in the pool in the warmer seasons. Sit by the firepit outside (gas grill on front patio) with veranda dining or sit by the cozy wood stove inside. All modern amenities with stainless steel appliances and butcher block counter tops.

See fantastic views of Mingus Mountain, the distant Mogollon, (and on a crystal clear day, majestic buttes and mesas are visible for miles.) Inside the double storied Barn, you’ll find a Hi Def TV hooked up to cable, free WiFi, a full kitchen and laundry, air and heat, and a wood burning stove, games, maps, brochures--everything but food!

The two bedrooms plus a loft sleeps seven comfortably-eight possible, and a blow up mattress is available for more. The master bedroom can double as family room with portable screen dividers for privacy. The bedrooms have closets and drawer space, and the loft has king bed with storage and wardrobe clothing valet.

On 2.5 view acres. Gigantic private patios both front and back. Back yard is shady and securely fenced, (so is the pool) so that kids and dogs and in-laws are safe and contained.

PLEASE READ THOROUGHLY AND PRINT THESE INSTRUCTIONS.TAKE THEM WITH YOU TO THE BARN.

Before you use the fire pit, you must check for fire restrictions: https://firerestrictions.us/az/

When using the fire pit, make sure hose is functional at pit--is connected properly to pool side house spigot. Test it, please.

Yavapai county is very serious about open fires .

Pool light--dimmer switch on back patio beside sliding glass door.

Please roll the garbage and recyclables out Tuesday night or before if leaving Sun/Mon. Taylor Waste comes way before dawn on Wednesdays. They charge extra to come back out if it isn't out there.

Guests , children and or playful dogs can get gravel, glass, cinder rocks or crayons (yes, it happened) into the pool. Those items are dangerous and will damage vacuum and pump--repairs at guests' expense.

Our key concerns are that you enjoy your stay and that our neighbors are considered respectfully regarding noise, parking, road courtesy, fire pit use and safety, etc. The baby grand is for pianists only--not children. Also, please do not rearrange furniture outside or in. If patio furniture is moved, please put it back in original positions before leaving. Do not leave lounge chairs in the sun or out overnight.

Please try to launder ALL linens and ALL towels before departure; leave folded on dining room table. There are clothes lines in back if needed. Trash and recyclables are to be rolled down to "curb" so that housekeeping does not charge additional fee.

The pool is serviced weekly but, when the wind blows, debris can appear quickly on the surface and in the strainer basket. Feel free to skim the surface when needed and to empty the basket. BUT, never remove the pool vacuum. That could damage the pump.

Important note: Just in case there should be a pipe break or water leak (that has not happened but it's a good thing to know), the main switch to turn everything off, including the well pump marked "well pump" is in the breaker box outside on right side of barn exterior wall. There is a pressure tank in the small back porch enclosure that has a valve handle to turn off water going into the house. Again, hasn't happened but good to know.

A set of starter paper supplies is provided. Towels and linens provided. Propane and small bundles of wood can be purchased at the Chevron down the street on Fir- Street. We do not keep condiments other than salt and pepper on site.

Let me know if you need anything. Thanks for taking care of the barn.

Happy and safe travels,

Mary

p.s. please don't leave any food on premises, in fridge, in cupboards. (rules, rules, rules--sorry)

More Details

Owner
Mary Crawford
Member since: 2013
Speaks english
Response time
Within an hour
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
21 July, 2018

About Mary Crawford

Local school administrator for 40 years. Have made The Barn a home away from home and love it as a member of our family. You will, too. So much to do and see!

Mary Crawford purchased this house in 1990

Why Mary Crawford chose Cottonwood

Close to everything you want to do in Arizona with a 'come home' feeling when your day is done. Great for entertaining with awesome family room and gorgeous views. Warm and comfortable bedrooms. Porch sitting and bird-watching a must. Out door fire pit great for parties.

What makes this house unique

Quiet , calm, rustic, natural . . . perfect location for Verde Valley events and attractions.

Guestbook comments from the owner

A wonderful home away from home! Great place to stay for a family vacation !

5/5 Stayed Jun 2017

Tamra M.

Beautiful property, well maintained, nice pool and good amenities and tastefully furnished. Owner is very attentive and helpful! Would highly recommend this large home for a family vacation to the southwest



Submitted Jul 02, 2017
Jul 2017
  • 1 of 9

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Cottonwood

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2080 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Max. adults: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • See rental agreement & house rules . Travelers are required to review, acknowledge, electronically sign off on all policies before they book.
  • Departure instructions are in the house rules and instruction book on kitchen island.
  • New washer and dryer on premises. HC charges $20 to do half of laundry; $40 if she's doing all linens and towels.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower , New remodel w/creatively designed fixtures. Heat lamps.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower enclosure , Gorgeous remodel downstairs. Subway tile shower.
  • Two new remodels with exquisitely designed fixtures.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double bed , Wonderful four poster and sweet privacy.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 large double bed , Smallest bedroom, but still plenty of space.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 extra lg. double bed , 1 double bed , The loft bedroom is the largest space and a delightful sleep
  • All bedrooms are upstairs. The loft bedroom is the largest space and a delightful sleep. Wake up to panoramic views or close wall to wall draperies. Other bedrooms are also spacious with large closets and shelf/drawer storage. A queen automatic inflatable air mattress is available for additional guests. A reasonable additional charge is added for number of guests over 7 due to comfortable bed space, additional cleaning crew needed by housekeeping for larger groups and potential impact on our neighbors.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • 10 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • long term rentals available
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
The owner welcomes phone calls anytime to discuss options and questions.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(51 traveller reviews)

64% Complete
27% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
Fall in love with The Barn and everything Northern Arizona-- AZ wine country
average rating of 4.529412 based on 60 reviews
5

A wonderful home away from home! Great place to stay for a family vacation !

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful property, well maintained, nice pool and good amenities and tastefully furnished. Owner is very attentive and helpful! Would highly recommend this large home for a family vacation to the southwest

  • Review Submitted: 02/07/2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much. Great guests make it a pleasure!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place for the family.

  • 5 of 5

We rented the Barn in June for a family wedding in the area. Our family live across the US so it was fun to all stay in the same home. We were six adults and one child and the home accommodated us easily. We especially liked the open living room, dining room and kitchen. The kitchen was well equipped for any meals cooked at home. One evening we invited extended family for a grill out. The well furnished front and back porch made the evening pleasant for all. I highly recommend this place for a family.

  • Review Submitted: 20/06/2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Ok

  • 3 of 5

The house was on a street with few other homes and was very quiet at night. The beds and living room furniture were very comfortable. Kitchen is remodeled and had everything we needed. The stairs up to the second floor are steep and one part doesn't have a railing. At the top of the stairs, it's difficult to hold on since the railing is flush with the wall. The evaporation cooler works great! The house needs some TLC, repairing and replacing some items.

1. The carpets need cleaning as do the windows

2. The throw rugs slip, get wrinkled and someone could trip easily

3. The kitchen and bathroom rugs are worn out and need replacing

4. The mirror needs to be hung and not just sitting against the living room wall. One upstairs needs to be hung as well.

5. The remote doesn’t work for the ceiling fan closest to the door in the living room

6. There is a chunk of wood missing from the dresser in the master bedroom. No dressers in the other bedroom nor loft.

7. It would be nice (and in all other places I’ve stayed) to have a bar of soap for each bathroom and a box

of tissues. Most other bnbs have small shampoo and conditioner bottles also.

8. It’s a pain in the neck to have to do all the laundry! Never had to do that in other home rentals.

9. The shower head in the downstairs bathroom is directed right towards the shower curtain and it was hard to not get water on the bathroom floor.

10. The sliding glass door needs to be "locked" by putting a bar into the track--we couldn't get the lock to work.

  • Review Submitted: 15/06/2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks. We're glad you liked your stay--the location, furniture, beds, kitchen, cooling. The barn is a neat, unique, rustic contemporary style and a comfortable, relaxing stay. We appreciate your comments. Certainly will address your list of notes and want future guests to know our responses to each. Stairs to the upstairs are a heavy Douglas Fir build, constructed to code and with a left and right rail clearly visible in the very first photo on the website. 1. Professional service carpet cleaning upstairs is done spring and fall. There is no carpet downstairs. House cleaner vacuums thoroughly between all visits. 2. Throw rugs are there to protect the carpet in the upstairs hallway. Some guests like the throw rugs; some don't. They should just be set aside if guests are uncomfortable with them. House-cleaners can put them back. 3.Will definitely replace kitchen and bathroom rugs at your suggestion. 4.The large downstairs mirror is deliberately placed on floor for aesthetic reasons. It's a contemporary look that we like and can be seen in the photos of the barn. An upstairs vanity mirror sits behind the armoir-rack for dressing purposes. 5. Wall switch at door must be turned on for fan and remotes to work. I checked both remotes last week and both worked. 6. Yes, the last guest did bang one dresser up with about a 1" inch corner notch and my handyman is on his way there now to repair it. The other bedroom down the hall has a large closet with shelves but no dresser. It has a desk and chair. 7. We do have starter paper supplies, dish and laundry detergents, hand soap,etc. Had not thought about soap bars or shampoo. Most folks like their own brands. Good ideas to add to list. 8. Laundry policy has been relaxed since it is hard for travelers with early morning flights. See "policies." 9. The shower head downstairs is a removable stainless steel hand-held one and can be placed in any position. 10. The lock on the sliding glass door also works, but the bar is there for those who prefer one in a sliding door--it's optional. You have to put the door latch in the correct position. So we're on it. Thanks for all the valuable suggestions.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Peaceful and Roomy

  • 4 of 5

Great Cottonwood location. Pool was lovely. Quiet and very roomy. Convenient to stores, Sedona, Jerome, Cottonwood. Keep in mind owner requires all sheets and towels to be laundered. Prepare to rise early on your departure day to start if you have all four beds to wash. You can enjoy the pool during the wait as long as you don't dirty up another towel. As it was June, hanging on the lines was faster drying than using the dryer. However, if you are able to bring your own sheets and towels, I would recommend that rather than having to wait around to do laundry. Other than underestimating how much effort and time the laundry took us, it was a wonderful place and I would recommend it.

  • Review Submitted: 14/06/2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're happy you had a great time and that you enjoyed the space, the location, and the pool. Yes, for groups who use all the beds (and lots of towels in the summer especially), that last morning can require some planning so we are relaxing that policy based on your feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Just Okay

  • 3 of 5

-Electrical seemed kind of funky because there was aluminum foil wrapped around electrical wires on the outside front porch as well as no GFI fault on plugins inside areas such as in the bathrooms/kitchen.

-Stairs are not child-friendly or easily navigable by someone with any handicap. Noisy to climb.

-Furniture is old, patched and some were dirty and not comfortable. The dining room chairs were also old and not stable, were wobbly and one collapse while I was seated. I was bruised. I would not use the outdoors patio furniture on the back veranda or for the pool because they were old and not trustworthy.)

-Complicated cooling system with a lot of rules.

-Area rugs were a constant tripping hazards and we had to move them out of the way; especially by the stairs, bathroom and in the kitchen.

-Numerous rules/regulations regarding how to use the cutting boards, not setting items on the counters in the bathroom and kitchen counters without the wood boards.

-Limited tableware.

-There is really only two actual bedrooms with open loft that had two beds and some woods screens that might have been used to divide the room but they were not steady and one fell over.

-Downstairs toilet was not seated well on the floor.

-Pool was not clean of dust, dirt and debris despite having a vacuum. (Owner seemed to question why we wanted to swim.)

-Owner had many personal items about the house (items in the closets, family photos, musical instruments (including a piano that was not to be used).

-No curtains or screens on the large glass doors. (I like screens when there are a lot of little critters running around. :)

-Internet was sketchy at best.

-Before checking in, the owner texted and asked if we would bring Amazon packages into the house, unbox them and put up a new shower curtain and pole. We told her we could use the downstairs shower instead and she questioned why.

-Be sure to pay an extra fee for laundry or be prepared to spend 4 hours prior to check-out washing sheets and towels and folding and placing items on the dining table. You'll pay more if you don't do either. (It's an inconvenience to do laundry if you have to catch a plane and/or meet the check out time. Owner said the cleaning woman would have to do laundry in town otherwise.)

The place had comfortable beds, the owner did respond to our text messages/questions; there were workable appliances and an ice maker. The location is good and quiet. Our deposit was returned time.

  • Review Submitted: 17/05/2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Goodness that is quite a litany so we certainly need to address it as we want people to be confident that we are careful owners.This time the property and the guest were ill-matched. Every property is not for every one-- we generally hear very positive things from our guests and hope future guests check out all of our reviews. So to address these concerns: we placed a piece of foil positioned on a high outside wire that feeds the front porch light so that a friendly little bird will quit sitting there--the foil has nothing to do with the wire's function. There is no problem with the electrical system at all. The stairs are clearly visible in the very first website pictures so that people see them clearly. It is a spacious barn-style home with a loft, so you have to climb the stairs to the upstairs bath and rooms.Two rails, easy to climb but nor for any one who is handicapped.. Guest did report that she sat in a wooden chair and it broke so we recently have added four red metal dining chairs as well so there are more choices. The handyman did report that the wooden chairs were stable when he checked them after these guests left. Pool is cleaned and serviced weekly, but not daily. Wind may blow leaves -- there is a skimmer pole for that reason. Bedrooms are fully described with photos on the website. "Clean and comfortable" is usually the review we get on the bedrooms. Some people love musical instruments at a vacation home so we have a few. We request that the baby grand not be used by children who do not play piano. I asked this particular guest if my handyman could run over and quickly put up the new shower rod (last guest broke one). She replied "no, we can do it--no problem." I assured her it would take him only five or so minutes but she declined the offer. This guest did not let us know about any internet issues--the next guests notified us of a dropped connection and a new router was purchased and installed by our handyman on that same day. The internet and wifi are 100% solid and strong. In our view, the barn is a great getaway, a sweet contemporary rustic, located on a quiet cul de sac in beautiful northern Arizona.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Would not stay again

  • 1 of 5

Nice home but terrible customer service and no flexibility or help to accommodate. We would not stay again.

  • Review Submitted: 08/12/2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear future guests, please make note of the overwhelming number of excellent reviews that speak to the property's outstanding location, comfort, spaciousness and cleanliness. In our years of offering "The Barn" on VRBO, we have been grateful for the care and respect our guests have given to the property and for their many kind reviews. Unfortunately, this one reads like a revenge review. The small damage deposit is almost always refunded in full, but, in this case, the guest's refund reflected a $20 deduction for damage that required additional work on the part of the housekeeper and her daughter. We respect our staff and feel that the deduction was clearly warranted and regret that the guest was disappointed by the deduction.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Map

Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Sky Harbor PHX /(Cottonwood&Sedona airports)
Nearest Golf
2.6 Miles
Pine Shadows
Nearest Motorway
14 Miles
Highway 17
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Mai Thai on Main
Nearest Ski
45 Miles
Snow Bowl Flagstaff
Nearest Beach
300 Miles
San Diego, CA
Car: necessary

This owner welcomes phone calls about special options, this charming, beloved home and your opportunity to enjoy Northern Arizona.

Perfect for golfers, balloonists, birders, bikers, hikers, tourists, and more.

Enjoy a combined rustic and urban experience, town population 10,000. Swimming pool, garden area, firepit, circle driveway, convenience ( 5 minutes to local markets and shops).

Minutes from five different wineries as well as Sedona, Jerome, Dead Horse Park, Tuzigoot Ruins, Sycamore Canyon, Oak Creek, Verde River, Montezuma’s Castle, Camp Verde, The Clarkdale-Perkinsville train run, and the White Horse Casino. Three hours from the Grand Canyon and two hours from Sky Harbor Airport.

You won't have to leave the property in order to relax and watch the wildlife such as javelina,, quail, coyote, roadrunners, and hear and see horses and peacocks. Swim in the pool in the warmer seasons. Sit by the firepit outside (gas grill on front patio) with veranda dining or sit by the cozy wood stove inside. All modern amenities with stainless steel appliances and butcher block counter tops.

Fantastic views await.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday house in Cottonwood

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Beat the Valley Heat
1 Jul 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
2 night minimum stay
AU$236
AU$1,348
AU$3,235
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
AU$249
AU$1,611
AU$3,774
 
Notes: Rates are based on 7 guests; add AU$67 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee AU$67.4
Transaction/mngmt AU$26.96
Cleaning (House&grounds) AU$202.2
Refundable Damage Deposit AU$202.2

There are four beds--one king, one queen, two full beds. The loft holds two beds and there are heavy, louvred, portable privacy screens to arrange that large space as needed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if cancelled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if cancelled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

Other Holiday Properties