Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Luxury very private fully staffed Villa near beach with private pool, garden.

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 220 m²
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Luxury 3 a/c bedroom villa in quiet location close to amenities and beach

This recently completed, (2010), European owned and designed Villa, situated in a very private position at the end of a quiet lane, offers the perfect holiday setting. With its three air conditioned bedrooms, each with en suite bathroom, large living area (which contains many local artifacts), full kitchen where your private chef (optional) will prepare delicious Indonesian and European meals for you, private swimming pool, poolside gazebo and gardens, it is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the pleasures of Lombok. Chef (optional), houseboy, driver, gardener/maintenance man, night security man and wi-fi are all included so it is just a case of sitting back and letting the world go by ! Although in a tranquil position, the Villa is only about 5 km from Senggigi village which is the main tourist centre and where there are many restaurants, bars, shops, ATM's etc..The villa's 8 seater car is available as an optional extra, with or without driver. Please ask the owner for details. They say that Lombok is what Bali was like 30 years ago. Lombok and Villa Batu Sisi are truly paradise found !

Member since: 2008
Speaks english, french
Response time
Within a few days
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
16 September, 2018

About Ann

We are retired British citizens but very active and live on the beautiful Isle of Wight in UK. We visited Lombok and fell in love with the island and it's people. We were lucky enough to find the perfect site and decided to build the villa which was completed in 2010. We visit at least once per year - it would be nice to go more often but we always seem to be busy doing other things and the Villa always seems to be booked !

Ann purchased this villa in 2007

Why Ann chose Batu Layar

Lombok is a lovely island which, unlike Bali, is still pretty unspoilt and very Indonesian. The Villa, although in a tranquil and very quiet and private position, is within easy reach of Senggigi village which is the main tourist centre on the island and where you find excellent restaurants, bars, shops and ATM's. Many of the properties to rent on the island are many miles from any western type facilities but Villa Batu Sisi will give you the best of both worlds.

What makes this villa unique

A visit to Villa Batu Sisi will be an unforgettable experience as it offers everything you could wish for on this unique and very undiscovered island. The Villa itself is to Western standards, properly maintained, with air conditioned bedrooms, a large living area furnished with Indonesian artifacts, your own private pool and a lovely terraced tropical garden. The staff of five are amazing and can't do too much to please .Don't take our word for it - read the reviews from our guests ! We can also offer the option of the services of your own private chef who will prepare delicious meals for you from his huge menu of Indonesian and European food .

Guestbook comments from the owner

We enjoyed our stay here in Lombok so much. We wish we could have stayed a little longer. What a beautiful place to stay and spend 5 days.The Villa was so clean and pretty. The warm welcome made everything just perfect.
Jul 2012
  • 1 of 32


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa rental in Batu Layar

Property Type:
  • villa (detached)
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Included in Price
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 220 m²
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Village
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • soap
  • Bottled Water
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • water cooler
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower enclosure
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , outdoor shower , poolside
  • In addition to the en suite bathrooms, there are two separate WCs (one by the pool) .
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 extra lg. double bed , A/C, en-suite
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed , 1 single bed , A/C, en-suite
    Bedroom 3 - 1 extra lg. double bed , A/C, en-suite
  • All bedrooms have air conditioning and en suite bathrooms. The single bed in bedroom 2 is 120 cm (4 ft). One child's cot is also available.
  • Books ...
  • books - fiction/non-fiction
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • video player
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • patio
  • 10 garden chairs
  • long term rentals available
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • car optional
  • Chauffeur
  • Daily Maid Service
  • Housekeeping
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
The services of your personal chef is optional at a small extra charge. If using the chef, all you pay for are the ingredients.. The houseboy will do one laundry per day at a cost of 5 euro per wash. The villa 8 seater car is available as an optional extra cost, with or without driver. Please contact the owner for details. Internet access and wi-fi is available. Basic satellite TV including some channels in English, is included in the price. Additional channels (such as sport and films) can be added for your stay and will be charged at cost.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(11 traveller reviews)

90% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Luxury very private fully staffed Villa near beach with private pool, garden.
average rating of 4.818182 based on 43 reviews

big and clean villa with pool

  • 3 of 5

Location 4 km from senggigi center need car !

Equipment of the villa so old (tv) or doesnt work (fridge).

No hot water or sometimes

Matress must be change !

Breakfast so poor (rice or noodle or toast coffee and tea) no fruit

Sofa unconfortable

Wifi week and not free

I rented other villa in lombok better and cheaper

  • Review Submitted: 27/07/2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. I have taken note of your comments and answer as follows a )- We apologise about the mattress. We were not aware that it needed changing as no-one had previously complained about it. If you had mentioned it at the time to our manager, he would have changed it for you. b) Yes. a car is useful and you have the option of renting the Villa car. As an alternative, taxis are ridiculously cheap as are the the little buses that travel on the main road. c) The TV is difficult to operate due to the Indivision system and I think that this was probably the problem. i didn't know that one fridge was not working. As there are three, I don't think that that should have been a serious problem. d) There is always hot water as each bedroom has its own tank with an immersion heater.. the problem is the Lombok water supply, over which we have no control. Often the pressure is so low that virtually no water comes out of the taps. Everywhere in the area has the same problem. e) If you had asked for other things for breakfast, it would have been cooked for you. You never mentioned it so no action was taken. f) I am sorry that you did not like the furniture in the sitting area. We have had that type of furniture from the very beginning and no-one has previously complained. It is a matter of personal taste. g) Wi Fi should be free and I am sorry that you were charged. I understand that our manager refunded you the money. . The Wi Fi can be slow as the only system available is working off a G3 signal which sometimes can be very poor. Unfortunately, there is no other alternative. h) I am sure that there are cheaper places to stay in Senggigi, although I believe that, as a property sleeping 7 in three bedrooms, we are very competitive. However, I would make the point that all our staff are paid proper wages (above the minimum national wage) and are paid 52 weeks of the year, whether the Villa is occupied or not. This is not the case with many other properties and is reflected in the price. I have tried to answer your comments fairly and truthfully. Ann Thomas.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing Stay at a wonderful villa

  • 5 of 5

We cannot praise this villa and the staff highly enough, the villa itself was beautiful and all the staff there made it an absolute joy.

Opik made a wonderful breakfast and couldn't do enough for us, Mahli was always helpful, Adung was a great comfort whilst we were out looking after the place, Sol was a wonderful guide and jay could not do enough to help and make out stay as enjoyable as possible.

If we were ever lucky enough to visit Lombok again this would be most certainly be our first choice of villa.

  • Review Submitted: 17/07/2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind revue. It is always nice to learn that the effort that I and the staff put in to make our guests have a great stay is successful. The staff have told me that they, too, really enjoyed looking after you ! Ann.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very Private villa

  • 5 of 5

Very remote ,very private ,very comfortable , the staff were fantastic and liked after our every need.

Great pool , the food provided by private chef was gorgeous .


  • Review Submitted: 18/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind comments - we are delighted that you had such a great experience. I know that, before your visit, you were worried about Villa Batusisi because of the relatively low price that we ask but, as we hope you discovered, we 'price to let', whilst still retaining the highest possible standards. Ann.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Value

  • 5 of 5

My wife I just returned from a three three week stay in the villa. This very private villa is excellent value at just over $100.00 Canadian per night. We have rented homes all over the world (I own two as well) and this is the first one that came with staff. What a luxury, we make dinner, dirty up the pots and plates and Opic cleans up in the morning! The staff normally comes in at 8 am, but we moved that to 10 so that we had time to make our own breakfast and enjoy a private coffee and swim before they arrived. They will help with breakfast but we preferred to feed ourselves. No complaint however with them washing up and making the bed! Sol the driver took us to the local market for shopping a couple of times and drove us around the island. His English is the best of all of the staff and was a great tour guide. Mahli the gardener and pool man kept the pool crystal clear, smiling Adung arrived at 6 nightly and kept watch while we slept.

  • Review Submitted: 07/04/2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay at Villa Batu Sisi and appreciated the staff They have been with us for many years and are like family to us. Thank you for your kind comments. Ann.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely Private Villa

  • 5 of 5

The villa is lovely and private and all the staff are lovely and meticulous. The villa is as described and offers a very comfortable stay. I highly recommend that you make use of the driver who knows the area very well and is happy to take you anywhere you want and also will suggest places which might appeal as well. The chef is very accommodating to any food requirements so feel free to request anything and he will give it a go.

Nature is very close by so expect to hear and see frogs and lizards and suchlike small creatures. They make the trip all the more special.

The owner strives really hard to ensure that you stay will be memorable and special. We found contact with both her and the villa supervisor to be swift and very accommodating to any special requests.

Many places are close by but you will want access to the car for most of your travels and the driver is happy to take you and wait or come back and fetch you as required.

Definitely would recommend this Villa :)

  • Review Submitted: 04/04/2016
  • Date of Stay: February 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad that you had such an enjoyable stay. We really do try make everything as perfect as we can so it is nice for us to receive such positive feed back. One point - yes we do have very jolly frogs who tend to have occasional night parties but we don't have lizards ! I think you mean the Gekkos, who live in the roof space and rafters. They are our friends as they eat the insects !
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing little piece of paradise

  • 5 of 5

We spent two amazing weeks in this villa and were really well looked after by the staff. the villa is an a really peaceful and secluded location but not far from senggigi for nights out. Diving in local area the best we have ever seen. Thank you Jay and the house team and thank you Ann for letting us stay in your beautiful villa.

  • Review Submitted: 28/08/2015
  • Date of Stay: July 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is so nice to hear that you had a great time at the Villa and thank you for your kind comments. We are so lucky to have such wonderful staff - they really do care about the guests !
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
60 Kilometres
Praya (new international airport opened Oct 2011)
Nearest Barpub
500 Metres
Beach bar
Nearest Ferry
50 Kilometres
Nearest Golf
30 Kilometres
Choise of two
Nearest Restaurant
500 Metres
Beachside speciality fish restaurant
Nearest Beach
500 Metres
Car: not necessary

Completed in 2010, this superb British owned Villa offers everything that you could wish for a homely yet peaceful holiday. The villa is situated in a most tranquil and private position at the end of a 'no through' lane on the outskirts of a Hindu village (where there is no mosque or motorbikes to disturb you!) yet is close to the west coast beaches and Senggigi village. The extensive open plan living area, which opens on to the swimming pool, contains many traditional Indonesian artifacts and furnishings, has seating for 10, a dining table and chairs for 8 and satellite TV. There are 3 large air conditioned bedrooms, each with en-suite bathroom. The well tended terraced garden has an abundance of tropical plants and shrubs and an enticing 8m x 4m x 1.5m deep pool. The shaded gazebo, with its sun loungers and deck chairs, which is adjacent to the pool, is the ideal place to relax and enjoy this tropical paradise. Your stay at the villa will be an experience not to be forgotten - paradise found!

Golf: There are two golf courses on the island - one a championship course.


Rates & Availability

Contact Owner

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit AU$183.95

A non returnable deposit of $100 may be required with the booking.
The monthly rate is for a 28 day month. Additional days are charged at the monthly rate divided by 28.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if cancelled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if cancelled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.