check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Ellen Heemskerk

Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Speaks english, german, dutch

Beautiful apartments along the river, overlooking the pasture, children friendly

15 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this De Kwakel holiday house

Apartment near Amsterdam, for 4-7 guests, free Wi-Fi and parking space

Are you looking for an attractive and characteristic Dutch property in a unique ambiance? Visit our beautiful furnished apartment. We are located at the outskirts of Aalsmeer, very close to Schipol and Amsterdam.

The River Amstel runs in front of and behind the pasture, right where our cows graze. Your dream holiday will come true when you sit on the dock and enjoy the views of the pasture.

'Huis ter Lucht' is a new property with 6 luxurious apartments near the river and a wonderful pasture for animals. Each apartment can accommodate up to 7 guests. It consists of 2 bedrooms (1 in an attic) with a total of 5 single beds (2.10m) with box springs. The 6th and 7th guests can sleep in a luxurious sofa bed in the living room (it can be transformed from a bed into a seconds). There is a spacious bathroom with a shower cabin, an open plan kitchen and a marvellous living area.

To entertain the children, we offer go-karts, a big trampoline, a barn, a jet ski and a small football field.

Agricultural activities: Both you and your children can help in the farm. During summer, you can herd the cows from the pasture to be milked. They are milked twice a day. You can do it yourself or just be a spectator!

We live only 13 km away from the airport. Therefore, if you travel by plane, you will arrive to 'Huis ter Lucht' in just 15-20 min. Welcome!

We also offer a boat for rent, with a 25 hp motor and capacity up to 8 people.

Conditions:

Minimum age 21 years.

ID documentation is required (we can make a copy).

Deposit: €150. It will be refund if the boat is returned clean and in good condition.

Animals are not allowed.

In case of severe weather, the rental can be cancelled without charge.

HISWA general conditions are applied.

Price:

From Monday/Friday: €160 from 9:30 a.m. m away. to 6:30 p.m. m away.

Saturday, Sunday and holidays: €180 from 9:30 a.m. m away. to 6:30 p.m. m away.

Per night: €76 from 7:00 p.m. m away. to 10:00 p.m. m away. (just with the daylight)

We have a map of the surrounding rivers and life jackets available for children. You do not need a license and will receive instructions prior departure, as well as, a practice tour.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • long term rentals available
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Ellen Heemskerk (Property Manager)
Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Speaks english, german, dutch

About Ellen Heemskerk

My name is Ellen Heemskerk and I am 40 years old. Together with my husband, I am the manager of the apartments built in 2009. We have four children with ages from 6 to 12 years old.

Ellen Heemskerk purchased this house in 2009

Why Ellen Heemskerk chose Amsterdam area

We are the third generation that has lived in His ter Lucht. We have bought this house from my father in law, who had bought it from his father. The house offers a functioning farm with 65 cows. There are 30 ha of land around the house, offering a rural feeling of freedom.

What makes this house unique

Quiet setting

Idyllic location

In the middle of nature

Many farm animals

Sinuous River

Reviews

4.8
based on 15 traveller reviews

Beautiful apartments along the river, overlooking the pasture, children friendly
average rating of 4.8 based on 15 reviews
5

Memories that we will cherish forever.

  • 5 of 5

As a family we love Holland and on previous holidays had stayed at Center Parcs. However, we decided to stay at Huit Ter Lucht as we wanted to experience more of what Holland had to offer. It was the best decision we could have made. We initially arrived on a Saturday afternoon and to my horror I immediately realised I had forgotten to bring our European plug adaptors - a huge issue given that my husband had to work from his laptop every evening. I spoke to Ellen who kindly phoned a local supplier and collected a new adaptor for me. The accommodation was perfect for the four of us and met our expectations. The other guests who were from various countries were all very polite, friendly and extremely considerate and did not make unnecessary noise. We had an American Rock band staying next to us for one night as they had arrived in Holland for the start of their European tour. Surprisingly we didn't hear a peep out of them - I think they were severely jet lagged! Our 10 and 12 year old sons made friends with other children staying on site which was great. The location was beautiful and extremely central for the activities that we had planned. However, we still managed to drive over 800 miles to various activities during our weeks stay - but it was worth it! Within a 30 minute drive of Huit Ter Lucht was a beautiful sandy beach named Zandvoort. Amsterdam was only a 30 minute drive too as was a go-karting, Lazer battle and bowling centre in Haarlem. We visited two theme parks during our stay - Walibi and Efteling - both within an hour and 30 minute drive. Neither had the ridiculously long queues that you would experience in the UK. We also took our sons to Europe's largest playground - Linnaeushof. There was a variety of play equipment to keep older and younger children entertained. During our stay we hired Ellen and Sietos motor boat and took a trip along the river Amstel which was wonderful. The benefit of staying on a working farm were that my sons were fortunate to be able to milk the cows in the evenings (the 6am milking was far too early!!!) and we witnessed a calf being born which was incredible. Ellen's husband Sieto was so patient - I am sure the milking process took significantly longer with the children there! Both Ellen and Sieto were so kind and helpful. I can honestly say that the holiday has left us with the most incredible memories. We will certainly be staying at Huit Ter Lucht in the near future.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Family fun

  • 3 of 5

The setting is ideal for a family, I couldn't imagine keeping my young kids cooped up in a hotel room for an extended stay! Here are my tips to be prepared: There was not many common kitchen utensils, yes there are serving spoons and cutlery, but there was no can opener in the apartment. So if you planned on a simple canned spaghetti sauce...bring your own or get the jarred kind. The supermarket is very close. May want to bring own towels as well, especially for an extended stay. While the washer and dryer are conveniently located, it is a coin laundry and doesn't work well at all. I followed the instructions and came back to extremely wet clothes that I had to ring out in the sink and then line dry for two days because the dryer doesn't work either. There is no pool, and the paddle boat is half submerged underwater. There is a place to swim, however I was told that there are sharp rocks and the kids would cut their feet. The go karts were a big hit with all the kids that were there with us (and some of the adults). The overall apartment was well maintained. Ellen was very helpful when we arrived, but she and her husband left on holiday the next day and my family and many others were left to fend for ourselves if anything had happened. It would have been nice to have our questions answered about things as the trip progressed. After speaking to other guests, I know they felt the same. I wish I would have known ahead of time that they wouldn't be there. The bikes provided were great, we went on many bike rides and enjoyed the countryside just as the Dutch do. Overall, I would recommend this property.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 9, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was kind of surprised to read this review. Sarah was very positive and she never told me about things "going on". Everything was "fine" when I asked her. And if something was missing she could easily have told us, but she saves that for the review. I told her we were leaving for holiday and that Dirk, a friend of ours with his daughter and family, would take care of the farm (we only have 1 week holiday per year). They did very well and everybody was happy. So, she is telling things that are not true. And I think you make the holiday nice yourselves, you do not need us or that. The washing machine and dryer are not broken, I think Sarah did not put enough coins in it and then the machines stop in the middle of the programm.... And than all is wet.... There is no pool, but we never told her there would be a pool. We have a river and it was very nice weather. So I told her there is a special place where the water is not deep. But there might be shelves on the bottom, so I advised her to wear water shoes. But hey, this is nature!! And there was another place to swim, but this was deaper. I think that Sarah was sad that here husband was called for worked and he could only come 3 days later than planned. She said she was really upset with that fact. And after the weekend it rained and she wrote me she left 1 day early because of that. Once more, she was smiling and saying that all was okay as we asked everybody as we were leaving for holiday. Sarah, I wish you all the best! Life is too short to be so negative....
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
5

Awesome Place!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in a room with a party of 8. The landlord was excellent and willing to take care of all of our needs. Our kids were upset when we left because they had so much fun. I would definitely recommend this place to families with young children. This is a hidden gem! I will return.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 13, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Fantastic family place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

Initially upon booking online, Ellen was very quick with responses and was very courteous. She also spoke excellent English! When we arrived, everyone was so nice! The apartment was beautiful and spotless! Huge shower, DVD player, tv, FAST internet, dishwasher/ microwave, kitchen was well stocked. They also provided dish soap and dishwasher tabs. There was PLENTY of room for our family of 5. But that wasnt only what made it great... my kids got to run around and play on pedal cars, jump on the trampoline and play with the cows! The farmer was so nice letting them help milk the cows and explaining the process. It made the whole experience so much more special than just staying in a normal hotel. Several times we drove in, we would have to wait for the sheep to move... kids LOVED it! Also a perfect location for driving around all of Holland... nothing was very far!!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 15, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

A perfect family vacation

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful week! My husband and I stayed with our two grandchildren, ages 9 and 11, for a week in April. The apartment was modern, well-equiped, and perfectly clean. The beds were comfortable. Best of all, the farm was perfect for the children. The owners have provided a lot of fun things to do and they are wonderful with the children. Ours had so much fun they preferred not to leave the farm at all and, when we did go out for sight-seeing, they were delighted to come back "home" to the farm. It was also a great learning experience for city-kids to get to help milk the cows, see the new-born calves, discover chicken eggs, feed the ducks and pet the sheep. We highly recommend a stay at Huis ted Lucht.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 24, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Couldn't have asked for anything more...

  • 5 of 5

We chose to stay at Huis ter Lucht instead of Amsterdam because it was less expensive, but we got much more than we could've asked for!! The apartment was plenty big enough for my family (2 adults, 4 children aged 3-8). It was very nicely furnished with everything you can need to enjoy your stay at prepare your own meals. The farm itself was fantastic. The kids had an amazing time walking around and playing with the several cows, sheep and chicken that run freely. They were invited to help milk the cows, and although they were too timid, still enjoyed watching someone else do the work. On our final day there, the kids got to witness the birth of a new calf. Truly amazing experience for them! In addition to the animals, there was also pedal cars, a slide, a trampoline and a small football pitch with goals for them to enjoy. There was also a hayloft for the kids to run around and build forts and be kids. There was never a moment of boredom while we were there! If we ever are lucky enough to visit Holland again, we are definitely staying with Ellen and her family at Huis ter Lucht!! Thanks for everything you did to make our stay so wonderful!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 12, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Nicholas and family, Thank you very much for your nice message. We are very happy that you had a great time here and it was a pleasure having you here. You and your children were enjoyable and enthousiastic, so it was very nice for us too. Sieto liked it specially that the kids helped him with the milking (I think he was faster back in the house for dinner than normal because of these nice helpers:-)). So thanks again and we hope to welcome you all back again in the future. Take care and kind regards, Ellen en Sieto
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Airport
13 Kilometres
Schiphol
Nearest Barpub
4 Kilometres
De Kwakel centre
Nearest Ferry
40 Kilometres
Hoek van Holland/Rotterdam
Nearest Golf
6 Kilometres
Nieuwveen
Nearest Train
12 Kilometres
Schiphol
Nearest Motorway
6 Kilometres
A4
Nearest Restaurant
3 Kilometres
De Stoute Schoen
Nearest Ski
13 Kilometres
Snow Dome in Hoofddorp
Nearest Beach
23 Kilometres
Noordwijk
Car: necessary

We live in a farm with 70 cows, 16 km from the South of Amsterdam. We love living in a farm and have given a new direction to our lives since 2010: we have built 6 new apartments that share the style of our company. 'Huis ter Lucht' is located in a unique place, along the River Amstel, and immediately it makes you feel as if you were on vacations.

Location of 'Huis ter Lucht': 23 km from the beach. The closest lake is 5 km away and the River Amstel is just 25 m from the apartment. The flower market in Aalsmeer, the largest in the world, is 4 m away and the airport is 13 km away. Among the 4 cities that are near, Amsterdam is the closest, while the other 3 are about 45 min away.

Other activities: graze cattle, milk cows, herd the cattle feed the ducks, many other things.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday house in De Kwakel, Netherlands

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Herfst
9 Oct 2016 - 22 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
A$180
 
 
Kerstvakantie
23 Dec 2016 - 27 Dec 2016
4 night minimum stay
A$201
 
 
Oud en Nieuw
28 Dec 2016 - 2 Jan 2017
5 night minimum stay
A$252
 
 
Paastijd
31 Mar 2017 - 31 May 2017
5 night minimum stay
A$201
 
 
Juni 2017
1 Jun 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
A$180
 
 
Zomer 2017
1 Jul 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
5 night minimum stay
A$201
 
 
Herfst 2017
1 Oct 2017 - 13 Nov 2017
4 night minimum stay
A$180
 
 
Kerst 2017
22 Dec 2017 - 28 Jan 2018
5 night minimum stay
A$216
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
A$108
From
A$137
Fri,Sat,Sun
A$705
A$1,797
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add A$14 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Handdoeken per persoon A$7
Sunday arrival departure A$72
Extra persoon per nacht A$14
Extra (kinderbed) A$14
Eindschoonmaak A$72

Prijzen zijn in bepaalde periodes onderhandelbaar!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in De Kwakel, Netherlands

Property Type:
  • house (terraced)
Building Type:
  • farmhouse
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 90 m²
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Village
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Farm Holidays
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Broadband Access
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • local restaurant guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower , shower enclosure , Double washbasins
  • The bathroom has double washbasins to facilitate activities in the morning. There are 2 washbasins with luxury taps and a walk-in shower of 200x90 cm. You will also find a WC:.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 3 single bed , 1 cot , Beds of 210 cm
    Bedroom 3 - 2 sofa bed/futon , Beds of 210 cm
    Bedroom 2 - 2 single bed , 1 cot , Beds of 210 cm
  • Single beds are 210 cm long It is possible to add a crib in each bedroom. The comfortable 2-metre-long sofa bed is located in the living room and has space for 2 people.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • books - fiction/non-fiction
  • books - kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • games - kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Boat
  • Child's Swing
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Motorboat
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • patio
  • sand pit
  • Terrace
  • Walkway to Water
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • long term rentals available
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • duty free shops
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The house is new and has a vacuum, a broom, a bucket, towels, etc. If you need something more, do not hesitate in contact us. We will be happy to help. We also offer sports packages.