Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Steps to the ocean on OKI!

Bedrooms 3
Space 850 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

2 BR, 1BA Cottage

This cottage is directly across from beach access. You can't get any closer without being beachfront!

Turtle Trail 1 has been extensively renovated, is has a clean and fresh look!

Enjoy a quiet evening on the screened in front porch or just walk to the beach.

This unit is immediately adjacent to VRBO #468172 which can be rented along with this unit for a larger family vacation.

Come enjoy the quiet family/pet friendly beach of Oak Island.

Winter rental available from Sept - May.

Tom Hayes
Member since: 2010
Speaks english
Response time
Within a few hours
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
22 June, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage rental in Long Beach, North Carolina

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 850 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower enclosure
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 single bed , Loft area - limited ceiling height. Best for kids.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • long term rentals available
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • playground
  • recreation centre
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
Linens not included with this rental


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(43 traveller reviews)

58% Complete
25% Complete
4% Complete
9% Complete
2% Complete
Steps to the ocean on OKI!
average rating of 4.27907 based on 43 reviews

Casual Beach Vacation

  • 5 of 5

CLose to the beach and just what we were looking for!

  • Review Submitted: 30/04/2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Mixed feelings

  • 2 of 5

The location is great for a first-row house as far as accessibility to the beach. Even though the view the of the ocean from the porch is limited, it is better than most single-level houses. The closed in porch was very nice. The house is very small - two couples or a family will not be able to eat at the same table or even at the table and counter, as the two stools for the counter are too tall to be comfortable.

The house is old (with new paint and flooring, it appears) so there are limited outlets for electronics, chargers or lamps (2). The window blinds are also old and damaged and had no cords for opening and closing them, so we had to manipulate them by hand. The interior walls showed signs of water damage but there was a pounding rainstorm one night and we saw no signs of active leaks. There are two closets; one filled with a stacked washer/dryer, which worked well, and the other filled with the house mechanical units. There is no space for hang-up clothes.

There is a loft that runs the length of the house with two beds at either end. We didn't have children with us so we didn't use this space.

The TV has a Roku operating system. We don't have a Spectrum account, so viewing was limited. I did get to see NFL & World Series games, however.

The stove has four burners but the oven is so small you may have difficulty fitting a roasting pan in it. I could not get the broiler setting hot enough to toast bread. I didn't use the toaster provided because it was rusted and pitted. The kitchen appliances are old and limited in selection. The knives are dull, as they are in most beach rentals. The icemaker in the refrigerator didn't work and there were no ice trays. We had to keep bags of ice for use in drinks.

The house had just been cleaned when we arrived. However, during the week we discovered that when we would retrieve our dogs' toys from under the couches, they would be coated in dust. The shower curtain in the bathroom was so moldy that my wife would not use it. Instead, she purchased our own liner for use. The outdoor grill looked new but when I opened it, there was a frying pan on the grid with leftover eggs in it and two shriveled hot dogs laying beside it.

We chose this cottage because of its accessibility to the beach and its pet friendly environment and it delivered on both of these premises. We did not notify the owner of any of our concerns so he had no opportunity to address them.

  • Review Submitted: 22/11/2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry that your experience was not good. We'd agree that the house is indeed older, but as you mentioned, new paint and flooring. I don't know of any water damage, but as you mentioned the roof is secure. And, yes, its a bit small for 2 couples. As advertised. The blinds are actually brand new (within the last 3 months). They do not require wands or strings to manipulate them, and go up and down simply by pulling at the bottom. The grill - clearly we missed at cleaning our apologies. The cable - We do have Roku, but ALSO cable boxes sitting immediately below the TV's all you have to do is switch the input; or you could have called me for the cable password and used the ROKU app. From time to time the password gets accidentally removed. The cable is fully functional, and instructions for any TV issues are listed in the VRBO instructions under the TV/Cable button. We are updating all the kitchen accessories and appliances over the winter break, and I hope that you would have an opportunity to join us next season! Tom
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
HICKORY, North Carolina

Comfortable, Relaxing Stay!!!

  • 5 of 5

This was our first trip to Oak Island and we will be back. We absolutely loved it there!! Turtle Trail Cottage 1 was very comfortable and located perfectly. As other reviewers had stated, you can see and hear the ocean from the screened-in front porch. In fact, that was my favorite place in the house. They have oversized rockers that are very comfortable and it was so nice knowing our little Max could sit out there too without having to worry about having him on a leash. We enjoyed coffee on the porch every morning and rocking in the evenings as well. The beach access is right across the street as mentioned and it was very convenient. Lots of great restaurants on the island and easy access to visit Southport as well. We also found the bed in the front bedroom to be very comfortable. Owner is also very easy to work with. Highly recommend this little cottage.

The Byrds - NC

  • Review Submitted: 26/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We loved our stay in this cute cottage!

  • 5 of 5

The cottage overall was great! Clean, bright and just the right size. The only disappointment was the condition of the kitchen pots, pans, utensils etc. Other family members rented a house a few blocks down on the same street for 1/2 what we paid and their kitchen was very user friendly. We would stay again, but I would ask for a discount and take my own kitchen necessities!

  • Review Submitted: 25/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Old timey beach digs.

  • 4 of 5

Clean and close to the beach.

  • Review Submitted: 10/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
kernersville, nc

Great getaway!

  • 4 of 5

When searching for a place to stay, I was looking for pet friendly, close beach access and not too many steps (my dog is older and not able to climb stairs any more). This was the place! The house is an older beach home but has been renovated, no fancy updates. The two bedrooms were very spacious. The beds were quite comfortable and I slept well each night. The kitchen was well stocked even though no cooking was done on this trip! The AC worked well as it did get into the 80's toward the end of the week. The screened porch was nice for my early morning coffee and the dog loved it! Great patio chairs with cushions and a few large rocking chairs on the porch made sitting out there really nice. As the listing mentions there are no bedroom closets but that was fine as I tend to live out of my suitcase when I travel. The house was very clean. And just steps to the beach by the access just across the street. The only issue I had was upon arrival, I couldn't figure out the TV/cable/WiFi. The owner was quick to respond with my questions and as it turned out it was operator error! I had none of the issues other reviewers mentioned in their reviews...I had great TV reception and a very strong WiFi signal which was important as part of my trip was business related.Great value, great location!! Will book this house again in the future.

  • Review Submitted: 09/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Contact Owner

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee AU$67.75

Summer rentals of less than full weeks are subject to approval.

Rentals less than 3 nights require $50 cleaning fee.

Pets allowed with $75 fee.

Check in 3:00pm
Check out 10:00am

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if cancelled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if cancelled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.