Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Calypso: Fabulous Carriage House - South of 30A - steps to the beach!

Bedrooms 1
Space 700 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights


About the property

Romantic Carriage Home Perfectly Located In Rosemary Beach!

Escape to Rosemary Beach luxury in this spectacular carriage house designed by architect Bobby McAlpine and the acclaimed interior designer Kay Douglass. Calypso is just steps down the boardwalk from the emerald beaches, shops, and restaurants of Rosemary. There are two floors in this home. The main floor, featuring unfinished antique oak wood floors, has a comfortable seating area with plush chairs and a sofa bed, as well as a full kitchen with all the necessary appliances and accessories for you to store your favorite coastal delicacies or whip up a delicious meal. French doors open up to the private balcony. It’s the perfect spot to enjoy your morning coffee or sip on a glass of wine to watch the sunset. Just up the spiral staircase inside is a master bedroom loft with a plush king bed. This area opens up to the living space below, making the space feel open and bright. Beautiful draperies can be pulled to create a cozy and serene atmosphere. Calypso may be rented along with its main house, Flying Dutchman, if available. It is the perfect space for a romantic getaway, grown children, or a nanny!



- Twin sofa bed

- Full bathroom


- Master bedroom - king bed


- Loated directly on boardwalk to the beach

- 2 complimentary adult bikes

- Private 1 car garage

- Outdoor shower

- Wifi

- Washer/dryer

- Pets considered (additional fees apply)

- Beach Towels are not provided, please plan to bring


- Private beach access

- Access to 4 community pools

- Beach chair and umbrella service available

- Fitness center (additional use fees do apply)

- Access to tennis courts (additional use fees do apply)

- Walking trails

- 24 hour security


• A 50% Advance Deposit is due at the time of booking.

• Balance is due 30 days prior to arrival date.

• With the exception of a cancellation fee, deposits are fully refundable if cancellations are given 90 days prior to arrival date.

• We accept e-checks or credit cards (Additional fee applies for all credit card transactions).

• Check-In begins at 4:00PM CST. If available, an early check-in may be requested for an additional fee.

• Check-Out is by 10:00AM CST. If available, a late check-out may be requested for an additional fee.

• Must Be 25 Or Older To Rent. We have a strict family only policy. No exceptions.

Call, text or email for more information or to book this beautiful property.

More Details

Property Manager
Jared Pool - Barefoot Vacations
Speaks english
Manager indicates their response time is
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
21 June, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage rental in Rosemary Beach, Florida

Property Type:
  • cottage
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • Max. adults: 3
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • 1 King, 1 Pull Out Sofa
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 1 bicycles
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • swimming
  • tennis


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(29 traveller reviews)

72% Complete
20% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Calypso: Fabulous Carriage House - South of 30A - steps to the beach!
average rating of 4.6551723 based on 29 reviews

Perfect for a weekend getaway

  • 5 of 5

Property was perfectly situated near a beach walkover, shops and restaurants, and the bikes included are a great value.

  • Review Submitted: 14/05/2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Jessica, for your 5 star review and for choosing to stay with us! We hope that your husband had a great birthday weekend and are glad that you enjoyed the complimentary bikes!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great little house for 2 in a beautiful, picturesque beach community

  • 4 of 5

As the title says this is a great place to stay. Garage and laundry is in the bottom; bath, great room and kitchenette is on the main floor; a spiral staircase leads to the loft where there are 2 little closets and a king bed. Everything worked fine, and there was no problem with the building or with check in or departure. It is 1 block from the beach, and there are 2 beach accesses (gated) that you can use. PCB is the best beach in the USA. Also within 1 block are little shops, restaurants, etc. All within walking distance or bicycling distance.

Since I am an Engineer, I tend to focus on 'problems' and here they are (now, don't get the idea from this we didn't like the place; it's just, here's the things we didn't like):

- garage door opener and the coded box didn't work; had to use the inside button;

-doors are tricky to lock/unlock, no instructions given;

-don't have very many plugs for cell phones and the like, without unplugging something else;


-they supplied beach chairs but we didn't find them until the night before we left;

-no outside lights when we arrived (after dark) hard to see to climb stairs - bring a flashlight;

-there is no Gulf view as advertised unless it's the 5 degrees you can see from one window in the loft through all the other houses;

- one balcony has a tree growing into it;

-spiral stair is fine, but hard to climb particularly if you have had a knee replacement...bath on main floor makes it harder if you have to go in the middle of the night.

The above are all things you need to know; and are why they didn't get 5 stars. Everyone we met couldn't have been nicer to us, and the community is just beautiful.

  • Review Submitted: 12/05/2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Joe for choosing to stay at Calypso and Rosemary Beach for a few days and for your review! A couple of responses to the comments in your review for our future potential guest. Should you have any issues at all, whether it be mechanical or otherwise, please reach out to us. Our numbers are provided on all documentation and are posted at the home. We are in the neighborhood every day and available to assist you as needed. The tree limbs you mentioned have been trimmed from the balcony. There is a gas lantern fixture directly over the entry door (as in the photo) which provides light for entering the home. There are also lights inside and outside of the garage which may be used. There are instructions on how to lock the Hurricane Doors directly above the interior door handle/lock. As per our Rental Agreement, we do provide 2 rolls of toilet paper per stay. The extra roll is located in the cabinet underneath the bathroom sink. We would be happy to bring another roll if we failed to leave enough. The spiral staircase to the master bedroom on the 2nd floor is shown in our photos as well as documented in the property description/overview. We encourage everyone to view the photos to ensure homes are a fit for your needs.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Beautiful little spot in a great location in Rosemary! Wife and I visited for a few days in April. Perfect for just the two of us.

  • Review Submitted: 22/04/2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing to stay at Calypso and for your nice review! We are glad that we could host you for a few days before your 1st child arrives in June!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Nicely decorated, clean and welcoming carriage house.

  • 5 of 5

We loved the location close to the beach, close to Main Street and Barrett Square. Nice off-street parking made coming and going a breeze. Great space for a couple to get away for a long weekend or more. The style of the place is right up our alley. We really enjoyed our stay here and look forward to staying again in the future.

  • Review Submitted: 11/04/2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jonathan, we are happy that you had a great stay at Calypso and that it met your needs perfectly! We also look forward to your return soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Major exterior repair on the unit and main house and did not have advanced warning.

  • 3 of 5

We stayed in the coach house above the garage which was 10feet from the main home and we shared the same private courtyard. We were quite surprised when a construction crew started work every day at 8am.. ripping the exterior off the main house. Power tools and saws were constant all day long. The courtyard .. our walkway was full of siding, tools, lumber ect. The workers and the maintenance crew were very apologetic. There was no doubt the units are in serious need of exterior repair But... we were never advised prior to our arrival that our much anticipated, relaxing vacation would be disrupted. It is very poor business practice to not inform your clients in advance and either offer to move us to another one of your homes (we know you have several) or at least discuss the planned inconvenience we were going to incur. We hope to hear from you in response to this matter.

  • Review Submitted: 17/02/2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kurt, thank you for choosing to stay at Calypso. We appreciate the great condition you left the home and for your text to let me know what time you were departing on checkout day! The last minute repair work was a requirement made by the Rosemary POA and had to be scheduled and completed in a short timeframe. We should have reached out to you to let you know that the repairs might affect a couple days of your stay but were out of town for the birth of our first grandson and failed to do so. For future guest, we ask that should you have any concerns, that you contact us during your stay. This affords us the opportunity to work together to ensure you have a great vacation! The siding replacement work on the main house is complete.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
Atlanta, Georgia

Just what we needed

  • 4 of 5

Centrally located, clean and cozy. Couldn't have asked for a better respite for our weekend getaway. Will absolutely return soon.

  • Review Submitted: 16/02/2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Contact Manager


  • - Contact us through the "Send Email" button for best rate.
    - All rentals require 11% State and County Tax + Cleaning Fee.
    - Credit Cards Accepted for Additional Processing Fee | eChecks also accepted through our website.
    - Must be 25 or older to Rent - No Exceptions.
    - If applicable, Properties with Private Pools can be heated for an additional fee of $50/day.
  • Rates from $
  • US Dollars
  • - Main Home can added for an additional fee. See listing #468973