100% refund if cancelled at least 30 days before arrival date. 50% refund if cancelled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Amazing view, mediocre house
We stayed in this house for a week (a family of 4, kids are 12 and 10) in April. While the views are spectacular, the house itself is in desperate need of some attention. The kitchen is fine, seems recently updated. However, all the bedroom linens seem really, really old (and gross) and in need of replacement. None of the bedrooms have any bed larger than a twin (all BRs have two twins pushed together). The shower head in one of the rooms is held together by duct tape. Should just be replaced. In that same shower, the curtain had patches of mold at the base of it! Not ok. As others mentioned, the pool and the hot tub are out of commission. Apparently the pool is cleaned weekly, but it was dirty for the duration of our stay. Also, the pump/filter isn't working and I was uncomfortable allowing my kids to swim in it. Maybe others would be ok with that...?
The neighbors don't seem fond of renters. While we were there, they posted a big sign basically telling us to stay off their beach frontage (we had never set foot on their beach). And speaking of beach frontage...there really isn't much at this house unless it's low tide...when there is only a tiny stretch of sand. You can't really "walk the beach" or build a sand castle or skim board. On the other hand, the stairs down to the water are cool and anyone who likes to fish could enjoy doing that from the stairs. There's a small patio overlooking the ocean and that's nice, too, especially for sunset. We preferred to drive to the public beach during the day-- but the beach chairs supplied were pretty rusty and uncomfortable (also really old and dated).
The first couple of nights we were there...we noticed lights on in the apartment above the garage (yes, turns out there is an in-law apt. we didn't know about). We also saw people come through the yard to access the waterfront via our stairs. This was a bit off-putting, obviously. We then realized that the in-law apartment connected to one of the rooms that my son was staying in and that was not okay for us.
No bay access, either...which I think was disclosed, but would be something to consider for those who like the bay-to-beach rental on Casey Key. Overall, the rental was a disappointment because it was dated and felt dirty...even after it had just been cleaned. It's a shame, because location is amazing. Simple fixes would go a long way!
*The property manager is very responsive and kind. She did reply to all of my emails and questions promptly.
thanks for you review. There is many thing that need to be updated, there is no question about it. Also that the pool and spa are not in working condition is mentioned in the description of the property, there is no hiding in there. As for the neighbors, is it their private beach and they can do whatever, I have no way to do anything about this, it is their private property and they have the right to do so.
The beach is sometimes wider, sometimes narrower, depends on the tide. The pictures of the house here (and pictures of the beach) were taken in January and it shows normal beach for that area. I am sorry about the people walking to the beach but the house on the opposite of the street has a deeded access, so it was probably them. As for the in-laws apartment, no one lives there, on one rents it, the lights were left on by our handyman, who was doing some work there. The in-laws apartment does not connect to any room:) It is above the garage and it does not connect to the house at all (you have to take stairs outside the garage to walk up to the apartment, the main building where you stayed is on ground level).
Overall. I am aware of the updates needed, that is the main reason why the price per night is what it is and not double...
Thanks for understanding and I hope you had a good vacation even despite these issues.
Pros: The house is clean and directly on the beach and within walking distance of the Fish House, a popular local restaurant with an outdoor bar on the water. Linda, the property manager, is VERY responsive. The kitchen is well stocked, including a very nice Italian coffee machine. There is a garage for your car. The sunsets from the back of the house are wonderful. There is a swimming pool which is kept very clean though it is not heated.
Cons: When the tide is high, there is no access to the beach or ability to walk down the beach. The hot tub, as listed on the website, is in disrepair. Though listed on the website, there is no path to the bay across the street nor is there any visible dock. There were bugs that were quickly taken care of by Linda who hired someone to come out and take care of the problem. The beds are all twin beds shoved together which is nice for children but not necessarily for couples or larger adults.
Summary--I spent nearly 3 weeks at this home and enjoyed my stay despite some problems which were quickly attended to. It is comfortable but not luxurious which makes it ideal for young families with children.
casey key house
Overall we had a wonderful time. the sunsets were beautiful. the house itself is in need of some tlc. There were so many light switches that we didnt know what went to what and most of them didnt work there were very few plug ins that worked also making us think there is probably an issue with the electricity. the kitchen appliances were newer and very nice. in the large bathroom there were no outlets that worked and the water pressure in the shower was so bad it took forever to shower. in the smaller bathroom the shower worked fine but was held together with duck tape. the pool would be fine in the heat of the summer but with no heater it was very cold. and the beach area in the picture does not exist and the bay side access also is not for our use. we went over there a few times and finally the owner of the
property came out and told us we were not allowed to be over there it was her private property she was very nice but we understood there was an issue i am sorry for the not so great preview but it would be a wonderful house if it had a little work done. and the issue with the neighbor needs to be taken care of or else dont say we can use the access. thank you
Thanks for your review. Sorry to hear about the plugs, you should have let me know during the stay, it is an older house and sometimes the breakers turn off, we could have dealt with that.
As for the beach, the pictures were taken this January, it depends on the tide how low or how high it is, I can not certainly influence it:(
The pool - well it is in the property description that it is not heated, everyone can find that information before he/she decides to rent..
The bay access - I am very sorry, until that day we had no idea that the neighbors had an issue, we never had to deal with this before. The truth is that there is a deeded access for “our” home so it should be ok (that is why it was mentioned in the description), but you know how is it, you dont want to get your neighbors to get upset. We will have to find a way how to solve this, because the right of access is there.
Anyway, I am aware of the tlc needed, it is an older house as is being rented as such, if everything was perfect it would be as well different price:(.
But I hope you had a nice stay anyway.
Best regards Linda
Million dollar house, million dollar view
The house is ok, though some things aren’t tip top, e.g. water pressure. But overall it’s good value. It was clean and had good kitchen appliances. The property manager responded promptly to one problem.
House needs maintenance
Property in need of serious plumbing. Start with shower head in second bathroom (remove masking tape and replace) and fix leak under sink. The water pressure in the kitchen sink was extremely low and garbage disposal drain needs clearing. Toilet in master bath was so loose on the floor that it was surprising there wasn't a leak through the seal.
After that the electrical should be checked.
Well maintained, fantastic location with close amenities
The house was more than enough for ourselves and 2 children. The subsets were amazing and backyard was a great hangout throughout the day. We look forward to booking again.