Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Exotic Orchard On Ocean Cliff! Waterfall/Ocean View Takes Your Breath Away!

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,200 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Paradise On An Organic Permaculture Exotic Fruit Orchard

Comfortable and private 2 bedroom cottage on 5 acre permaculture organic orchard retreat on 750' cliff above mystical Waipio Valley and it's black sand beach. Look from cottage view of ocean, 20 miles of 1000'-1400' cliff/coastline. There is Waiulili stream and a 650' year-round waterfall on property! Can not be seen on property. Can be seen from other locations.

Between 2012 and 2013 Hale Kukui has received lots of positive media recognition. Hgtv and Aloha magazine did features on this unique property in 2013.

The lonely planet travel guide said, 'these three tranquil and secluded cottage/units all have wonderful views and pleasing decor, but the perspective of Waipi'o from the detached cottage may make you forget your name.'

Southeby's international real estate magazine cover photo features the view from the property.

Organic permaculture orchard, 3 cottages and caretaker's house sits back on 750' cliff above Waipio Valley, and looks to the ocean southeast, north and northwest up the undeveloped rugged coastline. Sometimes there are a multitude of waterfalls seen cascading down 1400' cliffs into the sea. Gaze at lush greenery, frequent rainbows, especially during the wet season (winter/spring). Epic views face 23 miles of these 1400' cliffs, backed up by undeveloped jungle. Whales jumping and breaching can be seen from the property during the winter/spring. Maui is visible on clear days. The area boasts a perfect climate of just enough rain to keep the streams going and the flowers blooming, cool trades off the ocean, and usually daytime temperature of between 70 and 81 degrees, with cooler nights.

The property is landscaped with a vast variety of exotic trees, ferns, orchids, palms, flowering shrubs and exotic fruits to pick. We are in the early stages of growing vanilla, cocoa, black sapote (chocolate pudding tree), cashew and macadamia nut trees. Try our fully mature , mango, , avocados, pomelo, jackfruit, papaya, passion fruit, soursop, rambutan, lychee nuts, starfruit, brazillian cherries, jaboticaba, cherymoya, mountain apples, true cinnamon, cloves, miracle berries, a variety of citrus, bananas and much more grown on the property.

Walk out to the point for one of the best views on the island.

Walk along the cliff's edge/ocean path or explore the path through bamboo. Both short easy walks take you to an opening on the picturesque lawn going down to the cliff's edge. Take another short fairly steep path (for sturdy feet only) past the banyan tree and passion fruit vines into the gulch on our property.

Listen to the peaceful sounds of the Waiulili stream and a waterfall running through the property and over a 650' cliff at the edge of the property. Waipio lookout is 1/4 mile away. . Ocean and waterfall views abound. Enjoy the peace and privacy of your own suite complete with private outdoor soaking tub.

Staying at Hale Kukui is an ecoadventure and destination in itself! It is also a great central jumping off point for other destinations! This epic property is unique for its historically important location, for its short paths, private nooks, exotic organic orchard, unmatched views and size/character of property.

**if our 2 bedroom cottage calendar appears booked, then check into our studio cottage and deluxe cottage's availability, both are situated on the same 5 acre property with similar views. Look up vrbo's property numbers 16876 (deluxe cottage), and 499551 (private studio). Consider staying in all 3 for larger groups, small weddings, cycling, photography or hiking groups or family reunions. If calendar is 'emptyish' then it may not be reflecting the bookings through our website or by phone.

Overview of the neighborhood: old Hawaii with conveniences, safe, private, lush natural beauty and most of the comforts of home. Walk or drive 1.5 miles to the black sand beach or 1/4 mile to Waipio lookout. Walk 1/4 mile to get island made ice cream at artworks store in Kukuihaele. Its an easy 10 minute drive to the farmer's market in Honoka'a where there are restaurants, several quaint shops with local made goods, a theater, gas and groceries. Try local ride the rim, surfing, horseback riding, hiking. Walk or drive to enjoy old world Hawaii in Waipio Valley and the longest black sand beach in Hawaii.

Drive to Hawaiian cowboy country in Waimea with more shopping and great restaurants, then onto the white sand beaches, 5 star hotels and high end shopping of the west coast. Otherwise drive east along the lush Hamakua coast, beautiful botanical gardens, Hilo, Volcanoes National Park, natural hot springs in Pahoa. Take the saddle road and drive to the 14,000 top of Mauna Kea along the way (many countries have their space observatories there). Visit Kona and see if you think the preferred coffee of the white house is really as good as the lesser locally known rich tasting Hamakua coast coffee. Hale Kukui grows small amounts of its own and while we don't dry and roast it, you are welcome to try.

Caretakers Paula & Dan live on property.

If you are able to pull yourself away to see other parts of the island, Hale Kukui is a great stepping stone to the whole island. Walk or drive to the Waipio lookout only 1/4 mile away. The black sand beach in Waipio Valley is another mile down a steep winding 25% grade road(4x4 required to drive). Explore the quaint town of Honoka'a 10 minutes away with its theater, restaurants, grocery stores, outdoor farmers market and a hospital/clinic. Hiking, biking, horseback riding, camping, and surfing are all accessible between Kukuihaele, Waipio Valley and Honoka'a.

Find Akaka Falls, the beautiful botanical gardens and much more as you drive along the beautiful lush Hamakua Coast toward hilo 55 minutes away. In the other direction from Honoka'a, you will smell eucalyptus on your way to the cooler climate in Waimea (kamuela) which will have more shopping, a bigger hospital and some of the best food in the islands are only 30 minutes away. Go to Merriman's for great seafood and Kailua pork quesadillas. White sand beaches, the larger hotels are a 50-70 minutes drive across the northeast end of the island through Hawaiian cowboy country. Close to Waimea is an extinct volcano with some of the best astronomy telescopes/observatories in the world because of the clean air, altitude and dark starry nights. Mauna Kea is 14,000 + feet above sea level. Mauna Kea can be driven to the top and it is the tallest mountain in the world from the sea floor.

Hilo has a great outdoor market, shopping, surfing, etc. And it is a beautiful 1 hour drive along the Hamakua coast. Another 30 minutes or so beyond is the must see volcanoes national park and swim in the hot springs in Pahoa. Kona is about 1.5 hours away along very nice highways as are most places. Try Hamakua coast coffee which many say is better than the world famous Kona coffee served at the white house.

The whole island has so much to offer but you will definitely want to relax at Hale Kukui for its incredible views and natural private surroundings. Each unit or cottage has Internet, its own kitchen/kitchenette and bathroom, just in case you don't want to leave.

A $5 fee is included in your rate which makes you a member of the orchard as a visitor for 1 year so your stay complies with our mission to have you enjoy and learn a little about Hawaiian permaculture farming on a small scale. Many of our trees are labelled so you may learn about the fruit, nuts, spices and from which part of the world they come.

Caution!! We don't recommend going near the cliff's edge which may be unstable or walking under coconut trees because the nuts occasionally fall and may be deadly. Only go into the gulch if you are physically fit even though it is a short path.

More Details

Paula and Dan
Member since: 2002
Speaks english
Response time
Within an hour
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
21 June, 2018

About Paula and Dan

Hello. My name is Andy and I have a ten year old daughter named Hana. We love our paradise in nature and feel surrounded by serenity, beauty and an energy that is powerful and unique to our property. I have always had a passion for the ocean, exotic fruits and for gardening so this organic orchard on the ocean was the perfect find in 2009. I love adding new and more interesting specimen Palms, fruit trees, coffee, nuts, spices, cocoa and flowers such as vanilla bean orchids to the nearly 5 acre retreat. My latest interests are Dragon fruit, Hamakua coast coffee, rare orchids, Heliconias and spices like true cinnamon and cloves!

I am also interested in the medicinal benefits of various botanical's and I have a background in science as a doctor of Osteopathy board certified in both Internal Medicine and Emergency Medicine. We recently created a common room that may be available for people to receive massage (several therapists available) or do yoga. Consider organizing your own healing retreats here at Hale Kukui. Relax in the Hammock outside with ocean views, spectacular orchard, waterfall and cliff views to sooth the soul.

I am most at home in nature. I am a world traveler and have never seen such beauty as I do at Hale Kukui and I have seen nature at its finest in Switzerland, Fiji, CA, New Zealand, Bali, Europe or Australia. I also love where I am from in New England. I grew up in Maine where people are down to earth like they are in this historic part of Hawaii.

Paula and Dan purchased this cottage in 2009

Why Paula and Dan chose Honokaa

I have never seen anything that compares to all that Hale Kukui has to offer and would prefer its charm to any BNB or 5 star hotel that I have ever stayed at in the past years of travel home and abroad.

What makes this cottage unique

You will feel at home, but more relaxed than ever, not just as a guest but as an integral part of Hale Kukui's natural earthy beauty with ocean, cliff and waterfall views that are second to none. Caretakers Paula and Dan are eager to help with any questions or special needs during your stay and they live in a separate house on site.. Kitchens are fully equip in case you never want to leave as many people find themselves feeling very early into their stay.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Aloha Paula and Dan!

We are still amazed at how wonderful our stay was with you - thank you so much! We enjoyed it so much, no, more than only enjoying it, we were full of quiet happiness, and we decided to try to come back all three of us as soon as possible.
Nov 2013
  • 1 of 1


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage rental in Honokaa, Hawaii

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 6
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Mountain View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Full private Bathroom
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed
  • There are 2 separate bedrooms (one is in the main part of the cottage) with open concept design, laminate floors, high ceiling fans, several screened sliding glass doors spanning across the front/ocean side of the cottage. To get to the Second bedroom you step out on the lanai and around soaking tub, very short distance.A sofa bed and/or air mattress may also be used to accommodate more than 4 people.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • long term rentals available
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • caving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
Ask questions or check into 2 other accommodations listed separately on vrbo with property numbers #16876 (very popular cottage with sliding glass screened doors spanning the entire front, looking over orchard and ocean) and #499551 (studio with similar views and amenities, but a small kitchenette). All cottages have private lanai's with soaking tubs. See 'rental' agreement before arrival where you are donating to experience orchard life in Hawaii and get a full 1 year membership to the orchard for $1 included in the suggested donation rates.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(21 traveller reviews)

66% Complete
28% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
Exotic Orchard On Ocean Cliff! Waterfall/Ocean View Takes Your Breath Away!
average rating of 4.5238094 based on 22 reviews
Eagle River


  • 5 of 5

There were 5 adults in our party. We arrived on the 2nd in Kona and drove a 1hr to the secluded Kukui Haele Retreat (we left on the 16th). It can be a challenge to find it after dark, but very easy to find it if you arrive in daytime. Cellphone service is a challenge up there and that is just what we like it. However, there is WI-FI provided.

If you're a nature lover & want to get away from the hustle & bustle, or just want to get away from the tourist scene, then this is for you.

Wake up each morning & go outside to pick fresh lemons, limes, oranges, pomelos, bananas, coconuts, lychee, mango or avocados to add to your breakfast. Take a few bread crumbs to feed the chickens that frequent the area. If you didn't know, chickens, pigs, goat, cats & horses run wild & free on The Big Island. There will be plenty to see. We picked coffee beans, dried & roasted them and enjoyed the fruits of our labor.

Nestled about 1/4 mile from Waipai'o Lookout, you'll not have to listen to any traffic while you're there. Only music from geckos, insects, frogs, birds & other singers of the night.

Dan & Paula are wonderful, well traveled hosts who go out of their way to accommodate you.

Great place to stay for the outdoor enthusiast, great people to meet. Highly recommended.

Remember that Hawaii is very humid especially this area. Recommend that you utilize the dehumidifier supplied to dry your bath towels or they'll stay moist and will start to smell.

this was the perfect place for us.

Thank you Paula and Dan so much

  • Review Submitted: 20/01/2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Las Vegas NV

Most incredible location ever

  • 5 of 5

We found the home so comfortable and quaint. My kids were delighted to wake up there Christmas day in such an amazing location. We would recommend this location for sure. Host and Hostess were helpful. The views are spectacular!

  • Review Submitted: 07/01/2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful property with a million dollar view

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I spent the second leg of our Hawaii vacation here. It is a truly unique property. The view of the valley and cliffs are unbeatable. Paula met us when we arrived and departed and had fresh fruit waiting. My only concern were the geckos that share the cottage with you. They were visible when we got there but seemed to stay to themselves and did not bother us. This is a great property and we would love to come back when we return to the island.

  • Review Submitted: 01/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Las Vegas

Wonderful place to get away and experience the Big Island away from tourists!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed in this house for a week and loved it. Stunning views of the ocean and Waipio Valley. Loved picking fruit from the orchard. Loved sitting on the deck in the morning sipping coffee and watching all the birds with the random rain showers over the ocean. Yes you need a 4WD vehicle to get to the beach in Waipio Valley but WOW is it worth it! Beautiful black sand beach. Waipio Cookhouse is down the street with the BEST loco moco on the island! Paula was wonderful, very helpful and welcoming to us. The house was exactly what we wanted and the location was so great - away from the tourists. The kitchen is small but that's ok unless you plan on cooking big meals. Lots of plugs for charging your devices, and plenty of hot water for showers. My family and I loved staying here and we will be back. Thanks!

  • Review Submitted: 12/07/2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

False advertising!

  • 1 of 5

First let me start with the only positive things I can say about this property. Yes, the views are stunning as everyone else says. And the caretakers are nice and helpful (FYI neither of the caretakers are the owners).

Unfortunately everything else, as compared to the description of the house and area, is quite negative. As for the house itself, it could use some work. The paint on the exterior is peeling away (as seen from the lanai). The house isn't very well sealed which means when it rains it gets very damp inside (and a lot of access for geckos which at least eat insects). Yes, they have 1 dehumidifier which can be plugged in. But that is useless for whoever is staying in the detached 2nd bedroom, unless you are going to lug it around back and forth. Even with the windows and doors closed, my bags were damp. Also, they say this house can accommodate up to 6 people by using an additional air mattress or the sofa bed (which is very uncomfortable for an adult - it's barely suitable for a child). Do NOT believe that. We had 3 adults and 1 child and we were cramped (not to mention a small bathroom with a very thin sliding door). The kitchen is big enough for just 1 person to stand in and use. There's a tiny dining table in the corner which needs to be pulled out to sit around. None of these things may matter I suppose if you do not plan on spending any time in the house. We were supposed to be there for 8 nights and had plans to spend time in the house (e.g. staying in and cooking; relaxing on the lanai; lounging around). We ended up checking out after 2 nights (having prepaid for 8 nights). It was that bad we begrudgingly ate the cost of finding another place to stay. No one has offered us any compensation, even if just a small amount. Unfortunately no one was even around to explain this to when we checked out (nor reachable by phone at that time).

The false advertising continues with the description of the nearby beach which I have pasted below (excerpts). What they do not tell you is that you need a true 4x4 vehicle to drive there (and due to the steepness of the road, the walk is an extreme workout, and be prepared to walk through mud). And as for the beach, you can't swim there. It's not really a usable beach. Had we known, we wouldn't have booked here.

"Walk or drive 1.5 enjoy...waipio valley and the longest black sand beach in hawaii below the property. The famous black sand another mile down a steep winding 25% grade road."

  • Review Submitted: 06/01/2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha, We are very sorry you were unhappy with the accommodations! I wish you would have shared that with me while you were here. You communicated with me during the 2 days via text and email but you never mentioned you were upset, unhappy or dissatisfied with the cottage or the property. I was on property 24/7 the first 2 days. The third morning you were here I had an appointment in Kona and could not answer your call because I was driving. You then text me and I responded 15 minutes later when I got to my destination. You said you were checking out. I asked if there was a problem , you did not respond until 4-5 hours later. The 2 bedroom cottage is typically occupied by 4 adults. We have had as many as 8 guests stay there and a more than once families of 4 or more have stayed over a month. Rarely with any complaints. Waipio beach is a very useable beach! It is used daily as it is a very popular local surf spot and several of our guests book with us because they love that beach. We do have listed that the road it is a 25% grade. I Thank you for bringing to our attention that we should specify to drive you need 4x4. We will make that change. We live in the tropics with the rain and the sun. The lanais are an ongoing effort. They get worked on as much as possible when there are no guests and when there is no rain. New panels have been made for that lanai but we’ve not had the opportunity to install them. Customer service and cleanliness is our #1priority! We truly enjoy sharing our passion for this beautiful area with all visitors and we believe that shows through clearly with the other reviews. Again we are very sorry that you were unhappy.
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0

Awesome location!

  • 4 of 5

This rental is in an excellent location. It's super super close to Waipio Valley, which was my favorite place on the island (and there is a lot of competition). If you stay here, do not miss going into Waipio Valley. It's a must. The view from the property is absolutely beautiful. And the owner was super friendly and very helpful. She made sure we didn't run out of fruit while we were there. The house itself is comfortable and nice, with everything you'll need for a relaxing vacation. Especially the back porch, which is the perfect place to sit and look out over the beautiful property. The kitchen is a little small, but it has everything needed to cook. Just don't buy a ton of refrigerator stuff because the fridge is small. We did have fruit flies and some mosquitos in the house, but we were expecting that sort of thing because of all the vegetation in the area and the delicious fruit that we had inside the house. You're on an orchard in a tropical forest here so it comes with the territory. Just be aware of that if it's a problem for you. One of the bedrooms has a sliding door that, when closed, has cracks you can see through a bit into the main living area so it doesn't really provide complete privacy. If that is super important to you, keep that in mind. It wasn't a huge issue for us, but it could be for others. This place is perfect if you're looking to see the natural beauty of Hawaii. If you want the resort version of Hawaii, this is probably not your place. But it's worth it. I promise.

  • Review Submitted: 05/11/2016
  • Date of Stay: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Nearest Barpub
8 Miles
Honoka'a bar and several restaurants
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Nearest Motorway
Kukuihaele Road
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Waipio Cookhouse
Nearest Ski
80 Miles
Mauna Kea sometimes in Winter-do it yourself
Nearest Beach
1.5 Miles
Waipio's Black Sand Beach
Car: recommended

Hale kukui's popular 2 bedroom cottage is perfectly situated as an vacation destination overlooking the ocean,cliffs, our own stream and the historic waipio valley. We are perfectly located in a paradise of exotic organic permaculture orchard with short paths, private nooks, soaking tubs on each private lanai overlooking a foreground of ocean, fruits, spice trees, ferns, palms, orchid/Helicon gardens and nut trees all on our nearly 5 acres of secluded property.

Hale kukui is also a central step off point to watersports, local surfing and swimming. 14,000 Mauna Kea's observatories, the charming town of honoka'a 9 miles with its restaurants, groceries and a hospital. White sand beaches on the other side of Waimea, known as cowboy country and known for some of the finest restaurants in Hawaii.

Enjoy local horseback riding, atvs with 'ride the rim,' famous botanical gardens, hiking and lots of nature locally in the lush part of the island.

Volcanoes national park, hot springs, Kona, Hilo and more are between 1 and 1.5 hour beautiful drives.

This popular 2 bedroom cottage sleeps 4 and possibly 6 using a queen size hide a bed,2 queen size beds. To get to the second bedroom you walk out on to the lanai a short distance , it and has one bath room. It has several glass screened doors overlooking the exotic organic permaculture orchard, gardens and a wide expanse of open ocean, cliffs and waterfall(s) if this open concept cottage is unavailable based on vrbo's calendar, then check our other 2 hale kukui cottages with vrbo and home away on the same ocean cliff exotic orchard 5 acre paradise through vrbo property #16876 (very popular deluxe cottage) and #499551 (beautiful studio cottage). Line with vrbo to book up to all 3 cottages for up to 12 or more people. Discounts may apply. If calendar is 'emptyish' then it may not be reflecting the bookings through our website or by phone.


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday cottage on the Honokaa, Hawaii

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add AU$20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee AU$101.74 + Tax
Property Damage Protection AU$80.03

See rental agreement

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if cancelled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if cancelled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner