Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Placencia Beach Front House On The Caribbean Sea

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 74 m²
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Situated On Acre Of Beach Front, Open Floor Plan, Sleeps 6, Full Kitchen

Open, airy living spaces, with the accent on comfort. Dine on the large veranda, while enjoying the cool Caribbean breeze and the spectacular ocean view. Recline on your hammock or sunbathe on the 200 feet of beach front.

This is the kind of vacation retreat you will book year after year. It feels like it belongs to you. Rustic and carefree, clean and uncluttered, while having all the modern conveniences.

One queen bed with large closet and plenty of storage. Twin beds accommodates two guests, while adult size bunk beds sleep two nicely.

Full size kitchen includes 30 inch modern gas stove, refrigerator with freezer, microwave, blender, coffeemaker, double stainless steel sink, all dishes, pots and pans, flatware, and towels.

Cooling provided by overhead fans and the Caribbean trade winds. No air conditioning.

Hot water provided by the sun. All hot water, throughout the house, is solar heated.

WiFi internet, cable, flat screen TV, DVD player.

This house is located on an acre and a half of beachfront property. The house is elevated approximately 8 feet above the ground. Three small rooms/shops/storage areas are located beneath the house to which the owner has access and uses occasionally. The owner has vehicles parked on the back (west) half acre where the guest also has parking space.

More Details

Owner
Lou Nicolait
Member since: 2014
Speaks english
Response time
Within a day
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
10 December, 2017

About Lou Nicolait

We landed in Belize in 1973 while vacationing. We fell in love with Placencia and the rest is history.

Lou Nicolait purchased this house in 1973

Why Lou Nicolait chose Placencia

This location is the best in the village. Close to all the action, but as private as you want to make it.

What makes this house unique

Wrap around veranda, 200 feet of beach front, light and airy.

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Placencia

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 74 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower enclosure , Solar heated water.
  • Large shower, sink counter, and mirror. Two entrances, from house or veranda. Towels and beach towels provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed , Open floor plan with privacy screen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 single bed , Converts to a King. Open floor plan with privacy screen.
    Bedroom 3 - 2 bunk bed , Private room.
  • The privacy in sleeping areas is protected by movable screens. There are ample shelves, storage space and closets. All linens are provided.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(31 traveller reviews)

93% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Placencia Beach Front House On The Caribbean Sea
average rating of 4.83871 based on 31 reviews
5

Perfect spot!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 5 stayed 5 nights at the Placencia beach house. Loved the location as it was an easy walk to restaurants using the Placencia sidewalk and 1 block from grocery store! The house had 3 hammocks for lounging and a great deck with private beach backyard. The owners were friendly and prompt in answering all questions..thank you Lou, Joshlin and Epi for making our trip to Belize even better! Visit Laughing Bird National Park w/ Sunnside Tours w/Warren and Monkey River Tour w/ BareBone Tours w/ Percy (hands down the best guides)! Gelato at Tutti Frutti is a must and we enjoyed the food @ Rick's. Weather was good as it was end of rainy season and the water was warm...perfect for our family vacation to Belize! Thank you!

  • Review Submitted: 08/12/2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Disappointing

  • 1 of 5

My wife and I flew out to Belize for my birthday last minute as we had to cancel our trip to Puerto Rico due to the unfortunate event of hurricane Maria. The owners were nice enough to give us a little discount on the property after I explained to them our budget after losing money on non-refundable events in Puerto Rico.

When we showed up to the property it was beautiful...unfortunately that’s about as far as the pleasantries went. We quickly found out the owners were staying directly below the house. We looked for a private home for, well...privacy. This was rather annoying but we were already there so there wasn’t much we could do. After settling in for a bit we found an open/used condom on the outside deck...DISGUSTING. My wife and I were pretty frustrated at that point. Then about an hour later we came into the house after walking the beach to be greeted by a TERANTULA on our bed! We were at the house for no more than 5 hours with all of these events. Needless to say we did not feel comfortable staying, and packed our stuff to leave. After telling the owners about our experience they apologized but refused to give us any sort of refund. We had to pay over $600 for a 5 hour horrendous stay. The owners would not even give us a partial refund. VRBO has not helped with the situation and have plainly stated “its up to the owners to give a refund”.

Please rethink before staying here so you don’t end up wasting your money like we did!

  • Review Submitted: 26/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The first email I received from this guest after he and his companion vacated my property surprised me. His phrases, “had a  tarantula in the house...my girlfriend was not comfortable staying there due to their possible lethal injection” and “will be looking for a refund due to dangerous circumstances “, do not sound like reactions one would expect from a traveler prepared to go to Puerto Rico, an area as tropical as Belize, and having a similar environment. I exchanged several emails with this guest after he left the property and this is the first time he has mentioned a condom. Our cleaners were at the house during the morning before the guest and his companion arrived and would have checked the deck for leaf debris and any other litter. We have never had problems with this type of trash. The “little discount” mentioned amounted to a substantial 40% of off-season rates. I can understand the guest’s disappointment in finding the “owners” were staying below the house even though our published listing states that “three small rooms…..are located beneath the the house to which the owner has access and uses occasionally”. The owner’s representative, one person, stays in a room downstairs part-time, especially during the off-season when occupancy is low and a permanent presence on the property is desirable. On the day in question, after welcoming the guests and doing a few chores, the rep left the property and only returned to secure the house after learning the guests had vacated the property.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 3
5

Lovely, peaceful, & relaxing

  • 5 of 5

Lou & Joshlin helped make our stay more comfortable by procuring a booster seat & pack n play for my almost 2 year old. The house was pristine when we entered. I have 2 small children under 5 & this is our first beach vacation together. The open air arrangement of the house took a bit getting used to for the kids who are accustomed to walls & doors! We lived simply all week, playing in the water & building sand castles on the gorgeous beach. The weather was amazing everyday. It's August, so many restaurants were closed, but Mr. Q's (BEST fry chicken) & The kitchen were highlights for us. The locals are so kind & welcoming. This place is the quintessential paradise. I could not imagine a more perfect vacation or a better place to stay. Thank you so much for everything Lou & Joshlin!

  • Review Submitted: 23/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

True Beach Experience

  • 5 of 5

This property was exactly as it's described here. We had a well-equipped kitchen, roomy bathroom, and fantastic outdoor space for lots of relaxing. The hammocks were the perfect place for an afternoon nap or to read a book. The huge beach was nearly deserted most of the time (except for a few entertaining and friendly dogs who made a quick visit each morning). The water was warm and clear, and there was plenty of shade on the beach if you didn't want to stay in the sun.

Josh was just great! She had some great recommendations for places to eat and was incredibly kind and helpful. Epi was wonderful--he brought us fresh-picked coconuts with straws so we could have fresh coconut water one morning and then brought a whole gallon of coconut water the next day. Very refreshing! We thoroughly enjoyed visiting with Lou, too--she's a really neat person.

If you want a quiet getaway with lots of privacy, this is your place. The nearby village of Placencia (within walking distance) has some wonderful places to eat. We highly recommend the fried lobster at Dawn's followed by a delicious gelato at Tutti Fruitti. Scuba diving with Warren from Sunnyside Tours is great if you want something more adventurous than beach time.

All in all, a wonderful vacation spot!

  • Review Submitted: 19/06/2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Stay- Great Location- Great Owners

  • 5 of 5

Perfect place for my wife and I and our 2 teenagers. Perfect location to walk to local restaurants and grocery store. Also, the owner Lou and Joshlin were awesome and very helpful. Lou even drew us a hand written map back to the airport in Belize City!

Would highly recommend.

  • Review Submitted: 07/06/2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Piedmont, California
5

Rustic beach house

  • 5 of 5

Chill and relaxed. Great owner. Walk to town.

  • Review Submitted: 27/05/2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Placencia Airstrip
Nearest Motorway
0.25 Miles
Placencia Road
Car: not necessary

The wonderful thing about Placencia Village is you can be as high tech or laid-back as you want. There are computer repair services and internet connections or tranquil freedom from all the technology devices.

Placencia Beach House is located at the north end of the sidewalk, the world's narrowest road, in Placencia Village, within walking distance of all the restaurants, bars, and gift shops. The North end is quiet and private, but near the action. You can party all you want without a designated driver, or lie quietly in your hammock in complete privacy. The friendly villagers speak English and are always ready to lend a helping hand. Fitness training and yoga classes, as well as, spa services are available. You can explore the village on a bicycle or ride up the peninsula for lunch at Seine Bight or Maya Beach.

There are several full-service dive shops that cater to both the beginner and experienced diver. Instruction is available for certification at all levels.

Some choose to simply enjoy the snorkeling. The dozens of offshore cayes (pronounced keys) each have fringed reefs and the Belize Barrier Reef, 18 miles from Placencia, is second to none. Many of the wonders in tropical waters are only one foot below the surface.

Some claim that Placencia offers the world's best fly fishing. The fishing guides were born in Placencia and learned secrets from their fathers that have been passed down for generations. Besides catching bonefish, permit and tarpon, you can troll for kingfish and barracuda, or catch your own bait and simply hang out at the cayes with a drop line.

About 30 miles from Placencia, off the southern highway, is the Cockscomb Basin Jaguar Reserve, the world's first reserve established to protect this endangered species. Don't expect to see a jaguar. but you can go river tubing, hike to the waterfalls at the top of Tiger Fern trail, or climb Victoria Peak, the highest peak in the Cockscomb!

A little further to the north on the Southern Highway, you can visit Mayflower Archaeological Reserve and hike to Antelope Falls or Bocawina Falls, or arrange with Bocawina Adventure Tours to go zip-lining through the canopy forest or repelling down the water falls.

To the south, on the Southern Highway, you can visit the archaeological ruins of Nimli Punit and Lubaantun. During the same day, you can take in the massive cave at Blue Creek Village where Maya artifacts were found by modern archaeologists.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Contact Owner

Additional information about rental rates

Travelers may stay for fewer days than the 5 day minimum. However, guests will pay for 5 days even though they may be staying for less than 5 days.

First payment or deposit of 25% paid at the time of booking is non-refundable. Once the house is booked, the reservation can be cancelled at any time 60 days prior to check-in and there are no further charges. The second payment of 75% is due 60 days prior to check-in. Failure to make the second payment 60 days prior to check-in will result in a cancellation of the reservation with no refund of the first payment. There are no refunds for any cancellations made after the second payment is made or less than 60 days before check-in.

Rates are subject to change without notice. Terms, rates, and refunds as stated on the rental agreement prior to booking confirmation supersedes all advertised terms, rates, and refunds.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available
Unavailable