Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Jo Mitchel's Beach House/Oceanfront Inlet-Swim With Turtles

Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Space 111 m²
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

2 Bedrooms, 2.5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5

One of the original beach houses In Kapoho Beach Lots, Jo Mitchel's is right on the water. You can't beat this location for easy access to the warm, calm inlet waters. You can relax in the lounge chairs or sit on the bench on the concrete landing, then just walk down the stairs right into the thermally heated fresh and salt water and swim and snorkel with the colorful fish and giant sea turtles that come right up in front of the property each day. Just a few blocks walk to the Champagne Pond where you can soak in the 80 - 90 degree water, too! The beach house is comfortable and relaxing - not fancy! But it has what you need to enjoy an old-fashioned Hawaiian tropical vacation. It's fully furnished with 2 bedrooms each with a comfortable queen bed plus 1 single bed in living room. Sleeps up to 5 people. Note: You walk through one bedroom to get to the the stairway to the master bedroom. It's well stocked with linens, towels, kitchen utensils, plus snorkel gear and boogie boards for water fun! You can fall asleep to the tropical breeze blowing through the windows of the master bedroom, and waves breaking a few feet away. Get away from the hustle and bustle and relax here! There's an indoor bathroom with a shower, or just a few steps away from the main house is a separate private bathroom with large shower. There's a covered old fashioned barbeque area with a picnic table on the lawn and tables under the covered lanai. There's Satellite TV provided. No internet to distract you here from your lovely vacation! (Note: AT&T cell works here). There's a laundry room with washer and dryer.

* Please note items in the pictures can change we do not update the pictures with every change.

TA - W19673351-01

More Details

Property Manager
Jamie Deyden, Realtor
Member since: 2000
Speaks english
Response time
Within a day
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
23 March, 2018

Guestbook comments from the manager

"Wind pulsing through the cabin as swimsuits twist on the clothesline. Waking up as if in clouds. Floating alongside Honu. Trying and tossing our first line. Snorkeling 3x a day - surrounded by unique colorful fish and hearing the distant clink of lava rocks shifting in the surge. Meeting Pele's work and seeing the local offerings to the Power. This place is so quiet and magical. "
Dec 2014
  • 1 of 1


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin rental in Kapoho, Hawaii

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 111 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , Master bathroom off upstairs master bedroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower enclosure , Separate outdoor bathroom with large shower, toilet and sink
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower enclosure , Indoor main bathroom with shower, toilet and sink
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed , Large upstairs master bedroom with views to the water.
    Bedroom 2 - 2 large double bed , Main floor bedroom. Note: walk through to other bedroom
  • There is also a single twin bed/couch in livingroom.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • bay fishing
  • caving
  • surfing
  • swimming


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(32 traveller reviews)

71% Complete
18% Complete
6% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Jo Mitchel's Beach House/Oceanfront Inlet-Swim With Turtles
average rating of 4.59375 based on 33 reviews

Best spot on island

  • 5 of 5

Clean, well equipped, great managers, amazing location.

  • Review Submitted: 18/01/2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo Iris hope we can find you your own piece of paradise. You are always wonderful guests. We appreciate you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

This is the real Hawaii

  • 5 of 5

It's not for everyone but if he you easy access to the ocean and no crowds this is it.

  • Review Submitted: 11/03/2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

As always-we loved it!

  • 4 of 5

We have stayed at the beach House twice now, better this time than last-may have been the season, but more interaction with seeing the turtles in the lagoon and less of the crawling creatures-all in all, the best time yet! Our plan is to return every 2 years for the rest of our retired lives!

  • Review Submitted: 07/02/2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent Location but not comfortable accommodation

  • 3 of 5

Furniture is really old and seriously needs to be replaced. The deck furniture in the picture looks new but one chair is broken, the lounge chair is not there. After vacationing there for at least three years now I am going to find other accommodations. Sorry to say it but honestly maintenance is lacking and has become an issue.

  • Review Submitted: 21/01/2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Kailua Kona, HI

Great location!!!

  • 5 of 5

Our favorite place to get away from it all!!

  • Review Submitted: 04/01/2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jennifer thank you for being such a wonderful guest at Jo Mitchel's Beach House year after year. We always look forward to having you return. Jamie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful setting, tropical fish and green sea turtles just steps away.

  • 4 of 5

Cottage was quaint and everything was available. Needs a new BBQ as was falling apart and the handle fell off the lid, could use some lounge chairs at the water. Would rent again for the setting and location as was right at the ocean and quiet and gated.

  • Review Submitted: 26/12/2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo Carolyn we look forward to having you return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Hilo International Airport
Nearest Barpub
12 Miles
Nearest Golf
30 Miles
Volcano Golf Course or Hilo
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Hiway 137
Nearest Restaurant
12 Miles
Car: necessary

Located in a rural setting with lots of beautiful scenery on the easterly coast of the Pacific Ocean and Kapoho Bay. Only about 30 miles to the Volcano National Park and about 15 minutes to the lava flow viewing site (as Pele permits). A few blocks to Champagne Pond and a few miles to the public hot ponds. Just a mile to the Waiopae tidepools for great snorkeling. Close to Lava Tree Park.


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday cabin in the Kapoho, Hawaii

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
1 Dec 2017 - 31 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add AU$19 per night, per additional guest
1 Apr 2018 - 31 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add AU$19 per night, per additional guest
1 Jun 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add AU$19 per night, per additional guest
1 Sep 2018 - 30 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add AU$19 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee AU$146.54 + Tax
Tax Rate 14.42%

A one week minimum for Christmas - New Years. 4 night minimum on holiday weekends (4th of July, Memorial Day, Labor Day, etc.) Higher rates apply for holidays. $5.00 per day for extra daytime guests. Sorry, no parties or events here!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Manager

Other Holiday Properties