Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

4 bedroom, 3 Bath, Family Vacation, Family Reunion and Great Wedding Location

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Space 2,820 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

4 Bedroom, 3 Bath Mountain Retreat, only minutes from town

Location, Location, Location. The live creek flows around the deck, complete with trout pond and water falls. This property is perfect for a single family or bring the entire bunch for a family reunion. The outdoor area is great to setup the volleyball net or other outdoor games for everyone to have fun. Also, a wonderful area for an outdoor wedding. We have hosted a couple weddings already and the bride, groom and families have been thrilled with this location for their special event. The property has 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. One of the bedrooms upstairs has a deck to sit and view the mountain. The loft opens up to the lower level. Log accents in the living room and log railing around the loft and up the stairs. In the winter you are just a short drive to the two local ski resorts for the family to ski, snowboard and tube. Snowmobiling and cross country skiing are also available. Then come back to the home and sit around the 24 foot high fireplace in the living room to warm up and plan the next day activities. This property is home away from home no matter what time of year you are planning your family summer vacation, reunion or winter getaway. Children 2 and under stay for free..

Property Manager
Melvin Eaton
Member since: 2014
Speaks english
Response time
Within a few days
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
19 June, 2018

About Melvin Eaton

Born and raised in South Dakota and always appreciate the mid-western living, with friendly people and clean air. Born and raised on a ranch around the Dupree, SD area. Attended Black Hills State University in Spearfish, SD and choose to remain in the area around the beautiful Black Hills. I worked construction through college and after graduation continued with that profession and started my own company building commercial and family homes. We have also built a Real Estate Company that is located in Belle Fourche. At the moment I am focusing my business up in the North Dakota oil country. We built this home in 2007 with our own design and personal touches and look forward to sharing the beautiful scenery and home with everyone.

Melvin Eaton purchased this cabin in 2007

Why Melvin Eaton chose Lead

Country living but only minutes away from family fun. Whether it is summer activities or winter sports. Restaurants and local area events are a short trip away then come home and have some peace and quiet.

What makes this cabin unique

Live stream runs through the property. Large, large deck for family and friends. Wheelchair accessible. Heated tile floors. Large Kitchen, Loft area, area around home has been graded to accomodate trailers for boats, snowmobiles also campers. Also, 2 car garage is available.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin rental in Lead, South Dakota

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2820 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , bath with shower
    Bathroom 3, 4 ,5 -
  • 2 Full Baths 3 Half Baths Jack and Jill Bath Upstairs with 2 of the bedrooms
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 extra lg. double bed , Full Bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed , Half Bath
    Bedroom 3 - 1 large double bed , Half Bath
  • 4 Bedrooms 3 Queen 1 King Have 3 Air Mattresses Loft Area
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • long term rentals available
  • wheelchair accessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rock climbing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(16 traveller reviews)

75% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
4 bedroom, 3 Bath, Family Vacation, Family Reunion and Great Wedding Location
average rating of 4.75 based on 16 reviews

Beautiful grounds and an inviting home

  • 5 of 5

Very peaceful and enjoyable.....

  • Review Submitted: 26/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A one-of-a-kind I must don't miss it

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely one of the nicest places you can enjoy with your family. Time to talk enjoy the outdoors and absolutely a beautiful home.

  • Review Submitted: 23/07/2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Katy, Texas

Great cabin

  • 4 of 5

I stayed in this cabin with my husband and 2 young kids. It was comfortable and had pretty much everything we needed. The outside was beautiful and my boys loved playing in the creek and exploring the area. The only thing I would change is that we had absolutely zero cell service. There is no wifi and I have Verizon and my husband has at&t and neither of us had any cell service. It made it difficult to coordinate plans with friends since nobody could reach us. But overall we had a great time and would recommend it

  • Review Submitted: 18/07/2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great, Relaxing get away

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at the Eaton Ranch! The kids were disappointed about no wi-fi or cell service until they found the games, puzzles and wonderful outdoor opportunities! Thank you for sharing such a wonderful place with us.

  • Review Submitted: 06/06/2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent Place

  • 5 of 5

My family had a wonderful time celebrating our Christmas at your home! Thank you for allowing us to stay Melvin!

  • Review Submitted: 13/01/2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cabin at Deer Mountain for family Christmas & Skiing trip

  • 4 of 5

This is the second year that we rented this cabin and loved having our family together in the beautiful black hills. We skied every day as a family and bonded as the sun set in this wonderful cabin; however, I was disappointed with the message I received from the VRBO group after I got home, even after I personally spoke with the owner who said there were no problems at the cabin after we left. I don't know what this group is doing but I believe they are charging double by saying they had to charge us $100.00 to clean the cabin due to the extra cleaning they had to do. We stripped the beds; closed all the windows and turned out all the lights. (I personally checked these) we had all the dishes washed, except for the few stragglers left on the kitchen island.There was no damage to the property and this was confirmed by the property owner. I would be skeptical about dealing with VRBO again as I believe they are scamming the property owner. Use your own judgement. This is a beautiful property, but does need some maintenance. (i.e. kitchen cupboard door hinges, stove-top only had two burners that we could cook on; garage door had issues staying closed. Garbage can was not adequate for a weeks stay and no garbage service supplied. We had to fill the extra propane tank for the grill so we were sure it would not run out during our stay, because we used it for some of the meals. I am not a person who destroys other people's property and I do not appreciate people telling me that I do. The $100.00 deducted from my deposit is nothing, but the fact that I am considered not responsible IS!!!! I value and respect others property as if it were my own. I have rented other property and have never; I repeat NEVER had any complaints. I will not recommend this VRBO group to anyone, and I suggest you look closely at your contract.

Respectfully submitted.

Rose Bosworth and family.

  • Review Submitted: 04/01/2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Rose, I am very sorry for the misunderstanding. I am the one that has been corresponding with you through VRBO. I work for Melvin and not VRBO, so it was not them that kept the extra $100.00. We have used a very reportable cleaning service for years that many people in the area also use and after they clean they give us a report that uses checklists we provide. So the $100.00 we kept from the deposit was because the issues we saw in the report we received back, windows and garage door left open and garbage throughout the house. When you spoke to Melvin after your stay we had not received this report back from the cleaners yet. We are not at all implying you are irresponsible and am sorry if that is how you took that. We do need to ensure the cabin is left in a suitable condition for the next renters. If you have any questions at all you can always call us for more information.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Rapid City Regional Airport
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Spearfish Canyon Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
Nearest Ski
10 Miles
Terry Peak and Mystic Deer Mountain
Car: necessary

Tucked up in the hills between Lead/Deadwood and Spearfish among the pines and fresh air. Only minutes away to the night life in Deadwood where concerts, gambling and history abound. Head the other direction to Spearfish and enjoy the parks with Spearfish Creek, DC Booth Fish Hatchery along with many fun shop and lots of places to eat for the whole family, If your here to enjoy the sights of the beautiful Black Hills we are not far to all the attractions, monuments and fun towns throughout the Black Hills. There is so much to see in our neck of the woods. South of Rapid City take the family to Reptile Gardens, Bear Country or take a helicopter ride around Mount Rushmore. Load the bikes and travel the Mickelson Trail. If your here in August enjoy the the world know 'Sturgis Rally' only 25 miles down I-90. The roar of the bikes and all there is to see, but can slip back to our quiet neck of the woods for rest after along day of riding. We are also close to winter sports, 2 ski resorts, snowmobiling, cross country skiing. Come back and sit by the fire after a day on the slopes. The Black Hills offers year round activity for the whole family, but also have the comforts of home.


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday cabin in Lead, South Dakota

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
4th of July
3 Jul 2018 - 5 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
Days of '76
24 Jul 2018 - 28 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
Sturgis Rally
3 Aug 2018 - 12 Aug 2018
3 night minimum stay
Kool Deadwood Nights
23 Aug 2018 - 26 Aug 2018
3 night minimum stay
Labor Day Weekend
31 Aug 2018 - 3 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
22 Nov 2018 - 24 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
24 Dec 2018 - 26 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
New Years
31 Dec 2018 - 2 Jan 2019
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add AU$20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

One Time Cleaning Fee AU$162.78
Refundable Damage Deposit AU$678.25

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if cancelled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager