Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

View Cabin in Strawberry, AZ

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,000 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Strawberry cabin description

This 2,000 square foot cabin, built in 2009 boasts an 800 square foot deck with great views of Strawberry Mountain and the valley. The master bedroom is on the main level with 2 bedrooms upstairs. Upstairs has a tub/ shower, the master has a shower and there is a bathroom near the great room. There is ample parking with the 4 car garage. The kitchen is fully equipped with a gas stove, microwave and everything you need to make great meals. The deck has a infrared BBQ with a side burner and equipped with a rotisserie. There is a 42" TV in the great room and the master bedroom. Cable TV is provided as well as Free WIFI. It also has a DVD player and surround sound for movie night. There are speakers on the deck and all over the house for your music enjoyment. Bring your mp3 player! There are plenty of board games & outdoor games to play on the deck also a fire pit in the yard. Great location for hiking and mountain biking as well as antique shopping in Pine and exploring the town of Payson. Star gazing from the deck is amazing. During the summer, the deck provides a great vantage point to watch monsoon storms develop and move in. We have seen elk, coyotes, javelina, rabbits and many other animals in the area. Great place to relax and just get away. Please Note: No Reservation is guaranteed until Paid in Full. *A $500.00 refundable damage deposit in the form of a check is required at check in. We also ask that there be at least one guest over 23 years of age. Over 6 guests add $15.00 per night per additional guest. Pet Fee: All fur babies are welcome! $25 for the first two, $10 for each additional. Book a week save over $250.

FYI If you are planning on visiting Fossil Creek, a reserved parking permit will be required to park in the Fossil Creek area. The reservation system is available on Recreation.gov.

More Details

Owner
Brian or Lisa Herold
Member since: 2014
Speaks english
Response time
Within an hour
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
26 April, 2018

About Brian or Lisa Herold

We grew up in the Seattle area, and so when we moved to the Phoenix area in 2002, we missed the pine trees and mountains. We stumbled on Strawberry and fell in love with it. We worked on building this home and loved the process. Hope you enjoy it as much as we do.

Brian or Lisa Herold purchased this cabin in 2009

Why Brian or Lisa Herold chose Strawberry

We wanted to be in the mountains in a sunny climate. Strawberry was the perfect choice. It has nice, warm summer days, cool nights and the monsoon storms provide a brilliant show. The winters are mild, with a few nice snowstorms but generally sunny. The views are what we also love. Great climate.

What makes this cabin unique

Open floor plan, wood burning stove (wood included), gas fireplace, great natural lighting and incredible views of Strawberry mountain. It is ready for you, your food and personal items. Everything else is taken care of. Disclaimer: We are a family friendly rental, but this cabin is more suited for the adult lifestyle so younger children(under 15) could find themselves bored after awhile. So maybe pack extra toys and games for the younger crowd.

Guestbook comments from the owner

I have to say, this was the best weekend our family has had together. We loved the amazing view, beautiful house, and all around everything! I will gladly come back soon if you would allow us to!? I am so thankful you allowed us to stay at your beautiful home. We did clean the house really good this morning. Hope to book with you again soon.
Feb 2016
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin rental in Strawberry

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 23
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Please be aware of your noise level as the valley is quite and voices/music carries. And turn OFF all outdoor lights when not needed. Thank you
  • Please NO Pets Upstairs, Thank you
  • Be sure to close All windows and Doors before leaving the cabin for any length of time. This helps with Heat/AC Thank You
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , bath (no shower) , shower enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 extra lg. double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 large double bed
  • The master bedroom has a nice king sized bed and the two upstairs bedrooms have comfortable queen size beds. There is a very comfortable air mattress that can be placed in the great room or on the deck under the stars.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • long term rentals available
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • library
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rock climbing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(115 traveller reviews)

93% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
View Cabin in Strawberry, AZ
average rating of 4.9304347 based on 116 reviews
5

beyond words awesome

  • 5 of 5

this place is really amazing. it's worth staying here for the deck alone. but it's also beautiful, comfortable and has EVERYTHING you need plus lots, lots more. i've stayed in lots of places - these folks go above and beyond to make sure you have whatever you need to make your stay comfortable (including treats for your dog!).

i know a previous poster or two talked about issues with the hot water. i didn't have any issues at all. at all. but, even if i had, sheri made sure to let me know i could call her and she'd come turn up the temp on the water heater if i needed it. so....if you do run into issues, know that the caretaker is just minutes away and BEYOND helpful.

but, seriously. back to that deck. it's totally enclosed, so little ones or pups can hang out without worry. and the views are amazing. it's a beautiful place. can't wait to go back.

  • Review Submitted: 07/04/2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

The house was very warm and welcoming

  • 5 of 5

There was a little bit of everything in the the house from kids toys to books board games and a beautiful view from every view. Sheri was a delight to work with as we had a wedding party needing to get ready and she did everything she could to accommodate us. This is our first experience at renting house and it was awesome

  • Review Submitted: 24/04/2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great very pleased

  • 5 of 5

Wanted to get away not far from Phoenix. It was exactly what I wanted. Never hiked before. Loved it

  • Review Submitted: 03/04/2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy to hear you had a good time at the cabin and the weather was perfect for hiking. Come back and stay with us again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A great family get away!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful experience at this cabin for our family vacation! I would highly recommend it. Easy booking process, kind and professional, clean, well stocked, and beautiful property! Very impressed, and we will be back!

  • Review Submitted: 02/04/2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words, we are happy to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time. We look forward to having you all back.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Beautiful Home, Beautiful views!

  • 4 of 5

This property is fantastic! Sheri was super friendly and had all the answers we needed. The home is cozy and comfortable, except for ONE exception, which is unfortunately a big one. The showers have VERY poor water pressure, and almost NO Hot Water! It seems like a small thing, but the reality is, when it is cold outside, getting into a lukewarm shower (or having to wait 5 minutes for the water to heat up in ANY faucet) is almost ruinous to what would have otherwise been a perfect stay! Standing in a shower, shivering, with the hot water all the way over is not fun! I am not sure if the hot water heater is set too low for the temperature of Strawberry (meaning it might lose some heat in a cold pipe), or if there is an issue with the shower faucets themselves (as the hot water in the sinks is warmer than the showers, but still not HOT). Otherwise, this place is well-stocked, well-decorated, and has possibly the BEST view of the valley that runs along Fossil Creek road. We have already discussed coming back in the near future. I would have loved to give this place a 5-star review, but the hot water is a tangible, constant discomfort.

  • Review Submitted: 30/03/2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh man Brian and I are so sorry to hear that the water issue is happening. We thought we had fixed it. So we have turned up the Hot water tank more to hopefully resolve this issue. It is a new tank as of last September. We have asked Sheri to check the water temperature on her next cleaning. Hoping for good results.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing cabin in the woods

  • 5 of 5

I hesitate to tell everyone how nice this home is as I hope to be back for another visit soon and worry it won't be available. But here is the truth...this home was wonderful. All our needs were anticipated and then some. The owners were wonderful to work with. I have stayed at several different properties around the country and this home is my favorite. Thank you for a wonderful vacation. Looking forward to visiting again soon.

  • Review Submitted: 29/03/2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words, Brian and I are so happy when guests enjoy our cabin as much as we do. We look forward to having you and your family back.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Pine is only 3 miles away and has a lot of locally owned shops. There is antiquing, art stores and much more. There are a lot of great hiking and biking trails nearby. Visit the Mogollon rim and check out really amazing views. Tonto Natural bridge is also close. There is horseback riding and a creamery nearby that makes cheese and fudge from goat milk. A lot to do here and the weather is generally very nice.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday cabin in Strawberry

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
summer Non-Holiday
2 Apr 2018 - 24 May 2018
2 night minimum stay
AU$211
From
AU$251
Fri,Sat,Sun
AU$1,268
AU$4,492
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add AU$20 per night, per additional guest
 
Memorial Day Weekend
25 May 2018 - 29 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
AU$264
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add AU$20 per night, per additional guest
 
summer Non-Holiday
30 May 2018 - 30 Jun 2018
2 night minimum stay
AU$211
From
AU$251
Fri,Sat,Sun
AU$1,268
AU$4,492
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add AU$20 per night, per additional guest
 
July 4th Weekend
1 Jul 2018 - 4 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
AU$264
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add AU$20 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer Non-Holiday
5 Jul 2018 - 30 Aug 2018
2 night minimum stay
AU$211
From
AU$251
Fri,Sat,Sun
AU$1,268
AU$4,492
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add AU$20 per night, per additional guest
 
Labor Day weekend
31 Aug 2018 - 4 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
AU$264
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add AU$20 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer Non-Holiday
5 Sep 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
2 night minimum stay
AU$211
From
AU$251
Fri,Sat,Sun
AU$1,268
AU$4,492
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add AU$20 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter Non-Holiday
1 Oct 2018 - 20 Nov 2018
2 night minimum stay
AU$185
From
AU$225
Fri,Sat
AU$1,057
AU$3,700
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add AU$20 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving 2018
21 Nov 2018 - 24 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
AU$264
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add AU$20 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter Non-Holiday 2018
25 Nov 2018 - 23 Dec 2018
2 night minimum stay
AU$185
From
AU$225
Fri,Sat
AU$1,057
AU$3,700
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add AU$20 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas 2018
24 Dec 2018 - 26 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
AU$264
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add AU$20 per night, per additional guest
 
winter Non-Holiday
27 Dec 2018 - 29 Dec 2018
2 night minimum stay
AU$185
From
AU$225
Fri,Sat
AU$1,057
AU$3,700
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add AU$20 per night, per additional guest
 
New Years 2018
30 Dec 2018 - 2 Jan 2019
3 night minimum stay
AU$264
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add AU$20 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter Non-Holiday
3 Jan 2019 - 31 Mar 2019
2 night minimum stay
AU$185
From
AU$225
Fri,Sat
AU$1,057
AU$3,700
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add AU$20 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
AU$211
From
AU$244
Fri,Sat,Sun
AU$1,268
AU$4,492
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add AU$20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee AU$132.13
Pet Fee AU$33.03
Tax Rate 6.6%

Book a week save up to $250. No inquiry is confirmed until paid in full. Pets are welcome with a $25.00 fee for 2 pets. Add $10.00 per pet over two. Please NO pets upstairs on the carpet. Minimum stay is 2 nights. Cleaning fee is $100; over 6 guests add $15 per night per additional guest. Additional guest(s)fee, Cleaning fee and pet fee are also charged on Holiday stays. **A refundable $500.00 damage deposit in the form of a check is required at time of check in.
* Security/Damage Deposit is Refundable When: No damage is caused to the cabin or property, the cabin is left clean and orderly, which means NO Excessive Cleaning would be needed, and the correct number of guests and pets have been disclosed.
Check in time varies and checkout is 11am. Please pay thru VRBO

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if cancelled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if cancelled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

Other Holiday Properties