Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon


Bedrooms 4
Space 106 m²
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

Cozy Chalet for Snowtime Sports and All Season Fun at Big Powderhorn Mountain



Located about a mile North of US Hwy 2 between Ironwood & Bessemer in Michigan’s Western Upper Peninsula, WALDHEIN is the green and yellow CHALET at Creekside Trail on Powderhorn Road. Our winding driveway accesses both roads so parking is ample for trailers, RV's or multi vehicles.

Its a two level Chalet with three bedrooms (1Queen, 2 Full size beds) and a balcony bedroom (with 2 Twin size beds), two baths (one on each level), and a full kitchen. Linens and most bath necessities are provided. You can enjoy DVD/VCR on the TV, Cable TV and WiFi in the Snow season (optional during Spring, Summer and Fall), CD Stereo and a wood burning fireplace in the Living Room.



Waldhein Chalet at Big Powderhorn Mountain is only 1200 ft from Chair lift #1 for great Alpine Skiing or Boarding;, you can snowmobile out the driveway with direct access to WI/MI TRAIL # 2 (no need to trailer your sleds), CC skiers can pole across the road for local Nordic, and you're in close proximity to the 26 KM Wolverine Nordic Trail; for skiing & boarding variety, you're only minutes from Blackjack and Indianhead Mountains. If you just want to stay in the Big Powderhorn area for your Snow Time visit, and leave your cars in the driveway, there is a shuttle that travels to/from the Mountain Lodge or to and between the bars and restaurants. It will even stop at the Gifts & Brews Shop for convenient food, wine, beer and snack shopping at the Caribou Lodge.

No matter what Season you are a guest with us, we provide linens, towels, most bath necessities, a full kitchen with about everything you'll need to cook, serve and clean up. You provide what you want to eat and drink, plus bring charcoal and lighter if you plan to use the outside grill. And, of course, there's plenty of firewood to add to the crackling fireplace (see comments in Amenities Section) for a cozy evening after whatever you do during the day.


Set back in the tree colors of the season, our two level chalet has front decks on the main and upper level and a side deck with charcoal grill.

Ride in/ride out access is usually available for 100 plus miles of ATV fun on WI/MI TRAIL # 2, and we're in close proximity to the 26 Km Wolverine Mountain Bike Trails.

We’re only minutes from Copper Peak and the Black River Harbor on Lake Superior. Be sure to stop and see the waterfalls along the way down Black River Road which is also one of the most scenic Fall Color by ways anywhere.

For the active Spring thru Fall vacationer, within a five mile radius there's golfing (two public courses,), boating, fishing, hunting, hiking, biking, climbing, ATVing, if its an outdoor activity you'll probably find it here.

Or you can just sit on the deck and enjoy the scenery, sunshine, fresh mountain air and you may even hear the mountain stream that flows along the property into Powdermill Creek. Grill on the deck or enjoy one of the many Up North bars/restaurants if you want an evening out.


More Details


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet rental in Bessemer, Michigan

Property Type:
  • chalet
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 106 m²
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • SOAP, SHAMPOO, FACE AND TOILET TISSUE PROVIDED. FACE, HAND AND BATH TOWELS-1 set per person per day provided, also.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double bed , 1 cot , BABY CRIB IN CLOSET ASK FOR SET UP
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double bed
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Indoor Pool
  • Sauna ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • ski
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting


Very Good! 4/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

50% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
average rating of 4.0 based on 6 reviews
Palos Heights, IL

Great Family Skiing and Snowmobile Trip

  • 5 of 5

My family of five enjoyed the chalet over the New Years week. The house is very clean, well stocked, warm and cozy (despite -40 wind chills some nights). Jim was great to work with and the instructions for access and the house were great. The location is fantastic - a short drive from the beautifully rebuilt Powderhorn resort, the snowmobile trail is just across Hwy 2 and close to Ironwood and Bessemer. We alternated between snowmobiling and skiing for the week. I was able to easily get my 27' trailer in and out of the loop driveway even with a foot of snow falling during our stay. I have been coming to the area since the 1980s to ski and the chalet is now our go-to lodging choice. Thanks Jim.

  • Review Submitted: 16/01/2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great cabin

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our week in Waldhein cabin. The creek running right through the property is really pretty, and was a nice activity itself for our boys. Cabin is located very close to Powderhorn main lodge; one day we even walked/ran there. Neat and well-kept. Well-functioning. Attractive and comfortable.

  • Review Submitted: 05/04/2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Worked well for family ski trip

  • 4 of 5

We stayed over spring break and skied big powder horn which is just down the road a skip and a jump. Chalet work great for my family of 5. It was just as described.... nice to have bedding and towels taken care of.

  • Review Submitted: 19/03/2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Property is exactly as advertised and met our expectations.

  • 5 of 5

Property is exactly as advertised and met our expectations. Definitely will stay again the next time we are in the area.

  • Review Submitted: 08/11/2016
  • Date of Stay: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Muskego, WI

Lovely Time at Waldhein Chalet

  • 4 of 5

We spent a long weekend at the Waldhein Chalet and it was perfect. We loved the location. Big Powderhorn Mountain was just a short drive up the road (less than 5 minutes). There was plenty of room for our family of 4 and it definitely would have comfortably fit another family of 4. It had all the amenities needed for a weekend away. The house was clean and we loved all of the little ski decorations found around the house. The owner was very accommodating. We didn't have any trouble with the plumbing, as described in a previous review. We also enjoyed cozying up to the fireplace once we got home from our days out on the slopes. We would definitely recommend the property to a friend or relative. And we would stay there again ourselves. We had a great time!

  • Review Submitted: 28/01/2016
  • Date of Stay: January 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Madison, WI, USA

Owner kept deposit (+) due to backed up plumbing - nightmare situation!

  • 1 of 5

Upon completing rental agreement with owner, he informed us the fireplace wasn't working. When I asked for compensation, he offered $ off for a 2016 stay. Guess what, when we arrived we saw a for sale sign, likely he will not own it next year. Listing said firewood was provided. Our last night (Sat) we used some provided firewood to make a small simple (no fire starter) outdoor fire. The owners property mgr. stopped by, walked directly past the fire and made NO mention of the fire. Owner kept deposit (+) to cover cost of firewood and fire clean up. While clearing the area of fire remnants, the provided small, light weight plastic shovel cracked. I agreed to pay for this, but recommended he get a shovel for UP winters. One normal snow fall and plow (provided in the listing) would absolutely negate the presence of our fire. Here's where the real nightmare starts. Later Saturday evening, the downstairs toilet overflowed and upon plunging, it backed up into the bathtub. This also caused the kitchen sink to clog and drain slowly. Use of the upstairs toilet and faucet made the downstairs plumbing rumble - for lack of a better word. At this point I told all guests NOT to use the water at all as I didn't want a plumbing issue upstairs as well. Nothing out of the ordinary was flushed. Owner said the plumbing issue was a result of tampons being flushed. 2 to 3 flushable tampons were flushed. Nowhere did it say not to flush tampons. From then on, we went to the bathroom outside in the cold. Many of us didn't take a shower while there, as we had planned to do so the last night. I called the owner to inform him of the situation. 45 min later he called back to not have a plumber for us until the next morning. We left at 11am the next morning without a plumber ever showing up. 2 showers were taken the entire time we were there. Not only was I expecting full return of the security deposit but also 1/2 night free for the major inconvenience of faulty plumbing. Instead, owner is charging me (keeping deposit) to cover cost of plumber! I have VRBO'd throughout the country - all wonderful experiences. I have never written a bad review for anything and have never not received back a full security deposit. The owners attempts to gouge me for owner related costs is truly shocking and unprofessional.

  • Review Submitted: 18/03/2015
  • Date of Stay: February 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Fortunately, in the 25 years I have been offering my chalet for vacation rental I have not experienced a guest such as this one that listed the complaint. Nor have I ever had the need to withhold a security or damage deposit from any of the hundreds of guests I’ve had in that time, other than this one. I’ll finish my response with saying that I have two regrets concerning this rental, first that I accepted it, and, secondly, that the damage deposit wasn’t much larger. Please consider joining the long list of Rental Guests that have become return customers over the years, because they really liked everything about their stay at Waldhein Chalet. I know you’ll enjoy yours, also. Thanks Jim B, Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Member since: 2014
Speaks english
Response time
Within an hour
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
12 February, 2018


Nearest Airport
4 Miles
Gogebic-Iron County Airport, Ironwood, MI
Nearest Barpub
Take shuttle in Snow Season, local all year
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
US Hwy 2
Nearest Ski
at Big Powderhorn Mtn., 2 others within minutes
Nearest Beach
12 Miles
Black River Harbor on Lake Superior

Winter, Spring, Summer or Fall, if you like outdoor activities and sports, you'll probably find it in this area. Fantastic for Fall Color scenic drives; view the Waterfalls in Spring; Black River Harbor on Lake Superior or Boulder Creek Golf Course in Summer; Nordic & Alpine Skiing or Boarding and hundreds of miles of snowmobile trails in Winter


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday chalet in Bessemer, Michigan

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Peak Season President Holiday
16 Feb 2018 - 19 Feb 2018
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add AU$32 per night, per additional guest
Peak Season (Snow Time)
20 Feb 2018 - 9 Apr 2018
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add AU$32 per night, per additional guest
Standard Holiday 4th of July
29 Jun 2018 - 5 Jul 2018
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add AU$19 per night, per additional guest
Peak Season (Snow Time)
21 Nov 2018 - 20 Dec 2018
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add AU$32 per night, per additional guest
Peak Season Christmas Holiday
21 Dec 2018 - 2 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add AU$32 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add AU$19 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit AU$316.15
Tax Rate 11.0%

Occupancy limited to Guests registered to maximum of 8 guests at any time. Names of all Guests, address of paying Guest and description of all vehicles to be used during stay will be required prior to receipt of Arrival Day access and other information.
Guests responsible for any damage, loss, injury or unusual maintenance and cleaning expense.. $100.00 will be charged by owner for Reservation Cancellations or changes at any time plus VRBO may have a Fee, also. Cancellations within 60 days prior to the reserved arrival date (90 days for Holidays) will forfeit all funds paid. Check-in 4:00 pm. Check-out 11:00 am. Minimum $50 Fee for early check in or late check out, if available, will be deducted from Security Deposit. Please request at time of making your Reservation. Cable TV/WiFi Service are Optional during Standard Rate & Standard Holiday Periods. Please request it at time of making your Reservation. A Fee applies. No pets are allowed without prior approval and Fees apply if accepted.. No smoking.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if cancelled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner