Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Fun Family Retreat Or Relaxing Getaway On Lake Amelia!!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, 8 Sleeps

Our newly remodeled Lake Amelia cabin is available Sundays through Fridays (weekends may be available)and will offer you a spectacular view of this wonderful lake and all that it has to offer. Located in a protected bay perfect for all things recreational. We are located 14 miles south of Alexandria and 5 miles north of Glenwood. Bedroom 1 has a queen bed, bunk beds, closet and dresser. The second bedroom has a full size bed, closet and dresser. Both rooms have floorspace for extra sleeping. A futon in the living area provides a full size sleeping area as well. There is a pack'n'play available for a small child. The kitchen and living room are open to each other and offer a homey feel. The flatscreen T.V. has Direct T.V., DVD player and Xbox 360 attached. Wireless internet is also provided. A washer/dryer and 2nd refrigerator are available. All bedding and towels are provided. The lakeside french doors open to a huge pergola covered deck that provides an area for relaxing and grilling. A Weber gas grill is provided. Enjoy a nap in the two person hammock. The 100 feet of sandy beach perfect for sandcastle building is only a few easy steps from the deck. We have a great open green area perfect for volleyball, badminton, croquet, bean bags, bolo, frisbee or playing catch. We have all of those games available on request. There is a 4X8 chain link dog kennel with attached insulated house for pets. Lake Amelia is exceptionally clean and clear and free from invasive species. Spend your days fishing, swimming, kayaking or just floating! We provide two double kayaks, a floating swim platform, hammock, playset, two picnic tables and a large wooden swing for your enjoyment. Contact us for full weekend availability. The rental cabin is attached to a larger addition that we use personally. It remains locked and unoccupied during reservations.


Owner
Jason or Lisa Sherman
Member since: 2014
Speaks english
Response time
Within 2 days
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
17 August, 2017

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin rental in Villard

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 1:00 PM / Check-out: 2:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed , 1 bunk bed , Floorspace for an airbed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double bed , Floorspace for an air mattress
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • boating
  • horse riding
  • miniature golf
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • ski
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

76% Complete
23% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Fun Family Retreat Or Relaxing Getaway On Lake Amelia!!
average rating of 4.769231 based on 13 reviews
Racine, WI
5

Nice cabin

  • 5 of 5

Nice spot on one of the best lakes in the area. Faces west for sunsets. Plenty of toys and games for kids.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We couldn't agree more! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the lake and hope you made some great memories.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Minnesota
4

Great Location and Outdoor Space

  • 4 of 5

We just spent the week at this property and were impressed with the outdoor space and beautiful views of Lake Amelia. The items such as the raft, lily pad, kayaks, toys, and playset were a huge plus for this property. Inside everything was clean and the owners supplied about everything we needed save for food itself. They even left a bag of coffee beans which we loved!

There were a few things that could be improved as well. The wifi was rather spotty while we were there, ranging from "great" to "can't even load a web page". Keep in mind if you were planning to watch Netflix at all during your stay! Also, while bathroom washcloths and towels were supplied, they were old and had a musty smell to them as they had outlived their useful life. Would recommend the owner swap out for a new set. Similarly, some of the bedding had holes and stains and could use replacement.

The other negative to the property was the lack of functional space inside the property. While there was a lot of sleeping space, the rooms were not very functional. You could not open the door all of the way in the bedroom with the queen bed and it was difficult to get into the bed because it was sandwiched between the wall and the bunk beds. In the other bedroom, the full bed was also against the wall due to the size of the small room. We also would have liked to see a different furniture set up in the main living space as there was no indoor eating space or table. They did have a folding table we ended up fitting into the back corner of the unit, but it was not very comfortable or functional for meals with our toddler, who would not have fared very well on the outdoor eating area either.

Overall it was a great stay and would recommend, but want others to avoid the surprises we came across.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

We really enjoyed the cabin and lake property. The cabin was very clean and well supplied.

  • 4 of 5

Great place to stay

  • Review Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you again for choosing our property to vacation at the lake. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! Our renters have been great and you guys were no different:)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great family getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Everything about this place was perfect! Beach for swimming was awesome! Kids spent all day on the swim raft and the foam lilly pad! Cabin was great! Patio was great for hanging out and eating all our meals! Owners went above and beyond to help us out! We definatly will be back next year! And a bonus we had some pretty awesome fishing the week we were there too!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad to hear you had good luck fishing! We are always excited to have kids staying at the lake making lifelong memories. We love to have return renters:)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Relaxing retreat for the entire family

  • 4 of 5

We just loved staying here! The views were amazing. Loved watching the kids play and jump off the dock or kayak. Very relaxing and quiet. There was plenty to do both inside and out. Lots of board games and an Xbox for the teens.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. We are glad that you had a good time at the lake and found all the extras that are there for your enjoyment. We hope to see you back sometime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Just wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

This is the best secret on Lake Amelia... the cabin is beautiful, comfortable, clean, the outside is perfect, we had the best week ever, weather was nice and the fishing was out of this world according to both my Dad and niece. Lisa was great, answered all my questions about the cabin before hand. Of course we took and posted several pictures of the lake and I have had several people already asking about the property. I gave them all the information. We drove into Glenwood a few times for ice and bait, nice little town.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Koreen, We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and can't tell you how much we appreciate your recommendation to friends. It is such a special place for us and we love to share it with others who are up for making great family memories. You are welcome back anytime! Lisa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Glenwood Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
The Office
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Minnewaska
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Lakeside or Duffy's
Nearest Beach
20 Metres
Ours
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee A$126.2

No Smoking and no pets in the cabin. This is regularly a Sunday through Friday rental. We will update weekend availability often. Weekends may be available by contacting seller.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.