Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Whisperwind Cabin - Peaceful and Pleasant

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,100 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

One level furnished 2 bed/ 2 bath, Hot tub, WiFi, Non-smoking. Pet Friendly.

Perfect for 2 couples or small family. Convenient location, yet gives the feeling of being remote and secluded. Completely furnished, single level 2 bedroom/2 bath cabin - cozy way to spend your free time in peaceful wooded setting with easy access. Rear bedroom has a hand made cedar log King size bed with attached complete bathroom, front bedroom at the end of the hallway the other side of open living area allows for privacy - - just steps from door of second complete bathroom. Quality leather queen size sleeper sofa in the living room and Gas log fireplace. Outdoors: choice of charcoal grill (bring charcoal and fire starter) or gas grill on the deck (much covered) which wraps three sides of the cabin. Seating: Dining table with 4 chairs and a bench, 2 stools at the kitchen counter, table and chairs on the nook of back deck, behind cabin: picnic table and benches near fire pit. Enjoy coffee from porch: listen to birds or watch for wildlife. Large yard surrounds cabin in wooded setting. Ladder ball game and horse shoe pit for outdoor fun. Also Hot tub and comfortable chairs.

Full size washer and dryer in Utility closet. Modern kitchen has appliances and cookware so meals can be prepared and served.

HDTV in the living room and master bedroom - both have cable service and DVD attached so the family can enjoy movies and keep up with their programs. No smoking inside cabin.

Pull into the circle drive, walk in the door to a pleasant welcome -- wonderful, comfortable, restful place to relax, away from the stress of everyday life and leave with lifelong memories to treasure. Excellent location for Cedar Creek Golf Course, Beavers Bend State Park, ATV trails, fishing and hunting. Located within minutes of Hochatown -- restaurants, gift shops, and activities. A short drive to Broken Bow for Wal Mart, Pruetts Grocery Store, and popular fast food chains. One of the main attractions of the area is Broken Bow Lake for fishing, boating, and other water sports. Whisperwind is a great place to spend family time. Childern and adults who enjoy the outdooors will love Whisperwind Cabin. • Hard wood floors and Ceiling fans throughout. Pet Friendly with 10x10 dog kennel - chain on gate for security - bring a lock if desired. No cats. Include list adults and contact information. All guests must be registered.

Call for more instructions on operation of any appliance -- a short conversation should be able to solve any problem. Wall switches are labeled, contact information, notes are posted with detail operating instructions for appliances. Bring clothes, food, and shampoo.

You will feel at home in our comfortable and peaceful cabin in the woods. Maximum number of occupants is 6 (includes children).

This is a rental cabin - not a hotel/motel -- no daily maid or room service during stay --keep things neat during your stay and collect all personal belongings when you leave.

More Details

Gerald & Mary Jane Roseberry
Member since: 2014
Speaks english
Response time
Within an hour
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
22 July, 2018

About Gerald & Mary Jane Roseberry

We live in Texas - about 100 miles from Whisperwind Cabin. During younger years, many trips were made to Beavers Bend area to enjoy river, lake, national forest, and mountains. We love the cabin, the grounds, and area -- even our Chocolate Lab 'Cocoa' gets excited when she realizes we are close to Whisperwind Cabin. We love the outdoors - have done a lot of camping - tent first then camper --staying in the cabin is so much better -- more comfortable in every way.

I pay attention to the reviews from my guests - want everyone who makes the choice to stay at our cabin to be comfortable.

Gerald & Mary Jane Roseberry purchased this cabin in 2011

Why Gerald & Mary Jane Roseberry chose Broken Bow

Whisperwind Cabin is just off the highway - yet gives the feeling of being in the woods. A feeling of peace and quiet comes so easy when sitting in the hot tub --can just relax and listen to the birds. The location of Whisperwind - with just a few other cabins on the short private road - each on about an acre lot --means there is limited dust because of low traffic. This is a quiet rural area -- a place to rest and relax - get back to nature - away from the rat race -comfortable for up to 6 adults. Wild life can sometimes be spotted when sitting quietly on the deck.

What makes this cabin unique

Short distance from the main highway makes it easy to make a quick trip to Hochatown for forgotten supplies or visit a restaurant. Wood panel on back deck provides privacy while sitting in the Hot tub - which has a view of the picnic area behind the cabin so that children can be observed while they roast marshmallows or play a game of ladder ball or horse shoes --allowing both children and their parents to feel a sense of freedom. Cedar Creek Golf Course is at just minutes away.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We planned this vacation to celebrate husband's birthday.

We have never been to this area before. The cabin was beautiful.

The grounds were lovely. We will be returning with our friends.

Thank you for this homey place.
Oct 2014
  • 1 of 11


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin rental in Broken Bow

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • $100 fee will be imposed for tampering with electronic equipment. Do not unhook, disconnect any electronic equipment. Use available HDMI slots only.
  • No refunds because of weather, late arrival, early departure. Reservation blocks calendar. We suggest trip insurance. Collect personal items.
  • Supervise pets or crate. Dogs must be freshly groomed, current on rabbies vaccine, flea/tick free. Keep of furniture. Fee if excessive cleaning.
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , bath with shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower
  • Full bathroom in rear of cabin has private entrance from Master Bedroom, full bathroom in front hallway is adjacent to the front bedroom. Both bathrooms have guest soap, a blow dryer, and plenty of towels.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 extra lg. double bed
    Other Bedroom - 1 large double bed
  • King size bed in Master bedroom in rear of cabin, Front bedroom has a queen size bed. Queen size sofa sleeper in living room. Comfortably sleep 6 adults. There is not room for more bed space.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Check in time 3:00 p.m.- check out 11:00 a.m. Hardwood floors are throughout the inside of Whisperwind Cabin with scatter rugs in every room. Cabin will only sleep 6 adults - please do not plan for more. We do not want to overcrowd - and do not book for parties. It is a quiet area.


Exceptional! 5/5 -
(134 traveller reviews)

96% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Whisperwind Cabin - Peaceful and Pleasant
average rating of 4.955224 based on 145 reviews

Comfortable and beautiful

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was perfect for our family of three. They have everything you need and we enjoyed the games in the evening. Close to everything and easy to find. We would highly recommend this cabin.

  • Review Submitted: 16/06/2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the 5 star rating and the wonderful review. We are so glad your family enjoyed this stay. Thank you for the recommendation. Please check our calendar when you begin to plan another trip to Beavers Bend area. We would love to book Whisperwind for you anytime. Thank you, Mary Jane
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very nice and accommodating

  • 5 of 5

The Whisperwind cabin is very nice and accommodating. The location is accessible and private.

  • Review Submitted: 16/07/2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the 5 star rating and the wonderful review turned in so quickly. We welcome you to come again. Please check our calendar when making plans to visit Beavers Bend area again. Thank you, Mary Jane
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Everything you'll need for a nice stay!

  • 5 of 5

This is a nice little cabin! When I say little, it's actually plenty big! Nice big kitchen, living room, dining room, huge porches and huge back deck! Two nice full bathrooms. The bed in the front room wasn't as comfortable as I'd hoped but it was fine.Great amenities. Lots of towels and extra bedding including extra pillows. Kitchen is stocked with all you will need to cook your favorites, or don't cook, just sit in the roomy hot tub instead! Nice washer/dryer so pack less! Plenty of firewood for the firepit out back; we didn't have a fire because it was too hot outside already, but we could've easily! Mary, the owner, checked on us when she was alerted that the electricity had gone off. There was a quick moving storm but the electricity came back on quickly! There were directions on the fridge on how to call the proper electric company etc! The cabin is close to everything! We enjoyed margaritas, fried pickles and onion rings on the deck at Shuck Me! Winearitas at Girls Gone Wine! Shopped at Janet's Treasure Chest and Pruetts Grocery store and WalMart, note minimal groceries at Walmart but still other deals there. Went to the lake several times as it is an extremely close drive from the cabin! If you have kids with you there's gokarts and putt putt golf in a couple of locations nearby, also a zipline! Overall, nice stay, affordable, with anything you would need to have fun!

  • Review Submitted: 06/07/2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the 5 star rating and the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed the stay. We want every guest to be comfortable and satisfied. There are often power glitches, but the electric company responds to calls and tries to get service restored promptly. The Wal Mart in Broken Bow does not have a large selection for groceries - Pruetts has more plus a very good deli. Keep Whisperwind Cabin in mind - check our calendar when planning another trip to the area. We would love for you to make our place your home base. Thank you, Mary Jane
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

With 3 kids, we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay on our vacation. We had a short drive to all the attractions and we were actually wishing we could stay longer. Thank you for making it vacation for the parents too!

  • Review Submitted: 22/06/2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the 5 star rating and wonderful review. We are glad your family enjoyed the stay at Whisperwind Cabin. Check our calendar when making plans to visit Beavers Bend in the future. We would love to book you again. Thank you, Mary Jane
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We loved our stay!

  • 5 of 5

This cabin was beautiful and perfect for our little family. We were very impressed with how well maintained the cabin was and the inside was amazing for the price point. The fire pit in the back was perfect for smores and the hot tub was great for relaxing in. There were no questions about how things worked as the owners clearly labeled everything as well as had everything you may have questions about already answered on the VRBO app. They even warned about chiggers - which we ended up getting, but it was our fault for not putting on the bug spray sooner! When we go back to this area, I would most definitely stay here again. Thank you for sharing your beautiful property with us!

  • Review Submitted: 21/06/2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the 5 star rating and the wonderful review. We are so glad everyone enjoyed the time spent at Whisperwind. We would love to have you come again. Check our calendar when you begin to make your plans to visit Beavers Bend area. Thank you for coming. Mary Jane
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Stay at cabin in hochatown

  • 5 of 5

Very good

  • Review Submitted: 03/06/2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Texarkana, TX
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Abendigo's Grill & Patio
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Cedar Creek Golf Course
Nearest Train
100 Miles
Amtrak Train Texarkana
Nearest Motorway
0.25 Miles
Highway 259
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Grateful Head Pizza & Blue Rooster Southern Table
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Beavers Bend State Park
Car: necessary

Only half a mile from Ouachita National Forest.

Fish year round for trout in Mountain Fork River. Broken Bow Lake has deep clear water. Several museums in Broken Bow (12 miles). It is a wonderful place for a peaceful get-away --not a place for a large group or a loud party. Whisperwind is one of 6 cabins on a short road in a wooded area, wonderful place to 'get away from it all' and relax.

There are good restaurants just minutes from Whisperwind Cabin in Hochatown and more in Broken Bow (12 miles) and Idabel -- also the chain fast food spots. For shoppping, WalMart in both Broken Bow and Idabel as well as special shops found only in the area. Please, before walking out the door, make a final check - to be sure nothing is left behind.

We try to keep well stocked and everything in working order - appreciate responsible guests.


Rates & Availability

Contact Owner

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee AU$40.44

Balance due 3 weeks before check in.
If booking cancelled within 60 days of date expected, there will be no refund.
We do not give refunds due to weather or early departure. Must call to cancel.
Travel insurance is advised for your protection of unexpected reasons to cancel your trip.
In case of an emergency, will consider moving reservation to another date - within 60 days,
without an extra charge to do that - if a date is available.
Pet fee: $30. No weight or age limit on your dog. Maximum of 2 dogs per reservation.
There is a 10x10x6 pen on grounds - chain on gate - can bring a padlock if desired - or
bring a crate for a dog to be fastened in if intend to leave inside cabin while going out.
Even dogs that behave well at home may act out if left alone in a strange place. No cats.
Maximum of 6 adults for comfort and avoid over crowding.
No smoking at any time inside cabin.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if cancelled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.