Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Legoe Bay Beach House on the Water

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,500 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

4 Bd/3 Bath Waterfront Perched On The Waters Edge With Private Beach

This is one of Lummi Island's finest vacation rental homes. 2500 sq ft home built on the waters edge with 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. Bedrooms have decks directly over the water. 250' of private pebble beach perfect for finding agates and other colorful stones. Beautiful Rosario Strait views from every window in the house.

Walk through 3D Tour of Marina House - link posted below - "Take a tour!"

Marina House includes a gazebo leading to your boat dock and a separate boat launch. Regulation bocce court, fire pit, and extensive decks on property.

Marina House is the on the shoreside of Village Point Marina, which also includes award winning Legoe Bay Winery, The Silly Goose, Heartwood Joinery, and Grace Cottage. Village Point Marina also hosts various events and festivals throughout the year.

More Details

Amy Shintaffer
Member since: 2014
Speaks english
Response time
Within an hour
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
19 July, 2018

About Amy Shintaffer

House is owned by a local family.

Amy Shintaffer purchased this house in 2014

Why Amy Shintaffer chose Lummi Island

Steeped in history. This property was once a bustling Marina used by fishermen throughout the area. The home was a restaurant supporting the Marina for many years. Since being renovated into a home, it has retained the waterfront charm of its history adding the amenities necessary to pamper its guests.

You will find local historical photos throughout the home. The original marina warehouse is owned along with the Marina House and other rental cottages.

There is also an award winning Legoe Bay Winery an internationally acclaimed Heartwood Joinery on the property.

What makes this house unique

The ability to arrive on Lummi Island via a 10 minute ferry ride from the mainland allows easy access but still the tranquil feeling of being far away from anything stressful. The speed limit on the Island is 25, most drive slower, or more often bike ride or walk. Everyone waves and is always friendly. The Island population is around 800 residents. Come here to unwind and relax. If you want to venture out for a bite there are a few places to pick up some great food including The Beach Store Cafe, a boutique grocery store, a small coffee shop and sandwich shop, and the Sauseburger Stand.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Lummi Island, Washington

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath (no shower) , shower enclosure , Master Bath
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , bath with shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , bath with shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 extra lg. double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 single bed , Trundle bed can be made into a full or two twins
    Bedroom 2 - 1 extra lg. double bed
    Optional in living room - 1 sofa bed/futon
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • swimming


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(18 traveller reviews)

77% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Legoe Bay Beach House on the Water
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 18 reviews
Sedro-Woolley, WA 98284

A special place to make a special memories

  • 5 of 5

A very well appointed kitchen, very comfortable, and a gorgeous view,

  • Review Submitted: 02/01/2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Friends Fall Getaway

  • 2 of 5

We took a group of friends on a fall getaway and thought this would be the ideal place - it was! Location was awesome and the ferry was easy to navigate. Local hiking and overall exploring of the island was easy too. Despite a REALLY leaky dining room and less than complete cleaning job prior to our arrival, the house was gorgeous. The views were amazing! Unfortunately the owners weren't very pleasant and despite the property being left in perfect condition, accused us of damage. We're a group of 30-something professionals and have rented numerous properties together without any troubles. The owners' upfront warning of "don't ruin this vacation house" for future guest was really unnecessary and insulting. Lummi Island offers lots of rental properties, we'll spend our vacation funds elsewhere next time.

  • Review Submitted: 11/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is our personal home and we utilize VRBO guests to defer some of the costs of ownership. For this reason, care of the home comes before desire to earn income, thus the small guest limit for a large property. This reservation started with an inaccurate headcount, over our maximum guests allowed. Once the reservation was made we were notified (not asked) that more guests would be staying. We adjusted the headcount and rate accordingly. We were then informed, again, that an additional guest would be staying. We communicated we would allow the additional, over-the-limit guest, but "Please ensure the home is left in good order and don't give us cause to regret our exception as we make the 6 person capacity for the enjoyment of the guests and ability of the home to support 6 guests" The constantly changing reservation was now at 9. We felt we were being very accommodating. We should have stuck to the head count limit. We will stick to our guest limit in the future as our decision to push the limit was a poor choice. After check-out we found multiple issues: Damaged sheets, pillowcases, bed cover and a new stain on the couch. We deducted $100 from the damage deposit thinking this was only a small factor of the actual damage but should withhold something. The dining room water intrusion occurred because of a high wind/rain storm and a natural byproduct, unfortunately, of living on the water's edge. To this end a contractor is onsite resealing the windows and doors in that area and the problem has been resolved. We're sorry, but weather happens and repairs are occasionally necessary. The PNW is a wonderful place to live, but living on the water's edge requires work at times. Fix accomplished.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Absolutely loved your gorgeous home, the layout was perfect for our family, the view, the amenities!

  • 5 of 5

Fabulous time with family creating many memories at your lovely home! Perfect location and the layout is great for family meals together, playing games and spending many hours outdoors on the beach! Thank you for sharing your amazing vacation home!

  • Review Submitted: 22/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lummi Island Gem

  • 4 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this beautiful vacation home. The setting was spectacular, lending itself to a peaceful and relaxing vacation. We were very happy with the large kitchen (we did a lot of cooking as there's limited dining options on the island) and cozy common area. The beds were very comfortable. The only drawback to the house was a lack of washer and dryer (would have been nice to dry wet towels from the hot tub), Lummi Island is a perfect place for a quiet get-away.

  • Review Submitted: 21/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Los Angeles, California

The house is beautiful and well appointed and the location is incredible.

  • 5 of 5

We loved staying at this property. It was extremely comfortable for 6 people. The beds and linens were comfortable. But the best thing is the views from all over the house and the outside areas where you can take in the peace and tranquility. The jacuzzi was a super treat as you can gaze at the water while in the tub. The ferry ride is short and the house is close to the ferry. There is very little dining (open Friday to Sunday) and only a small market on the island, so be sure to bring groceries from the mainland. The kitchen is well equipped so you will have no problem cooking in the beautiful and modern kitchen. I recommend this property highly.

  • Review Submitted: 04/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Family gathering on Lummi Is

  • 4 of 5

Absolutely beautiful, we had a great time, had family members from all over the USA, they got to see the PNW at its best. The kitchen is very well appointed and was great for family meals. I love Lummi because the ferry is so convenient for traveling back and forth.

  • Review Submitted: 27/06/2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
14.2 Miles
Bellingham International Airport
Nearest Ferry
1.8 Miles
Lummi Island Ferry
Nearest Golf
18.4 Miles
North Bellingham Golf Course
Nearest Train
24.1 Miles
Bellingham Amtrak
Nearest Motorway
13.1 Miles
Interstate 5
Nearest Restaurant
1.8 Miles
The Willows Inn, Beach Store Cafe, Taproot Cafe
Nearest Ski
70 Miles
Mount Baker Ski Area
Nearest Beach
Right here!


Rates & Availability

Contact Owner

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee AU$202.76
Refundable Damage Deposit AU$743.44

50% due at time of booking. Full payment due 14 days prior to stay. Any cancellation after 14 days prior to booking is non-refundable, unless the property can be re-rented.

Check-out time 11:00AM. Check-in time 4:00PM

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if cancelled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if cancelled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

Other Holiday Properties