Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Charming Home on Walking Street Close To Convention Center & Independence Hall

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 74 m²
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Two Bedroom Home Townhouse on Historic Quince Street

Two Bedroom One Bath Townhouse located in Prime Washington Square West Area, Private Back Deck on Historic Walking Street, just blocks from the Convention Center, Independence Hall & The Liberty Bell. Walk To All the Best Restaurants In The City!

PLEASE DO NOT USE THE BOOK IT NOW BUTTON FOR STAYS LESS THEN 4 NIGHTS BEFORE CONTACTING US

Our Three Story home located in the heart of Washington Square is just steps from the Convention Center, Independence Hall, City Hall and the Liberty Bell. With 3 floors and 2 bedrooms and 1 bath, our home can easily accommodate up to 4 travelers. We supply a fully equipped kitchen, linens & towels as well as internet and cable TV.

See why our block has been featured on "Hidden Philadelphia Tours" see link below:

http://hiddencityphila.org/2012/04/my-favorite-place-quince-street/

Philadelphia is a bustling city overflowing with activity, history, and culture. The 'City of Brotherly Love' is a city where many come to learn about the history of America's roots by touring Independence Hall, viewing the Liberty Bell, and visiting the house where Thomas Jefferson wrote the Declaration of Independence. What many visitors forget is that Philadelphia's history was written not just in a house that stood at Seventh and Market streets, but also in the neighborhoods where Philadelphians still live today.

While much of Philadelphia has been modernized and updated, some structures remain the same as they were in the 18th century when John Adams and Thomas Jefferson strolled through the streets of Philadelphia during the American Revolution. One of the things that makes Philadelphia unique is its architecture and real estate. Just one example of unique real estate is the Trinity houses of Philadelphia. Below is some more information on this uniquely Philadelphia structure and how it has survived the test of time.

What is a Trinity house?

A Trinity house is a three-story house with each floor containing one room. The Trinity house is believed to have originated in Philadelphia as early as the year 1720, and nearly 300 years later, Trinity houses are still found across the city of Philadelphia. Sometimes called 'Father, Son, and Holy Ghost' houses or 'Bandbox' houses, Trinity houses are typically quite small with an estimated 400-700 square feet of living space (our home has 800 sqft).

***There are pluses and minuses to each of our properties and we want to make sure you select the one that you and your group will enjoy the most. Please see short summaries below with the pros and cons of each of our properties below.

The Chestnut Lofts ...HomeAway # 179041 (faces rear of building)

The Chestnut Lofts is located is located in Old City which although is steps away from the liberty bell and independence hall also has a very lively night time scene with cafes and restaurants and bars. The pros of this unit is that it is located on the top floor of a 5 story building and oriented facing south toward a parking garage not facing chestnut street so it's much much quieter. Drawbacks being there isn't a waterfront view as you have in the front unit, it doesn't have those huge 20 foot ceilings and the main bedroom is a platform style (the second bedroom is fully enclosed). Please see link here for full listing. https://www.vrbo.com/141917

The Chestnut Lofts ...VRBO # 477685 (faces front of building)

This unit does have a water view, has soaring 20 foot ceilings and gets great sunlight. The drawbacks being it's located on Chestnut St so noise can be an issue especially on a weekend night. Please see link for full listing. https://www.vrbo.com/477685

(Panama St )Cozy Home in Historic Washington Square ...HomeAway # 3165419

This home is located directly next to our other home listing #583380 (Townhouse in Washington Sq) on a quiet cobblestone walking street. Both homes are nearly identical although "Townhouse in Washington Sq" was recently remodeled with a new kitchen and new bathroom. On the upside it has a washer and dryer where the other does not. You can not be more centrally located than this, very easy walk to Rittenhouse Square, Washington Square, 13th and Sansom as well as Old City. The location is hard to beat. Drawback wise these places are small and they have very challenging stairs.

(Panama St) Townhouse in Washington Square ...VRBO # 583380

Please see above summary

Charming on Historic Street ... VRBO # 619713

My personal favorite of all our properties. This home is located 258 S. Quince street, if you google images of "Quince street Philadelphia" you will see it has been the subject of many a painting and photograph. The street with all it's cute little walking streets and off shoots is very European/ Old World. It's very tough to drive a car down, more of a cobblestone walking street, making it very quiet, almost an oasis in the middle of the busy city. It's still not too far from the historic sites but certainly not as close as The Chestnut Lofts are. It also has a private back patio with table and 4 chairs. Although it is a trinity, its much larger than the ones we have on Panama st. Drawback wise, Id say it has a lot of stairs and could be an issue for a toddler or someone that has any sort of mobility issue. Please see link for full listing. https://www.vrbo.com/619713

****Very Important

Please read our notes about 2 and 3 night stays in the rates section. We take them on a case by case basis and rates can be much higher. Please do not use the book it now button for 2 or 3 night stays before contacting us.

More Details

Owner
Josh Russell
Member since: 2007
Speaks english
Response time
Within a few hours
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
21 October, 2017

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday townhome rental in Center City, Pennsylvania

Property Type:
  • townhome
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 74 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • City Centre ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower , Claw Foot Tub
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 single bed
  • Queen on Second Floor 2 Twins on Third Floor
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • long term rentals available
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • horseshoes
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski
  • snowboarding
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(58 traveller reviews)

84% Complete
10% Complete
3% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
Charming Home on Walking Street Close To Convention Center & Independence Hall
average rating of 4.775862 based on 58 reviews
Conifer, Colorado
5

Exactly what we wanted!!

  • 5 of 5

This was a great little home with all of the features that we needed/desired in a short term vacation spot. The house was centrally located and it was an easy walk to historical sites (ie the liberty bell/independence hall) and a slightly longer walk to the museums (ie art museum, Barnes, Rodin). Easily reachable with any questions. Place was nice and clean. Philly was unseasonably warm the last few days (90ish) and the 3rd floor was stuffy but to be expected with the heat. Each level had air conditioning and it was very manageable.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 25, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect place in the perfect location!

  • 5 of 5

We came for the Philly 10k race this past weekend. This place for the perfect location - it was close to the race and plenty of great restaurants. The house was very clean and well maintained. Also, despite being so close to everything, it is tucked away on a quite street. I would highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 29, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Refund policy is problematic - place is prob great!

  • 3 of 5

I never got to stay here with my boys but it was gonna be great. We got stranded in Canada due to airline craziness on another leg of our trip. The manager was very nice person and I get that refund policies need to protect the property owners from losing money, but I lost a lot of money due to circumstances beyond my control. I only wish there would be policies in place to help that situation be more equitable. Tough call. Thanks!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 17, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This was a very unfortunate situation but could have been easily avoided if you had not declined the travel insurance which was offered to you through Homeaway when you secured your reservation. The $30 Travel Insurance policy would have protected your $1,000 trip for unforeseen circumstances beyond your control. We can not buy travel insurance polices for our guests, only they have the ability to do that. It’s not fair to try and gamble and save $30 by declining the insurance and then ask hosts to have to cover your loss if a situation arrises. I refunded your cleaning fee, but with only 12 hours of notice that you would like to cancel your reservation I was unable offer to any more than that. Our refund policy is 60 days notice for a full refund less a $200 cancellation fee, after that we can free your dates up and can offer a refund if those dates get rerented. We feel that our policy is strict but fair and strongly recommend guests to not to decline the insurance.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Wonderfully located and Well-equipped

  • 5 of 5

We loved staying in this historic house in this historic city. Once parked we walked everywhere we wanted to go. We cooked after visiting the Italian Market and had everything we needed. It's a great house and we would stay there again.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Cozy apartment in beautiful neighborhood.

  • 5 of 5

I had a wonderful 5-day stay here with my son and my mother. The apartment was adorable and very comfortable. It's the kind of apartment I've always wanted to have in Phila. The beds are all very comfortable. I was concerned it would be small but it was quite roomy, especially the 3rd floor bedroom. It was nice to have the bedrooms on separate floors for privacy. It's a perfect size for up to 4 people although there's just one bathroom and only chairs for 2 people to eat at the table. We used some cushions which worked very well so the three of us could eat there for breakfast. The apartment wouldn't be good for older people who can't get around well because of the stairs and the old fashioned tub which is a high step to get into.The apartment is on a lovely street right in the center of a beautiful neighborhood, close to everything. Most of the restaurants where we ate were in close walking distance, some only a block or two away. We hope to stay here again when we come back to Phila.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
New York
5

Perfect - loved it!

  • 5 of 5

We were delighted with this house. It was absolutely immaculate, comfortable and had wonderful views from the deck. Despite being secluded, there is a very handy store at the bottom of the track which had everything we needed for our stay. And if we say so ourselves, the steaks we grilled on the Weber were THE most delicious steaks ever. The kitchen had a fantastic selection of everything you you could need. It may seem a small thing but we could have stayed a month reading the books on the bookshelves. We also found a great restaurant in Williamsville - the Williamsville Eatery. Can't recommend this house enough - we hope to be back when we need some peace and relaxation again.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Philadelphia International
Nearest Beach
50 Miles
Long Beach Island
Car: not necessary

Central to Philadelphia's Convention Center, Historic Quiet Walking Street, Steps to Independence Hall & The Liberty Bell

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday townhome in Center City, Pennsylvania

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Nightly Rate
22 Sep 2017 - 22 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$229
From
A$229
Fri,Sat
 
 
Nightly Rate
23 Oct 2017 - 26 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
A$198
From
A$198
Fri,Sat
 
 
Nightly Rate
27 Oct 2017 - 4 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$229
From
A$229
Fri,Sat
 
 
Nightly Rate
5 Nov 2017 - 9 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
A$198
From
A$198
Fri,Sat
 
 
Nightly Rate
10 Nov 2017 - 11 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$229
From
A$229
Fri,Sat
 
 
Nightly Rate
12 Nov 2017 - 15 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
A$216
From
A$216
Fri,Sat
 
 
Nightly Rate
16 Nov 2017 - 24 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$229
From
A$229
Fri,Sat
 
 
Nightly Rate
25 Nov 2017 - 9 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$216
From
A$216
Fri,Sat
 
 
Nightly Rate
10 Dec 2017 - 28 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$229
From
A$229
Fri,Sat
 
 
Nightly Rate
29 Dec 2017 - 3 Jan 2018
4 night minimum stay
A$344
From
A$344
Fri,Sat
 
 
Nightly Rate
4 Jan 2018 - 17 Feb 2018
2 night minimum stay
A$229
From
A$229
Fri,Sat
 
 
Nightly Rate
18 Feb 2018 - 28 Feb 2018
3 night minimum stay
A$237
From
A$237
Fri,Sat
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
A$276
From
A$308
Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit A$319.83
Cleaning Fee A$159.91
Pet Fee A$51.17
Tax Rate 8.5%

With Regards to 2 and 3 night stays. We do take 2 and 3 night stays on a case by case basis. Please inquire for a quote.

Rates Subject to Change

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable