3 Bedroom, 2 1/2 Bathroom, comfortably sleeps 9
About Tony Green
This land has been in our family for 100 years. Our extended family still gathers in Stonington once a year from all over the country and abroad for a large family gathering (including an epic water fight and lobster feed).
Tony Green purchased this Chateau / Country House in 1989
Why Tony Green chose Stonington
Stonington is a very special place. It's unspoiled and full of fun things to do. Great if you're into boats and the water; you can also take great walks, or visit the casinos! Locally there's a bit of a foodie thing happening -- with a handful of farm-to-table restaurants and farm stands everywhere. We love the indoor-outdoor style of living, being able to go barefoot and never locking the car!
What makes this Chateau / Country House unique
It's the views, the light, the air, the nature right in front of you, the friendly people. And, if we don't mind saying it, the house is has great style.
100% refund if cancelled at least 30 days before arrival date. 50% refund if cancelled at least 14 days before arrival date.
DO NOT STAY HERE
Our stay was completely subpar. The property is simply run down garbage. In the ad on VRBO, it failed to explain the fact that the house did not have air conditioning(when it was well over 90 degrees all weekend) the floors were run down and dirty, there was old food in between the cushion seats on the couch, there were no outside lights and thus made it pitch black at night in trying to get to and from the cars, there were constant skunks around the house and provided a wonderful scent for two days straight, and last but not least even had a potential propane leak that prompted a 911 call Sunday morning at 1am and prompted a full evacuation of the property!! The house was simply old and disgusting and I say that in the most respectful way. The only part of the experience that I was satisfied with, was the prompt response from the property manager George. When we had to call 911 because of the faulty propane tank, George immediately got back to us within five minutes and closely monitored the situation all night. Thank you George for your commitment during that time. If you want an awful vacation or weekend get away, then this is your place!
It’s not possible to please everyone—that’s a truth well recognised. There is however a false accusation in this review that needs to be addressed: there was no propane leak; the renter mistook the smell of a skunk for gas and this was confirmed by both our caretaker and the Police and Fire Departments. It’s defamatory to suggest there was a faulty propane tank and this reviewer should have more integrity about the source of his discomfort and embarrassment.
It’s also up to the renter to read the listing and enquire before renting about amenities if they are important. When creating a listing on VRBO, amenities like AC are selected from a checklist where appropriate. We will however update the description to clarify that this is not an air conditioned house. We’ve spent a lot of time and resources organising the house so that AC is not needed—with heat filters on the windows, fans and curtains in every room, and furniture that encourages using different sides of the house at different times of the day.
We completely understand that heatwave conditions can feel oppressive but we can't be held responsible for the weather.
Similarly, our house is situated on a wooded peninsula in rural Connecticut. Skunks do live here. (Also many deer, several families of wild turkeys and a plethora of beautiful and vocal birds. Sorry about that.)
We apologise that some of the exterior lightbulbs needed replacing and the oversight of our cleaners who missed food crumbs under the cushions of the sofa. The rest of the house was clean, tidy, maintained and with the expected provisions. Of course, we would much prefer that renters contact our very responsive caretaker George with issues like these rather than waiting until it’s too late for us to rectify.
We encourage potential renters to read the rest of our reviews and apply some common sense: it’s simply not possible for the same house to be so different from one week to the next.
located between Mystic and Westerly with all its attractions, the house is a magnificent place to be close to the movement, in a quiet setting surrounded by natural beauty. The house offers comfort for a large family and is well equipped
Great location. Great view.
My family & I really enjoyed our stay. The house was spacious & well maintained. We had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. We really enjoyed our time just hanging out on the deck taking in the view.
Beautiful home in a lovely area.
Great location for a friends’ trip! Beautiful home with tons of light.
Great design, wonderful “Danish modern” style” and comfortable
We were so happy with the house . It was very clean , spacious and very comfortable . I would definitely stay again.