Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Glamping aboard a Hatteras Sportfishing Yacht

Bedrooms 2
Property type yacht
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

52 Ft Hatteras Sportfishing Yacht

Who needs a hotel or a tent when you can enjoy the experience of staying aboard a beautiful 52 foot Hatteras Sportfish Yacht. We can customize your trip to fulfill your dreams of living on a yacht.

Unrivaled location on the Fort Pierce Inlet from the Atlantic Ocean that affords a view of spectacular sunsets over the Indian River Lagoon. Of course, the desirable inlet location. Within walking distance there are many superb restaurants, a farmer's market, live theater and much more!

Relax aboard while enjoying many amenities. Salon aka living area features a custom made leather section with a magic bed (sleeps 2), 2 leather barrel chairs, wet bar with ice maker, 46 inch Sony Google TV, Wifi, Netflix, and DVD player. Fishing poles available for fishing from the back deck or dock. Master stateroom hosts an over-sized queen bed with Egyptian cotton sheets and a private bathroom with stand up shower and lush towels. Guest stateroom has twin bunks and access to 2nd bathroom with stand up shower. All linens of are the highest quality and beach towels are provided as well. Kitchen aka Galley has Keurig coffee maker, a full sized refrigerator freezer, 3 burner electric stove with compact oven, convection microwave oven, blender and everything needed to prepare meals just bring your groceries!

Propane grill is provided.

We are not a barefoot charter. Per our insurance only our USCG licensed Captain drives the vessel.

More Details

Ginger Howard
Member since: 2014
Speaks english
Response time
Within a few hours
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
18 September, 2018

About Ginger Howard

We love the salt water and just getting away from it all. We have decided to share our love of boating with others.

Ginger Howard purchased this yacht in 2011

Why Ginger Howard chose Fort Pierce

We fell in love with Fort Pierce 10 years ago. It still has the old Florida feel and the fishing is amazing. Great restaurants and many wonderful things to do within walking distance of the boat.

What makes this yacht unique

We will tailor your trip to fit your needs and share fishing tips. Where else can you enjoy a slight rocking of the boat to put you to sleep or wake up early enjoying your coffee while watching the dolphin or manatee play. This is not a barefoot charter.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had the pleasure of joining the owners on a Bahamas vacation and had the best time! They run a top notch experience. We fished, snorkeled, explored uninhabited islands and enjoyed the outer islands of the Abacos. Truly a magical time and I will never consider Nassau after seeing the real Bahamas. The owner's wife should be a gourmet chef with the amazing meals she prepared on board for us.

Although this trip is not for every one, it is definitely worth every penny!
Apr 2014
  • 1 of 1


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday yacht rental in Fort Pierce

Property Type:
  • yacht
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • City Centre
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower enclosure , Private bathroom with stand up shower in master stateroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower enclosure , Shared bathroom with access from hall or guest stateroom
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed , Oversized queen with private bathroom
    Bedroom 2 - 2 bunk bed , twin bunk beds
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • long term rentals available
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Staff
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Often called the 'Sunrise City,' Fort Pierce is part of the Treasure Coast, a stretch of land from St. Lucie Inlet to Sebastian Inlet along Florida's Atlantic coast. Natural and artificial reefs make for good fishing and diving. The Indian River Lagoon Estuary provides a haven for more than 4,000 plant and animal species. Visit the revitalized waterfront downtown area, which has retained its old Florida charm and scale. It offers contemporary shopping, dining, great fishing and a range of entertainment and activities such as the Farmers' Market, Bike Night, Friday Fest, Jazz Market and the city-owned and -operated 1,200-seat Sunrise Theatre for the Performing Arts.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(19 traveller reviews)

78% Complete
10% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Glamping aboard a Hatteras Sportfishing Yacht
average rating of 4.5789475 based on 20 reviews
Greenville, South Carolina

Another great stay

  • 5 of 5

Our second stay on the Island Son was even better than the first. The boat is bigger than it looks. Roomy salon with a sectional couch and big flat screen tv. Good internet connection for streaming DirectTV now and movies to the TV and connected devices. Well stocked kitchen. Comfortable beds. Kayaks for paddling around the river. The location is good with several restaurants within walking distance and much more within a 2-3 mile drive. We have already booked another stay.

  • Review Submitted: 05/04/2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for visiting again!! Tod enjoyed getting to know you guys as well! You're always welcome aboard!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The Island Son is great for people who love boats and being on the water. Great accommodations

  • 4 of 5

Ft Pierce Marina is a great location with so many restaurants and shops and interesting places to see within walking distance. Being there on. Saturday while Farmers Market was being held and on St Patrick's day was perfect timing. This is a very active area and was a great spring Break trip with our daughter from college.

  • Review Submitted: 18/03/2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay. I love the Farmers market as well! Have a safe trip home!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kentfield, CA

Clean, convenient many features show neglect

  • 4 of 5

Boat was as advertised. Broken unusable chairs, broken freezer, some other features tired, worn. Windows in salon unmovable. Aircon works well. There is a grill for instance, but unusable. Owner doesn’t consider supply of consumables important, though did respond to later provide bath soap, tp and part used paper towel roll. Grudging, but responsive. Forward bunks are cramped. Plenty of hot water. Kitchen appliances (other than freezer) work fine.. plenty of towels. For someone who needs to stay in Fort Pierce, it is a great way to be there. Mornings watching pelicans, dolphins, cormorants are hard to beat. The pier parking lot was unavailable 80pct of the time.But be aware that maintenance is not a priority for the owner though she may choose to improve.

  • Review Submitted: 17/03/2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry that we did not exceed your expectations. The chairs were damaged by the guest that had just vacated prior to your stay and new ones have been ordered. As is custom in vacation rentals we provided 2 rolls of TP per bathroom, 1 roll of paper towels and travel size shampoo & conditioner as well hand soap & dish soap. You’re the first tell me there was a problem with the grill so I will have it checked immediately. We could’ve have checked it and replaced during your stay if we had been aware. The boat is constantly maintained and we repair things nonstop as is common on all boats :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great experience

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed our week on the Island Son. Coffee every morning on aft deck. Cocktails every afternoon on upper salon deck. What a view! Nice full kitchen, clean bathrooms/showers. The views of the marina from up top were fantastic. Farmers Market and dining/nightlife within walking distance. Any wait to visit again.

  • Review Submitted: 04/03/2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Island Son is a great get-a-way on the water!!

  • 5 of 5

Island Son was beautiful. Very nice amenities, family room area, WiFi and everything in the kitchen you would need to make all of your meals. The marina was excellent. We felt safe and secure! Our boat "neighbors" were very friendly and helpful. The view was incredible! Very peaceful and when we left the boat, there were plenty of things to do in the area as well and that was important to us. The owners of Island Son were great to work with in scheduling our reservation. Definitely coming back!

  • Review Submitted: 05/02/2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We look forward to your next stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A monumental and catastophic mistake

  • 1 of 5

My wife and I were very disappointed with our "stay" on the Island Son. When we unlocked the door to the main cabin we were hit with a vial and toxic odor that I can only liken to the noxious odor of a chemical laden public restroom times twenty. We opened all the windows, left the door open and kept our jackets on in the hope that the odor would dissipate. IT DID NOT. A few hours later, Blake (employed by the owner, Ginger, to introduce us to the workings of the boat) arrived and I questioned the noxious odor. He had no answer. Fort Pierce was experiencing unusually cool weather so we bundled up, closed the windows but DID NOT turn on the heat since Blake had told us we might have an additional odor emanating from the heaters since they had not been used recently. During the night, my wife rose to use the bathroom being careful to place the toilet paper in a plastic bag (marine toilets are VERY delicate). When she flushed, the peddle stuck, sending water over the floor and onto the rug before I could stop it. We decided to vacate the premises at first light AND WE DID! We spent only 17 hours on that boat. My wife awoke with a sore throat and burning lungs. She is now under a doctor's care. I had a sore throat and a dull headache. Not what we expected from a vacation. I called Ginger that very day to tell her why we left but was forced to leave a voice message. After seven days I still have not heard from her. I believe we are owed a refund. It was a monumental and catastrophic mistake renting the Island Son.

  • Review Submitted: 21/01/2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The guest that checked in a just a few days after you were scheduled to leave left this review "Had a great time. Very welcoming and comfortable. Ginger went above and beyond. I will definitely be back." The guest that left just before you arrived "Another great visit. Blake and Virginia are always so helpful. Can't wait to come back" I personally spoke with you on arrival and no complaint of any smells. When Blake arrived you did complain of a "cleaning chemical smell" which Blake said he couldn't even smell that's why he had no answer for you. I came myself after receiving your voicemail and I found no smells but damage to my yacht. The toilet didn't just overflow a little bit it flooded the entire downstairs! You didn't even try to clean any of it up! I have since spent $400 on carpet cleaning and water extraction and have wallpaper starting to peel at the bottom! I am waiting to see what the mahogany wood looks like after it dries out, praying there is no additional damage there. I tried to call you back but didn't leave voicemail as I was so angry at the condition of the boat who knows what I might have said......
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
5.5 Miles
St Lucie International
Nearest Motorway
8 Miles
Florida turnpike or I-95
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Just a short walk
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday yacht around the Fort Pierce

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add AU$34 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee AU$171.52 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit AU$686.1

Rate is based on double occupancy, additional fee of $25 per day per person. Maximum of 6 people allowed. You can choose the $99 damage insurance or the $500 refundable security deposit. Please let me know at time of booking your preference. All parties of 6 both apply. Cancellation policy 90 days for full refund, 60 days lose deposit, 30 days lose full amount

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if cancelled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if cancelled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner