Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Lake Cabin with New Hot Tub, Boat Slip & Amazing Views

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 2,300 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10

Thrasher's Nest is a three story cedar cabin built in 2007, overlooking Watauga Lake, said to be the third cleanest lake in the county. Our cabin has 3 bedrooms a loft, 2 1/2 baths, and sleeps 10 comfortably. Soak in the large, six person hot tub or just enjoy the views of the Cherokee National Forest and Watauga River Gorge from the large deck.

The bottom floor has a master bedroom plus another bedroom, a bathroom, and large laundry room. The main floor has another full tile bath, beautiful kitchen with black granite tiled counter tops, and access to the deck. Both bathrooms feature beautiful tile, large jetted tubs, and rainfall shower heads. Upstairs you will find another bedroom with two queen beds, a half bath, and a loft area with a day bed, foosball table, and TV with PlayStation and other games.

Dock your boat or jet ski, fish, take a trip in our canoe, or just enjoy swimming from the included dock and dedicated boat slip. Other amenities include a washer and dryer, all major appliances, hair dryer, central air, gas fireplace, satellite TV, and free wireless internet. Linens, towels, dishes, utensils, and cookware are provided. We also provide a high chair and portable crib (sheets not provided) in this family friendly home. Pets are welcome for a small pet fee.

Aside from fishing the 13 species of game fish in the lake, swimming, and boating, there are many other outdoor activities in the area year round.

Hawksnest provides snow tubing and zip lining.

Beech Mountain (35 minute drive) is a great place for skiing, snow tubing, snow boarding, and ice skating.

Sugar Mountain (45 minute drive) also has great ski slopes.

Wahoo Adventures and Mountain Adventure Guide offer rafting and other outdoor adventures.

Tweetsie Railroad is a great stop for families.

Grandfather Mountain is the highest peak in the Blue Ridge Mountains. View the animal habitats, including bears, cougars, and river otters, or walk across the mile high swinging bridge.

We hope you take the opportunity to rest and relax in our cabin while spending your time enjoying the lake, nature, and each other!

More Details

Emily Good
Member since: 2015
Speaks english
Response time
Within 2 days
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
22 July, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin rental in Butler

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2300 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 24
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower enclosure , jacuzzi
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower enclosure , jacuzzi
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
  • Both full bathrooms feature jetted tubs, large showers with rain shower heads, and beautiful tile.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 extra lg. double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 large double bed
  • Master with king bed located downstairs with sliding glass door providing access to covered parking below the deck. Second bedroom downstairs with queen bed also has sliding glass door. Upstairs bedroom has two queen beds. There is also a loft upstairs with a day bed and trundle.
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Games ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • marina
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rock climbing
  • ski
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
A community dock with shed is included in this rental. You have a space to park a boat or jet ski and can use the dock for fishing and swimming. Boats and jet skis can be rented at nearby marinas or you can launch your own boat from a marina if you desire.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(40 traveller reviews)

72% Complete
20% Complete
5% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Lake Cabin with New Hot Tub, Boat Slip & Amazing Views
average rating of 4.625 based on 40 reviews

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was perfect for our weekend getaway. The view was absolutely beautiful and the house had everything we needed. It gets a little cold on the bottom floor but there's tons of blankets so we were always warm. The hot tub was very nice at night when it cooled off. The only thing we didn't realize was that the dock was a short drive down the steep road from the house, we thought it was in walking distance. But all in all we loved hanging out at the dock and enjoyed the lake and the cabin!

  • Review Submitted: 07/07/2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful house but very disappointed it had no lake access. The dock is a half mile away.

  • 2 of 5

Very disappointed on the lack of lake access. The pictures on line are deceiving. The deck chairs needs to be replaced. There was only two that were safe to sit on. That is something easy and inexpensive to fix. We thought the house was on the lake but it is not accessible unless you go to a marina. The dock for the cabin is a half mile away down very steep roads impossible to walk on. The docks are not usable due to damage from a storm. Trees and limbs prevent you from getting to the docks. No sign of any repairs being made the week we were there. We found a marina and rented a boat for grandsons to fish. The house is comfortable inside but needs lighting outside. The repairman tried replacing the bulbs but the lights on steps and corners of house did not work. It was very dark and dangerous to go out after dark with out a flashlight. The owner did advise me of damages to dock but hoped they would be repaired quickly. Very hard to find and needs better sign in yard you can read driving by. It is up three levels of very steep driveways.

  • Review Submitted: 09/06/2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry you were so disappointed in your stay. This cabin is not advertised as being lake front, and there are several pictures in the listing that show where the home is. The dock is now repaired and usable. We were all very disappointed in the damage that happened because of the storm and repaired it as soon as the lake level was low enough.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Cabin at Lake Watauga

  • 4 of 5

We come up here every year. We have stayed in a few cabins in this area. I would deffintly reccomend this cabin to a friend. The only think that needs to be done is new porch furniture. The current outdoor peices are worn out and falling apart. Just bring some camping chairs with you and enjoy the amazing views. Everything else in the cabin is top notch.

  • Review Submitted: 25/02/2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great Weekend!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful weekend at Thrasher's Nest! The view was amazing and the cabin was clean and had everything we needed for our big group. We really enjoyed the hot tub and the stars at night were incredible. The only feedback we would have is a few more blankets as the temperature didn't seem to want to change on the thermostat! Thank you for having us!

  • Review Submitted: 12/02/2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Perfect get away spot!

  • Review Submitted: 23/01/2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

The cabin was amazing. Like most other reviews state, cabin is well stocked, views are great, lots to do with being close to Boone and surrounding areas. If you've never driven in the mountains before, the windy roads up can be a little scary for some. We had 9 people with us and the cabin fit us all comfortably. The bathrooms are nice, the kitchen has pretty much everything you could need to cook at the cabin, there is a grill outside which is nice, and the hot tub was nice also. Also, Emily responded quickly when we had questions, even with it being the holiday season. I saw a lot of complaints about getting lost by gps, that being said, Emily provides detailed instructions on how to get to the cabin which help make it easy to find. Only thing I will say about getting to the cabin, at one point going up, there is 1 of two lefts you have to take, take the one that goes up higher, and then you have to take the 2nd right. I don't remember the instructions mentioning either of these. Hope to be able to stay here again some day. Thank you Emily for letting us stay in your cabin.

  • Review Submitted: 11/01/2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Golf
16 Miles
Redtail Mountain Golf Club-25 minute drive
Nearest Restaurant
17 Miles
Captain's Table -25 minute drive
Nearest Ski
17 Miles
Beech Mountain- 36 minute drive
Car: necessary

Located 41 miles from Bristol Motor Speedway.

Located 30-45 minutes from Boone, Blowing Rock, and Banner Elk, and ski mountains.


Rates & Availability

Contact Owner

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee AU$188.72
Pet Fee AU$101.1
Refundable Damage Deposit AU$674

Ask about last minute discounts!
If your group is larger than 10, we can refer you to other cabins nearby available for rent.
Rates subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
You may pay online through online booking, by check, or by PayPal. If using PayPal you will be charged a $35 fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if cancelled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if cancelled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.