Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Spacious & Comfortable 3 Bd-2 Ba Ranch On Large Lot

Bedrooms 3
Space 143 m²
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

This 3 bedroom 2 bath ranch has the feel of a cottage in a smaller town. Whether you're coming to see the Abraham Lincoln sites, historic Route 66 attractions, on family or business travel, or if you're making your annual pilgrimage to the Illinois State Fair, this home is close enough to the action for you to get there quickly. When the day is done, it also provides a nice retreat within which to kick back, take off your shoes and unwind. You'll find a fully equipped kitchen, linens and towels, high-speed internet, satellite television and complimentary WiFi. Come, relax, bring your suitcase, and leave the rest up to us.

Gordon Fidler
Member since: 2015
Speaks english, mandarin
Response time
Within an hour
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
22 October, 2017

About Gordon Fidler

Gordon and Tammy are originally from the Peoria area, but have lived near Springfield since getting married in 1991. Gordon retired from a career in law enforcement in 2010, and in 2012 they bought their first rental property in Chatham. They have four children, three of whom were adopted and are still at home.

Gordon Fidler purchased this house in 2012

Why Gordon Fidler chose Springfield

This house was selected due to its close proximity to their residence, the quality of the school district, and the fact that it reminds them of their home growing up, and their grandparent's home. The layout of the house as well as the era both bring back great memories. For two years, the house had been unfurnished and rented out on an annual basis. In February of 2015 it was transitioned into a fully furnished home for rent by visitors to the area. It's not quite a bed and breakfast, but they still get to provide warm hospitality for their guests.

What makes this house unique

They love the peaceful feel when they walk into the house. There are times when they will take time to go to the house to sit and read, and Gordon has confessed he has taken a nap or two there as well. The kitchen is spacious, as are the bedrooms and living room. It's a comfortable place to relax.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Springfield Lake Shore Improvement, Illinois

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 143 m²
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Village ...
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower , Private bath for Master Bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , bath with shower
  • Initial toilet paper is provided.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 extra lg. double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 single bed
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • long term rentals available
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(77 traveller reviews)

83% Complete
15% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Spacious & Comfortable 3 Bd-2 Ba Ranch On Large Lot
average rating of 4.818182 based on 77 reviews

Fidler's Roof

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at Fidler's Roof. It was a perfect place for us and our friends. Mr. Fidler had everything available that anyone staying there would need. It was so nice to stay in a place that was very clean, cheerful and handy to our destination. Would definitely stay there again if we are ever in that area again. Thank you, Gordon!!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Edwin for your kind words. We are so glad your trip and stay were to your liking. We look forward to being able to host you again on your next visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Taylorville Illinois

This home was perfect! The master bedroom was so cozy. The kitchen was perfectly equipped.

  • 5 of 5

This home had everything we were looking for. The king sized bed was extremely comfortable. We woke up refreshed each day ready for our next adventure. Thanks Gordon!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 9, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great House!

  • 5 of 5

There were six of us that stayed the weekend and had a wonderful time! The house was clean, inviting, very nicely decorated and exceeded our needs and expectations.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fidler's roof

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay. The house was very nice, perfect for our needs.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Angela. It was great having you stay with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

It was great

  • 5 of 5

The house was well maintained and very clean it had all the modern conveniences and it was centrally located.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

cute refurbished property, freight trains 1/2 block away

  • 3 of 5

The accommodations were overall clean, spacious and comfortable; however, in comparison to other vrbo's I've rented, there were a few deficits which could be improved, and one thing that would need more work.

There wasn't bath soap or shower gel in the bathrooms (we did find hand soap at the sink). The coffee maker didn't work. There was a strong scented plug-in odorizer in the main kitchen/dining was very strong and not pleasant. We smelled mold in the bathrooms, though all the surfaces were sparkling clean, there may be a mold problem in the house. There was also the scent of cat pee...sometimes not so strong, other times, stronger.

Lastly, there was no mention in the vrbo ad that the property is less than 1/2 block from train tracks on which freight trains, and amtrak trains travel at high speeds, while blowing their warning horns throughout the day and night. If we had known this, we would not have rented the property.

The owner was gracious, and the property shows well, but I wouldn't recommend this property to anyone with allergies, respiratory issues, sleep problems, or coffee drinkers.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lori, I'm so sorry your stay was not up to the standard you expected. I apologize, first of all, I must not have mentioned that in the cabinet in the main bathroom is bath soap, shampoo, conditioner, and body lotion. We don't put it out since many of our guests bring their own. I usually remember to say something, but may have forgotten to do so during your visit. As far as the various smells you mentioned, we have owned the house for nearly 5 years and do not allow pets. Four days before your stay we had the carpets cleaned, which may have contributed to any odor, the air freshener aside. We are not aware of any other contributing causes but will have someone evaluate that for us to ensure there are no problems we are unaware of. I always encourage guests to contact me if there are any problems at the house and would have loved the opportunity to help with the coffee maker. I know coffee is critical, especially in the mornings and would not want anyone to have to start their day without some. Numerous guests have discussed the trains in their reviews, and as I've mentioned previously, if I can figure out how to get them moved, I'll make that happen. I appreciate your candid comments and will do everything we can to ensure future guests continue to have an excellent experience staying with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Abraham Lincoln Capital Airport
Nearest Barpub
1.2 Miles
The Creek Pub and Grill
Nearest Golf
2.5 Miles
Piper Glen Golf and Social Club
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Fulgenzi's Trattoria
Car: necessary

Paved walking and biking path is across the street from the house.


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday house in Springfield Lake Shore Improvement, Illinois

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Nightly Rate
22 Dec 2017 - 26 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
2018 State Fair
9 Aug 2018 - 19 Aug 2018
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit A$255.86
Cleaning Fee A$95.95

Rates are subject to change until reservations are confirmed.
No Pets
No Smoking

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner

Other Holiday Properties