Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Casa Del Sol - Cottages

Bedrooms 7
Half Baths1
Space 4,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

OPT 1: Sleep 12, 3.5 bath, 1 Kitchen OPT 2: Sleep up to 18, 4.5 Bath, 2 Kitchen

Casa Del Sol is a recently built Cape Cod situated at the end of a cul de sac on a private street.

Wake up to a lake view to the rear of the house from one of our three master bedroom suites. The house comfortably sleeps up to 12 people. The family room has a television with Direct TV and a DVD player. The kitchen is fully equipped including a coffee maker for the morning after the blender was used to make Margaritas!

There is a three level deck on the rear of the house with a Tiki bar, gas BBQ grill and plenty of room for lounging. We are located near the old Newman Ferry boat about a mile (15 min walk) from downtown.

Note: This home is under new ownership/management. The issues in some of the reviews have all been addressed. This house is spotless with new amenities as well. We will clearly maintain higher standards going forward.

More Details

Property Manager
Bob Snider
Member since: 2015
Speaks english
Response time
Within an hour
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
19 June, 2018

About Bob Snider

The owners of the home have taken excellent care of this home. We all live in Cleveland Ohio area and enjoy the island as much as possible.

Bob Snider purchased this house in 2001

Why Bob Snider chose Kelleys Island

This rental is our home that we share with select users. It doesn't feel like a rental property when you are staying. The home is built by the owners with pride and it shows.

What makes this house unique

The home has a fully finished basement with three bed rooms and a full Kitchen and family room. This is available for access to renters with special approval. The home is air conditioned and has tons of windows for a great view of the lake (sometimes trees limit the view a little). Please keep in mind the home is on an island which includes may flies, Canadian soldiers, spiders, birds, snakes, etc. Its nature and its fantastic.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Kelleys Island

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 18
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • City Centre ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , bath with shower , 1 st Floor Master Bath
    Bathroom 1 - toilet
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , bath with shower , 2nd Floor Master Bathroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , bath with shower , 2 nd Floor Bathroom
    Optional Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower enclosure , Optional Bathroom with permission from owner
  • 3.5 baths on smaller rental and 4.5 on larger.
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 double bed , 2 single bed , Upstairs Bedroom Perfect for kids
    Bedroom 4 - 1 large double bed , Upstairs Bedroom with Private Bath
    Bedroom 5 - 1 large double bed , Optional Bedroom with permission from onwner
    Bedroom 6 - 2 single bed , Optional Bedroom with permission from Owner
    Bedroom 7 - 1 double bed , Optional Bedroom with permission from owner
    Bedroom 8 - 1 large double bed , Pull out sleeper
    Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed , 1st Floor Master
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed , Upstairs Master - Private Bath
  • 4 bedrooms with the smaller rental and 7 with the entire rental.
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 6 bicycles
  • churches
  • festivals
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


Very Good! 4/5 -
(17 traveller reviews)

58% Complete
11% Complete
11% Complete
5% Complete
11% Complete
Casa Del Sol - Cottages
average rating of 4.0 based on 17 reviews
Minneapolis, MN

Spring Fishing Trip

  • 5 of 5

Stayed the weekend with 4 college friends and we had a blast. We were a little hesitant about booking after reading some of the reviews from years past, but I can assure you any issues from the past have been taken care of, the amenities were top notch and we did want for anything. I would definitely recommend this place and will be back. Everyone had plenty of room and we were not far from the boat launch. The deck over looks the lake and the tiki bar is a nice touch to add some charm to the place. I have nothing bad to say and generally are a harsh critic of places I stay.

  • Review Submitted: 22/05/2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Absolutely Amazing

  • 5 of 5

12 of us went up for the early bird and had a wonderful weekend. We talked to Bob a few times before we finally rented. He assured us that the house was in perfect shape. The house is laid out great for a large party. We had 4 kids 9-12 and they stayed in the big bedroom upstairs. The adults all had bedrooms. The basement in this house is amazing. We didn't get to spend much time outside on the deck as the weather was not all that great But I can just imagine being out there in the summer sitting outside with the view of the lake. We are actually thinking about going back in July to really enjoy the island.

  • Review Submitted: 24/04/2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 1 of 5

Think twice before renting this home. Yes, it is one of the few that can accommodate a large amount of guests.. But the rest of the story..

For the price, we expect better accommodations, service and communication. We got barely decent accommodations, poor to zero service and poor communication. We rented the last week of July and as I write this on 9/23, we just yesterday got our deposit back, and then only after complaining to VRBO twice and threatening to start court procedures.

Really, you only have to read the other reviews to get a clear picture about this rental. It is a tool to make money for the Owner, nothing more.

This was our second year and came away more disappointed than the first year. This includes:

*No refrigerator in kitchen! Owners excuse (after I had to contact him about it). was it had just quit, another was on its way and just use the one in the garage. We were there 7 days in July/Aug. and another fridge never showed. And go to garage every time when feeding 16? We moved the one from garage into the kitchen.

*"Maintenance will come and move the fridge". See above, they never showed the entire week.

*Prior review in June/17: "Chairs on deck ripped. " (& more) Owner responded in that review they would be replaced. Nope. Had to lay a towel on seat to cover the rip.

*Garbage can overflowing and maggot contaminated (2nd year for this) Owner suggested rentor take garbage to transfer station and pay to dump it. Really? For The rental cost the expectation is that we are responsible for garbage? I paid the trash pickup extra $ to take the already overfilled stuff in the can and what we had accumulated. And then we had to hose out the maggots. Nice. GET TWO CANS.

*The TV in basement. No cable hook- up and the DVD player would not play dvd's.

So basically a paper weight.

*Air filter in basement.. Long past needing changed, plugged with dirty muck.

*Chairs on deck as mentioned. Screen door hard to open/close. Just took it off while we were there.

*Mouse droppings on kitchen counter. Owner was told that when we left, hopefully the next rentors did not have to deal with that.

*Left behind items not returned. After several weeks Owner said maintenance had been on vacation and he would check for items over Labor Day weekend.....I told him I had minimal faith In Getting the items back when he was first told the first week of August and zero expectation a month later.

Passa on Casa

  • Review Submitted: 23/09/2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This house is under new ownership and management. Rest assured all issues in this house have been addressed and will be managed responsibly going forward.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great space for a large family

  • 4 of 5

We had a great weekend staying at Casa Del Sol!! There were 15 of us (7 kids) and we had plenty of room with everyone getting their own bed. There is a great space upstairs where all of the older kids could sleep and hang out. The 4.5 bathrooms were enough to handle all of us but bring towels as there were not enough provided.

The backyard was a great space to play games (croquet is provided!) and have a fire. The deck had a nice view of the lake. Be sure to bring your own outdoor seating. The tiki bar could use a little TLC but overall good space. They have a nice Weber grill but not a large grill especially if you are cooking for 15. Luckily we did bring our own grill as we expected to eat most of our meals at the house.

Overall the house was a perfect place for us to stay. I would definitely recommend this house for a large family.

  • Review Submitted: 18/09/2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the valuable feedback. As the house is under new ownership and management, we value the feedback to improve the quality of your stay. We will provide more than enough towels going forward.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Recommend! Needs new patio furniture

  • 4 of 5

If you are looking for a nice house that sleeps an extended family so everyone has room of their own - this is the place. Location is great on the island and our four generations had a great stay.

  • Review Submitted: 19/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. We purchased brand new patio furniture in the fall that is waiting in the garage to go out on the deck.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

This place was a Huge Disappointment.

  • 1 of 5

The kitchen is well equipped. However, we found a mouse getting into a bag of bread. One mouse was caught with a trap, but there are surely more in the house as there were lots of mouse droppings (have pictures) behind the microwave. This was a VERY disturbing situation forcing us to throw away food and eat out instead. It most likely existed prior to our visit and will occur again.

The dishwasher on the main floor kitchen is not fastened to the counter or wall and is very difficult to close. It is a hazard. Kitchen ceiling fixture was filled with bugs -GROSS the main floor oven was FILTHY and the main floor kitchen needed to be cleaned.

The upstairs master suite missing a window blind by the bed. If you sleep in this room, plan to get up early and sleep without privacy as people could look in through the window from the street. The bathroom in that area has a shower head that needs descaling. The shower curtain was dirty. The sink cabinet is not fastened to the wall- dangerous situation. The wall plate is missing around the electrical wall socket above the sink, which is not ground fault protected at the outlet. Maybe it is in the fuse box, but I doubt it. Needs attention a.s.a.p.

The towel rack in this bathroom was ripped off the wall and no others were available. Towels racks lacking and inadequate towels and questionably clean.

One of the beds in the basement has a very uncomfortable queen mattress feels like a box spring. It is lopsided as well.

The controllers for the televisions on the main floor and the direct TV do not work. Three controllers first floor and they did not work- no directions either.

The outdoor furniture 3 chairs were decrepit with rips in the seats. One of the chairs had rusted so badly that one of our guests sat in it and it collapsed. She fell onto the floor, but luckily she was not injured.

No picnic table or benches for outdoor dining. The house can accommodate quite a few people dining if you also use the sofas for eating inside, but it is impossible to eat outside.

There are bicycles in garage, but the tires were flat.

The one star is for the new grill. I complained and the owner sent a new Weber grill. The old one was dangerous.

If you have a large group, and like to cook and have fun eating, this is definitely NOT the place for you.

This place was a Huge Disappointment.

  • Review Submitted: 15/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This house is under new ownership and management. Rest assured all issues in this house have been addressed and will be managed responsibly going forward.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
4 Miles
Kelleys Island Land Field Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.02 Miles
The Brew Pub
Nearest Ferry
2 Miles
Jet Express & Kelleys Island Ferry
Nearest Restaurant
200 Metres
The Brew Pub
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Kelley's Isalnd State Park
Car: not necessary

This home has a great lake view and is in walking distance to the restaurants and bars downtown.

The backyard has a nice privacy fence along with two great decks to relax on. There is a tiki bar on the main deck for entertaining.

The home is located on a quiet cull de sac with very little to no traffic.

The state park has an excellent (free) sandy beach to enjoy. Boaters are able to anchor and swim up to the beach.

The glacial groves are an excellent attraction to check out.

Many families enjoy geocaching (an app on phones). The island has approximately 12 different locations for the hidden items. This provides for a great site seeing opportunity.

The jet express runs island hoppers to Put N Bay on a regular basis for a small fee.

Cedar Point is just across the water on the main land which is a great amusement park to spend the day at.

The West Bay Bar has some of the best sunset views you will ever see. It’s worth checking out.

The Village pump has legendary Brandy Alexander’s.

The Winery has some of the best sangria you will ever have. They also have a play area for kids and horseshoe pits.

There are a few quarries on the island that have breath taking views. One of the quarries makes for a great hike as it’s tucked away in the middle of the island.

Bag the Moon Café has wonderful breakfast and Strawberry Shots.

The Casino Bar (not gambling) has a nice night life and great food.

Kelley's Island has some of the best bird watching in the entire world. People travel from all over the world to come and check out the different species of birds.

This home is within walking distance of the dock you can rent to house your boat. There is a public beach lunch at the State Park as well.

Biking is a way of life on the island as well as golf carts.


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday house in Kelleys Island

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
9 Sep 2018 - 14 Mar 2019
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add AU$8 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee AU$338.77
Refundable Damage Deposit AU$677.55

$2500.00 is for up to 12 people, an additional $250.00 and you can have 18 people in the house.
There will be a deposit of $500.00 for the smaller rental and $700.00 for the larger rental. A cleaning fee of $250.00 is applicable for all rentals under 1 week stay.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if cancelled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if cancelled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Manager

Other Holiday Properties