Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Charming village house of character with private pool & lovely garden

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Space 300 m²
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Well maintained, private pool (not shared), 4 Bedrooms, 2 bathrooms (1 ensuite),

Originally a typical farmhouse, Dar Bajda has been tastefully converted into a terraced village house of great character & charm. Conveniently located in the heart of the quaint hilltop village of Naxxar, a stroll away from local shops, bars & food outlets & from the pretty village square with its magnificent church. It is not part of a tourist development.

Dar Bajda has a superb landscaped garden which includes a secure gated pool with spacious deck areas & terraces for sunbathing surrounded by bougainvillea, oleander & eucalyptus trees. The pool area is gated so good if you have young kids.

Hall - cloakroom - large fully equipped modern kitchen - adjoining breakfast room -arched ante room - charming arched lounge - spacious dining and sitting area with French doors to garden & pool - master bedroom suite with its own sun terrace - en suite dressing room & bathroom with shower - 3 further bedrooms - family bathroom - outdoor shower - all bedrooms have ceiling fans & air-con.

Why Dar Bajda is better: Dar Bajda is privately owned and run. It is not part of a resort so you will not be bothered by other noisy or drunken holidaymakers. Unlike many rental properties on the market, Dar Bajda is well maintained by its owners who buy for the property what they would buy for themselves. Properties owned by travel companies often skimp on items or supply the cheapest of everything. Dar Bajda is redecorated annually during the winter.

The property has the type of amenities you will expect but may forget to ask for; a dishwasher, microwave, washing machine, wifi. The owners take care to ensure that the other facilities are appropriate (e.g. there are enough plates and glasses, adequate cooking facilities of a reasonable quality). The outdoor tables and pool loungers are quality teak, not cheap plastic.

The house is non-smoking. Accommodation restricted to the number of persons booked and confirmed and should never exceed 8 adults. Sorry but pets are not allowed in the house.

Useful local contacts/Car hire/Airport transfers: CAR RENTAL and AIRPORT TRANSFERS: It is best and cheaper to pre book Car Rental or Airport transfers directly. For competitive rates use the car rental feature on the Air Malta website which trawls for the cheapest rates. USEFUL CONTACTS: Housekeeper - Rose - Tel 21436994 - lives close by in the village; prepares the house for your arrival and provides linen/towels for the number of persons booked; also provides weekly cleaning/ linen change for bookings of over 7 days. Additional cleaning/maid service and baby sitting can be provided by private arrangement with her. Gardener/Handyman - Paul (contact through Rose) - has access to water the garden twice weekly. Pool attendant Robert (contact through Rose) needs to maintain the pool at least once weekly. Always follow his instructions and those of the Housekeeper regarding pool chemicals he or she may use. The pool room is strictly out of bounds. Emergency/plumber Etienne (through Rose)

Arriving and departing: Please let us know details of your incoming and outgoing flight arrangements in order to hand over keys to the house. Arriving guests may enter after 3pm. Departing guests are requested to vacate the house by 10am. This way we have 5 hours to clean and prepare the house after previous guests have departed but you are welcome to leave luggage if you arrive earlier.

More Details

Owner
DB Estates
Member since: 2006
Speaks english, french, spanish, italian
Response time
Within 12 hours
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
10 December, 2017

About DB Estates

The farmhouse has been in our family since the mid 1980's when my late father bought and converted it. It's come a long way since then. There used to be onions growing in what is now the master bedroom. I let and manage the house now for my mother and stay there in August with my wife and 4 young children.

DB Estates purchased this house in 1985

Why DB Estates chose San Pawl tat-Tarġa

The property is an old fashioned house of character beautifully converted with modern amenities including fully kitted kitchen, dishwasher and washing machine. The house is set in the middle of a village so it is tranquil but not isolated. Families are most welcome and the garden and pool has been designed to be family friendly with gates which can be closed to keep children safe although care should be exercised and children should never be allowed to roam in the garden.

What makes this house unique

Over the years the owners have made improvements aimed at allowing our guests a lovely and peaceful holiday. Guests seem to love holidaying at the house as the guestbook testifies. The owners spend their summer holidays there themselves.

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in San Pawl tat-Tarġa, Malta

Property Type:
  • house (terraced)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 300 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Sunbed
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower enclosure , Large bathroom newly refurbished
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , bath with shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , Washbasin
    Bathroom 4 - outdoor shower , Pool area
    Room 5 -
    Room 6 -
  • Bathroom 1 is en suite to Master Bedroom - newly refurbished with ceiling fans, heated towel rail, Dimplex heating and washing machine. Bathroom 2 is a family bathroom - newly refurbished with heated towel rail and heating. Cloakroom - newly refurbished - is on ground floor. Outdoor pool shower is in the garden area.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom Master - 2 single bed , With wash basin
    Bedroom 2 - 2 single bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 single bed , With wash basin
    Bedroom 4 - 2 single bed , With wash basin
  • The master Bedroom has a dedicated wash basin and an adjoining dressing room and en suite bathroom. The bedroom has its own terrace overlooking the garden and pool. There are ceiling fans in both bedroom and bathroom. Bedroom 2 with ceiling fan; Bedroom 3 with ceiling fan and wash basin; Bedroom 4 with ceiling fan and wash basin; air-conditioning(for cooling or heating) in all bedrooms and in Kitchen is available on a request basis at an EXTRA CHARGE payable locally to the housekeeper. During the period 01 November to 15 April one electric radiator per occupied bed room and a further two radiators will be provided.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Terrace
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • long term rentals available
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horse riding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
MAID/LINEN is provided once weekly. We provide towels for bathroom use ONLY and may not be used by the pool. PLEASE BRING YOUR OWN BEACH/POOL TOWELS. OPTIONAL EXTRAS payable locally by arrangement with the Housekeeper: Basic FOOD PACK on arrival £25.00: Extra maid service and babysitting: ATING during period 01 November -15 March: 1 electric radiator per occupied bedroom: 2 extra radiators. CAR RENTAL is recommended.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(22 traveller reviews)

68% Complete
22% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Charming village house of character with private pool & lovely garden
average rating of 4.5454545 based on 22 reviews
5

Gorgeous villa!

  • 5 of 5

We love the villa!! It was a wonderful experience at Malta.

  • Review Submitted: 26/06/2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Delighted to hear that. Thanks for the review and come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Lovely house but noisy with expensive electricity and no parking

  • 3 of 5

Dar Bajada is a lovely house. It has an enormous well equipped kitchen, cosy sitting room and four good sized bedrooms, one with its own bathroom. The swimming pool was lovely (if cold) and Rosa was very helpful, going out of her way to explain how everything worked and to help us manage the rubbish and recycling. The owner also provided lots of information in advance of our holiday and always responded to emails timely and fully.

However, we assumed with the 'old farmhouse' reference that the house would be quiet and peaceful. We found the street it was on noisy (I happened to be in one of the front bedrooms) - to be woken up by traffic noise most days is not really restful! There was also NO parking - we were told before we arrived that we should be able to find a space directly opposite the house and if not then one not far away. We NEVER found a space on the house's road and constantly had to park at least a 5 minute walk away. Ok when going out on a day trip, annoying when you had luggage or shopping.

We also didn't realise that electricity was not included in the price. We visited in October when Malta was pleasantly warm so no air con or heating was required. The electricity still cost us an extra 80 Euros on top of our rental price! This was 35c per unit which seemed very high to us.

Overall our stay at Dar Bajda was very pleasant and it was a shame that these small things marred our holiday.

  • Review Submitted: 23/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. First and foremost I am glad you think the house is lovely and that you had an enjoyable stay despite the issues you raise. Dar Bajda has been in my family for 40 years. We are proud of it, look after it and strive to keep it well equipped. The parking: we know that there are sometimes problems parking directly outside and we tell this to guests who hire cars. We are trying to get planning to convert the garage but we aren’t there yet. Meanwhile the advice remains that if you park during the day you will invariably be able to park outside or virtually outside the house. If you return after 6 or 7pm then you should be able to park within a few minutes walk. 2 or 3 minutes if you turn right and park along that road. In the most extreme case, there is a large square by a modern church which always has parking and that is less than 4 minutes walk. If you return with luggage or shopping then most holiday makers stop in the road or temporarily park in front of the garage door directly opposite, where you can safely unload and then park the car. This is what we do routinely. If someone comes by while you are unloading they are accustomed to waiting. Malta is a very populated island and parking is a problem throughout the island. Busy road: the house is situated on a quiet residential road. By Maltese Standards it is rural - until recently we had a donkey living in the house opposite but it bears no resemblance to rural places in England. There is a hustle and bustle to the island. For example the bread van drives along alerting customers by tooting its horn. Most holidaymakers see this as adding colour but I appreciate if you are having a lie in it might be annoying. And because it is so hot and dawn is generally earlier than in the UK people do start their day earlier. Electricity: I am afraid this is made abundantly clear all over the website and all over the terms and conditions. The cost is charged to tenants at less than the cost to us. Malta is a small island that buys in its power. It is terribly expensive. We spend thousands and thousands of euros a year on electricity and water. It is by far our single biggest overhead. Our options are to not charge extra but increase the cost dramatically as when it is free some guests leave the aircon on all day. I am in no doubt that charging a subsidised rate is the fairest thing to do. It should be very obvious to anyone who reads the web description and the rental terms.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

The home was very charming; however disappointed that the pool was not ready to use until day 3.

  • 4 of 5

You had to pay for internet use but it did not work throughout the house; you had to be near the router for it to function-the furniture next to the tv was very uncomfortable and not suitable to watch TV- the mattress in the master bedroom was very lumpy and needs replacement- Overall it was a very place and the "innkeeper" Rose was a pleasure to deal with and did her best to assist with my concerns and questions.

  • Review Submitted: 15/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for leaving a review and for your comments. I have checked what happened with the pool and apparently it wasn’t available until Day 3 because there was a very bad storm. But Rose understood you were okay with that at the time because it was too cold to swim anyway. The pool is cleaned weekly and before every stay and more often if there is a storm or other reason to clean it. I hear you on the WiFi and will drop the extra charge going forward. Back in the day it was a luxury with limited data allowance. Homeowners charged for it in order to recoup the cost of providing it throughout the year. Nowadays people expect it so thanks for pointing that out. I am disappointed you found one of the mattresses uncomfortable as they were new in summer 2016. We haven’t ever had any complaints about the furniture around the TV but that is on the list for upgrade. We do try and upgrade parts of the house annually so the furniture in the rear lounge was all replaced last year along with the mattresses. This year we changed a lot of the lights, we added equipment to the kitchen and also upgraded the furniture in some of the other rooms. We do reinvest annually and are confident that the amenities are as good if not better than any similar property in our pricing bracket. Sorry the WiFi doesn’t travel through all the walls but it is a historic building and some of the walls are 3 feet thick. We have located the modem so it can be used where most people hang out and also outside. I am glad that Rose was so helpful. She is a rock.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely!

  • 4 of 5

We (extended family; 6 adults, 1 child) had a lovely week in Dar Bajda. The pictures does not do the property justice! The kitchen was extremely spacious and there were several spaces to sit and lounge/hang out throughout the house. Good to have an extra large fridge for drinks and food. The pool was large and cool which was a blessing in the very hot weather. My son spent most of the week under water!!

Very close to shops and the 'high street'. Must recommend Victoria Butchers that had one of the best T-bone steaks I have ever had.

A few small minuses.

Firstly, there was a rat in the garden. Luckily this was on our last day. Rose told us that this was due to building works being done up the road and that the excavation disturbed the rats that lives under ground; she was setting out traps as we were departing. Still, this was a little upsetting.

Secondly, the pool could have done with a mid-week cleanup – it was quite sandy as the beginning of the week was windy.

Thirdly, the extra charge was high. €190 for a week - with electricity about €150 + wifi €20 + tourist tax €20. I guess that air conditions are expensive to run, however a simple heads up about these extra costs just so you know what to expect would have made it less painful.

Extra plus for BBQ, extra fridge/freezer, comfortable beds and a big thank you to Rose who is very nice and helpful.

  • Review Submitted: 26/09/2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review and comments. We are glad you had a good time and that you think the photos don't do the property justice (we need to update the photos as we have made many improvements!). Sorry if the extra charges came as a surprise. We do mention them in the website description and in the reservation pack. Charging for them at cost seems to be the fairest way of ensuring that guests pay for the aircon fairly according to what they use. We do not do this to make money. I will suggest to Rose that she might explain it better as not all the guests will necessarily have read all the information. Thanks for taking the time to review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely house in a great location

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time staying in Dar Bajda. The pool is a wonderful added bonus. Spent a lot of time in the pool as the weather was really hot. Rose the house-keeper met us upon arrival and went through everything with us. What a lovely lady. Carmen came and watered the garden during the week. She is a lovely lady also. The village of Naxxar is a great place to stay. We found the supermarkets well stocked. Lot's of places to eat so we didn't need to cook!! All in all we had a wonderful stay. Many thanks Charles for a lovely house to stay in.

  • Review Submitted: 30/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a great time and hope you noticed the improvements from last year when you stayed.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great property

  • 5 of 5

Can't complain much about this property. It was big, had a gorgeous outside area, 5 minutes on foot to the nearest supermarket/cafes/restaurants, big working kitchen (we made dinner at home a lot), and Rose were very helpful the few times we did call her (she helped one party member book and visit the doctor).

Depending on your style, you might want to rent a car, as there's not an abundance of things to do near the property. The bus system was easy to navigate using Google Maps, but they arrived more than an hour late a couple of times (due to traffic accidents, we were told). Mostly they arrived on time though.

I'll give it 5 stars for all of that, but I do have one complaint. They have installed a "smart electricity meter", which will cut off the power if you consume too much of it. Traveling with children, including a toddler, we needed to use the air condition during day time (the toddler needed sleep, and it was 37 degrees celsius some days). We did our best, but still lost power one of the 14 days we were there. It kept everyone awake until we built up the courage to call Rose (it was past midnight), but luckily she was happy to turn it on again.

I understand the need to control power consumption (so people don't leave on 4 air conditions for 24 hours etc), but there should be some system to let you know that you are on track to lose power so it doesn't happen at random. For all we knew, we were within 50% of the limit when we lost it, we had no idea.

  • Review Submitted: 13/07/2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Helge, thank you for your thoughtful review. I agree with you about the electricity except please be assured we did not install the smart meter, the electricity company did. They are compulsory. We are trying to sort this problem out though and meanwhile will leave some advice on how to avoid it. Basically the problem arises because of the power consumed by the aircon, oven, hob and hot water cylinders. If they are all on at once then it used too much power and trips. It is rare to happen at night time. The usual time is early evening when people are often showering and others cooking. We find that by not having the aircon on at the same time the problem doesn't arise. But hopefully we will have resolved it shortly as we are trying to upgrade our supply to commercial. Glad the rest of the holiday was good.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
6 Miles
Malta International Airport
Nearest Restaurant
500 Metres
Palazzo Parisio or Ta Stringi
Car: recommended

Dar Bajda is located in centre of the ancient hill top village of Naxxar. It is within walking distance of the main square abounding with village shops including old fashioned grocery shops, the best butcher shop in Malta, a supermarket, pharmacies, local bars and restaurants all about 6 minute walk. Also in the village square is the magnificent Palazzo Parisio - the local 19th Century manor house which is open to the public, has a restaurant & is well worth a visit. Also worth a visit is Mosta Town - hardly 3kms down the road and renowned for its church with the third largest dome in the world where a WW2 bomb fell but did not explode. The coast road is 15 minutes drive giving access to many resorts with good bathing facilities like Bugibba, St Pauls Bay, Salina, Bahar ic Caghaq & St Julians. Rural but superbly located for quick excursions to Valletta (8km - historical lots to see), Sliema-St Julians (4kms- smart -lots of cafes, restaurants & night spots), Gozo island - lovely day trip (17kms to car ferry crossing at Cirkewwa).

The airport is 10km away, about 20 minutes drive.

Other Activities: Sites of archaeologic and historic interest close by including the Hypogeum (you must book well ahead) and Hagar Qim.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday house in San Pawl tat-Tarġa, Malta

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
AU$419
AU$2,956
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add AU$6 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit AU$702.96
Stay tax AU$0.88 per night, per person. This amount will be due to the owner upon arrival. Does not apply to children under 18 years.
Tax Rate 7.0%

Electricity is payable in addition, locally at 35c per unit consumed. Typically this amounts to EUR60 - 120 per week in the summer.
Can accommodate 8 plus infant.
Payments available in GBP sterling or in EURO € . Please send to the correct account specified in the Reservation Letter
Rates shown are for 4 Adults.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

Other Holiday Properties