Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Whispering Woods Cottage in a gated resort

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 1 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, 4 Sleeps

Welcome to this unique cottage in the woods. Located in a gated community between Lake Cumberland and Daniel Boone National Forest. Come and enjoy a spectacular nature show.

Resonable rates offered in this completely furnished cottage with your enjoyment and relaxation in mind.

This home features main level which includes kitchen, living room with queen sleeper /sofa and half bath, large stone gas fireplace. Upper level has a bedroom with queen bed and full bath.

Lots of decking with a patio set, gas grill and hot tub.

More Details

Owner
Sue Guffey
Member since: 2009
Speaks english
Response time
Within an hour
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
22 April, 2018

Guestbook comments from the owner

This was the second time my husband and I stayed at Whispering Woods. The first was in Nov. 2016 right after getting engaged. When it came time to plan a weekend getaway for our first anniversary, It was the first thought I had: Book Again!

It's lovely & appreciate the hospitality. And my husband made sure I wrote in this book to thank you for the addition of the ROKU sticks.

All the Best!
Feb 2018
  • 1 of 22

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin rental in Burnside, Kentucky

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Half Bathroom -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • long term rentals available
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
Notes:
Amenities include a fully stocked kitchen stove, refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, coffee pot, blender, toaster, crockpot. All dinneware and cookware. Luxurious linens, 1 queen bed and 1 queen sleeper/sofa. Washer/dryer, 2 flat screen TVs, DVD player, movies, games, books & cards. WIRELESS INTERNET!! and unlimited long distance phone. Large stone gas fireplace, gas grill, hot tub. Swimming pool within walking distance, tennis courts, off road boat parking.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(113 traveller reviews)

82% Complete
13% Complete
2% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
Whispering Woods Cottage in a gated resort
average rating of 4.761062 based on 135 reviews
5

nice cozy cabin

  • 5 of 5

This cabin is in a 'resort' with many other cabins in eyesight - don't think you are getting a secluded mountainside to yourself. No complaints and the owner worked with us on a last minute schedule change!

  • Review Submitted: 14/04/2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

We had a pleasant stay overall with a few minor issues.

  • 3 of 5

Cabin was charming and our stay was pleasant overall. However, getting the temperature right both upstairs and down was difficult. The jacuzzi temp would not rise above around 100 so sitting in it was lukewarm at best.

  • Review Submitted: 11/04/2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I’m sorry that you weren’t completely satisfied with your stay. I will be refunding your hot tub fee. We have finally received the new heater parts and it was installed yesterday.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

comfy, quaint, and perfect

  • 5 of 5

This cottage had everything we needed for our short vacation in Kentucky. It was clean and the owners thought of everything!

  • Review Submitted: 03/04/2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for a quiet getaway.

  • 5 of 5

My best friend and I get away a few times a year and tend to go to places where you can hike. Our go to place is Red River Gorge but this year, we decided to go some place we had never been. Although the popular trails ends up being a bit further out than we wants, we still found some nice place to hike close to the cabin. When we got there, the hot tub would not get hot, so Sue requested that a repair man stop by and refunded our hot tub fee. Over all this is perfect for a girls getaway or a couple. It’s not completely secluded but we never saw anyone the whole time we were there. It was a great place to stay!!

  • Review Submitted: 31/03/2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

First of all... This is a wonderful cozy cabin. But our stay wasn't what we expected.

  • 3 of 5

We rented specifically for the hot tub. It would not get above 88 degrees our entire stay. It is also out where everyone around and anyone driving by can see. No privacy at all. The TV would work for a few minutes and spin a few minutes. The WIFI is the same connection. Also no bathtub so not only did we not get to use the hot tub we couldn't even relax in the bath. I was pretty disappointed they didn't offer any solution to the hot tub except turn the breaker off and back on. No offer to send a maintenance man. This was our first vacation in 6 years so unless you want to stay out of the cabin sight seeing I would look elsewhere. We just wanted to relax but not be bored with nothing to enjoy at the cabin.

  • Review Submitted: 21/03/2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sincerely sorry for the failure of the hot tub to achieve its normal temperature. For that reason hot tub fees were refunded immediately. I would note that the hot tub is surrounded by a privacy fence but does not provide total privacy. It is a one bedroom cottage as advertised and the master bath has a shower. When following up on the TV and internet concerns both were found to be operating properly. Apparently the signal was weak or interrupted during the time referenced. The resort is in a wooded remote area and none of the available internet options are comparable to services in urban areas. The cottage is conducive to getting away from the routine to enjoy the best that nature offers, a peaceful setting, State and National Forests, Lake Cumberland, the world famous moon bow at Cumberland Falls, etc. We wish the best during future vacations wherever you go.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A perfect little cottage!

  • 5 of 5

This cabin was perfect for the two of us. This time of year we practically had the whole area to ourselves. The owner thought of everything we would need while visiting. We had a few questions while there and she answered our texts very promptly. We loved the hot tub and it was very well taken care of. We will definitely be return guests again.

  • Review Submitted: 21/03/2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Other Activities:

Top Thing to do in City:

* Boating/Skiing/Tubing.

* Fishing.

* Hiking/Camping.

* Car Show.

* Golf.

Top Thing to do in Budget:

* Hiking in Daniel Boone National Forest.

* Cumberland Falls and moonbow.

* Stearns Scenic Railway.

* New Library & Children's Garden.

* Carniege Center with arts & crafts.

Top Thing to do in Family:

* Drive-In Theater.

* Putt-Putt Golf.

* Bowling.

* Somersplash Water Park.

* Mini-Indy Go-Karts.

Many nearby activities: 25 miles from Cumberland Falls with one of only two moonbows in the world and The Big South Fork, hiking, horseback riding. Check out Sheltowee Trace Outfitters for guided white water rafting tours on the Cumberland River. Mammoth Cave is only 2 hours away. Newly remodeled 18 hole golf course within 15 minutes, marina with boat launch, camping and playground. Several marinas with boat rentals & boat slips available.

Somerset is 20 minutes away with lots of restaurants, Mall, flea markets, Somersplash Water Park and antique malls.

Civil War Museum & battle site. Every 4th weekend between April & October a great car show Somernite Cruise.

Cumberland Speedway is 15 minutes away with exciting saturday night dirt track racing.

Enjoy kayaking or canoeing on the Rockcastle river, a Kentucky Wild River.

Go back in time and enjoy a double feature at the 27 Twin Drive-In Theater.

Somersplash Water Park features a wave pool, water slides, kiddie area and lazy river.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday cabin in Burnside, Kentucky

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring
1 Mar 2018 - 15 May 2018
2 night minimum stay
AU$112
AU$830
 
 
Summer
16 May 2018 - 7 Sep 2018
2 night minimum stay
AU$125
AU$917
 
 
Fall
8 Sep 2018 - 30 Nov 2018
2 night minimum stay
AU$112
AU$830
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee AU$59.19
Refundable Damage Deposit AU$263.08
Hot Tub AU$32.89
Tax Rate 10.0%

3 night minimun for Holiday weekends, 2 night min Spring-Fall, 2 ni

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if cancelled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if cancelled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

Other Holiday Properties