Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon

The Sea la vie - Budget friendly Ocean Front Cottage

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 520 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, Sleeps 4

Ocean Front Value !

Enjoy the panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean from the shared yard.

This one bedroom, one bath cottage is fully furnished with all the amenities including a fully equipped kitchen that allows you to prepare meals at home. The house comfortably sleeps 4 people. The master bedroom has a queen size bed and a sofa sleeper in the living room. Step out the back door and walk 15 steps to a panoramic ocean view! The shared backyard is large and spacious and includes patio furniture, lounge chairs, hot tub and gas BBQs. The perfect place to relax and spend time with family and friends. Beach access is less than a 1/2 a block away.

Just steps away from Sunset Cliffs Park with its many hidden beaches and named for its exquisite sunset vistas, this park encompasses 68 acres of bluffs and walking paths high above the wide expanse of the Pacific Ocean. With its rugged coastline and panoramic views, this area is popular with surfers, ocean-gazers, and folks who like to cruise Sunset Cliffs Boulevard, which runs the length of the cliffs. Drive along Sunset Cliffs Boulevard and enjoy breathtaking views and photo opportunities. It also makes a nice bike ride or walk, and it’s a great place to watch birds. You can see migrating California gray whales during the winter months from high on the bluffs.

Ocean beach is a relaxed beach town, encounter a distinctive downtown district just steps from the ocean, enjoy San Diego's finest and largest Farmers Market, experience the original Dog Beach, or stroll on the longest concrete pier on the west coast. We are located across the bay a few minutes by car from the popular Sea World, 5 minutes from the San Diego Airport and 10 minutes from the World Famous San Diego Zoo, Petco Park and the Gas Lamp District.

*Ask about our other vacation rentals next door

More Details

Property Manager
Lorie & Mike
Member since: 2014
Speaks english
Response time
Within an hour
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
25 March, 2017

About Lorie & Mike

We love taking old properties at the beach and breathing some fresh air into them for others to enjoy

Why Lorie & Mike chose San Diego County

Direct ocean front but close to all things San Diego located in the lovable town of Ocean Beach

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage rental in Ocean Beach, California

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 520 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 4
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Tub and shower!
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Living Area - 1 sofa bed/futon , This is a queen sleeper sofa in the living area
  • Plus queen sleeper sofa in living area
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • bay
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • marina
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We have BBQs, ocean view sitting area, firepit, hot tub (when operable), full kitchen, linens, beach towels and we do endeavor to keep beach chairs and body boards on the property but these items rotate and change.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(25 traveller reviews)

The Sea la vie - Budget friendly Ocean Front Cottage
average rating of 4.6 based on 25 reviews
5

Beautiful beach house!

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here in Ocean Beach. The home is lovely with a beautiful little shared patio overlooking the ocean. The sunset and view from the hot tub was to die for. The neighborhood of Ocean Beach is quaint and quiet. It was a great retreat!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

California Dreamin'

  • 5 of 5

This is a lovely small cottage right on Sunset Cliffs. There was very little "people noise;" we were lulled to sleep by the sound of the crashing waves. It is easy walking distance to the restaurant and shops of Ocean Beach and in the other direction to the Sunset Cliffs park. The weather was gorgeous while we were there and the tides very high. Unfortunately, we were witness to the power of the ocean when we saw parts of the cliff fall into the ocean. The owners quickly blocked off the area of greatest danger. I sure hope this is still standing when we return to San Diego.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you loved it and we look forward to you coming back as we're always improving the property. We were actually planning to block off the north end of the yard for some scheduled maintenance taking a day or two anyway for some bluff stabilization which is done now. Once the neighbor to the north completes some boundary work, we will be doing a complete renovation of our own yard overlooking the ocean so hopefully your experience will be even more amazing when you return :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oahu, Hawaii
3

3 stars

  • 3 of 5

My husband and I stayed in this rental for one week. It was a nice size for 2 people. The location was good, it was only a short drive to the Ocean Beach area where there are shops and restaurants. It is right next to the water down a short pathway to a shared patio. The beach access that was close by was closed though. The rental itself was ok. It could have been cleaner and better maintained. My isses were the bedding and towels had stains on them, we had two large spiders in our one week stay and the rental could use some maintenance and upkeep. The other thing we didn't like about the rental was not all the windows had blinds or curtains so it wasn't private. People could walk by the kitchen window and see you in your PJs. The welcome letter does say something about them not stocking toilet paper and such and they weren't kidding we had less than one roll when we got there. I've never had to go toilet paper shopping on vacation and we have stayed at many private rentals before. I would stay in the Sunset Cliffs area again but not at this rental.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love great feedback and opportunities to always improve our guest's experiences and love when a guest's review can be helpful to others but this one is so staggeringly inaccurate it is a pretty gross misinterpretation of the level of service you'll find at our little beach getaway especially considering this review of theirs is the only 3 star review in a "sea" of 4 & 5 stars, pun intended, ha. Unfortunately, we never had any of our communications to these guests answered - even when we inquired about their well being during the stay nor were we informed when this couple checked in or out. We encourage any calls, texts and emails especially if you need anything, even if it is as simple as how to roll down the blind on the rear kitchen door they seemed to have overlooked (?) or where the additional roll(s) of TP can be located (under the bathroom vanity or easily replenished from housekeeping if you run out during a shorter stay) but our longer term guests renting these fully stocked cottages DO buy some of their own supplies if needed for extended reservations of course. Our housekeeping also does an impeccable personable job keeping everything just right and would have been extremely happy to replace any and all linens if needed and even remove any big bad spiders (this is a first) which is funny to hear from someone in from Hawaii where living with creepy crawlys is the norm, eek!! The closest beach access WAS damaged during our last El Nino winter but they've neglected to mention here that there are alternative beaches just a couple blocks north & south as described in all of our support materials. We also understand that travelers may be too busy to read through everything before arriving like these two but again ... we are always available to attend to your needs as our honored guests - just ask us, cheers -David, Lorie & Mike
Did you find this review helpful?
3 7
4

pleasant stay

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful and affordable cottage! So close to seaworld and downtown SD. Great access to owners for information about the rental during the stay. Recommended.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Clean cottage, quiet area close to the cliffs

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our 3 night stay in this quiet cottage so close to Sunset Cliffs Natural Park - we walked there the first night shortly after we arrived. Conveniently located for quick trips to Ocean Beach, Mission Beach and La Jolla, and when we weren't enjoying the area, we were relaxing in the cottage (slept soundly in that comfortable bed!). Everything was clean and in working order...no problems! Thank you!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Chandler, AZ
4

Paradise found in Ocean Beach!

  • 4 of 5

Thoroughly enjoyed our get-away--the location is perfect if you are looking to relax and enjoy. This sleepy little

town of Ocean Beach reminds me of a place that time forgot---fun/quaint restaurants--and the cottage was perfect

--we spent hours on the back deck overlooking the Pacific Ocean--we would definitely return to this little jewel in

Ocean Beach.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Lindberg Field
Nearest Beach
Bermuda (stair temp closed) 2nd beach 2 blks north
Other Activities:

Top Thing to do in City:

* restaurants.

* surf.

* fish.

* seaworld.

* legoland.

Top Thing to do in Budget:

* hike.

* beachcomb.

* sunbath.

* sit by the fire and enjoy the views!.

* swim.

Top Thing to do in Family:

* seaworld.

* san diego zoo.

* legoland.

* disneyland.

* gaslamp.

5 minutes to Seaworld, minutes to Gaslamp, Petco park and downtown San Diego. Mission bay, world class Sportsfishing, surfing and ocean sports!

**Also if you’d like to make your stay extra special, wonderful spa services such as facials and massages can be scheduled and performed on premises during your stay

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday cottage in Ocean Beach, California

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring 2017
10 Mar 2017 - 13 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
A$169
A$1,179
A$4,592
 
 
Spring 2017 Cont...
14 Apr 2017 - 31 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
A$169
A$1,179
A$4,592
 
 
Summer 2017
1 Jun 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
4 night minimum stay
A$222
A$6,363
 
 
Winter 2017
1 Sep 2017 - 31 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
A$182
A$1,179
A$4,592
 
 
Summer 2018
1 Jun 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
4 night minimum stay
A$222
A$6,363
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
A$169
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee A$118
Pet Fee A$66
Property Damage Protection A$77
Tax Rate 11.05%

Just a non-refundable $50 "Pet Fee" in addition to your small mandatory insurance policy will allow you to bring your pets without any additional deposit - woof!!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable