Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

AK Humpy Cove 8 - Unit 8 is on second floor .End unit

Bedrooms 2
Space 800 sq ft
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Furnished 2 Bedroom & Bath (788 Sq Ft.)

Great place for people to stay and explore Alaska. Close to jogging and bike trails and parks. Biking distance to downtown 3 miles. Fully furnished 2 queens and bedroom furniture, sofa & chairs, dinner table, cable, high-speed internet, flat screen TV and DVD. In addition to oven, microwave, dishwasher, silverware, pots & pans, coffee maker, toaster, etc.,. Walking distance to stores (i.e. REI, Play-it-again Sports, Alaska Club, Supermarkets, night clubs (i.e. Chilkoot Charlies, Buckaroo Club, Eddie's Sports bar, etc.,), restaurants (i.e Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, American, etc.,). Private parking spaces, Washer/dryer and private storage units in the basement. Great location to go anywhere. From Minnesota you can go downtown or out-of-town. From Northern lights you can get to Lake Hood and Anchorage International Airport, Earthquake park, ect.. You can bicycle down to Ship creek and catch King Salmon or Silver Salmon. You can also fly fish from local lakes or go mountain biking on the Hillside or Arctic Valley. You'll never get tire of things to do. Take a train ride to Seward or Mt. Denali, rent an RV and explore Alaska, then come back to your things and rental when you are down.

Sam Nang (Samantha) & Robert Lukacinsky
Member since: 2013
Speaks english, Cambodian
Response time
Within an hour
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
22 September, 2018

About Sam Nang (Samantha) & Robert Lukacinsky

Love to travel and explore new things. Own a travel and touring agency " Asia Travel " . We both graduated from School in Anchorage, and started college here. Spent many nights at Chilkoot Charlies in the 1990's. Love the location, graduated from West H.S. which is within walking distance. Currently living in Anchorage & Waikiki love both places, as both are very unique.

Sam Nang (Samantha) & Robert Lukacinsky purchased this apartment in 2014

Why Sam Nang (Samantha) & Robert Lukacinsky chose North Star


What makes this apartment unique

2 bedrooms, with a queen size bed in each room, fully furnished, and close to everything.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment rental in North Star

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Please take all trash out daily , dishes need to wash before departure. Thanks so munch !🌹
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower
  • Full size bathroom with basin outside of bathroom
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
  • Master Bedroom contains a queen size bed, dresser, and end tables 2nd bedroom also contains a queen bed, and end tables
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Bicycles ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • long term rentals available
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • ski
  • snowboarding
  • tennis
Great place and economical for coming back to after spending a day or two fishing & site-seeing. Close to everything in Anchorage (i.e. movies, biking, trails, supermarkets, restaurants, exercise facilities, post office, schools, and airport.


3.7/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

33% Complete
33% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
AK Humpy Cove 8 - Unit 8 is on second floor .End unit
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 6 reviews

A nice place to stay, especially with pets

  • 4 of 5

Overall, I enjoyed my stay. I was in Unit 8, which is on the upper floor and I had my two dogs with me. My stay lasted about three weeks.

Pros: clean, nicely furnished, recently refurbished, two bedroom apartment, very reasonably priced, one bed, one futon, one couch, nice appliances, and some dishes and cookware. No spices! (I discovered this when I was cooking and tried to shake some salt into my dish from the empty salt shaker. Lol.) Samantha and Robert were very gracious when I extended my stay several times as I had just moved to Anchorage and was looking for permanent housing. They gave me a multi-week discount. The location was great! (Even if the neighborhood wasn't, see below.) Downtown was close, Kaladi Brothers coffee, lots of restaurants, several parks. It was a great launching point to discovering the city. Fenced dog park at Arctic-Benson! And I recommend the Valley of the Moon park for walks.

Cons: The day I arrived I noticed the floor was pretty dusty, especially under the couch, lots of pet hair. I swept it myself. The shower curtain rod was installed on the wrong angle so the curtain slides to the middle and water gets all over the floor. I had to pin it with shampoo bottles. The neighborhood is kind of so-so, some nice houses, some run-down. It wasn't too bad, but there was one day that some neighbors across the lawn decided to yell at each other for awhile. It was disconcerting. I probably wouldn't walk around at night. As some reviewers have noted, the owners are probably not in state. They weren't when I was there, which sometimes throws off communication and their ability to assist. There is an in state maintenance person, who I met because the water heater was having issues. A couple of cold showers (not fun) but there should be a new part in it now.

  • Review Submitted: 06/06/2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great little apartment that allows pets

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I and our dog stayed in this apartment over the winter holidays for two weeks. Overall, this place is great and we will definitely stay again next time we are in town. It has two bedrooms, and a kitchen stocked with all of the dishes and pots/pans that you need. Make sure you bring your own coffee, salt, pepper, oil, etc, so you can start cooking right away. The midtown location is great, convenient to downtown, Walmart, barnes and noble, and basically anywhere in the city. The apartment is clean, inexpensive (at least in the winter, when we were there), and beautiful. And we were able to stay there with our dog (a lab mix), which was the big selling point for us.

The only problems we faced were due to the fact that the owners aren't in state, at least when we were there, and they don't seem to have anyone available locally who is willing to come 24/7 if you encounter a problem. You shouldn't expect any problems with this place anyway, so this shouldn't normally be an issue, but we did manage to lock ourselves out at one point and the code-lock wasn't working properly to get us back in. We ended up stuck outside for a while (again, in the Alaskan winter) and the owners were nice enough over the phone but it sounded like we were pretty much on our own to figure out how to get back inside, there wasn't really anyone available to come help us with it. Luckily, we did manage to fix the problem and get inside, but my husband and I agreed that we saw the advantage of staying somewhere with a front desk, so there's always someone you can call on in situations like this. I left a message another time because the TV stopped working on us, but they didn't return my call. We did later figure out how to fix the TV. I know we were there in the off-season, so it's entirely possible they will be more responsive in the summer, when I imagine they get a lot more business. It's not a deal breaker for us, due to the price, location, and pet-friendly, we will be more than happy to stay there again.

FYI, incase you encounter a problem with the lock, try pressing the "lock" button first, and then entering the code, and then press "lock" again. I don't know why we had to do this, but we did and it worked.

  • Review Submitted: 05/01/2016
  • Date of Stay: December 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Wonderful Property!

  • 5 of 5

Great apt, fully furnished, nice view too. Samantha was incredibly helpful with aa few small issues we had, too. Overall a great stay.

One fyi...I am 6'2 and had a little bit of a hard time sleeping on the bed. Wasn't a huge problem though.

Would definitely recommend this place!

  • Review Submitted: 11/10/2015
  • Date of Stay: September 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Bad stay

  • 1 of 5

I wouldn't suggest staying here unless you don't mind cockroaches. Make sure to do you research as they will not give you a full refund and VRBO will not help you .they advise you to work it out with the owner . They are the third party involvement only.

  • Review Submitted: 09/09/2015
  • Date of Stay: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The unit was renovated in September after Kimberly's stay (i.e. new bedroom floors, fridge, oven, microwave, kitchen cabinets, dishwasher), in addition the building was fumigated, bedbug protectors were added to the mattresses. A maintenance program has been put in place. Every Sept and Apr/May, batteries are replaced in the smoke detectors, remote controllers, and front door. A plumbing company inspects the radiators, drains, boiler & laundry room, in addition, a pest control company checks the units for unwanted pests (i.e. twice per year). Samantha
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

It worked for our needs

  • 3 of 5

Newly remodeled, the apartment was pleasant, though small. Two bedrooms, but all rooms were small with minimal amenities. The bathroom required standing beside the toilet to close the door. The second bedroom had a futon instead of a bed (which I am sure was in the description, but I overlooked that info and assumed the futon was in the living room), which left a short of bed space. The owners were helpful with changes that I needed to make. Unfortunately, even newly remodeled, the apartment smelled strongly of stale cigarette smoke and cheap air freshener. This might be due to the permanent apartment dwellers who smoke all of the time on the landing right outside all of the doors. The apartment was reasonable priced and allowed us to base our vacation out of Anchorage.

  • Review Submitted: 20/08/2015
  • Date of Stay: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The futon has been replaced with a bed in all the units and the second room we originally set up to be an office/bedroom (desk, chair, & futon). Samantha
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Yuma, Az.

Loved it !

  • 5 of 5

We loved this rental! I was a little skeptical at first, only because it seemed too good to be true but it was such a relief to find the home looks just like it does in the pictures. The location was great, we were walking distance to some of our favorite restaurants (Bear Tooth, Jackie's Place) & a short drive to downtown Anchorage. It was comfortable & the perfect size for our family. My daughter had her own room which is always nice on a long vacation.

Someone was available on-site in case we needed anything but overall, our privacy was respected. The unit included wifi, cable tv & the kitchen was nicely stocked with everyday essentials like a coffee maker, cups, plates, pots & pans, etc. The owner even included laundry detergent for us in case we wanted to wash while we were there. This was definitely a GREAT stay for us & would definitely stay here again !

  • Review Submitted: 21/07/2015
  • Date of Stay: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
3.5 Miles
Ted Stevens International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Chilkoot Charlies
Nearest Ferry
120 Miles
Seward Alaska
Nearest Golf
4.5 Miles
O' Malley's on the Green
Nearest Train
3.5 Miles
Anchorage Train station
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Ray's, bear tooth, Hula hands, tofu house
Nearest Ski
48 Miles
Nearest Beach
3.5 Miles
Spenard Beach

Near Westchester Lagoon, easy bicycle ride to downtown Anchorage. Walking distance from restaurants, post office, shopping, night clubs, schools, movie theaters, and Nature parks and trails.


Rates & Availability

Contact Owner

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee AU$137.22
Property Damage Insurance AU$80.96

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if cancelled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if cancelled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.