Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Secluded Lake Retreat

Bedrooms 3
Space 2,200 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

Beautiful Lakefront Home- Sleeps 8

Our property is centrally located in southwest Michigan, within a 3-hour drive from Chicago and Detroit. The region is known for it’s rolling hills, golf courses and hundreds of lakes. It is a place where recreation awaits year-round! No matter what your outdoor pleasure, from golf to water sports, you can find it here in our beautiful natural surroundings!

Our house sits on 3.3 wooded acres, and from it’s hillside perch, enjoys broad views overlooking Bristol Lake. The property is on a quiet residential street. Bristol is a 165-acre all-sports lake and is excellent for fishing, swimming and all manner of watersports. The lakeshore consists of a mix of areas of sand and loam. The water gets deep gradually and is relatively-friendly to younger children (although we recommend life jackets for non-swimmers). We have a large grassy yard along the lake with enough trees to give some comfortable shade in the sunny summer afternoons.

Ray Micham
Member since: 2014
Speaks english
Response time
Within a day
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
23 June, 2018

About Ray Micham

This home on Bristol Lake is owned by 2 families: Ray and Sue Micham, and Dan and Janel Garno. Sue and Dan are sister and brother. Ray and Sue live in Northwestern Ohio with their 6 children, ages 6-19. Dan and Janel live in Southern Michigan with their 6 children, ages 4-15. Our kids are all very active, and have enjoyed fishing, catching turtles, frogs, and snakes, swimming, canoeing/kayaking, and water sports during the warm months, and ice skating, sledding and ski trips during the cold months. We also enjoy taking a 1 hour and 15 minute drive over to the charming town of Saugatuck, on the coast of Lake Michigan. It is our hope that your family will also make lots of good memories and experience the relaxation, peace, and fellowship that we have found, gathered at Bristol Lake.

Ray Micham purchased this house in 2015


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Dowling

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower enclosure
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 extra lg. double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 extra lg. double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 large double bed
  • Rec room features sleeper sofa with fold-out beds.
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • long term rentals available
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • ski
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(16 traveller reviews)

81% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
Secluded Lake Retreat
average rating of 4.5625 based on 16 reviews

Dangerous steps down to water

  • 2 of 5

I broke my ankle at this house on the step out to the screened room. Maybe it is best to have a sign there to let people know about the step. The house was nice, it was a little warm in there at times. We liked our stay there but wish we would of known about the treacherous walk down to the water. Our 80 year old mother fell also on her way down the walkway. There was no lights so it was very difficult at night. My broken ankle made it much worse. It would of been nice to be contacted by the homeowner after i fell and broke my ankle to see how i was doing, but we never got contacted, even after we let tgem know. We wont stay here again because of the dangerous walkway that you need to use to go to the lake. In none of the reviews does anyone mention the steep walk path, this is important information.

  • Review Submitted: 15/01/2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The walkway to the lake may be challenging to the elderly (especially at night) and we will amend our advertisement to be more clear about this. We were unaware of this incident until we read this review and I contacted our guest about it- they said they had noted it in our guest book (which we do not read regularly). We are NOT uncaring and are truly sorry that this happened. The step-down into the sun porch is a pretty common feature in these types of rooms and I'm not sure a sign would make it a lot safer- but we will consider the suggestion.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful view, relaxed atmosphere

  • 5 of 5

Perfect size for the 6 of us. Beautiful view and perfect for a getaway. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Review Submitted: 25/11/2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Absolutely perfect place!!!

  • 5 of 5

So clean, modern , comfortable!

  • Review Submitted: 30/05/2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The property is lovely. The home is furnished very well.

  • 2 of 5

Please understand that I am the caregiver for 3 adult mentally challenged seniors. They arrived with me for a pleasant few days. We started out with dirty bedding piled on the beds so I had to do the laundry first. Very disappointing to expect to Be freed from some chores for the time.

The weather turned very hot and we did not expect that. The air conditioning did not work. I managed to get the fan to stay on but the house was very uncomfortable and not condusive to sleeping. I tried to adjust the temperature but found the thermostat is preset. We had a few family stop by to visit a couple hours. Even they remarked how very hot the home was. Very disappointed in the lack of sleep for what was supposed to be a relaxing time. That made the 8 hour drive home very difficult from being so tired. And I expected that the price I paid should have allowed me to be comfortable. Perhaps the ad should mention the preset set air conditioning. ( = none)

Saddened that such a beautiful setting that has obviously been invested in with much care was such a disappointment. While I would love to return, the memories probably will make me skip this nice place.

  • Review Submitted: 18/05/2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Parkman, OH

Very nice place!

  • 4 of 5

We had went up there for a weekend with some friends for a bike race. The layout of the place was great for relaxing and it was just as pictured. We really appreciated the hospitality and especially that the owner was kind enough to return an item that was left behind. Highly recommend!

  • Review Submitted: 26/04/2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Surprisingly understated yet incredible...

  • 5 of 5

Myself and 7 of my closest friends from childhood chose this property for a weekend getaway before we all headed back to our lives around the country. Everything is as advertised, but the pictures don't do the sunrise justice. The lake is gorgeous and very serene. Kayaks and paddle-boat were easy to access, and the property was in great shape! Any issues that came up Ray/Dan were easy to get a hold of and even offered to stop by and help. One thing that they didn't post in the pictures was the professional sized pool table and small air-hockey table! While we would have come without them there they are still an awesome selling point and can't be missed! All in all we had an amazing time and I'd HIGHLY recommend this site for a relaxing weekend/week.

  • Review Submitted: 24/04/2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Gerald R. Ford International Airport
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Yarrow Golf & Conference Resort
Nearest Ski
34 Miles
Bittersweet Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
65 Miles
Oval Beach, Saugatuck, MI
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday house in Dowling

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Summer, 2018
15 Jun 2018 - 30 Aug 2018
3 night minimum stay
Labor Day Weekend, 2018
31 Aug 2018 - 6 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
Fall, 2018
7 Sep 2018 - 1 Nov 2018
2 night minimum stay
Thanksgiving, 2018
16 Nov 2018 - 25 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
Holiday, 2018
21 Dec 2018 - 1 Jan 2019
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee AU$67.19
Refundable Damage Deposit AU$335.97
Cleaning Fee AU$268.78 + Tax

Pontoon Boat (subject to availability) for rent at a rate of $120/day (3-day minimum) or $600/week

Our property is in a single-family residential zoning district. We rent only to families, not companies or unrelated groups.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner