Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

A Colorful Bungalow For A Los Angeles Adventure, Close To The Beaches & Freeway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 130 m²
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom 2 Bath Home With Outside Shower & A Rear Yard Bordered By Fruit Trees

We are unique in that the location is convenient to virtually every LA destination, yet you will enjoy quiet peace and privacy once you enter from the gate or front door. This is a true original California bungalow in every respect, with avocado, lemon, olive, apricot, apple and lime trees, berry bushes, and a mediterranean landscape full of herbs and all kinds of fragrances. You can walk to the mall and dozens of other retail and dining destinations, but when you're at our place you'll feel like you're in your own oasis. You and your guests will enjoy the best of linens, furnishings, and amenities, with all the benefits of a nice hotel and a fully equipped home. If you need anything during your stay, our staff is a phone call away to assist you.


Owner
Martha Newman
Member since: 2011
Speaks english, spanish
Response time
Within a day
Response rate
90%
Calendar last updated:
7 August, 2017

About Martha Newman

The husband is an architect. The wife is an artist. What could go wrong? To the original classic bungalow we have added a second bathroom with a jacuzzi , an outside shower, and a deck for the french doors we installed in the main living room.

Martha Newman purchased this bungalow in 1995

Why Martha Newman chose Redondo Beach

We came from San Francisco in 1988 and moved around until we happened on the South Bay. One week later we moved there. The beach community is the right home for us. Hard to believe we are in a metropolis with the quiet small town vibe here. Friendly neighbors, friendly restaurants and bars, and a 16 mile concrete band, the Strand, that borders the beaches and marinas all the way to Venice beach - great for bicycling or leisurely walking.

What makes this bungalow unique

Our community was designed with small curving streets that heightens the neighborhood feeling. You will have complete privacy while being really close to everything that is LA. Redondo Beach is a model city, with near perfect year round weather, comparatively little traffic, and countless eateries and other venues for fun seekers. Once your skin is sun kissed and your belly is full, it's just a few easy minutes back to our Sweet Haven to watch your favorite TV show in our jacuzzi, then have a glass of wine by the fire. Each bedroom and both living rooms have their own TV's, so you and your guests can choose their own shows. There is almost as much outside living space as indoors, with various spots to enjoy the fruit trees, song birds, and organic gardens.

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday bungalow rental in North Redondo, California

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 130 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , bath with shower , jacuzzi
    Bathroom 3 - outdoor shower
  • Front bathroom has shower/tub w/ wall mural, skylight Rear bathroom has Shower/ jacuzzi tub w/ private garden view Outside Shower has privacy and flowers
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • master Bedroom - 1 extra lg. double bed
    Green Bedroom - 1 large double bed
    Rear Bedroom - 1 double bed
  • -Master Bedroom w/ King-size mattress & wifi cable HD TV -Green bedroom w/ Queen-size mattress & wifi cable HD TV -Rear bedroom w/ Full-size mattress & wifi cable HD TV -Front Room w/ new queen sized lazyboy sofabed with air pump mattress and memory foam top, super comfortable, & wifi cable HD TV
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

87% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
A Colorful Bungalow For A Los Angeles Adventure, Close To The Beaches & Freeway
average rating of 4.5 based on 8 reviews
san francisco Ca
5

Fantastic family vacation

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay in this charming and quirky home. We stayed here to celebrate my mother's 70th birthday, and this home met the needs of all the ages. The enclosed back yard and patio were great for letting the kids play while the adults chatted and barbecued. The kitchen has all the tools to prepare delicious meals, with an amazing assortment of dishes, pots and pans, and even spices and kitchen staples such a flour, sugar, salt, and pepper. The beds are comfortable, and the host responded to all of our questions. The house is close to super markets, Target, and we drove to Veteran's Beach and jumped in the waves. We loved admiring all the murals, masks, and sculptures scattered around the house. We loved our stay here, and look forward to returning in the future!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh I'm so glad you get me, you really get me! I'm glad to know we are kind of neighbors, and thanks for the flowers, that was a first! Please do come back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place for a family!

  • 5 of 5

Thanks Martha! We were able to find all the necessities. It was a very comfortable stay!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh so great! Since I hadn't heard from you I was wondering. Please come back soon, Martha
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fun property, perfect location!

  • 5 of 5

The home was clean and comfortable. We really enjoyed exploring the art on the walls, and eating out in the garden. The grassy yard was the perfect area for our toddler to play. While we were in the area, we went to Cedars-Sinai Hospital, Universal Studios, Disneyland, and the beach. Everything was easily accessible from the home. We had a great trip and would certainly stay here on future visits.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house for a furnished short term rental!!

  • 5 of 5

We needed a furnished, short term rental while we finalized the purchase of our house in the South Bay when we relocated from Phoenix, AZ. Martha and Kevin's house was a PERFECT fit! The kids loved the outdoor space and the accommodations fit our needs to a T. Martha and Kevin were very helpful along the way and have taken care of anything we have needed. This is the only house we have ever rented (and we have rented quite a few!) that has EVERYTHING you could possibly need. From small kitchen appliances/cookware items to any soaps or cleaning supplies needed for the stay, this place has it all! We appreciate everything Martha and Kevin have done for us! Although we hope to not need another rental in the South Bay anytime soon, if we ever did, we would certainly rent this one again in a heartbeat!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
1

Do not stay here.

  • 1 of 5

While the location and the property is good, we did not have a pleasant experience. The housekeeper was still there when we arrived past our check in time, did not have the house in a clean shape when she left (we had to clean kitchen and floors), and when I informed the owner she essentially called me a liar and questioned my character. We finished our trip, she offered to send something in return for our not so great start. I graciously declined, decided not to write a review and then received an email stating that an insurance claim was submitted for missing items which is completely false. Avoid the headache.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I declined to rate this renter as I do not believe in releasing negativity into the world if I can possibly avoid it. She did have a late check in because my housekeeper of 26 years had a medical emergency and did not get the house ready on time. I offered her compensation for that glitch, apologized profusely, and wished her well. When she checked out we realized she had hosted a paint party for small children, ruined with paint stains around 20 of our nice new white towels, and broke several china dinner plates. Since the insurance policy purchased by renters covered such things we made a claim, that's what it's for, why wouldn't I? I never accused her of anything. My housekeeper had already cleaned the floor when she got there, the garden had just been watered, and her children tracked mud in again after it was clean. It was very inappropriate for this renter to blame housekeeping for her own children's mess. I guess I will focus on her opening, that it's a good house and a good location. And please read the other reviews on this and my four other properties, we try above all to provide a perfect as possible setting for our renters to enjoy their events. I regret this renter's perception, who knows what she is dealing with to act this way. I guess I should go back and give her the rating she deserves so other owners won't be subjected to this but I just can't do it, that's not who I am. Live and Learn!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Eleven of my family members from oversees including 3 very energetic kids stayed in this house. The

  • 5 of 5

I highly recommend this house to my family and friends.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
6.5 Miles
Los Angeles (LAX)
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Boagie's Sports Bar
Nearest Ferry
15.2 Miles
San Pedro to Catalina
Nearest Golf
2.1 Miles
Alhondra 18 hole/ 9 hole par 3 public Golf Course
Nearest Train
1.3 Miles
Metro Green Line Station to airport and downtown
Nearest Motorway
0.7 Miles
405 Freeway
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Brazilian Bistro
Nearest Ski
113 Miles
Big Bear
Nearest Beach
3.5 Miles
Hermosa Beach
Car: necessary

We are within 4.4 miles of 4 unique beaches with swimming, surfing, stand-up paddle boards, whale watching, volleyball and bicycling along the edge of the sand for 16 miles on a rented bike. Ongoing sea-side festivals, international restaurant fare, and lively bars cater to every taste. We are less than a mile from the freeway and 6 miles to the airport.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Additional Guest Fee A$31.53 per person per night
Damage Insurance A$74.4

By paying you are consenting to the Rental Agreement.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.