Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Enjoy Waneta Lake situated in the middle of the beautiful Finger Lakes

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 1,000 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 BR, 1 Bath, sleeps 7 , large private property, 85' of level lake front w/dock

"Lazy Loon Cottage" is situated on the scenic eastside of WANETA LAKE nestled between Keuka Lake and Seneca Lake FINGER LAKES, a large private lot with 85' of LEVEL LAKEFRONT beach. This cozy year round 3BR getaway w/ large deck, outdoor furniture, firepit, dock, 2 kayaks,1 canoe. The Lazy Loon Cottage is the perfect summer retreat! This cottage is also great for vacationing during all four seasons. Wood burning stove along with Mitsubishi heating/ AC system for the entire cottage will keep you warm during your fall and winter stays and cool during the summer. Come spend the Fall at our cottage and enjoy the colorfull fall leaves while wine tasting at all the local wineries, sipping your favorite microbrew at the many area breweries, or just relaxing. Our cottage also offers great ice fishing just off our shoreline during the winter months.

INTERIOR LIVING SPACE includes Fully equipped KITCHEN w/ dishes, flatware, glasses, cups, cooking & serving implements, pots & pans, toaster, coffeemaker, microwave, electric oven/ range, refrigerator

DINING area w/ table & chairs LIVING area has a couch, chairs, cards and regional tourism information.

BEDROOMS - #1 Queen Bed, dresser, night stand; #2 Queen Bed, dresser, TV; #3 Full bed with twin bunk on top and dresser. Cottage comes with Washer & Dryer, ceiling fan, Mitsubishi whole cottage heating/ AC and wood heating for use during inclement weather or winter/ fall seasons and AIR CONDITIONING during those warm spring and summer months.

EXTERIOR driveway provides plenty of level parking leading to a large grassy yard. Comes with shaded deck eating area, gas grill, outdoor furniture,2 firepits, DOCK for your boat or use of kayaks, canoe, and paddle boat. Great fishing off the dock! NIcely sheltered w/ trees for shade-seekers with plenty of open areas for those sun-lovers. Close proximety to the FINGER LAKES WINE TRAILS, Watkins Glen, Watkins Glen Raceway, Amish Windmill Shops, gorge hiking, and plenty of tourist attractions.

Tenant provides their own linens.

More Details

Owner
Adam Donegan
Member since: 2015
Speaks english
Response time
Within an hour
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
22 September, 2018

About Adam Donegan

Adam & Melissa Donegan both work in sales and management by day but love the finger lakes and Waneta Lake when we are not on the job.

Adam Donegan purchased this cottage in 2015

Why Adam Donegan chose Dundee

We love the Finger Lakes Region in general and Waneta Lake was the ideal setting for us becuase its quieter than some of the bigger lakes but your still a stones throw away from all the Finger Lakes have to offer. Waneta Lake also offers you two lakes for one with the boat channel you can boat or paddle through to reach Lamoka lake. There is a great public island on Lamoka Lake that provides a great place to swim or pricnic on. Both lakes have warm waters and sandy bottoms making them ideal for swimming and fishing.

What makes this cottage unique

The views are Amazing and the sunsets from the eastside are something you just have to see for yourself. The wildlife on the lake is spectacular. You may see bald eagles flying over head or diving down to catch a fishy snack. Osprey and kingfishers are quite common. Of course the seasonal Loons and their distinct calls are why we named our place the LAZY LOON COTTAGE. My wife and I love to go wine tasting at the many local wineries or stop by the growing number of brewries in the area. We also love all the Amish shops where you can get homemade crafts and food. You certianly can't beat sitting by the bonfire at night listening to the bullfrogs and fish jump while gazing at all the stars, that is one of our favorite things about an evening at the lake.

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage rental in Dundee

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath (no shower) , shower enclosure
  • Full Bath, Tub and Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double bed , Dresser and AC
    Bedroom 3 - 1 bunk bed , Dresser and window fan
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed
  • Bedroom #1 Full Bed, Dresser, AC Bedroom #2 Queen Bed, Dresser, TV Bedroom #3 Twin Bunk Beds, Dresser
Entertainment:
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • long term rentals available
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(32 traveller reviews)

75% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Enjoy Waneta Lake situated in the middle of the beautiful Finger Lakes
average rating of 4.75 based on 32 reviews
Rochester, NY
5

Beautiful piece of property and clean!

  • 5 of 5

Perfect size and had everything we needed for our family!

  • Review Submitted: 01/09/2018
  • Date of Stay: August 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your vacation! Hope you can make it back again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ottawa, Canada
4

Nice property and beautiful lakefront, but not good for swimming

  • 4 of 5

The property is lovely - the grass is beautifully manicured and lovely for hanging out on. The canoes and kayaks available (nb. one kayak paddle broken, making it difficult to go out in the double) make it nice to enjoy the lake. Unfortunately, there is a thick, thick lake weed situation that makes it impossible to swim in front of the property. Swimming through it is a total mess.

The cottage itself is very clean and well maintained, although there is a strong smell in parts (we wondered if maybe from the septic field below the house?). Air conditioning was nice to have. The listing says that it accommodates 7, but note that there are only 4 chairs inside and the glasses situation is lacking (ie only 4 mugs, 4 wine glasses). We'd recommend this as a place to stay, but not if you're hoping for time in the water swimming.

  • Review Submitted: 29/08/2018
  • Date of Stay: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay completely. There is some seaweed generally in most lakes. We did put in seaweed mats that prevent any growth in the swimming area unfortunately we can’t get rid of the seaweed everywhere. Our young niece and nephew have no problems swimming off our dock. I’ll look into the smell your talking about as that is odd for our cottage and thanks for the input on more glasses.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
MA
5

Comfy and clean cottage

  • 5 of 5

This house was clean and comfortable; the perfect size for our group of 6. The deck and the yard were both nice, and the area was quiet, making for a peaceful vacation. The only issue we had was the water around the shoreline/dock was murky and grassy, which didn't allow for swimming for the kids (not sure if it's always like this or if it's just the weather/time of year). But it worked out fine bc we didn't have many hot days for swimming- we went once to a nice public beach in Hammondsport, and otherwise really enjoyed other local activities like the wineries and Watkins Glen. Overall Adam was great to deal with and very responsive.

  • Review Submitted: 24/08/2018
  • Date of Stay: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you and your group had a nice stay at our cottage. Unfortunately we had some major flooding prior to your arrival and it made the lake look murky but glad you got to enjoy some of the nice areas the finger lakes has to offer.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Simply Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

Very lovely home, great view from the deck and docks. The lake was very relaxing. Can’t wait to be back!!!!!!

  • Review Submitted: 17/08/2018
  • Date of Stay: August 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have you back next time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely cottage!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our time here, the lake was warm and we floated on tubes all day! The cottage is great, we really enjoyed it. My only suggestion would be to add some kitchen utensils, there wasn’t a full set of dishes for everyone to have coffee, and there were no measuring cups, spatulas or knives, etc. to cut and dice vegetables and such. We love to cook and didn’t have much to work with, but we made it work. Adam was wonderful and so nice, we thought he was so attentive and welcoming. Overall, this is a fantastic cottage with a equally fantastic owner! We highly recommend this house!

  • Review Submitted: 10/08/2018
  • Date of Stay: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This place was exactly what my family and I were looking for!

  • 5 of 5

This place is located right on the water with an amazing deck and dock with two fire pits. It was everything my family and I were looking for. About 10 minutes away from Hammondsport and 20 minutes away from Watkins Glen. Absolutely wonderful! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: 25/07/2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay! We try really hard to make sure our renters have a great vacation at our cottage. Glad you had a chance to explore the area. We love that it is right in the middle of all the Finger Lakes have to offer. Hope to have you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Elmira/ Corning Reginal Airport
Nearest Beach
Our cottage is right on the lake fron beach

Photos

Rates & Availability

Contact Owner

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee AU$206.82

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if cancelled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if cancelled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable

Other Holiday Properties