Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Enjoy Waneta Lake situated in the middle of the beautiful Finger Lakes

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 1,000 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 BR, 1 Bath, sleeps 7 , large private property, 85' of level lake front w/dock

"Lazy Loon Cottage" is situated on the scenic eastside of WANETA LAKE nestled between Keuka Lake and Seneca Lake FINGER LAKES, a large private lot with 85' of LEVEL LAKEFRONT beach. This cozy year round 3BR getaway w/ large deck, outdoor furniture, firepit, dock, 2 kayaks,1 canoe, & paddle boat. The Lazy Loon Cottage is the perfect summer retreat! This cottage is also great for vacationing during all four seasons. Wood burning stove along with Mitsubishi heating/ AC system for the entire cottage will keep you warm during your fall and winter stays and cool during the summer. Come spend the Fall at our cottage and enjoy the colorfull fall leaves while wine tasting at all the local wineries, sipping your favorite microbrew at the many area breweries, or just relaxing. Our cottage also offers great ice fishing just off our shoreline during the winter months.

INTERIOR LIVING SPACE includes Fully equipped KITCHEN w/ dishes, flatware, glasses, cups, cooking & serving implements, pots & pans, toaster, coffeemaker, microwave, electric oven/ range, refrigerator

DINING area w/ table & chairs LIVING area has a couch, chairs, cards and regional tourism information.

BEDROOMS - #1 Queen Bed, dresser, night stand; #2 Queen Bed, dresser, TV; #3 Full bed with twin bunk on top and dresser. Cottage comes with Washer & Dryer, ceiling fan, Mitsubishi whole cottage heating/ AC and wood heating for use during inclement weather or winter/ fall seasons and AIR CONDITIONING during those warm spring and summer months.

EXTERIOR driveway provides plenty of level parking leading to a large grassy yard. Comes with shaded deck eating area, gas grill, outdoor furniture,2 firepits, DOCK for your boat or use of kayaks, canoe, and paddle boat. Great fishing off the dock! NIcely sheltered w/ trees for shade-seekers with plenty of open areas for those sun-lovers. Close proximety to the FINGER LAKES WINE TRAILS, Watkins Glen, Watkins Glen Raceway, Amish Windmill Shops, gorge hiking, and plenty of tourist attractions.

Tenant provides their own linens.

More Details

Owner
Adam Donegan
Member since: 2015
Speaks english
Response time
Within an hour
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
22 June, 2018

About Adam Donegan

Adam & Melissa Donegan both work in sales and management by day but love the finger lakes and Waneta Lake when we are not on the job.

Adam Donegan purchased this cottage in 2015

Why Adam Donegan chose Dundee

We love the Finger Lakes Region in general and Waneta Lake was the ideal setting for us becuase its quieter than some of the bigger lakes but your still a stones throw away from all the Finger Lakes have to offer. Waneta Lake also offers you two lakes for one with the boat channel you can boat or paddle through to reach Lamoka lake. There is a great public island on Lamoka Lake that provides a great place to swim or pricnic on. Both lakes have warm waters and sandy bottoms making them ideal for swimming and fishing.

What makes this cottage unique

The views are Amazing and the sunsets from the eastside are something you just have to see for yourself. The wildlife on the lake is spectacular. You may see bald eagles flying over head or diving down to catch a fishy snack. Osprey and kingfishers are quite common. Of course the seasonal Loons and their distinct calls are why we named our place the LAZY LOON COTTAGE. My wife and I love to go wine tasting at the many local wineries or stop by the growing number of brewries in the area. We also love all the Amish shops where you can get homemade crafts and food. You certianly can't beat sitting by the bonfire at night listening to the bullfrogs and fish jump while gazing at all the stars, that is one of our favorite things about an evening at the lake.

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage rental in Dundee, New York

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath (no shower) , shower enclosure
  • Full Bath, Tub and Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double bed , Dresser and AC
    Bedroom 3 - 1 bunk bed , Dresser and window fan
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed
  • Bedroom #1 Full Bed, Dresser, AC Bedroom #2 Queen Bed, Dresser, TV Bedroom #3 Twin Bunk Beds, Dresser
Entertainment:
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • long term rentals available
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(24 traveller reviews)

75% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Enjoy Waneta Lake situated in the middle of the beautiful Finger Lakes
average rating of 4.75 based on 24 reviews
5

Beautiful Lake Cottage

  • 5 of 5

We had a very enjoyable week at the lake cottage. The owners are friendly and easy to contact. We would definitely book another stay with them.

  • Review Submitted: 11/06/2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Calming Stay

  • 4 of 5

The house was very nice as was the view of the water. Thanks for the use of the canoe. We were able to venture out and explore the Finger Lakes - beautiful area. The TV did not work? No stations? Glad we had Netflix.

We will be back for sure though!

  • Review Submitted: 07/04/2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I’m glad you enjoyed your stay Lee. We also noticed the tv did not work after your stay. Called the cable company and it’s fine now.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Smooth and comfortable stay

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed at this cottage for 4 nights in October along with our small dog. Although the weather didn't cooperate (it was rainy one day and cloudy the rest of the time), we really enjoyed our stay here. The cottage was exactly as advertised and very comfortable for us. We could have easily had another couple with us and still had plenty of room and privacy. I enjoyed the back yard and water access (although we never got a chance to put a kayak in the water like I was hoping we would). The view was very pretty, especially the one nice evening when we arrived and saw the sunset over the lake. Be aware that Lake Waneta is not one of the large Finger Lakes so it's not as deep and blue as them but still very nice. Although I think I would stay a little further east next time, the location was still pretty convenient to accessing sites around Seneca and Keuka Lakes. We also took a short trip down to Corning the day it was raining and visited the glass museum which was pretty interesting. There is not a lot of activity near the cottage other than the Waneta Inn bar and restaurant down the street so it was very quiet but you do have to drive 20-30 minutes for most shopping or dining options. The only negative that I can think of was that the tap water was really stinky. I'm not sure if that's a common issue in the area or not. I would also recommend a couple more lamps in the bedrooms for better lighting. The small kitchen was well supplied and met our needs. The furniture was comfy enough. Adam was quick to respond to our rental request and all transactions went smoothly. I would recommend this property to anyone, especially a group of 4 or 5.

  • Review Submitted: 03/11/2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay. We are addressing the sulfur smelling water during the off season. We also recommend a quick 10 minute drive over the hill to Hammondsport, NY during you next stay for some really great dining options. Hope to have you back someday!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Merchantville, NJ
4

beautiful property and views

  • 4 of 5

We had a really great stay on Waneta Lake. The location is very convenient to Watkins Glen and Keuka Lake - we visited several breweries and hiked Watkins Glen. We really enjoyed sitting by a fire in the back and looking at the sky and lake. The only things we didn't love were the sulfur smell that accompanied use of the kitchen sink, bathroom sink and shower. You just have to open a window and fight through getting a shower. Also, the place was very tidy but hadn't been swept, vacuumed or dusted in a while. Heat is provided via a gas heater mounted to the wall which is probably not safe for small children to be around (it was just my wife and I so no issue for us). Lastly, the owner came by to mow the lawn Saturday morning which is understandable (it has to be done sometime) but there are no curtains on the sliding door in the back so we were a bit surprised to see him ride past on the mower while we were sitting on the sofa. I do recommend this property and Adam was very responsive and pleasant.

  • Review Submitted: 24/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you and your wife enjoyed our cottage and the surrounding area. Sorry about the sulfur smell we are actually getting that taken care over the off season. The heater is only used during late season rentals like yours. We have never had an issue with Kids around the heater. I will also let our cleaning service know about sweeping the floors. That’s odd because they usually do an exceptional job. I am sorry the lawn maintenance service showed up while you were there but just like if you stayed at a hotel if the lawn needs to be mowed the maintenance people will be out there mowing. Glad you had fun on Waneta Lake.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
44273
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5

The property is a beautiful home away from home. The view of the lake in the back is so captivating. This is truly the home away from home you wish you had. The owner was awesome to work with and very accomodating.

  • Review Submitted: 13/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great stay at the lake. Our family enjoyed the cottage, boats, evening fire and overall atmosphere.

  • 4 of 5

The Lazy Loon cottage was comfortable, homey. The cottage is well decorated and the bedrooms comfortable. We enjoyed spending much of our time outside, in the shade, sun, or on the lake. The morning coffee on the deck was a great way to start our day followed by kayaking, wine by the lake and nightly bon fires. Wished there wasn't the seaweed so we could swim but it was still a great time. The Waneta Inn fish fry was one of the best we have have had! Adam was excellent to communicate with and he even reached out to warn us of a tornado watch in the area our first night there. Thank you Adam!!

  • Review Submitted: 26/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our cottage. We love all the same things you described in your review. The seaweed did catch us off guard this season and grew fast but the good thing is it goes away sometimes as fast as it appears. Warm winters before summer sometimes produce the seaweed. Although we are going to address this for next season and purchase seaweed prevention matts that should make the swimming enjoyable if the seaweed decides to make a return this summer. Hope to have you back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Elmira/ Corning Reginal Airport
Nearest Beach
Our cottage is right on the lake fron beach

Photos

Rates & Availability

Contact Owner

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee AU$203.26
Pet Fee AU$135.51
Damage Deposit AU$474.28

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available
Unavailable