Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Groovy 2 BDR apt. in the heart of town. Walking distance to everything!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Newly Renovated Two Bedroom, Open Floor Plan With Lots Of Natural Light

The Provincetown Bookshop Apartment is located on Commercial Street right in the heart of Provincetown. Just two blocks from the Town Hall and directly across the street from Provincetown hot spot the Crown and Anchor, our guests have easy walking distance to every major attraction in town. Our newly renovated loft apartment offers an open floor plan with lots of natural light and a view of the harbor. Perfect for a couple’s get away or friends looking to spend a week cavorting around the town! The loft has a spacious master bedroom and a cozy first mates room, both with air conditioning. Traveling in pairs? The living room has a comfy futon couch that becomes a queen bed. This is part of the open floor plan and includes a flat screen TV, DVD player, cable TV and WiFi.

Below a handsome pine board ceiling is a fully furnished kitchen with a gas range, microwave, coffee pot, toaster oven and more! Next to the kitchen is a newly updated bathroom with a beautifully tiled shower.

The apartment is on the third floor with a long set of stairs leading to a private entry.

More Details

Property Manager
Amy Swayze
Member since: 2015
Speaks english
Response time
Within a day
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
27 April, 2017

Why Amy Swayze chose Cape Cod

Our family has owned the property for more than 50 years. I've spent many days and nights with my uncles in this house. With every visit and in every season, we'd spend time visiting, eating great food, taking all that Provincetown has to offer and of course, reading books.

I have many special memories that have been made in this house with friends and family. I hope that you will also have the opportunity to make your own special memories.

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment rental in Provincetown, Massachusetts

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • City Centre ...
  • Monument View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower enclosure
  • Bathroom has toilet, sink and tiled shower stall.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 single bed
    Living room - 1 sofa bed/futon
  • One queen size bed in master bedroom, one twin size bed in second bedroom, one queen futon/couch in living room.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Bike rack to secure your bike!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(9 traveller reviews)

Groovy 2 BDR apt. in the heart of town. Walking distance to everything!
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 9 reviews
4

Perfect location to ring in the new year

  • 4 of 5

My wife and I travel to Ptown every year to celebrate her birthday (new year's eve). The Bookshop Apartment is situated perfectly to enjoy all of the activities First Light had to offer (and for people-watching on Commercial Street). The apartment is also spacious, well-appointed, and has cool/funky architectural details.

We had some minor issues with heat on our first night, but Amy (the owner) and Juan (the property manager) sprung into action and took care of the problem right away. They were both incredibly responsive and we enjoyed chatting with Juan about the history of the building.

Thank you, Amy and Juan, for a great stay! We hope to be back again next year.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Cute, charming, great location. But poor communication leading to lack of wifi and heat at times.

  • 3 of 5

This place was in a central, wonderful location. It was cute and charming beyond belief. The beds were comfortable, the duvets warm and the pillows fluffy. The kitchen was adequately stocked, though not wonderful (e.g. had to use two smallish fry pans to make breakfast rather than one big one). However, a few things went wrong in our 1 night stay. First, VRBO had sent an email saying we had the reservation and that another email with details of check-in would be forthcoming. We never received this. So at noon on the day of check-in, we looked on-line and found a # to text Juan, which we did. We did not hear back for a while. In the meantime, we emailed the owner/manager, Amy, who responded quickly and told us how to check in. She said Juan would go ahead of us and make sure everything was fine. We found the place and let ourselves in just fine. However, we could not get the heat in the main room to work (bedrooms were fine). It was late by the time we discovered this and so waited until morning at which point Amy sent Juan at 7am (as we requested). It took him about an hour or more to get it working, and then it was fine, although if it had been colder out it probably wouldn't have been sufficient at max capacity. The bedrooms were amply heated, as was the bathroom. The other main issue was the wifi. The only instructions we saw were through VRBO which only said "the password is X", but not what the SSID was. We could guess it, but the password didn't work. Upon emailing with Amy, she said she new neither what the SSID was, nor the password. Eventually, the next day, Juan told us we had to capitalize the word we had been given, and told us the SSID, at which point it worked, but we were without wifi all night, which was rather important to some in our group. Finally, it was cold, but there were few blankets around, there was only a limited amount of toilet paper, and the coffee maker had not been cleaned at all, which was annoying given that we ourselves forked one-fifty in cleaning for only 24h of use.

Also note that as stated on the property listing, there is no parking (we had missed that, but found a place because it was off-season).

All in all, I *would* stay there again and/or recommend it, but I would make sure to have the heat situation taken care of in advance, and would hope that they owners could do MUCH better on having things work smoothly.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Jennifer, We are sorry that you had some challenges with the heater and the Wi-Fi. You were our first cool weather renter for 2016. The older gas heater in the apartment really cranks once it’s going! We have created instructions on its operation for future renters. As for the Wi-Fi, the instructions have been updated and should be simple and easy to access. Again, we are sorry you were inconvenienced and we hope you enjoyed your short stay in Provincetown! Amy & Philip
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quaint, historic, charming in ideal location.

  • 5 of 5

I came on my annual pilgrimage to P Town for a long weekend with my pilot friends. I had only found the Bookstore Apt on vrbo 2 weeks prior. I reserved it for the excellent location but fell in love with the rustic charm. The apt has a compact kitchen with most everything we needed. It has a nice homey feel and historic touches while having updated appliances and bathroom. Juan the contractor spent an hour telling us about all the attention given to restoring the apt. We bonded immediately. If they eventually build a roof deck with apt access it would take the apt from amazing to spectacular. Getting checked in an out was easy and relaxed- overall one of the best stays I've had in P Town. Definitely coming back. Thanks for all!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming birds eye view in the center of it all!

  • 5 of 5

Frankly I don't want anyone to know how amazing this cottage is so I will tell you who shouldn't rent it. Not good for people who can't do stairs. People who don't like 100 year old properties that have been updated with care so as not to take away all the original charm. Not good for people who don't want to hear the merriment of people laughing singing and dancing in the streets at all hours of the day but can retreat to the back bedrooms for quiet and iconic views. I have had many P-Town experiences from large homes to inns and other than one property that had an ocean view this really is an amazing place. We had Three adults and were more then comfortable. The fridge is small but why are you eating in with all the amazing food around you, it should be used for leftovers only. If you don't fall in love with this place you are "that kind of person" and won't have fun in P-Town anyways. I do wish the sheets were a bit nicer but that is an issue with everyplace I've stayed in the city. So please let this be my little P-Town secret.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Vacation Spot in the Heart of Provincetown

  • 5 of 5

A wonderfully convenient, freshly updated hide-away in the middle of the action in Provincetown. This apartment is perfect for families, couples or friends looking for an affordable stay in the heart of PTown. The views of Commercial Street on the front side and the Pilgrim's Monument on the back side of this spacious apartment are spectacular. The beach is within sight and there are many shops and restaurants just steps away. I highly recommend this tastefully furnished, clean and bright vacation spot.

  • Review Submitted: May 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Hide-Away in the middle of PTown

  • 5 of 5

A wonderfully convenient, newly updated hide-away in the middle of the action in P-Town. This vacation spot is perfect for families or friends looking for an affordable stay in the heart of Provincetown. The view of the action on Commercial Street from the front side, and the Pilgrim's Monument from the back side of this spacious apartment is spectacular. The beach is within sight and there are many shops and restaurants just steps away I highly recommend this tastefully furnished, clean and affordable vacation rental.

  • Review Submitted: May 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
Crown and Anchor
Nearest Ferry
0.25 Miles
Provincetown Fast Ferry, MacMillan Wharf
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Route 6
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Herring Cove Beach
Car: not necessary

The apartment is located in the center of town in the middle of all the action on Commercial Street. The newly renovated, historic Town Hall is 2 blocks away. The Pilgrim Monument is a short five minute walk. Climb to the top for a 360 degree view of Ptown. All major bars and restaurants are easy walking distance or a quick Pedicab ride away.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday apartment in Provincetown, Massachusetts

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Memorial Day
26 May 2017 - 29 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
A$315
 
 
Peak 1
24 Jun 2017 - 7 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
A$2,208
 
 
Bear Week
8 Jul 2017 - 14 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
A$2,255
 
 
Peak 2
15 Jul 2017 - 11 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
A$2,208
 
 
Carnival Week
12 Aug 2017 - 18 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
A$2,255
 
 
Peak 3
19 Aug 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
A$2,208
 
 
Labor Day weekend
2 Sep 2017 - 4 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
A$315
 
 
Post Peak
5 Sep 2017 - 5 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$302
 
 
Columbus Day Weekend
6 Oct 2017 - 9 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
A$315
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
A$282
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee A$201.31
Refundable Damage Deposit A$536.83

Weekly Rentals only during July and August
$400 Security Deposit due upon reservation confirmation.
Security deposit is refundable at end of lease.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Other Holiday Properties